WE PRAY THAT YOU REMAIN SAFE THROUGHOUT THE NIGHT

PPP supporters or those who the opposition mob think are PPP supporters are being targeted.

Some have been forced to abandon their homes, one individual and his family are currently hiding in a clump of bushes where they intend to pass the night.

The PPP gained about 20% of votes in the last election in Linden, so if 20,000 persons voted in this opposition stronghold, it means that 4,000 persons voted for the PPP.

Linden is made up of around 95% Afro Guyanese, so a significant percentage of that support comes from this ethnic group.

They are being targeted tonight, efforts are being made to set their homes alight in some instances.

The Police have been increasing in numbers and have a good presence, however Linden is too vast to completely cover as such it is virtually impossible to avoid all such attempts.

Our only hope is that good sense prevails but the seeds of this strife and hatred was sown months earlier when AFC Chairman Khemraj Ramjattan went on Capitol News and stated that the PPP/C GoG removing the subvention for Lindeners and providing support to sugar workers in Berbice was tantamount to racial discrimination.

His followers and those from APNU then began to push this line and started to create hate against those who supported the PPP or are sympathetic.

This was despite all the revelations of the phased increases and even despite the increases Lindeneners will still pay less for electricity than other Guyanese and that the PPP GoG will continue to pour in assistance.

The AFC and APNU however continue to mislead their supporters and this is the end result, they now have blood on their hands and all those who supported them share the same fate.

The situation in Linden is as follows. The police were attacked by a large group of protesters. In defense the shot at the protesters. As far as we know live rounds were not used but rubber bullets and pellets. However, there varying sources are reporting 2-4 deaths and up to 8 injuries. The protesters have also burnt a bridge and burnt down the PPP office in Linden.

Originally Posted by albert:

The situation in Linden is as follows. The police were attacked by a large group of protesters. In defense the shot at the protesters. As far as we know live rounds were not used but rubber bullets and pellets. However, there varying sources are reporting 2-4 deaths and up to 8 injuries. The protesters have also burnt a bridge and burnt down the PPP office in Linden.

Yea, slo fiah mo fiah alive and well.  Govt should a independent investigation and issue a report.

Stop spreading your stupid lies. The police tried to remove peaceful protesters from the bridge with tear gas and rubber bullets before the crowd retaliated.

• <h6 class="uiStreamMessage" data-ft="{"type":1,"tn":"K"}">GOVERNMENT ISSUES STATEMENT ON LINDEN VIOLENCE

The Government of Guyana sincerely regrets the loss of life and injuries as events took an unfortunate turn for the worse this evening in Linden. The Government extends condolences and sympathies to the families of those who suffered injuries and loss of life.

A full investigation of the events would be held as soon as sufficient calm is restored.

The APNU and the AFC cannot avoid blame for these unfortunate developments. They organised and allowed their MPs, activists and extremists to lead protest against a thoughtful and sensitive programme for the gradual reform of the provision of electricity to the Linden community to deteriorate to such a point of violence and destruction.

The government reiterates that the gradual increase in tariffs for linden did not warrant such violent behaviour especially when the rest of guyana is paying the full rates.

The government reaffirms the right of people to peaceful protest and one that is protected in our country, however, disorder and mayhem which threatens life and property cannot be tolerated. 

These activists joined a number of known extremist and agitators who seem to dedicate their lives to denigrating whatever this Government does and to erode the progress made in Guyana. 

Allowing protest to lead to such loss and damage of property and destruction through fires must be avoided and condemned.

The government will do all that is possible to protect the people and property in the Linden community from such irresponsible and reckless leadership.
    </h6><form action="http://www.facebook.com/ajax/ufi/modify.php" class="live_10151057067777779_131325686911214 commentable_item autoexpand_mode" data-live="{"seq":0}" id="uabaac_5" method="post">

</form>

POLICE PRESS RELEASE

During today Wednesday July 18, 2012, residents of Linden were involved in protest demonstrations against the rise in electricity tariff.

