President promises to move to elections mode

– should talks during ‘prorogation’ period fail
— causes major upset in Opposition camp with suspended sitting

By Vanessa Narine, November 11, 2014, Source - Guyana Chronicle

President promises to move to elections mode
President Donald Ramotar

PARLIAMENT was yesterday prorogued by President Donald Ramotar, which essentially means that sittings of the 65-member National Assembly, under the 10th Parliament, are suspended for up to a maximum of six months, via a Proclamation that was Gazetted, as required by law. 

And in an address to the nation, the Head of State made it clear that the move was to allow for talks in the interest of the Guyanese people.

However, should this course of action fail, Mr. Ramotar was clear in stating that there will be a move to early general elections.

“I have taken this step with the hope that the time gained would be used for the benefit our people… Were these entreaties of cooperation by my government to be unsuccessful, I would then take the necessary steps for the holding of early General Elections so that the democratic will of our people can be freely exercised,” he said.

On that score, Mr. Ramotar has appealed for “political maturity, and the exercise of good judgment” from all stakeholders in the political arena, to put Guyana and Guyanese first.

CAUSE FOR UPSET
Meanwhile, in the Opposition camp, the President’s announcement has triggered major upset.

APNU Leader Brigadier (rtd) David Granger, in a public statement, contends that Mr. Ramotar’s move “has effectively paralysed” the parliamentary process.

He said, “President Ramotar has now single-handedly engineered a constitutional crisis…it is an affront to the Guyanese people.

“…APNU will not accept this denial of democracy and will not be intimidated by the PPP/C’s dictatorial behaviour.

“APNU is resolved to resist the President’s ‘Proclamation’. APNU calls on all the good people of Guyana everywhere to join in a civil movement for the restoration of parliamentary democracy by peacefully resisting the PPP/C’s resort to dictatorship and to call for the revocation of this ‘Proclamation’.”

The AFC Leader, Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, expressed similar sentiments, adding that the proroguing of the National Assembly has left the combined Opposition more unified in its bid to ensure that the current administration is “displaced.”

“They dislodged a constitutional process (the moving of a no-confidence motion)…what we are being led into could be terrible,” he said, stressing that his party has the interest of the country at heart.

Also, the Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman, also an AFC Executive, was emphatic in stating that the President was “wrong in his decision to prorogue the National Assembly. “Yes it was a bad decision,” he said, in an invited comment.

According to him, there needs to be a fresh look at Guyana’s Constitution. “We need to relook our entire Constitution, because things they thought they wouldn’t be looking at and using are being used at the moment and not for the right reason.”

Attorney-General (AG) and Minister of Legal Affairs, Anil Nandlall, meanwhile, has defended the legality of the President’s actions.
In a televised programme yesterday, he stated that the President’s decision is neither “unconstitutional” nor is it “undemocratic” – as it is provided for in the laws of Guyana.
“It presents an opportunity for leaders to come together and actually work together. The nation will see how they take this ‘glorious opportunity’ to move our country forward,” Nandlall said.
Section 70 (1) of the Constitution states that: “The President may, at any time, by proclamation, prorogue Parliament.”

Source - http://guyanachronicle.com/pre...e-to-elections-mode/

PMonen Laundering Bill good fuh Abee People , Dem seh NO,  Amelis fuh cheap energy, DEm seh NO, Dem nah kno YES.

Let's be supportive and confident that the PPP will conquer over evil an make every NO's into YES.  

I don't expect the opposition will ever heed to the president's call. It is obvious that the president will have to move on to phase two. Back to the poll.

Either the polls now or in 2016.

However, the opposition parties are/were focused on it to be now.

Therefore, President Donald Ramotar has simply provided the process to accommodate either option.

I don't expect the opposition will ever heed to the president's call. It is obvious that the president will have to move on to phase two. Back to the poll.

Therefore, President Donald Ramotar has simply provided the process to accommodate either option.

DEm want am, dem get am.

