http://www.inewsguyana.com/pum...astructure-ministry/

Pumps were out of commission for over a year – Public Infrastructure Ministry

June 1, 2015 3:29 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson and Engineering Consultant, Walter Willis at the Church Street outfall located at Muneshwar’s wharf, where desilting is ongoing

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Four out of the six drainage pumps strategically situated throughout Georgetown and the rest of the coast to aid in the delivery of water from the land were out of commission for more than twelve months, according to officials from the Ministry of Public Infrastructure.

It was revealed recently that only two of the pumps were in working condition and able to pump water off the land – this was after there were high levels of rainfall that inundated the capital city.

Acting Chief Engineer, Rawle Eastman when probed by reporters at a press conference on Monday, June 01 explained that the irrigation systems have not been properly working for over the specified period due to some menial damages.

Acting Chief Engineer, Rawle Eastman

Eastman explained that there were issues relating to some pipes that had to be repaired and replaced among other maintenance issues. He noted that the main reason for the systems being allowed to proceed into a state of decay is lack of funding.

This is despite monies being made available in the yearly budget for the upkeep of Guyana’s drainage and irrigation systems given its importance when considering that the coast of Guyana is below sea level.

Min. Patterson inspecting works ongoing at the Sussex Street pump

“We had a number of mechanical matters which include some of the discharge pipes had to be repaired and some minor engine matter…I cannot give a period as to how long they were not working but I can say that it was over a year or so,” said Eastman.

Meanwhile, Public Infrastructure Minister, David Patterson told reporters that there is wanton need for repairs across the board for the drainage systems, explaining that the neglect is “criminal.”

Patterson further indicated that with the expected rainfall levels and current systems being put in place, it is expected that the land would be drained of the water pointing out that almost all of the pumps should be operational by 18:00hrs on Tuesday June 02

So the PPP is to be blamed for its neglect and the Opposition is to be blamed for not raising hell about it.

From all the floods and damages we have had, you don't get the impression that we ever fix anything or learn from it. Once the waters go down, we continue as per normal. Let's see how the Coalition responds.

How many Surendra pumps came in?

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

So the PPP is to be blamed for its neglect and the Opposition is to be blamed for not raising hell about it.

From all the floods and damages we have had, you don't get the impression that we ever fix anything or learn from it. Once the waters go down, we continue as per normal. Let's see how the Coalition responds.

How many Surendra pumps came in?

This is about the incompetence of the officials within the ministry who carry out the programme of maintenance. Willis and others should be fired for incompetence. These pumps should have a regular maintenance schedule and the appropriate mechanisms to ensure that they are carried out. 

Z

Gee whizz, and we still had major floods. Darn it, deh think dem fly by night thing go wok for all that rain wata. Fire dem fools wuking fu the govt. Len good sense prevail over common sense.

Z