At about 1040h. approximately 450 persons marched from the Wismar Community Centre Ground, and on reaching the Wismar/Mackenzie bridge they remained there, blocking the bridge and preventing motor vehicles from crossing. Subsequently persons among the protestors which had grown to about 1,000 in number erected tents on the bridge and also placed derelict vehicles and logs across the bridge at several points.

The protestors remained on the bridge and refused to move despite efforts by the police under the Divisional Commander who continuously pleaded with them to remove.

At about 1800h. the Officer-in-Charge of the police riot unit which had arrived on the scene warned the protestors to remove as they were blocking the bridge and in breach of the law. They however continued to remain on the bridge while chanting that they will not remove and that they are not paying any increase in electricity tariff.

The police again told the protestors that they were breaking the laws and that they should remove from the bridge, but they again refused and began hurling bottles, bricks and other missiles at the ranks of the police riot unit. At this stage the Officer-in-Charge of the unit again told them that they were unlawful and read the warning proclamation to them.

The protestors continued hurling missiles at the police and began advancing towards the ranks and tear smoke grenades were used by the police in a further effort to remove the protestors. Some of the protestors dispersed but a large number of persons still remained on the bridge and began setting fires on the bridge while continuing to chant and throw missiles towards the police.

The police discharged shotgun cartridges in the direction of the crowd resulting in a few persons being injured. However, the police have so far been unable to acquire sufficient information from the Mackenzie Hospital staff in order to verify the persons injured and the extent of their injuries as a hostile crowd is gathered outside of the Hospital.
The protestors removed from the Wismar/Mackenzie bridge and proceeded to block the Washer Pond Road, Mackenzie, and also set fire to the GRA building on Washer Pond Road. Personnel from the Guyana Fire Service responded but were prevented from going into action by a number of protestors who threw missiles at the ranks and their vehicle.

They were subsequently removed by the police and proceeded to the five-corner area at the junction of Sir David Rose Avenue, Mackenzie.

The Wismar/Mackenzie bridge was cleared by the police who are maintaining a presence and traffic is now traversing the bridge.

Roving groups of protestors have also destroyed a truck transporting fuel which was set afire at Wismar and damaged an excavator and have also set fires along the roadway at Half Mile and One Mile, Wismar.

Additional police ranks have been dispatched to the community to reinforce the ranks already on the ground. 

The Joint Services will be patrolling the area and are appealing to residents to remain calm.

• GOVERNMENT ISSUES STATEMENT ON LINDEN VIOLENCE

The Government of Guyana sincerely regrets the loss of life and injuries as events took an unfortunate turn for the worse this evening in Linden. The Government extends condolences and sympathies to the families of those who suffered injuries and loss of life.

A full investigation of the events would be held as soon as sufficient calm is restored.

The APNU and the AFC cannot avoid blame for these unfortunate developments. They organised and allowed their MPs, activists and extremists to lead protest against a thoughtful and sensitive programme for the gradual reform of the provision of electricity to the Linden community to deteriorate to such a point of violence and destruction.

The government reiterates that the gradual increase in tariffs for linden did not warrant such violent behaviour especially when the rest of guyana is paying the full rates.

The government reaffirms the right of people to peaceful protest and one that is protected in our country, however, disorder and mayhem which threatens life and property cannot be tolerated. 

These activists joined a number of known extremist and agitators who seem to dedicate their lives to denigrating whatever this Government does and to erode the progress made in Guyana. 

Allowing protest to lead to such loss and damage of property and destruction through fires must be avoided and condemned.

The government will do all that is possible to protect the people and property in the Linden community from such irresponsible and reckless leadership.

Of course anyone disagreeing with the PPP are thoughtless while they as usual are imbued with immaculate perception!

These people were protesting and they got killed. APNU or AFC did not shoot anyone. If people have a right to protest that does not include the possibility of being shot in the head by police. The former does not necessitate the latter.

That only happens in the minds of these self appointed lords of wisdom. Even in this last statement these arrogant asses cannot help but utter veiled threats.

The government should say it is doing its best to understand and explain this unfortunate incident and to ensure it does not happen again. To imply you are willing to use more deadly force to ensure you get your way means you get your asses in a bind as people think they are under siege.

