Presidential debates and all that
By STABROEK EDITOR | POLITICAL ANALYSIS | MONDAY, AUGUST 22, 2011

Now that the PPP/C’s presidential candidate Donald Ramotar has publicly declared his preparedness to debate his rivals for the presidency of the country you have to wonder just how long it will take to put such an exercise together and whether or not we may not be best advised to leave that debate for the 2016 electoral encounter. After all, we were able to learn little about what the candidates stand for during the private sector-organized round of discourse some months ago. Let’s face it, with the possible exception of Khemraj Ramjattan, none of the candidates can be said to possess exceptional public communication skills…that is to say that there are strict limits to their respective capacities to sell themselves. What came out of the earlier forum too was the fact that as far as economic issues are concerned none of them are really and truly on top of their game.

One might well wonder too, about the usefulness of a public debate that is hardly public after all, confined as the private sector affair was to audiences of a few dozen businessmen and, in every case, political supporters, who turned up simply to lend a kind of moral support to the speakers; and then of course there were the media houses, who, try as they might, could not possibly provide the kind of reportage that would allow the electorate the fullest possible access to what the candidates had to say…which of course is, presumably, the whole point of such debates. One gets the impression that we are, in the run-up to these elections, simply going through a process of creating a semblance of change in the way electioneering is done, seeking to mimic a tradition, the essence of which neither the politicians nor the public fully understand.

Public pre-elections debates in countries where the practice has been in place for years and years are actually quite serious exercises where strategies are carefully worked out down to the details of dress and demeanour, where candidates are groomed both physically and mentally and where the media become an all-important factor. How else will those who must vote at elections make their choices? Will NCN and all of the various other electronic houses broadcast these debates live?

Setting aside the fact that we are simply not technologically equipped to do what has to be done to have all of the various television stations contribute to such a venture, the million dollar question has to do with whether the government, the landlord responsible for the state media would be inclined to provide a level playing field for such a debate. Who amongst us would wager even a Guyana dollar on such an eventuality in circumstances where the government, clearly, does not care a brass button about the axiom of free media being at the very heart of free elections. Indeed, so cynical has the administration become about opposition access to the media that it would take feats resembling miracles to have anything that the opposition political parties do or say to warrant even passing mention in the state-run Chronicle or on NCN television or radio.

As an alternative we might as well have a public presidential debate, not at the Square of the Revolution, since that venue is bound to raise controversy and protest but perhaps on CARIFESTA Avenue. The entire Avenue can be cordoned off, people can be bused in or flown in from the various parts of the country. We could have the various IT companies tender for the setting up of ‘big screens’ at strategic points and half a dozen Sound Systems could be hired to provide mood music; and in keeping with the focus on a private sector-driven economy the Cool Down Karts, Sno Cone Vendors could be allowed to benefit from what is bound to be a windfall; and for good measure we could have prayers by Christian, Muslim and Hindu religious people before the start of proceedings.

The only problem there of course is whether having gone to all the trouble and cost our candidates, based on what they have shown us so far, will live up to the billing and deliver a lively show. But even if there is a considerable possibility that they might not, the people deserve to hear them anyway and the Carifesta Avenue option appears to be as good an option as any. Afterwards, of course, there is always the various Sound Systems to counter such depression as might arise from what will probably be an entirely forgettable event.

There should be a debate with all party leaders present. Those who have not made up their minds will get a better understanding of who's running and what is their platform. The members could be given a chance to call in with questions, especially questions for the Duckman.
I'd suspect that debate to be quite heated and a certain person will feel the heat so bad, he'd need to quack a cold one.
In the end, those people will more than likely be rooting for the AFC.
So it's time to start the pressua get all parties to come together on this.

Now that the PPP/C’s presidential candidate Donald Ramotar has publicly declared his preparedness to debate his rivals for the presidency of the country you have to wonder just how long it will take to put such an exercise together and whether or not we may not be best advised to leave that debate for the 2016 electoral encounter.

Given the real effects plus decline, like the USA, in interest for public debates between leading party candidates, it might still be better to concentrate on each individual and his/her political organisations.
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

Now that the PPP/C’s presidential candidate Donald Ramotar has publicly declared his preparedness to debate his rivals for the presidency of the country you have to wonder just how long it will take to put such an exercise together and whether or not we may not be best advised to leave that debate for the 2016 electoral encounter.

Given the real effects plus decline, like the USA, in interest for public debates between leading party candidates, it might still be better to concentrate on each individual and his/her political organisations.

well, well, mouth OPEN, STORY JUMP OUT, THERE WILL BE MUCH ducking about between now and November 28.

That's very profound. clever

Wait a minute here. Hold a debate off until 2016, whatderass is dis?

Didn't Donald know that he's running for the Presidency?
Did he not know that when he ran for the position, he should have some idea what his plans are and what the rass he plans on doing, what's the flipping hold up?
Originally posted by cain:

Wait a minute here. Hold a debate off until 2016, whatderass is dis?

That is the suggestion. Big Grin
Why is it that many Guyanese want to implement American style politics in Guyana?

Some want a federal form of government

Some want to get rid of the party list

Now some want presidential debate.

Remember, America put Guyana in the position it is in today.

The American political system is as corrupt as many countries around the world. Democracy is not alive and well in the USofA.

What does a presidential debate really prove? Someone please tell me. It proves nothing. In America, its money for the TV/Radio stations

Guyanese vote along party/racial lines. A presidential debate in Guyana will not change this trend significantly.

