President vows to pardon more convicts

President David Granger addressing the Education Month 2015 rally at the National Park on Friday, October 10, 2015. President David Granger addressing the Education Month 2015 rally at the National Park on Friday, October 10, 2015.

President David Granger on Friday vowed to pardon more non-violent persons who were convicted and jailed for petty offences.
Addressing an Education Month rally that was held at the National Park under the theme “Quality Educational Leadership: Improving Schools from Within,” he dismissed critics who have assailed him for the release of 60 prisoners in May, 26.
“Some people are quarreling because a few people who steal cell phones are allowed to get out of jail free… I will do it again next year; young people don’t have a right in jail, they have a right in school like, they have a right in college so I will keep on doing it and my critics will continue complaining,” he told hundreds of students from several schools.
A section of the students who attended the Education Month Rally 2015.The President stressed the importance of children being in schools and universities to become qualified and serve their country. He has previously announced that next year’s national budget would include incentives for parents who ensure their children attend school and eventually university.
Granger has come in for sharp criticism by ordinary Guyanese who say that the release of convicts from prison would and has been contributing to more crimes being committed.
The Guyana Bar Association (GBA) has criticized the secrecy in which the pardons have been granted. “While the Bar Association supports the principle of pardon, we regret that until these questions are answered, there can be no unqualified endorsement of the President’s action,”the association was quoted Friday as saying by the privately-owned Stabroek News newspaper. The GBA queried whether the stipulated procedures were followed in freeing the petty thieves and others convicted for non-violent crimes.
Granger again mentioned that government was doing all it can to provide transportation – boats, buses and bicycles-for children to go to school.
The President echoed Education Minister, Dr Rupert Roopnaraine’s call for children to grow up respecting each other in a diverse society. “One of the most important rules we have learned is respect for each other. We are a multicultural, multi-ethnic society and one of the most important things we have to learn is respect for each other and respect for ourselves,” he said.

I do not mind him pardoning some people. I think the young girl, 23 years old who got picked up for some reefer and who was pregnant at sentencing and had a 3 year old at home should not have sent away for 3  to 5 years by Magistrate Priya Seenarine Beharry. That was a miscarriage of justice.

I bet there are more like her.  However, I think it should be transparent and open and be done with the advise and council of probation officers, social workers and strict guidelines as to finishing high school or attending vocational school to acquire some skill in lieu of the sentence. They should be on a tight leash and if possibly electronically monitored.

What would the Canadian investors say when they hear more prisoners will be pardoned and put back into society? The first phase is still fresh in everyone's mind. Now the government is releasing more? This is outrageous.

If the government is sure that the first sixty felons made good on their release, then I would say it's OK. But the public was not given the names or their offenses unto this day. Recently, one person believe to be one of the pardoned felon committed rape and they were tight lipped about it. 

Originally Posted by D2:

I do not mind him pardoning some people. I think the young girl, 23 years old who got picked up for some reefer and who was pregnant at sentencing and had a 3 year old at home should not have sent away for 3  to 5 years by Magistrate Priya Seenarine Beharry. That was a miscarriage of justice.

I bet there are more like her.  However, I think it should be transparent and open and be done with the advise and council of probation officers, social workers and strict guidelines as to finishing high school or attending vocational school to acquire some skill in lieu of the sentence. They should be on a tight leash and if possibly electronically monitored.

That's exactly what they should be doing.

Originally Posted by TK:

This President operates in a bubble!! If they plan to pardon people they should tell public the systems they have in place so these people don't commit another crime.

These were the guys you were supporting, if my memory serves me right.

Z
Originally Posted by Zed:
Originally Posted by TK:

This President operates in a bubble!! If they plan to pardon people they should tell public the systems they have in place so these people don't commit another crime.

I have to ability to think in terms of net benefits and costs. When the net is negative I will let aluh know...arite!

Originally Posted by TK:
Originally Posted by D2:

That's exactly what they should be doing.

