Press association condemns Ramjattan’s hostility towards media

-calls for apology

March 1 2018

The Guyana Press Association (GPA) today strongly condemned the “verbal attacks on its Executive Member Mr Denis Chabrol and fellow journalists by Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan”.

In a statement, the GPA said that based on official complaints by two of its members against Ramjattan, it was contended that GPA members and journalists were verbally abused – one, Mr Denis Chabrol, on the phone and in person. The GPA said that the verbal abuse continued later yesterday in the presence of members of the media. This abuse occurred as members of the media sought to interview Ramjattan on a topical issue at the farewell parade of the outgoing Commissioner of Police, Seelall Persaud.

Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan

“The Guyana Press Association calls on Minister Ramjattan to apologise to our members and also calls on His Excellency, President David Granger to remind his Cabinet that journalists play a major role in this growing democracy of ours and should be allowed to do their jobs without fear or hindrance”, the association said.

Ramjattan, when approached yesterday afternoon at the event declined to speak with the media. “No press conference please. I’m not dealing with any comments this afternoon”, he said.
When told that reporters were seeking a comment only on the revocation of the gun dealership licence, he responded “no, no please no absolutely not. You seem not to have a time nor place apparently”.
Asked by a journalist why he was dodging the issue, he responded “I am not dodging no issue…Did I not talk to you and you got it on Demerara Waves”. When told that he also cursed on the call, he responded “yes there are times when I could use expletives….I am not going to …”
Asked if the applications came to his desk or through the firearm licensing process, he responded “man you could haul yah ass”.

They tell themselves that they are in power and nobody can take them out regardless of what they do or say.  This is the current mindset of the coalition government and its die-hard supporters.  Some you older folks better remind them that history has a way of repeating itself and all the arrogance and power that they are exhibiting now can be washed away quickly. 

Billy,

not only the current crew,most of the politicians in the homeland have a chip on their shoulder.One of the reasons i have concluded,they are a bunch of rejects running around  as leaders.

Ramjattan has an arrogant and condescending way that he speaks when tough questions are sent his way. I can understand that he's under pressure but it comes with the territory for the job that he's doing. He has to tone it down.

Well he is a lawyer and politician,it should known how to respond diplomatically.

They all trying to be like the Trumpster.  Diff, Trump is being a successful president.  Dem duh animal farm out of skontrol!  The animal 🦓 running the show!

like nehru was holding language school

well if they did not learn that lesson from the ppp then they have to go just like the ppp

Well he is a lawyer and politician,it should known how to respond diplomatically.

He needs to be reminded  that one catches more flies with honey.

Billy,

not only the current crew,most of the politicians in the homeland have a chip on their shoulder.One of the reasons i have concluded,they are a bunch of rejects running around  as leaders.

Brother,

You have a not so unique way of defending the current crop of corruptocrats in government. You should be given an award.

Not if you are dog like him.

I take that as a compliment. 

Last edited by Mitwah

http://newssourcegy.com/news/p...l-yuh-ass-statement/

Public Security Minister apologises to GPA and media workers over “haul yuh ass” statement

In retrospect I am of the opinion that, firstly, I should not have expressed my feelings on matters to Mr. Dennis Chabrol as I did. I always thought that he was adult enough to accept my unvarnished language especially when in a private telephone conversation. I intended him no abuse nor hostility by that expletive. From now on I assure you he will not hear anything from me of that sort. Probably not anything at all!

Public Security Minister apologises to GPA and media workers over “haul yuh ass” statement

Just hours after the Guyana Press Association issued a call for an apology, the Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan issued one this afternoon to the Press Association, journalist Denis Chabrol and other media workers.

He issued the apology to all who were offended by his hostile statement to Mr. Chabrol yesterday as Chabrol attempted to raise questions with him at an event.

In a letter to GPA President Nazima Ragubir, Minister Khemraj Ramjattan said the incident should never have occurred.

SEE LETTER BELOW:

Dear Nazima,

I have received your letter to me dated March 1, 2018. Thanks.

I have reviewed its contents and, though not entirely accurate especially as regards what other media workers have told you, I concede that the incident at Police Sports Club Ground did occur.

In retrospect I am of the opinion that, firstly, I should not have expressed my feelings on matters to Mr. Dennis Chabrol as I did. I always thought that he was adult enough to accept my unvarnished language especially when in a private telephone conversation. I intended him no abuse nor hostility by that expletive. From now on I assure you he will not hear anything from me of that sort. Probably not anything at all!

As regards the other comment, “haul you ass”, which indeed was directed to Dennis Chabrol alone, as I was nearing my vehicle, again I am very sorry. I indeed plea in mitigation that I was very much provoked into it after several times over indicating to him I will not make any public comments about the Commissioner at the Commissioner’s farewell parade. I still believe notwithstanding my reluctance to do so, his questioning me on me that score was totally out of place and wholly unwarranted. But I suppose the Press is always right.

And so I humbly apologise to you, your Press Association, Mr. Dennis Chabrol and all Media workers for what transpired on February 28, 2018.

Yours sincerely,

Khemraj Ramjattan

Vice-President and Minister of Public Security

Ramjattan apologises to the media for abusive language

Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan yesterday apologised to the media for using abusive language in their presence at a farewell parade on Wednesday for Commissioner of Police, Seelall Persaud.

His apology was issued after a statement earlier in the day by the Guyana Press Association (GPA) condemning his verbal attacks on reporters and calling on him for an apology.

