Announcement of preliminary results postponed

Rate this item
(0 votes)
The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) was Monday night forced to postpone the release of preliminary results of the 2015 General and Regional Elections tonight owing to disturbances in and around the city.
Earlier tonight GECOM Commissioner, Steve Surujbally, and Chief Elections Officer (CEO), Keith Lowenfield, promised to release numbers from polling stations from several regions on the coast at 11:00pm.
At the appointed time however, Surujbally told reporters that the Guyana Police Force has been experiencing difficulties transporting statements of polls and ballot boxes from polling stations.
“There’s an environment that is not conducive to the safe movement of the ballot boxes at this point in time,” a seemingly disappointed Surujbally told a press conference a few minutes ago.
“We are ourselves engaging in maters that should ease the situation but at this point in time the ballot boxes and the statements of polls are not moving the way we thought that they would move,” he continued.
The release of preliminary results has thus been postponed until tomorrow (Tuesday) at a time yet to be determined.
When Demerara Waves passed the St. Sidwells Primary School at around 11:30 there were scores of people stationed outside of the premises. Asked what they were doing there, one woman said “we watching the polls.” She added that they did not intend to leave until the ballot boxes were removed.
A sizeable sum of persons had also congregated in the vicinity of a polling station just off the intersection of Durban and Joseph Pollydore Streets.
Following the press conference a seemingly downbeat Lowenfield noted that while GECOM wanted to keep its promise and release the preliminary results as scheduled, the situation “is beyond the control of GECOM.” He shared that there are reports of many large crowds around, and this has undoubtedly interrupted the smooth flow of the statements of polls.

PNC never fails with their Mo Fiah, Slo Fiah. 

Indos were right in making the decision to reject the AFC. Let us see Moses step up and defend Indos now.

So what you all going to do about angry black people.  Have the same black soldiers who you all scared Indians into thinking that they will kill them instead kill black people?

You cannot run a country when 40% of the population feels enslaved.  The PPP makes promises of inclusivity and they DO NOT deliver.  Each election brings an even more racist PPP.

If people cannot win their freedom by the ballot............

Indos were right in making the decision to reject the AFC. Let us see Moses step up and defend Indos now.

The PNC is gonna make us wait a few days for the results when they ALREADY know the results.

The PNC knows it lost!

The PNC is gonna make us wait a few days for the results when they ALREADY know the results.

The PNC knows it lost!

Go drink the blood of blacks and celebrate.

It's a good move to postpone the preliminary result until to tomorrow or even later. We have to avoid the beating, burning and destruction at all cost. APNU+AFC made a statement that they MUST win or else. That is very disturbing.

Home » latest news » Breaking News: Houses, vehicles on fire in Sophia

Breaking News: Houses, vehicles on fire in Sophia

May 11, 2015 9:57 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-
The scene at Sophia.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – iNews Guyana has been able to confirm that residents of ‘C’ Field Sophia have torched a two buses in front of the home of Pastor Narine Khublall, following a rumor that he conducted an illegal polling station at his residence.

The residents reportedly burned the Pastor’s vehicle which was parked on the roadway; his house is also reportedly on fire, while another building on the opposite side was also completely burnt.

Police have fired several warning shots but the crowd has refused to disperse while the fire service has been prevented from entering the community.

The Pastor's vehicle on fire in front his house.

The Pastor’s vehicle on fire in front his house.

Earlier in the day iNews Guyana had reported that the residents were attempting to storm the home of Khublall and ignoring calls from politicians for peace. There is major chaos in the community at the moment.

A fire tender has been dispatched and officers are on the scene. iNews Guyana Journalist Jomo Paul is also present and will provide an update shortly.

Last edited by Tola

So what you all going to do about angry black people.  Have the same black soldiers who you all scared Indians into thinking that they will kill them instead kill black people?

You cannot run a country when 40% of the population feels enslaved.  The PPP makes promises of inclusivity and they DO NOT deliver.  Each election brings an even more racist PPP.

Until you and the PNC learn to respect the will of the people, the PNC can NEVER win a free and fair election. Peace loving Guyanese are scared of a violent PNC and do not trust them.

I wouldn't be so quick to jump to that option chap.

Dis nah lang time yuh know. I hate to quote the noble Attorney General "ayuh ah use ayuh newspaper as weapon but some people gat real weapons and dem nah play around. and f-ing peter guh gah fuh pay fuh f-ing paul"

The PNC knows it lost!

I prefer a good gin an tonic or a goodly scotch an tonic.

Until you and the PNC learn to respect the will of the people, the PNC can NEVER win a free and fair election. Peace loving Guyanese are scared of a violent PNC and do not trust them.

Keep on thinking that you can oppress a people without consequences.

The PNC knows it lost!

So you say.

Like they said careful about wanting something because you might get it.

Now you have a country full of angry blacks. 

You seem to think that the only consideration in Guyana are Indians.  You might find out that others exist.

The PNC knows it lost!

I had a few tonight as I was waiting for the preliminary result. I leave Vishnu over there. 

The PNC knows it lost!

I had a few tonight as I was waiting for the preliminary result. I leave Vishnu over there. 

I left there like 11ish. Sydney was good to us. All the important people left at 11ish. Vish is probably there hanging out wid de riff raff

The PNC knows it lost!