I agree!

Originally Posted by TK:

So? When they are wrong, what's the problem if those who support them speak out against it? Is this wrong?

Now have you ever seen anyone here say the PPP were wrong in anything, nope, they were allowed to do whatever they wish because it was "abee time now"

These petty crimes are the gateway to bigger and more dangerous criminal activities. Now he is giving his supporters laissez faire to engage in enacting retribution on the Indians. 

Originally Posted by asj:

President vows to pardon more convicts

President David Granger addressing the Education Month 2015 rally at the National Park on Friday, October 10, 2015. President David Granger addressing the Education Month 2015 rally at the National Park on Friday, October 10, 2015.

President David Granger on Friday vowed to pardon more non-violent persons who were convicted and jailed for petty offences.
Addressing an Education Month rally that was held at the National Park under the theme “Quality Educational Leadership: Improving Schools from Within,” he dismissed critics who have assailed him for the release of 60 prisoners in May, 26.
“Some people are quarreling because a few people who steal cell phones are allowed to get out of jail free… I will do it again next year; young people don’t have a right in jail, they have a right in school like, they have a right in college so I will keep on doing it and my critics will continue complaining,” he told hundreds of students from several schools.
A section of the students who attended the Education Month Rally 2015.The President stressed the importance of children being in schools and universities to become qualified and serve their country. He has previously announced that next year’s national budget would include incentives for parents who ensure their children attend school and eventually university.
Granger has come in for sharp criticism by ordinary Guyanese who say that the release of convicts from prison would and has been contributing to more crimes being committed.
The Guyana Bar Association (GBA) has criticized the secrecy in which the pardons have been granted. “While the Bar Association supports the principle of pardon, we regret that until these questions are answered, there can be no unqualified endorsement of the President’s action,”the association was quoted Friday as saying by the privately-owned Stabroek News newspaper. The GBA queried whether the stipulated procedures were followed in freeing the petty thieves and others convicted for non-violent crimes.
Granger again mentioned that government was doing all it can to provide transportation – boats, buses and bicycles-for children to go to school.
The President echoed Education Minister, Dr Rupert Roopnaraine’s call for children to grow up respecting each other in a diverse society. “One of the most important rules we have learned is respect for each other. We are a multicultural, multi-ethnic society and one of the most important things we have to learn is respect for each other and respect for ourselves,” he said.

I really don't know if this will work but time will tell. The government must have systems in place to monitor petty criminals.

President Granger does have some excellent ideas but the timing of these ideas and implementation by Harmon seems out of sink with the current situation in Guyana. We must give the President time to implement them.

Granger does have Guyana at heart but it is Harmon who is creating the mistrust among Guyanese.

President Granger does have some excellent ideas but the timing of these ideas and implementation by Harmon seems out of sink with the current situation in Guyana. We must give the President time to implement them.

Granger does have Guyana at heart but it is Harmon who is creating the mistrust among Guyanese.

lol . . . poor u

u so badly need a black demon to flog

Originally Posted by politikalamity:

some marijuana crimes should be decriminalized. People should not be in jail for marijuana use, but in rehab if the legal system really wants to help them.

Why Rehab, who needs to stop puffin'?

well when people have their priorities mixed up like smoking while pregnant or leaving kids at home to go smoke maybe they need some help..no?

some marijuana crimes should be decriminalized. People should not be in jail for marijuana use, but in rehab if the legal system really wants to help them.

Even though I do not smoke, I support legalizing it. 

Why punish people for puffing something that in a lot of cases can help them ?

Originally Posted by TK:

I have to ability to think in terms of net benefits and costs. When the net is negative I will let aluh know...arite!

