Jubilee film… Film-maker Mahadeo Shivraj complains of rejection

May 29, 2016 | By | Filed Under News 

Guyanese film-maker Mahadeo Shivraj has complained that he suffered rejection from the government for the screening of his film, which was set to be released for Guyana’s 50th Golden Jubilee Celebration.

Mahadeo Shivraj acting in his film Protection Game

The movie, Protection Game, which commemorates Guyana’s Independence and addresses racial issues of cohesion, was allegedly rejected by various Government ministries, especially the Ministry of Culture, which main function is the promotion of Guyanese culture and arts.
Shivraj told Kaieteur News that the first persons he had written to concerning the production of the film were President David Granger, Minister of Education Rupert Roopnaraine and Minister of Tourism Cathy Hughes.
“Unfortunately, after a 100-plus emails and other attempts to contact the ministers involved and other dignitaries I am yet to get a reply. Though very disappointed that a project of this magnitude was welcomed but now not being given the chance to be screened for this occasion, I am now left with the only option of trying to get it screened otherwise,” he said.
He stated that he first contacted President Granger indicating his decision to make the movie to celebrate the 50th Independence Anniversary and to also make a video to precede the movie which he hopes will encourage racial unity.
The president, he noted, responded three months later to say that he will pass the letter onto Minister of Culture, Nicolette Henry. Shivraj recalled meeting with the Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan, with Hughes and Roopnaraine to discuss the movie and how best they could lend support.
He said he asked them to endorse the project so that it can spread throughout the Diaspora and help to create a film industry. “I indicated that it was necessary for our government to be proud of what is done its citizens,” he said, adding that it is the people of a country who are the true ambassadors.
He stressed that he had also indicated that the project would serve as an excellent tool for tourism and that the video would encourage racial unity while encouraging Guyanese abroad to return home.
He said the ministers promised their support and to have the film be a part of the celebrations when it is completed. But, when he returned to Guyana he was given the royal run-around. He said Hughes had not responded to any of his emails, and though he visited her office several times he was denied a conversation with her.
Roopnaraine, he said, continued to shower him with promises but never came through. He said that he had also written to him on several occasions but never received a reply.
Shivraj emphasized further that he never received any response from Culture Minister Henry.
“Just to clarify: I never asked for any money to make my movie. I wrote ten big companies in Guyana and I was turned down by all. I used my own money hoping that people who promised to showcase my movie would do so. Imagine, the President can reply but they can’t,” he chided.
“I regret that Guyanese at home and the ones visiting from the Diaspora could not have seen a product of Guyana made by Guyanese for the specific occasion of the 50th Jubilee Celebration and showcasing our Guyanese actors and our Guyana. What a pity. Instead the movie will be screened now in another country—what a shame,” he argued.
He stated that it appears as though the “words of the people in office to the citizens who employed them have no significance”.
Shivraj had tried to screen the film at the National Cultural Centre but was told that it was already booked out for the year. He said, too, that it was a challenge to get the two cinemas in Guyana to air the movie.
Protection Game is his sixth film. Till I Find a Place and Brown Sugar too bitter for me are two of his best films so far.

anyone see the film?

the topic is necessarily controversial, and may have been tendentious, hence inappropriate for the occasion

we should all wait for more informed inputs, and keep our powder dry meanwhile

This is shameful. Mahadeo Shivraj is a very patriotic guy.  He eats, sleeps, and breathes Guyanese culture.  As far as I know he is not a political guy.  His work does not promote politics.  

Disappointing!

Part of the Jubilee celebrations ought to be an analysis of where Guyana has gone, and what factors have determined this.   In fact I know that the Symposium, both in G/T and in NYC, hopes to address this.

Its very evidence that our dysfunctional politics, fostered by our ethnic insecurities, have been the prime reason why Barbados, poorer than Guyana in 1966, has now galloped ahead, despite their complete lack of natural resources.

Their healthy and functioning government is why they succeeded and we failed.

Now I don't know the contents of this film. I don't know whether the film represents the usual "West on Trial"  PPP propaganda, which excuses them from any role in our political dysfunction, or ethnic insecurities. 

I would hope not, though Bibi's enthusiastic embrace makes me some what skeptical.

I have seen some of  Shivraj's plays.   I give him credit for his effort.  It is obvious to everyone why his art was rejected.  When you deliberately shut out certain work and you turn around and call for unity government, that is purely hypocritical.

This is shameful. Mahadeo Shivraj is a very patriotic guy.  He eats, sleeps, and breathes Guyanese culture.  As far as I know he is not a political guy.  His work does not promote politics.  

Disappointing!

so, u haven't seen the film . . . but feel compelled to bray

smfh

I have seen some of  Shivraj's plays.   I give him credit for his effort.  It is obvious to everyone why his art was rejected.  When you deliberately shut out certain work and you turn around and call for unity government, that is purely hypocritical.

smfh

redux posted:

Disappointing!

smfh

Bibi isn't known to be a objective person on GNI.

The fact that she so ardently defends this man makes him highly suspect.

Part of the Jubilee celebrations ought to be an analysis of where Guyana has gone, and what factors have determined this.   In fact I know that the Symposium, both in G/T and in NYC, hopes to address this.

Its very evidence that our dysfunctional politics, fostered by our ethnic insecurities, have been the prime reason why Barbados, poorer than Guyana in 1966, has now galloped ahead, despite their complete lack of natural resources.

Their healthy and functioning government is why they succeeded and we failed.

Now I don't know the contents of this film. I don't know whether the film represents the usual "West on Trial"  PPP propaganda, which excuses them from any role in our political dysfunction, or ethnic insecurities. 