Until our political culture change and we begin to vote on issues, debates means nothing
Originally posted by marlon: Guyanese vote along party/racial lines. A presidential debate in Guyana will not change this trend significantly. Until our political culture change and we begin to vote on issues, debates means nothing
But we do have to start somewhere, at some time, Uncle marlon. This election has the promise of being a watershed one. Change may come sooner than we think possible, Uncle marlon.

flag
So marlon, do you think we should just continue on the same path that's never been walked on?
Banna, the AFC is for change, change is necessary.
What is wrong with having a debate? Most of the voters probably don't even know whatthe election is about, many don't care jus put one a we in deh.

No, it is not so, the people need to know who and what those running for political office stand for.
Originally posted by marlon:
Guyanese vote along party/racial lines.

So finally the PPP admits that its support base in mainly Indian and that it is hated by most blacks.
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
. This election has the promise of being a watershed one. flag

Really! Maybe the first one where the turn out drops below 60%.

While there is much frustration with the two major parties, not the least from their traditional support bases, reports indicate more of a feeling that to vote is to waste one's time than to believe that the AFC is the answer.

I havent seen in any news paper reports that analysts expect a big breakthriough by the AFC. Not even in SN which has been accused of being an AFC paper.
Originally posted by caribj:
. This election has the promise of being a watershed one. flag

While there is much frustration with the two major parties, not the least from their traditional support bases, reports indicate more of a feeling that to vote is to waste one's time than to believe that the AFC is the answer.

I havent seen in any news paper reports that analysts expect a big breakthriough by the AFC. Not even in SN which has been accused of being an AFC paper.
I stand by what I am saying. Last night I spoke at Novar, with a turn out of over 60 persons. Where we spoke was not heavily populated, and the area is traditionally won by the PPP by close to 100%. This not to say that we will by a landslide, caribj, and a lot of work needs to be done. However, the intent is just to dispel some of your gloom and doom.

Please see: http://guyanafriends.com/eve/f...604972/m/81220033051 for pics of Raphael on the campaign trail.

I stand by what I am saying. Last night I spoke at Novar, with a turn out of over 60 persons. Where we spoke was not heavily populated, and the area is traditionally won by the PPP by close to 100%. This not to say that we will by a landslide, caribj, and a lot of work needs to be done. However, the intent is just to dispel some your gloom and doom.

Please see: http://guyanafriends.com/eve/f...604972/m/81220033051 for pics of Raphael on the campaign trail.

The man has finally revealed himself, working for the PNC. He danced around the question for years. He is sour the AFC did not link up with them.
Didn't Donald know that he's running for the Presidency?
Did he not know that when he ran for the position, he should have some idea what his plans are and what the rass he plans on doing, what's the flipping hold up?

No he was told that he is running.
He will be told what to do which is the same not a rass.

So finally the PPP admits that its support base in mainly Indian and that it is hated by most blacks.

lol I could have bet my last dollar that you would pick up on that apan jhaat line. Big Grin
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Tola:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Sase Singh:

You can't change them, no way, Boy you know they were always wan tricksters, you know them always wan tricksters.

You only tell me, that you stand by your records, but you hiding from the debate.

Boy we know you wan trickster.

NICE SONG - RAVI B in the House
Let’s face it, with the possible exception of Khemraj Ramjattan, none of the candidates can be said to possess exceptional public communication skills…that is to say that there are strict limits to their respective capacities to sell themselves.

flag flag flag flag

I have been saying that for dankey months now...

Khemraj Ramjattan is the only one worthy of being President of Guyana.
We could have the various IT companies tender for the setting up of ‘big screens’ at strategic points and half a dozen Sound Systems could be hired to provide mood music; and in keeping with the focus on a private sector-driven economy the Cool Down Karts, Sno Cone Vendors could be allowed to benefit from what is bound to be a windfall

dat is what ah mean by Jagdeo subsistence economy. Big Grin DNB come in...
Political debates are not embedded in Guyanese psyche. It's a waste of time. President Jagdeo doesn't have to explain in a mud-fight about anything, and the reason Comrade Ramotar's refusal to debate is because they are no neutral moderator setting in Guyana.
Originally posted by Cobra:
Political debates are not embedded in Guyanese psyche. It's a waste of time. President Jagdeo doesn't have to explain in a mud-fight about anything, and the reason Comrade Ramotar's refusal to debate is because they are no neutral moderator setting in Guyana.

Show us a love fest political fight!

He is a chicken. yippie
Jagdeo = chicken, Donald = duck, one is your current president and other is your future president. flag

Hey, watch it there buster. Jagdeo is no chicken. He told Janet to shut she ole rass and fuh mine she own bizness. Joey ran and hide.
COBRA: Originally posted by Cobra:

Nah...he don't need to debate like a man with conviction. He just need to go to Babu John and cuss down Harry Ram to Harry Right...that is not mud-fight, nuh?
Originally posted by TK_REDUX:

Your wish, of course. lol

But .. will he ever become President of Guyana? Big Grin

Your wish, of course. lol

But .. will he ever become President of Guyana? Big Grin

Perhaps, Perhaps not.
Originally posted by seignet:

Please tell me y u think so.

Absolutely! He is a fantastic candidate and will make a fine President.

But he needs the support of the people, which he does not have. A coalition with the PNc would have been a perfect opportunity to unseat the PPP but Ramjattan would have had to take a back seat, the AFC want to tek it all.

So far, the theme of his speeches are calling on Guyanese to put racism aside and vote for a party that is unified.

When Jagdeo was selected, ppl knew nothing about him-later we were shocked.

What is ur candidate feelings about homosexuality, abortion, trafficing of Amerindians and sexual molestation of minors.
I don't think Ramotar has any votes to gain by debating Ramjattan or Granger. He already has the elections in the bag if he just staan quiet. He will lose votes if he debate and come off as incompetent. The risk is just not worth the while.

And idiot Caribj, the the PNC support is mainly blacks and is hated by most Indians.

This is not a one way street. The PNC divided the country along racila lines