Let's see. How can I help? Release many prisoners from jail but keeping the process and names from the public, named 25 ministers and 4 Vice Presidents for a populaction of just over 750,000, crime rate has increased, the economy has slowed down, rice industry in serious problems, unemployment has increase, extravagant spending by ministers, gave pensioners a net raise of $300 per month, promised public servants a decent wage increase but gave them only 10 percent, denied that they were contemplating a massive wage hike for ministers, etc and now announced that they deserve it because they are better than the other public servants and they do not want to be corrupted, when in opposition, passed motion to reduce bridge toll by half and now reduced it by a mere pittance. Promised AFC all these responsibilities and did not live up to it, criticized the previous government about jobs for the boys and now are doing the same thing, ministers running around not knowing their remit, no commission of inquiry into the extra judicial and phantom killing, promised change while things are basically staying the same...

but then again, as an economist, you will differ. What do they say, put 1000 economists in a room to address one problem and they will come up with 1000 different solutions. Please let me know when the negatives outweigh the positives and how you determined that.

Z

well when people have their priorities mixed up like smoking while pregnant or leaving kids at home to go smoke maybe they need some help..no?

Dunno about leaving kids at home to go for a smoke but just as there is help for cigarettes and booze, they could do the same but what I find is the people I know myself included can go without it for minutes..ah mean, days..ammm ah mean weeks/months with no withdrawals.

For non users they think a lil puff drives one mad, not so.

I can have one, stand in front of you and converse, you wouldn't know unless I told you.

Now when mixed with booze its obvious booze can take over and poor puff gets the blame. I say ban booze, legalize the 'erb.

Originally Posted by TK:

Me hear the President already pardon Jagdeo, Ashni, Irfaan and Brazzi but he not saying suh openly.The President seh he have no case against Jagdeo now becaz Moses salary bigger than Jagdeo one.

Originally Posted by TK:

Me hear the President already pardon Jagdeo, Ashni, Irfaan and Brazzi but he not saying suh openly.The President seh he have no case against Jagdeo now becaz Moses salary bigger than Jagdeo one.

That better be joke.

http://azmarijuana.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/Arizona-Marijuana-Legalization-20161.jpg

President Granger to pardon more prisoners

… as Bar Association joins mounting disapproval

Despite coming under heavy criticism by various sections of society, including the Bar Association, following his May decision to release some 40 odd “petty” criminals from prison, President David Granger is insisting that another batch of convicts will be released next year.

President David Granger

The Head of State made this announcement on Friday while addressing hundreds of students from schools across Guyana at the Education Month rally held at the National Park, Thomas Lands, Georgetown.

President Granger said that he does not want to see Guyana’s young people at the New Opportunity Corp nor in any of the country’s prisons. He reiterated that too many Guyanese children go to the “Underneeming Primary School”, then to the “Camp Street Secondary School” and move on to graduate from the “Mazaruni University”.

“They spend their whole lives in confinement,” he stated. According to the Head of State, persons are quarrelling because he has released a few “people who steal cellphones” but this will not deter him as he is determined to do the same again next year.

“I said go your way and sin no more. Get out of jail go to college, go to university instead and some people are quarrelling with that, I will do it again next year! Young don’t have a right in jail, they have a right in school… so I will keep on doing it and my critics will keep on complaining,” he said defiantly.

As part of the country’s 49th Independence Day celebration in May, President Granger announced that he will be pardoning some 60 “petty” criminals in their late teens to mid 20s, however only 40 of them were released in June. The missing 20 were presumably found unsuitable for various undetermined reasons and remain incarcerated.

The criteria include prisoners who are facing short sentences; those who are incarcerated for petty, non-violent offences; and those prisoners between the ages of 18 and 24. This pardoned gesture applies to both female and male inmates.

This decision had caused great uneasiness among Guyanese, especially business owners, since the country’s crime rates were high at the time. Persons were also calling for the identifies of these convicts to be publicised, however it was explained that this would have hindered the reintegration process of these young people back into society.

Only recently, the Guyana Bar Association (GBA) has trenchantly criticised the secrecy behind the pardoned convicts in a local newspaper, asserting that unless queries on the identities of these persons are answered then the Association will not endorse the President’s action. In the months following the Presidential pardon, this newspaper had persistently queried the Police and prison service to provide the name of the pardoned prisoners, without any success.

