President to announce Election Date today

President Donald Ramotar. [iNews' Photo]

President Donald Ramotar. [iNews’ Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] – iNews has confirmed that President Donald Ramotar is slated to announce a date for general and regional elections later this afternoon.

A source from the main Opposition – A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) -told iNews that the President informed Opposition Leader, David Granger of his intention to make the announcement today.

Sources confirmed that the President will make the announcement in an address to the nation, slated to be aired on the National Communications Network (NCN).

Unconfirmed reports suggest that the date will be sometime in the month of May.

Elections are not constitutionally due until 2016 but the President has decided on an early election given the political situation in Guyana, where the Opposition holds the majority in Parliament.

The President prorogued Parliament on November 10, 2014 in order to stave off facing a No Confidence Motion tabled by the minority parliamentary Party – the Alliance For Change (AFC) against the government.

Wewill so0n find out who is a Druggy and who IS A JACKASS.

We all found that out when you posted bullshit...you do a fine job braying though. You does bray dem Hindu songs dem too?

Wewill so0n find out who is a Druggy and who IS A JACKASS.

We all found that out when you posted bullshit...you do a fine job braying though. You does bray dem Hindu songs dem too?

look who is talkin, the BIGGESt JACKASS on the Planet.

Originally Posted by kp:

Great timing for a fair and free election, tell your family and friends to get out and vote, don't blame anyone if the PPP get re-elected , so far they are the best of all EVIL.

Correct!

BREAKING NEWS: May 11th is ‘E’ Day: President calls for peace and stability

January 20, 2015 5:23 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Kurt Campbell

President Donald Ramotar.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – President Donald Ramotar announced this evening, in an address to the nation, that General and Regional Elections will be held on Monday, May11th , 2015.

GOD BLESS YOU MR PRESIDENT.  DAT IS WAHT I CALL AL YUH GET WHAT YOU ASKED FOR.

CONGRATS TO THE GOVT AND PEOPLE OF GUYANA.  THIS SHOWS THE PRESENT GOVT IS THE ONLY ONE TO HAVE CONTINUED PROGRESS AND PROSPERITY.  HOWEVER, THE GUYANESE PEOPLE WILL MAKE THEIR CHOICE SOON!!! woW!!!   wow!!!

General AND Local???  WOW!!!  WOW!!!

Pavi doh is woh dem call um bai...general and regional reps foh parliment. It doan mean local gov eleckshun. Local eleckshun is a different animul. 

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

General AND Local???  WOW!!!  WOW!!!

Pavi doh is woh dem call um bai...general and regional reps foh parliment. It doan mean local gov eleckshun. Local eleckshun is a different animul. 

yuH RIGHT i AM SORRY, i GOT too excited.

PRESIDENT ANNOUNCES MAY 11TH ELECTION DAY DATE ADDRESS TO THE NATION BY HIS EXCELLENCY DONALD RAMOTAR PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA AND COMMANDER IN CHIEF OF THE ARMED FORCES TUESDAY, JANUARY 20, 2015 My fellow Guyanese, as you will recall I prorogued Parliament on November 10, 2014. In doing so, I indicated that I was opting to preserve rather than end the life of the 10th Parliament. I was also attempting to avoid further political conflict and seek avenues of political accommodation between my government and the parliamentary opposition parties. I had hoped that the period of prorogation would have allowed for extant tensions to ease and for all of the parliamentary parties to constructively engage the government. At all times I have acted in accordance with the Constitution of Guyana. I also did it to enfranchise those persons, though no fault of their own, who could not get on the Voters Roll at the last election because of lack of source documents, mainly residents living in the hinterland. Unfortunately, the opportunities that prorogation provided for continued dialogue and engagements with the parliamentary opposition parties have not materialized. The parliamentary opposition adopted an inflexible position that they will not engage with me until parliament is reconvened. I had hoped that they would have reconsidered this unproductive posture and meet with me so that we can discuss our differences and find solutions to advance the development of Guyana. During this current period, my government paid strict adherence to the Constitution in administering the welfare of our nation. Further there were regular interactions with national and international stakeholders to keep them abreast with developments and my efforts to reach some level of political consensus. Meetings were also held with the Guyana Elections Commission [GECOM) to emphasize the need for their readiness for holding free, fair, transparent and efficient elections. This was consistent with my intention to call general elections should there be failure to find accommodation with the parliamentary opposition parties. You will recall that in December 2014, I had alerted international observers to the possibility of elections in 2015. Also, at a Press Conference I assured the nation that I was going to announce a date for General and Regional Elections early in the New Year as not to disrupt the holiday season. My commitment to preserving and strengthening our democracy is unquestionable. I made it clear then that I remained open to dialogue with the opposition parties. It is a door that I did not nor do not intend to shut, now or ever. In light of the opposition’s sustained refusal to engage my Government in the dialogue we anticipated and in light of the commitment I made to you, the people of Guyana, I now move towards general elections. In the circumstances, I hereby announce that General and Regional Elections shall be held on Monday, 11th May, 2015. I am advised that GECOM would be in a state of readiness for these polls on that date. As usual, I intent to invite international observers to be part of the elections process and I will expect the political parties, the security services and the people of Guyana to conduct themselves in a manner that would ensure continued peace and stability before, during and after the elections. We have a collective obligation to ensure the protection of the democratic gains we have made and for which we have endured so much as a nation to secure.