* The opposition will never work along with the PPP in parliament, so elections it will be.

* But here is the thing. Moses and company wanted to brag to the nation that they brought down the PPP via no confidence motion. The opposition was all excited about bringing down the PPP government.

* But Ramotar use his power and shocked them with the prorogue and now they are pissing mad that they can no longer brag about bringing down the PPP government.

BOTTOM LINE:

* The PPP will be re-elected with a majority the next election.

ha ha ha ha ha 

* The opposition will never work along with the PPP in parliament, so elections it will be.

* But here is the thing. Moses and company wanted to brag to the nation that they brought down the PPP via no confidence motion. The opposition was all excited about bringing down the PPP government.

* But Ramotar use his power and shocked them with the prorogue and now they are pissing mad that they can no longer brag about bringing down the PPP government.

BOTTOM LINE:

* The PPP will be re-elected with a majority the next election.

ha ha ha ha ha 

DEm want am, dem get am.

ha ha ha ha ha 

Shocking, ya think? did you drink some water instead of the usual serpent piss?

RE: However, should this course of action fail, Mr. Ramotar was clear in stating that there will be a move to early general elections.

“I have taken this step with the hope that the time gained would be used for the benefit our people… Were these entreaties of cooperation by my government to be unsuccessful, I would then take the necessary steps for the holding of early General Elections so that the democratic will of our people can be freely exercised,” he said.

HAHAHAHAAAAA  THE OLD "BRING OT ONNNN"  HAHAHAHAAAA  WHAT A BUNCH A JOKERS THESE ppp PEOPLE hahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Bunch of bloody morons this PPP. Low breed morons

Cain dis is powerful stuff Jalil revealed...

This is what triggered everything this morning.....

De Breaking News

Ramotar's Deal was rejected by APNU.

Diplomats told Ramotar he will be held Personally Responsible if they Hit is carried thru.

After being rejected by APNU.....he Ran to the Election Commission to see if he can get them to delay or agree to delay elections....He was told to haul his ass.

De President was running around like a lil boy......

and everyone tell him Quack Off....&....Puck off.

Do you know how stupid you look?  MONC would have led immediately to elections, so why are you threatening elections.  The PPP is stalling for time because they are terrified that crapaud Ramotar will bore his base, leading many to either not vote, or jump to the AFC in protest.

Either the polls now

The AFC at least wants polls now.  The PPP knows this and is stalling for time.

Quit making yourself look like the jackass that you know you are.

Either the polls now

Quit making yourself look like the jackass that you know you are.

You indeed have interesting ways to describe yourself.

The PPP own internal polls show they would lose an election, so they have no choice but to delay the inevitable. It is understandable.

I do find this funny that these guys all know the PPP running from an election and they are happy, aiai ai...and then they say, Bring it on,  ai ai ai

The PPP own internal polls show they would lose an election, so they have no choice but to delay the inevitable. It is understandable.

I do find this funny that these guys all know the PPP running from an election and they are happy, aiai ai...and then they say, Bring it on,  ai ai ai

It is absolute comedy..........It is amazing to watch them view this as if the PPP stuck it to the opposition hehehehehee. Comedy......

I think they are trying to hide the shame.

The PPP is in pure panic.  I was told today that after the Jagans the most respected man was Nagamootoo.  Now he is breathing fire on the PPP Ramotar who  has an ongoing case of diarrhea.  He fears that he will be the first PPP leader to lose a free and fair election, to the PNC no less.  All this because Nagamootoo did what Ravi Dev couldn't do and that was split the Indian vote.

Janet must be screaming in her grave!

Governments come and go.  Look at Barrow in Barbadoes or Manley in Jamaica or Ortega in Nicaragua.  The PPP party in opposition will only make the party stronger not weaker.  My only cocern is that this is the moderate wing of the PPP party that are in control of the party now.  I do not want to see the return to the party of the hard core petty politics of Janet like characters of the past.

Wally