It was even alleged that one of the persons who had been pardoned by President Granger raped an elderly woman in Berbice. Since the incident, the Guyana Police Force and Prison Service have been mum on the incident with some of them appearing to be suffering from bouts of amnesia whenever this newspaper attempted to ask questions about the young man’s background and track record with a view to confirming the allegation.

Meanwhile, the pardoned youths were reportedly accepted into the USAID’s Skills and Knowledge for Youth Employment (SKYE) Project. SKYE Chief-of-Party Magda Wills had told Guyana Times that all of the released youths are attached to coaches from their respective areas.

Before their release on June 12, the 40 individuals were all interviewed by SKYE representatives and were identified for certain training programmes that were being conducted in all the regions.

Training was conducted in Regions Two (Pomeroon-supenaam), Three (Essequibo Islands-West Demerara), Four (Demerara-Mahaica), Five (Mahaica-Berbice), Six (East Berbice-Corentyne) and 10 (Upper Demerara-Berbice).

Approximately 98 per cent of the amnesty beneficiaries were male while the other two per cent of females were between the ages of 18 and 25.

Some Guyanese are very concerned about the President’s latest statement because only recently the Guyana Police Force disclosed that there has been an increase of 10 per cent in serious crimes at the end of July 2015, compared to the same period last year.

Originally Posted by TK:

I have already noted that they will not jail Jagdeo because he is the perfect compromised opposition leader for them. Imagine Jagdeo says he will fight corruption. That's the biggest joke of the decade!! The PPP will decline further with Jagdeo at the head. PPP will be a long time in opposition unless there is an internal revolution to throw him out.  

lol . . . poor u

u so badly need a black demon to flog

That's reverse racism. Anyway on the subject, we still don't know the names and crimes committed by the 60+ that was released earlier. The community where they are released into has a legal right to know who is coming, if it is petty crime no one cares. PNC preached TRANSPARENCY.

Originally Posted by TK:

The PPP will decline further with Jagdeo at the head. PPP will be a long time in opposition unless there is an internal revolution to throw him out.  

Although the evidence shows that the PPP support grew continuously while he was the leader. It only dropped off when he passed that leadership over to Ramoutar.   The 2020 elections, if still free and fair will be the best measure of whether he really harms the PPP party or not.

Originally Posted by kp:

Anyway on the subject, we still don't know the names and crimes committed by the 60+ that was released earlier. The community where they are released into has a legal right to know who is coming, if it is petty crime no one cares. PNC preached TRANSPARENCY.

People actually believed that. Or maybe they just wanted to.

Originally Posted by ksazma:
Originally Posted by TK:

The PPP will decline further with Jagdeo at the head. PPP will be a long time in opposition unless there is an internal revolution to throw him out.  

Although the evidence shows that the PPP support grew continuously while he was the leader. It only dropped off when he passed that leadership over to Ramoutar.   The 2020 elections, if still free and fair will be the best measure of whether he really harms the PPP party or not.

LOL! CaribJ makes that same point

RAWANDA THE NEW GUYANA CHANGE FROM CIVILIZATION TO TRIBALISM!!!!!!!!!!

shut your behind you silly fool. There is not a damn thing wrong with tribalism. Rawanda? You are sniffing glue!

Originally Posted by D2:

RAWANDA THE NEW GUYANA CHANGE FROM CIVILIZATION TO TRIBALISM!!!!!!!!!!

shut your behind you silly fool. There is not a damn thing wrong with tribalism. Rawanda? You are sniffing glue!

In Kamdini, Northern Uganda where we drill water wells, tribalism works well as a community, that function in unison to build and go forward.

A very resilient people who bounced back from LRA attacks of capture, rape and torture.    

Last edited by Tola

http://azmarijuana.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/Arizona-Marijuana-Legalization-20161.jpg