PRESIDENT ANNOUNCES MAY 11TH ELECTION DAY DATE

ADDRESS TO THE NATION BY
HIS EXCELLENCY DONALD RAMOTAR
PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA
AND COMMANDER IN CHIEF OF THE ARMED FORCES

TUESDAY, JANUARY 20, 2015

My fellow Guyanese, as you will recall I prorogued Parliament on November 10, 2014. In doing so, I indicated that I was opting to preserve rather than end the life of the 10th Parliament. I was also attempting to avoid further political conflict and seek avenues of political accommodation between my government and the parliamentary opposition parties.

I had hoped that the period of prorogation would have allowed for extant tensions to ease and for all of the parliamentary parties to constructively engage the government. At all times I have acted in accordance with the Constitution of Guyana.

I also did it to enfranchise those persons, though no fault of their own, who could not get on the Voters Roll at the last election because of lack of source documents, mainly residents living in the hinterland.

Unfortunately, the opportunities that prorogation provided for continued dialogue and engagements with the parliamentary opposition parties have not materialized. The parliamentary opposition adopted an inflexible position that they will not engage with me until parliament is reconvened. I had hoped that they would have reconsidered this unproductive posture and meet with me so that we can discuss our differences and find solutions to advance the development of Guyana.

During this current period, my government paid strict adherence to the Constitution in administering the welfare of our nation. Further there were regular interactions with national and international stakeholders to keep them abreast with developments and my efforts to reach some level of political consensus.

Meetings were also held with the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) to emphasize the need for their readiness for holding free, fair, transparent and efficient elections. This was consistent with my intention to call general elections should there be failure to find accommodation with the parliamentary opposition parties. You will recall that in December 2014, I had alerted international observers to the possibility of elections in 2015. Also, at a Press Conference I assured the nation that I was going to announce a date for General and Regional Elections early in the New Year as not to disrupt the holiday season. My commitment to preserving and strengthening our democracy is unquestionable.

I made it clear then that I remained open to dialogue with the opposition parties. It is a door that I did not nor do not intend to shut, now or ever. In light of the opposition’s sustained refusal to engage my Government in the dialogue we anticipated and in light of the commitment I made to you, the people of Guyana, I now move towards general elections.

In the circumstances, I hereby announce that General and Regional Elections shall be held on Monday, 11th May, 2015.

I am advised that GECOM would be in a state of readiness for these polls on that date.

As usual, I intent to invite international observers to be part of the elections process and I will expect the political parties, the security services and the people of Guyana to conduct themselves in a manner that would ensure continued peace and stability before, during and after the elections. We have a collective obligation to ensure the protection of the democratic gains we have made and for which we have endured so much as a nation to secure.

source: newguymedia

Originally Posted by Conscience:

By Kurt Campbell

[www.inewsguyana.com] – President Donald Ramotar announced this evening, in an address to the nation, that General and Regional Elections will be held on Monday, May11th , 2015.

Thiefman calling fuh peace and stability?

