Public Security Minister to probe alleged sale of Guyanese citizenship, visas; Rohee calls for evidence

Newly appointed Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan plans to launch a wide-ranging probe into the alleged sale of Guyanese visas and citizenship to mainly Chinese, Indians and Brazilians.

Describing the alleged racket as “huge,” he said a named official collected millions of dollars from staff from two major Asian companies to grant citizenship.

“I will call for all the files. I want as many files as possible in relation to this citizenship thing because it is going to be investigated thoroughly as to who granted what and on the basis of what,”  said Ramjattan.

The Public Security Minister said he was reliably informed that a Guyanese envoy was bullied by a former top government official to grant citizenship to at least 300 Chinese regardless of whether they were skilled or unskilled.

But former Home Affairs Minister, Clement Rohee on Friday shrugged off suggestions that he could be fingered in such a probe. “Let them go ahead. I have no problem with it,” he said. When asked whether his hands were clean, he responded again “Let them go ahead, I have no problem with that.”… “Let them point (fingers) nuh, I have no problem with that.”

Rohee urged his accusers to “produce the evidence. Let them go ahead and do what they have to do. They are in charge. Offered an opportunity to give a clear-cut denial, Rohee simply stuck to his line.

The Public Security Minister did not rule out the possibility of Guyana seeking assistance from the United States (US) or Britain in the probe.

http://www.caribnewsdesk.com/n...e-calls-for-evidence

He should go after criminals and drug lords.

Somehow crime takes a back seat to recouping all dem valuable Guyana passports the PPP share out.

AFC logic!

Somehow crime takes a back seat to recouping all dem valuable Guyana passports the PPP share out.

AFC logic!

There are many layers involved in the process. Guyana is being used as a springboard to Canada and the USA. Ramjattan has to peeling the onion from the outside. This is different from potato peeling.

Last edited by Mitwah

Criminals and drugslords tend to have multiple identities and passports. At least have of the criminal PPP government have more than one passport.

AFC logic!

Shaitaan..cut the Security Minister some slack,just

started the job.

AFC logic!

Them bannas seem starting off on the wrong footing.  I never know illegal passports were the biggest issue on the minds of the average Guyanese people.  I thought was crime/drugs, etc which the AFC touted as PPP incompetence and even collusion.  Then again, maybe PNC said don't touch them bais.  They seem to be going after "soft" targets, but what else is new.

Passports are one of the most important document that international criminals savour. Going after the passports will lead to a trail of criminal activities. I personally met a South American drugs lord many years ago who had around 10 passports from different countries. He told me that he could not operate without them.

Originally Posted by Django:

AFC logic!

Shaitaan..cut the Security Minister some slack,just

the job.

To me the most important Ministry vis a vis ordinary people especially Indian people who always seem to bear the brunt of that mysterious anti-Indian force they call "crime" should have been reserved for someone with a security background. There are clearly a huge pool of qualified men and women within APNU who can fill this crucial role which will determine the success or failure of this Government. Race and optics should not override competence here. The Indians don't need to have an Indian Home Minister. They just need a competent one.

I don't see what lawyering has to do with public security unless of course employing Ramjattan full time at the Home Ministry will mean he's less likely to successfully defend criminals in the courts on a full time basis.

AFC logic!

Them bannas seem starting off on the wrong footing.  I never know illegal passports were the biggest issue on the minds of the average Guyanese people.  I thought was crime/drugs, etc which the AFC touted as PPP incompetence and even collusion.  Then again, maybe PNC said don't touch them bais.  They seem to be going after "soft" targets, but what else is new.

I think the fix is in. Granger caved. No wonder dem Antiman at Freedom House was yelling loudly about Granger running a "corrupt" Government. It shows they don't feel threatened anymore which means blanket immunity (for PPP leaders of course). Raj Singh et al are on their own. Them low hanging mangoes (as TK so articulately phrased am) will be thrown to the mob.

Rohee urged his accusers to “produce the evidence. Let them go ahead and do what they have to do. They are in charge. Offered an opportunity to give a clear-cut denial, Rohee simply stuck to his line.

Evidence already shredded

Pointblank

The delay in appointing ministers and with some of them being appointed at a a later date indicates that there are major in-fighting happening within the government. Changing the names of the ministries will lead to major problems for citizens who have to go to them to access services. They need to really start to get things going instead of dithering about with fancy names which they will eventually have to use advertising money to explain to the people who need yo access services.

Z

Hopefully he will engage the Americans and the brits and canucks and do exactly that. We need a gift of surveillance planes and radars and only they can gift us that.

We need a  couple of larger patrol boats ( that can carry fast smaller ones) to patrol the Cuyuni and Mazuruni.

Originally Posted by Zed:

The delay in appointing ministers and with some of them being appointed at a a later date indicates that there are major in-fighting happening within the government. Changing the names of the ministries will lead to major problems for citizens who have to go to them to access services. They need to really start to get things going instead of dithering about with fancy names which they will eventually have to use advertising money to explain to the people who need yo access services.

Good point. They will incur a lot of menu costs.

Originally Posted by Mars:

Public Security Minister to probe alleged sale of Guyanese citizenship, visas; Rohee calls for evidence

Newly appointed Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan plans to launch a wide-ranging probe into the alleged sale of Guyanese visas and citizenship to mainly Chinese, Indians and Brazilians.

Describing the alleged racket as “huge,” he said a named official collected millions of dollars from staff from two major Asian companies to grant citizenship.

“I will call for all the files. I want as many files as possible in relation to this citizenship thing because it is going to be investigated thoroughly as to who granted what and on the basis of what,”  said Ramjattan.

The Public Security Minister said he was reliably informed that a Guyanese envoy was bullied by a former top government official to grant citizenship to at least 300 Chinese regardless of whether they were skilled or unskilled.