I would hope not, though Bibi's enthusiastic embrace makes me some what skeptical.

Duh is wan fancy term yuh gat deh fuh PNC/Burnham Rigging and socialist experiment - nationalization, anti rich people agenda which ended in  destruction of the economy....

Last edited by sachin_05
sachin_05 posted:

Duh is wan fancy term yuh gat deh fuhPNC/Burnham Rigging andsocialist experiment - nationalization, anti rich people agenda which ended in  destruction of the economy....

Suh,sachin_05 what was the PPP/Jagan ideology,inquiring minds want to know.

sachin_05 posted:

Duh is wan fancy term yuh gat deh fuhPNC/Burnham Rigging andsocialist experiment - nationalization, anti rich people agenda which ended in  destruction of the economy....

Jagan was no different, he had the same Socialist crap in mind. But that's not what I am pointing out - Carib is try to rationalize the PNC Rigging as response to "ethnic securities" and the cause for economy collapse..

sachin_05 posted:

Jagan was no different, he had the same Socialist crap in mind. But that's not what I am pointing out - Carib is try to rationalize the PNC Rigging as response to "ethnic securities" and the cause for economy collapse..

Now that it is known why PNC/Burnhman was propped up and became a dictator and also experimented with the country's economy,which sends a progressive country to the bottom of the ladder,an intent by foreign forces to shut out PPP/Jagan from moving Guyana to Socialism,how should the nation proceed for the betterment of the people,should there be a line drawn and move towards a fresh approach? if some form of reconciliation does not take place by the political parties Guyana will be doomed for another 50 yrs.

sachin_05 posted:

Now that it is known why PNC/Burnhman was propped up and became a dictator and also experimented with the country's economy,which sends a progressive country to the bottom of the ladder,an intent by foreign forces to shut out PPP/Jagan from moving Guyana to Socialism,how should the nation proceed for the betterment of the people,should there be a line drawn and move towards a fresh approach? if some form of reconciliation does not take place by the political parties Guyana will be doomed for another 50 yrs.

Both the PPP and the coalition has to reach each other half way to make the reconciliation possible. But if they cannot figure out a seating arrangement I really don't forsee reconciliation in the near future.

I love my country I don't know about you but I invested over 100k US in Guyana in the past 3 years and was hopeful this administration would have allow me to see a return on investment but as of now I am not so sure.

sachin_05 posted:

Both the PPP and the coalition has to reach each other half way to make the reconciliation possible. But if they cannot figure out a seating arrangement I really don't forsee reconciliation in the near future.

I love my country I don't know about you but I invested over 100k US in Guyana in the past 3 years and was hopeful this administration would have allow me to see a return on investment but as of now I am not so sure.

Hopefully better sense prevail,so far the PPP and APNU/AFC are playing hard ball.I wish you success in your investments me thinks you will be ok keep the spirits high,i have made some here the financial crisis of 2008 had taken a toll lost almost the same you have invested i am battling and  never give up can't blame any one,that's the risk we take.

how should the nation proceed for the betterment of the people,should there be a line drawn and move towards a fresh approach? if some form of reconciliation does not take place by the political parties Guyana will be doomed for another 50 yrs.

The trouble is that even today, there is no sign of any correction of those lingering issues. In-spite of the new improved government that has been bestowed upon Guyana.

how should the nation proceed for the betterment of the people,should there be a line drawn and move towards a fresh approach? if some form of reconciliation does not take place by the political parties Guyana will be doomed for another 50 yrs.

The trouble is that even today, there is no sign of any correction of those lingering issues. In-spite of the new improved government that has been bestowed upon Guyana.

I guess we have to hope there will be "4 more years to go"

Don't see any reason that will prevent the government from remaining in office for four more years. I am less enthusiastic about your above mentioned desire materializing though.

Too much ethnic affiliations at the Government level. They fail to put Guyana first and provide excellent services to the nation as a whole.

Narrow-mindedness of the heart is not fertile in progressive thoughts and plans.

The country staggers for the rest of its existence, until a new form of supremacy and world domination comes upon them.

All hope is gone. Leaders are petty. They fail to free the minds of the citizens to vet potential leaders. Granger already imposed his choice. So did Forbes. As for Cheddie, he din think he ever would die.

Too much ethnic affiliations at the Government level. They fail to put Guyana first and provide excellent services to the nation as a whole.

Narrow-mindedness of the heart is not fertile in progressive thoughts and plans.

The country staggers for the rest of its existence, until a new form of supremacy and world domination comes upon them.

All hope is gone. Leaders are petty. They fail to free the minds of the citizens to vet potential leaders. Granger already imposed his choice. So did Forbes. As for Cheddie, he din think he ever would die.

what are u babbling about?

this thread is about a movie . . . which u haven't seen

sachin_05 posted:

I am telling you that Burnham got away with rigging which Africans rationalized because they feared that the PPP would be worse.  They saw a PPP regime driving them into the sea, be reducing them to the level that blacks in Brazil have.

And those in denial merely need to look at the PPP rhetoric of the 70s. Filled with praise of the USSR and Cuba.   Those who think that Jagan wouldn't have turned Guyana into a Marxist state dream. 

One merely looks at the praise that they had when Burnham destroyed the economy by bringing it under state control.

And Indians rationalize PPP criminality for the same reasons.  Look at Bibi's ardent defense of Jagdeo, and then she cannot even back her claims. Her devotion to the PPP is based on one fact only. RACE.

Now those who claim that only Burnham was responsible for dysfunctional politics are themselves revealing their ethnic insecurity.