Remember you do not have an RK to defend you this time and I am sure the lot of you are shitting bricks. That is what you get when you pretend we do not have a race problem and black people are happy with your government. You actually endanger the society with this chronic self deception.

It is not like you do not have premonitions and warnings from scholars about this. It happens to be the logical outcome of autocratic race based government!

Yea, slo fiah mo fiah alive and well.  Govt should a independent investigation and issue a report.

Baseman, the AFC and PNC sol fiah mo fiah is alive and well. Politicians like Gerhard incited and added flame to this situation. Those responsible must be brought to justice in the courts in Guyana.

This is a direct result of the actions of the AFC and PNC supporters. This the first attempt by traitors to hand over the country to the PNC in a silver platter.

Originally Posted by God:

The KFC/PNC are Criminals and will always be. That is all they know. DESTROY, DESTROT MO FIAH SLO FIAH!!!

Unfortunately, the PPP are the murderers in this case so celebrate your drunken self tonight.

bECAUSE YOU ARE DUMB, IGNORANT AND ILLITERATE IS NO EXCUSE FOR ME TO ACCOMODATE YOU.

Rotten Ganga Egg Nehru. Are you still pretending that you're a professor on GNI? Since when filling out financial aid forms for students qualifies you to be a professor? You have to at least make it past 4th standard at Hubu Backdam High or you will be condemned to a life of filling out forms and pretending to be a professor on the Internet. Gwan suh PPP - Pressafoot Pretend Professuh!
Originally Posted by Conscience:

For the joint opposition to completely distant themselves for the civil disobience of the residents of linden speaks of how inciteful they are in stirring up residents to destroy infrastructure and pretends to be Sunday School Boys.

The residents destroyed infrastructure after PPP thugs murdered four of their neighbors and injured dozens more.

Pray you do not get leading politicians actually calling people to mass demonstrations  because then you will indeed get a self fulfilling prophesy.

You are a bunch of morons.  Instead of seeking to be conciliatory you treat this as if you are at war with citizens who disagree with the government.

Rotten Ganga Egg Nehru. Are you still pretending that you're a professor on GNI? Since when filling out financial aid forms for students qualifies you to be a professor? You have to at least make it past 4th standard at Hubu Backdam High or you will be condemned to a life of filling out forms and pretending to be a professor on the Internet. Gwan suh PPP - Pressafoot Pretend Professuh!

Hey Natarass Cunumunu Lungeera, I dont have to pretend I am a honest Citizen, you have to cause you dont want people to know you are a THIEF!!!!

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Stormy,

You need to shut your rascal mouth and think about the threat the PNC posed to the Guyanese people.

I th ink more of the evil the corrupt PPP has incubated and nourished in our our society. I am not looking at imagined corruption but present festering  crops of the same being fertilized by the PPP

Nehru, look what God turns out to be? When you thought, they were all gone and do better things they maintain their position, keep a low profile and attack. This statement is familiar but surprising at the same time. Nehru, you open your door and feed your friends just to come back and bite you. You just don't know who is friend or enemy these days.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Nehru, look what God turns out to be? When you thought, they were all gone and do better things they maintain their position, keep a low profile and attack. This statement is familiar but surprising at the same time. Nehru, you open your door and feed your friends just to come back and bite you. You just don't know who is friend or enemy these days.

bANNAS, yOU SHOULD KNOW BY NOW THAT A CUNUMUNU, LAMATA TRAITOR IS NOT A PROBLEM FOR ME.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Stormy,

You need to shut your rascal mouth and think about the threat the PNC posed to the Guyanese people.

I th ink more of the evil the corrupt PPP has incubated and nourished in our our society. I am not looking at imagined corruption but present festering  crops of the same being fertilized by the PPP

If asking Lindeners to pay the same electiricity rate like the rest of country is evil in your mind then your mind is screwed up.
The PNC is attempting to create a situation where they can make Guyana ungovernable and vulnerable to a coup. They tried this in the past and failed, but they have not given up on the idea.  

