President no closer to selecting next GECOM Chair

By Bibi Khatoon

Three weeks after Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo submitted the third list of nominees for the new Chair of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), President David Granger has noted that he is “not any closer to naming somebody as yet.”

The President, in an invited comment at the sidelines of a ceremony hosted to celebrate the 32ndanniversary of President’s College on Thursday, told News Room that the list is still being examined by himself and his colleagues.

“I have not received any further advice from my colleagues or Cabinet Ministers. As you know, this has taken the better part of the year, over eight months, and I’m very anxious to bring it to a successful conclusion,” he added.

The first two lists were rejected on the grounds that the nominees were not “fit and proper” to fill the position. The President’s decision was challenged by a private citizen, Marcel Gaskin in the High Court, during which the Chief Justice ruled that the all of the nominees do not have to be judge-like as was desired by the President.

The President told News Room that he will abide by the Chief Justice’s ruling. The Head of State went on to say that, “People do not understand that the Chief Justice has never changed my obligation to fulfill my constitutional duty. In the final analysis, regardless of the names submitted to me, I have to choose somebody who is fit and proper.”

The list of six persons was submitted to the President on August 25th, 2017 along with accompanying Curriculum Vitae after the rejection of two lists. The names on the list are Former GECOM Chair, Major General Ret’d Joseph Singh, Teni Housty, Sanjeev Datadin, Annette Arjoon-Martins, Onesi La Fleur, and Krishnadatt Persaud.

https://newsroom.gy/2017/09/14...ng-next-gecom-chair/

The GADAHA cannot read and write. Al YUh gat to wait till the Namakaram teach him to read and write.

You might be on to something here.  It's starting to look that way.  He can't speak either.  Never had a press conference in his two years of dragging Guyana to the ground.

Jagdeo better start working on his 4th list.

The fourth list will be exhausted. He will have to dig deep to find six qualified persons (again without any guarantee). What next?

Many of the people who were approached to be on the third list declined after they realized they would become pawns in a game of political chess.  Some eligible, top-notch people said no to the request.  The fourth list would be a big challenge for Jagdeo if it comes to that.

That's what I thought. I said this before and I am saying it again, that I maintained 1% confident that he may come up with a positive answer, but chose to delay the process before any announcement.

As I have said before, DAG will reject every list given to him by BJ. BJ is a fool to be having meetings about this issue with DAG. DAG playing with him and laughing him behind his back. That should make every one in the PPP concerned. DAG is delaying because they are busy setting up and configuring the rigging apparatus for the next election.

Don:

"DAG is delaying because they are busy setting up and configuring the rigging apparatus for the next election."

Yuji:

With the Political Liar and Conman Moses at Granger's side assisting with the rigging details.

Granger delaying tactic is not to benefit Jagdeo or the PPP but himself. Since before 2015, myself and others have been stressing the danger of Granger when he said he is not Burnham but resurrecting the ideology of Burnham while tearing down the memories of Jagan. 

Many of the people who were approached to be on the third list declined after they realized they would become pawns in a game of political chess.  Some eligible, top-notch people said no to the request.  The fourth list would be a big challenge for Jagdeo if it comes to that.

Stupid woman.  Jagdeo needs you and you blubber mouth like a hole in the head.
You saying people declined Jagdeo's request why?  Because they don't want to be associated?  What does that say about Jagdeo's credibility? Then you say top notch said no.  So you mean Jagdeo proposed bottom notch?  Now you just give all the reasons why Granger should reject the list!
Blubber mouth need crazy glue.

Princess Di posted:

You saying people declined Jagdeo's request why?  Because they don't want to be associated?  What does that say about Jagdeo's credibility? Then you say top notch said no.  So you mean Jagdeo proposed bottom notch?  Now you just give all the reasons why Granger should reject the list!

Princess Di,

that's a mouth full..any way welcome.

Princess Di posted:

Princess Di prappa hot mouth.

Na tek worries, Bibi will respond in due course.

Princess Di posted:

Princess Di,

She claims to be a woman of very high IQ. 

Princess Di posted:

Princess Di,

She claims to be a woman of very high IQ

I cannot figure this to be the case.  I think she is much smaller than she makes out to be.  But the internet is a very big place to hide and pretend.

RiffRaff posted:

Princess

Watch the personal attack or you would be suspended...less patience with Newbies

I don't understand you sir.  I comment on what I see here.  Look at the attack by Mr Mitwah on poster Drugb.  I comment on what people post and how I interpret people.  You seem to be biased.

Princess Di posted:
RiffRaff posted:

Princess

Watch the personal attack or you would be suspended...less patience with Newbies

I don't understand you sir.  I comment on what I see here.  Look at the attack by Mr Mitwah on poster Drugb.  I comment on what people post and how I interpret people.  You seem to be biased.

Like I said...you're new....stay here long enough and you can get some priviledges

If your purpose for signing up is to start attacking people, then find another forum

PNC minded folks don't care for any elections commission. The results of their elections are determined at Congress Place. Jagdeo just put Granger on record. Don't think Granger care about record anyway.

Princess Di posted:
RiffRaff posted:

Princess

Hey that  was not a personal attack. Mitwah reprimanded him for referring to some posters as the slop can carriers. Mitwah just responded in kind. Please don't use Mitwah as a crutch or straw in your defense. Mitwah won't complain when attacked. Mitwah will fight back. 

RiffRaff posted:

Princess

You sure this Princess is a newbie? Looks like she came here with an attitude and an ax to grind. You sure this is not JB reincarnated?

RiffRaff posted:
Princess Di posted:
RiffRaff posted:

Princess

Like I said...you're new....stay here long enough and you can get some priviledges

If your purpose for signing up is to start attacking people, then find another forum

Ban him!!

Princess Di posted:

Yuj - not worth my time.  He will step off the cliff soon.  Again.

Princess Di posted:

Yuj - not worth my time.  He will step off the cliff soon.  Again.

How dare you address our Lady Di(Princess) as a "HE"? Do you know something you might want to disclose with us here? Like does this person own a catamaran or so??????