But former Home Affairs Minister, Clement Rohee on Friday shrugged off suggestions that he could be fingered in such a probe. “Let them go ahead. I have no problem with it,” he said. When asked whether his hands were clean, he responded again “Let them go ahead, I have no problem with that.”… “Let them point (fingers) nuh, I have no problem with that.”

The Public Security Minister did not rule out the possibility of Guyana seeking assistance from the United States (US) or Britain in the probe.

http://www.caribnewsdesk.com/n...e-calls-for-evidence

All he has to do is recall all 8000 or so of these citizens and cross check their documents. They should be reminded they will not be deported because they may have all become embedded in the society. Further, they were trafficked if a crime was committed and so are a protected class.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Criminals and drugslords tend to have multiple identities and passports. At least have of the criminal PPP government have more than one passport.

Mr T going after Illegal Passports scare many PPP Scamps.

Anil Nandalall mother-in-law was caught with 200 Missing Guyana Passports and that matter was swept under the carpet.

Big Cover up...then Nandalall had the nerves to take the Lady to the Police & GDF Headquarters to celebrate the New Year with Ramotar & Jagdeo.

So beware of those who have a problem with going after the Illegal Passport and Sperm Traders.

PPP batty Biting.....

Mr T you know the truth Hurting them Crooks

Aha, a person who had a 3rd world education in deduction. 

Bai, as I said before, act in haste and repent at leisure. No sensible person rushes in to fill important positions before weighing up the candidates. Is only the PPP can manage that with their friends and families.

They had a transition team in place. What were they discussing if not to get a running start. They have made promises for the first 100 days. Maybe, they spent most of that time deciding on the names of the ministries instead of moving in a systematic way. Dithering when in government is a recipe for disaster. If they had not thought these things out, then they were fooling the Guyanese people as to their competency. Mr t might have been enjoying some of his friends products. The post was about the sloth in appointing ministers, even the prime minister when this announced at the president' swearing in ceremony. He failed to recognize that there was considerable controversy over who gets what position. Not third world education. Living in Guyana and knows what is happening instead of reading tea leaves as you might be doing.

Z

You proper stupid . Accountable government doesn't work the way you have been accustomed to from the PPP. All the BS you are writing so that you can still claim some PPP financial handout from freedom house is so out of touch with the 21st century.

Mr t, it takes one to know one. Still did not address what I shared. Resorting to name calling is a sign of a weak mind. You mistakenly attribute to others what you are accustomed to doing in your life. Really bothers you when you get hit back. Insecurity, I think. 

Z

Aha, a person who had a 3rd world education in deduction. 

Bai, as I said before, act in haste and repent at leisure. No sensible person rushes in to fill important positions before weighing up the candidates. Is only the PPP can manage that with their friends and families.

He is a negative, shallow and callow minded individual.

Is no use trying to play smart. You won't be able to hide your dumbness. Try reading the Guyanese constitution before embarking on attacking the government for the diligence and due care with which they proceed. I feel for you that the potential loss to you and your family of all the corruption that you benefited from has come to and end. And I am sure you would rather that Granger rush past them. But it ain't gonna happen. Granger is getting good advice from true professionals. By the way, sorry to hear your cheque bounced.

Ramjattan should also ask the US to deport all Illegal aliens to Guyana. Lock up those who crawled accross the border from Canada.

Uncle Rama who dem guh vote fuh when dem get deported back if Prak follow  your suggestion? Yuh smaat.

maybe, you are so accustomed to living on the dole or depending on others that you think every other person do the same. Sorry to disappoint you. Some of us are not dependent on handouts nor do we have family members who are wealthy

Z

Ramjattan should also ask the US to deport all Illegal aliens to Guyana. Lock up those who crawled accross the border from Canada.

Uncle Rama who dem guh vote fuh when dem get deported back if Prak follow  your suggestion? Yuh smaat.

The PNC will vote fore you... 

I see they want to depot Guyanese to Canada. Hey, we know that when we came, the barrel will stop coming. Ayu want awe to go back so we can sen mo barrel. On a more serios note, this is a major concern for many people and have implications for all of us. I still want the government to priories. I have seen too many leaders who forget theif prioritie, get bogged down trying to do everything and end up doing not of consequence.

Z

Who was responsible In the PPP/C regime for taking state lands on a massive scale and giving it to private developers who are already rich while there are hundreds of people still waiting their allocations from the housing ministry?

I have no idea.  Will the PNC give the 'hundreds of people'  who are waiting

for their allocation?   

I have no idea.  Will the PNC give the 'hundreds of people'  who are waiting

for their allocation?   

You know fully well that people cannot just squat on lands.

Passports are one of the most important document that international criminals savour. Going after the passports will lead to a trail of criminal activities. I personally met a South American drugs lord many years ago who had around 10 passports from different countries. He told me that he could not operate without them.

"I personally met a South American drugs lord many years ago who had around 10 passports from different countries".  

So T, I did not know that you have been hanging out with criminals and drug lords. Should "show me you company and I'll tell you who you are" Prak has to keep an eye on you now.

Well, doesn't that say a lot about you!!  Birds of a feather.

Anyway, the target was Indian and Chinese nationals, not your Columbian friends.  I still contend, this is a huff and puff over soft targets to show action when the killings and drug runnings seem business as usual.  Clearly, there is a "bigger boss" deciding the priorities.

Dat is crime too.

Frontseat: Punishment for PPP crimes.

AFC logic!

There are many layers involved in the process. Guyana is being used as a springboard to Canada and the USA. Ramjattan has to peeling the onion from the outside. This is different from potato peeling.

Dis nah look like copy and paste to me. Show VM what yuh made of, Mits.

the Canadian government should lock you up in a mental institution