On Wednesday at the Police Sports Complex at Eve Leary, reporters including veteran journalist Denis Chabrol sought a comment from Ramjattan about the revocation of a gun dealership licence to the Police Commissioner. Chabrol and Ramjattan had had a conversation  earlier in the day during which the Minister used an expletive.

Chabrol persisted in asking questions at the Eve Leary forum and this led to Ramjattan, currently performing the functions of Prime Minister,  saying to him and in the presence of other reporters “man you could haul yah ass”.

Yesterday, the GPA issued a statement condemning the Minister’s behaviour and calling for an apology.

It said that based on official complaints by two of its members against Ramjattan, it was contended that GPA members and journalists were verbally abused –  Chabrol, on the phone and in person. Further, the GPA said that the verbal abuse continued later on Wednesday in the presence of members of the media at Eve Leary.

“The Guyana Press Association calls on Minister Ramjattan to apologise to our members and also calls on His Excellency, President David Granger to remind his Cabinet that journalists play a major role in this growing democracy of ours and should be allowed to do their jobs without fear or hindrance”, the association said.

In his response to the GPA President, Nazima Raghubir yesterday, Ramjattan said that while the contents of her letter to him were “not entirely accurate” he conceded that the incident at the Police Sports Club Ground did occur.

“In retrospect I am of the opinion that, firstly, I should not have expressed my feelings on matters to Mr Denis Chabrol as I did. I always thought that he was adult enough to accept my unvarnished language especially when in a private telephone conversation. I intended him no abuse nor hostility by that expletive. From now on I assure you he will not hear anything from me of that sort. Probably not anything at all!”.

On the insult `haul you ass’, Ramjattan said that it had been directed to Chabrol alone as he (the minister) was nearing his vehicle and that he was very sorry for it.

“I indeed plea(d) in mitigation that I was very much provoked into it after several times over indicating to him (that) I will not make any public comments about the Commissioner at the Commissioner’s farewell parade. I still believe notwithstanding my reluctance to do so, his questioning me on…that score was totally out of place and wholly unwarranted. But I suppose the press is always right.

“And so I humbly apologise to you, your Press Association, Mr Denis Chabrol and all media workers for what transpired on February 28, 2018”, Ramjattan wrote in his letter to Raghubir.

In her response yesterday  to his letter,  Raghubir said that the GPA acknowledged receipt of the reply and added “We are not completely satisfied with your response since Mr Denis Chabrol remains one of our most respected members and journalists”.

The GPA promised to circulate Ramjattan’s reply to Chabrol and GPA members.

Looks like the GPA,no fully satisfied.

They all trying to be like the Trumpster.  Diff, Trump is being a successful president.  Dem duh animal farm out of skontrol!  The animal 🦓 running the show!

Trump prappa successful president. Now HR McMaster leaving.

4F345E89-1ACE-4D70-8212-3186A4E2F551

• 4F345E89-1ACE-4D70-8212-3186A4E2F551

That's a long list. From a business perspective, it reveals a lack of stability and confidence.

I just came back from the U.S and the business people whom I spoke with are quite happy with the economy unlike ordinary people whom I spoke with are divided 50/50 on Trump. Seems like the lil tax break and jobs, jobs everywhere, are creating the division.

Very Interesting.

That's a long list. From a business perspective, it reveals a lack of stability and confidence.

I just came back from the U.S and the business people whom I spoke with are quite happy with the economy unlike ordinary people whom I spoke with are divided 50/50 on Trump. Seems like the lil tax break and jobs, jobs everywhere, are creating the division.

Very Interesting.

How many people did you speak to in the U.S.?

Agreed. He needs to tone it down.

I do not personally like him but he seems to be doing exactly what a few arrogant PPP MP's were doing. His job is tough but he is a lawyer and a professional and should adhere to higher standards.

Very Interesting.

None of your business.

Very Interesting.

None of your business.

You are giving information and members are asking questions is what GNI is meant for. It's nothing personal to pick and chose. BTW, welcome back from your trip to Paris. 

From the time I posted that list, it has gotten longer. 

And Trump said that he hires only the best people. 

Trump is all fluff. 

Khemraj,

has done the right thing, apologizing to the GPA.

How many times he will repeat the same sh*t and apologize? How about removing that phrase from his brain and start treating Guyanese as human beings with human respect? He needs to go. He is just occupying space and fleecing the taxpayers for just having a tile in the government.

Khemraj,

How many times he will repeat the same sh*t and apologize? How about removing that phrase from his brain and start treating Guyanese as human beings with human respect? He needs to go. He is just occupying space and fleecing the taxpayers for just having a tile in the government.

THIS IS HOW HE SPEAKS WITH VULGARITY. can;t teach OLD DAAG new tricks.

Khemraj,

Like you didn't learn anything from your recent incarceration. 

Khemraj,

Go  play with your Prick,  bloody jerk.

Last edited by kp
kp posted:.

Like you are that Old Daag; a reflection of your attitude and personality.

BTW, last night was full moon. 

Khemraj,

Ksazma, I see you like his reply.  Thank you. 

Last edited by Mitwah

Khemraj,

Ksazma, I see you like his reply.  Thank you. 

Bai, if you mean this, it was a mistake. I didn't mean to like it. Sorry. 

kp posted:.

Like you are that Old Daag; a reflection of your attitude and personality.

BTW, last night was full moon. 

If you step on my toe, I will step on your face, so I suggest don't tangle with me. You are QUICK to report posters to admin.