This son of a bitch finally has been cornered and now he is forced to face the music.

I told you all that Rope gat end.......

By Kurt Campbell

This son of a bitch finally has been cornered and now he is forced to face the music.

YUH SHAMELESS NEEEMAKARAAM DAAAAG. GWAN YUH!!!

By Kurt Campbell

AND I TOLD YOUR DUMB ASS THAT ELECTION WILL BE HELD IN APRIL OR MAY of 2015. YOU, ON THE OTHER HAND, SPEW YOUR KWAMEE MANTRA.

In the meantime, Ramotar is strengthening his right leg to shove his foot down the crack of your ass srtaight down your anus.

By Kurt Campbell

AND I TOLD YOUR DUMB ASS THAT ELECTION WILL BE HELD IN APRIL OR MAY of 2015. YOU, ON THE OTHER HAND, SPEW YOUR KWAMEE MANTRA.

In the meantime, Ramotar is strengthening his right leg to shove his foot down the crack of your ass srtaight down your anus.

Oh Lord have mercy.... Is he who said uncle Ramu will call election next year? The Prezy should use both feet instead.  

By Kurt Campbell

Oh Lord have mercy.... Is he who said uncle Ramu will call election next year? The Prezy should use both feet instead.  

Bhai Cobra, Don't talk about 2 feet. He might get happy and think he will get double his pleasure. Anyway, his ass is wide enough to handle the president's 2 feet. Lots of camoodi went through there.

By Kurt Campbell

Bhai Cobra, Don't talk about 2 feet. He might get happy and think he will get double his pleasure. Anyway, his ass is wide enough to handle the president's 2 feet. Lots of camoodi went through there.

HEEEEEEEb   HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE   HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA   HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA    GUYANA, SWEET, SWEET GUYANA.

By Kurt Campbell

The international community finally force a boot up Ramotar ass. The British Foreign Minister, the British Ambassador and the EU along with the americans told this ***** hole enough is enough.

Shut up and call elections that is what he was told.

By Kurt Campbell

The international community finally force a boot up Ramotar ass. The British Foreign Minister, the British Ambassador and the EU along with the americans told this ***** hole enough is enough.

Yes bai harsie. You de man. You bin near uncle Ramu battie ah smell am wen dem tell he dis nah? B4 elekshan you guh stress out and dem have to admit you in de haspital.

I AM NOT GOING TO INSULT AND EMBARRASS AHOLE AND CRACK HEADS. BUT I WOULD LIKE THE FORUM TO TAKE NOTE OF THESE FOOLS.  THEY LOVE TO SPEW DAILY GARBAGE.  I MAN DONE.

I heard dat you are afkin disgrace to the Guyanese community.

By Kurt Campbell

Yes bai harsie. You de man. You bin near uncle Ramu battie ah smell am wen dem tell he dis nah? B4 elekshan you guh stress out and dem have to admit you in de haspital.

You cant deny that because that is the truth. Lame ass Birkett wid her nonsense had to go and beg pardon.

They were told by the ABCE countries to go **** off.........that is why Ramotar now has to call elections yes?

Come on tell the truth and be honest for a change.

Dem foreign governments dig a slap in e *****..........slap fuh slap. Fat bastard get put in e place.

You eva axe youseff why you so friggin sthupid? Wah mek dem nah bin dig slap b4? Dem lolo bin in you battie den?

Dem foreign governments dig a slap in e *****..........slap fuh slap. Fat bastard get put in e place.

You eva axe youseff why you so friggin sthupid? Wah mek dem nah bin dig slap b4? Dem lolo bin in you battie den?

Whattax one slap in e *****, he ears still ringing go and ask him.....

The A.F.C/A.P.N.U has called for snap elections, not that its one, the cowards are hiding in their shell.

What shit are you spewing here today? No wonder I does have to call you guys fkin idiots. It is a known fact that everyone but the PPP wants an election you jackass. Now its here all of a sudden yall wanted one. FGo fk yourself.

How dem lolo sung in you battie?

Go and ask Ramo how much lolo he get from dem diplomats.......go and ask him........

You bin ah smell de man battie. Oh, me farget, you bin ah tek dem lolo.