Stop spreading your stupid lies. The police tried to remove peaceful protesters from the bridge with tear gas and rubber bullets before the crowd retaliated.

aRE YOU AN ass? i TAKE THAT BACK. JACKASS, THE POLICE HAVE ALL RIGHTS TO CLEAR THE BRIDGE!!!

That is the job of the police, to keep traffic flowing.  The protestors and their instigators must have known, the police will clear the area via non-lethal means (tear gas and rubber bullets).  This is standard Op Procedure for any security force.

The mobs then turned violent and threatened the lives of the security who reacted...maybe over reacted.  But a few thousand violent mob against 100 or so security personal will end bad, one way or the other.

bANNAS, yOU SHOULD KNOW BY NOW THAT A CUNUMUNU, LAMATA TRAITOR IS NOT A PROBLEM FOR ME.

If God is whom I assume to be, then she's a freaking leach to suck on people life and happiness. Only an unhappy and rejected person would exercise the quandary to defame others on a public board.

One antiman pickin up fire rage fuh he butt buddy.

Don't fool yourself P-Jackass. I would never be caught in the company of you two drunken imbeciles, much less share a meal with you low lives. Who would want to be with you two when you're stumbling down Liberty Avenue in your drunken stupor, hand in hand.

That is the job of the police, to keep traffic flowing.  The protestors and their instigators must have known, the police will clear the area via non-lethal means (tear gas and rubber bullets).  This is standard Op Procedure for any security force.

The mobs then turned violent and threatened the lives of the security who reacted...maybe over reacted.  But a few thousand violent mob against 100 or so security personal will end bad, one way or the other.

The problem is that the security force was not outfitted properly for crowd control but rather for murder.

Riot police are equipped with large shields, helmets, body armor, face guards and should use tear gas, large batons and in extreme cases rubber bullets. If you send these people to battle a crowd unprotected with shotguns, you're in effect sending them to crack open some skulls.

The problem is that the security force was not outfitted properly for crowd control but rather for murder.

Riot police are equipped with large shields, helmets, body armor, face guards and should use tear gas, large batons and in extreme cases rubber bullets. If you send these people to battle a crowd unprotected with shotguns, you're in effect sending them to crack open some skulls.

Ok, but it may be an error of innocence and judgement vs. an error of malice.

But hasn't the stupid Home Affairs Minister or the C.O.P. or anybody else in Guyana figured this out yet. Anytime there is barely a small crowd, these fools cannot deal with them because they don't have the right equipment.

Have you ever seen these guys in action at a protest in North America battling larger and rowdier crowds? They hardly ever have to use rubber bullets. It's all about having the right gear and tear gas. It won't take a fortune to outfit a riot squad with the necessary equipment.

Besides that, where was the water cannon. That would have been ideal to clear the bridge because the people are confined to a narrow area. You cant miss them with water or tear gas. I guess you can't miss them with shotgun shells either.

Could the police anticipate the lawlessness of the crowd? The crowd was incited all along to close down Linden. They were bent on destruction. The PPP did not order the police to shoot. The police had to defend themselves based on the lawlessness of the crowds. Now if the police did not act and there were more bloodshed and looting waht would you all be saying? You would be saying that the Gov't failed to protect the innocent.

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

Could the police anticipate the lawlessness of the crowd? The crowd was incited all along to close down Linden. They were bent on destruction. The PPP did not order the police to shoot. The police had to defend themselves based on the lawlessness of the crowds. Now if the police did not act and there were more bloodshed and looting waht would you all be saying? You would be saying that the Gov't failed to protect the innocent.

Bhai, I know you are trying your best to find reasonable People here but these LAMATAS are SHAMELESS PRICKS. Dont waste your time.

You have to be an idiot for a Home Affairs Minister or Commissioner of Police if you send forces to a protest and don't anticipate the possibility of violence erupting. It only happens in very country around the world.

And in every Country heads get cracked when People misbehave.

And in every country there are worse riots which are handled professionally without loss of life. Black people lives are cheap to the PPP and its supporters so what's a few more dead negroes to add to the hundreds you already slaughtered with your Phantoms.