Cobra bhai, Looks like Nehru Bhai tek knock out.

Dem AFC boys might have to hide for a few days after the official announcements are made.

The ABC countries have to step up and have a chat with Granger and Moses and tell them to go home.

Guyanese have a perception of illegal votes, with a boiling racial problem.

Why was a report of an illegal polling station not addressed immediately at an Indian home, in a black neighbourhood ? 

Good Night. See you tomorrow.

As my father-in-law in Guyana told me today:

"Na trek worries, we fill the cup. Berbice voting PPP and the rest of the PPP strongholds will deliver and the Natives and some Afro Guyanese will take us home. They were cussing up Moses"

Moses scared Berbicians with his "I am not Indian" 

See you all tomorrow.

The PNC knows it lost!

I left there like 11ish. Sydney was good to us. All the important people left at 11ish. Vish is probably there hanging out wid de riff raff

I left there earlier and went to Friend's and had a few. Hibiscus was hot and noisy. We will catch up after the election. Me, you and Nehru.

Originally Posted by Tola:

Why was a report of an illegal polling station not addressed immediately at an Indian home, in a black neighbourhood ? 

If the PPP wins they have an increasingly problem of blacks who will now be very angry with them.

The victory of the PPP will convince blacks that they can no longer look to the electoral process as Indians will sooner suck dry cane than to allow a multi racial coalition occur.

Oh yes the PPP will make their usual noises about national unity.  They will trot out Urling, who delivered NO VOTES as proof.  He will get his cut and most blacks will remain impoverished, excluded and held in contempt.

".

Moses scared Berbicians with his "I am not Indian" 

See you all tomorrow.

OK so it is agreed that Jagdeo and Ramotar think that they are MORE Indian than they are Guyanese. 

Let us see what black people think of THAT!

If the PPP wins they have an increasingly problem of blacks who will now be very angry with them.

The victory of the PPP will convince blacks that they can no longer look to the electoral process as Indians will sooner suck dry cane than to allow a multi racial coalition occur.

Oh yes the PPP will make their usual noises about national unity.  They will trot out Urling, who delivered NO VOTES as proof.  He will get his cut and most blacks will remain impoverished, excluded and held in contempt.

If the PPP prevail, they should make concrete efforts to reach out to the Afro masses.  I do agree with some of your sentiments, I don't see how the country could progress when 40% feel excluded, perception or not, as perception becomes real in their minds anyway.  I get the feeling of Afros as it was no different for Indians under the PNC, rightly or wrongly so.

Stop chatting nonsense.

The PPP could have run a campaign based on national unity and inclusion.  They could have addressed the feelings that Africans have of feeling excluded and resolving to get into a full discussion as to why these feelings exist and what they can do to resolve it.

Instead they went into black areas basically calling the people stupid and ungrateful for not rushing to the PPP.

The PPP is an Indian party.  They think that blacks are stupid and that toothless and useless people like Harper will satisfy them.  They do NOT want blacks with a constituency to go any where near the corridors of power. 

Granger was willing to take that chance, letting in Moses.  If the PPP won Indians would have kicked him in the teeth/

I will suggest to you that any prospect of national unity is OVER, if the PPP wins, killed by Indians who are Indians before they can be Guyanese, and who can only live in an Indian dominated Guyana.

The PPP have not done so for the past 23 years.  If they win, how can they be convinced to include blacks ?

Last edited by Tola

The PPP have not done so for the past 23 years.  If they win, how can they be convinced to include blacks ?

If they win very slim or it's once again a minority Govt.  The writing is on the wall.

?

If they win very slim or it's once again a minority Govt.  The writing is on the wall.

The writing has been on the wall since the Indian population began to decline.  Instead the PPP decided to scare the Indian vote and bribe enough non Indians to top up.

Get it through your head.  The PPP is a racist party.  Jagdeo hates blacks.  They will NEVER run a validly ethnically inclusive government.  They will use some blacks as tokens.

I am afraid that any prospect of national unity is dashed.  Blacks will feel that they tried to do so in good faith and were rejected by Indians who prefer to vote race.  Note that even though the PPP tried to create mischief by pointing out that Granger gave the AFC "too much" there was not one murmur from even the more militant parts of the PNC.

Given this why bother with trying to work with Indians, most of whom harbor deep hatred for them?

?

The writing has been on the wall since the Indian population began to decline.  Instead the PPP decided to scare the Indian vote and bribe enough non Indians to up.

Get it through your head.  The PPP is a racist party.  Jagdeo hates blacks.  they will NEVER run a validly ethnically inclusive government.  They will use some blacks as tokens.

If this do happen, Jagdeo's star will have fallen.  A national unity Govt is not the PPP just taking a few tokens and convincing the Afros of inclusiveness.   It will have to be more concrete.

?

Given this why bother with trying to work with Indians, most of whom harbor deep hatred for them?

Talk about racist!

, Jagdeo's star will have fallen.  A national unity Govt is not the PPP just taking a few tokens and convincing the Afros of inclusiveness.   It will have to be more concrete.

The PPP just finished telling Indians that it is more important to be Indian than to be Guyanese.  Just boasted that they are the "coolie party".  Just finished portraying blacks as demons.  Just tried to disenfranchise blacks by attempting to create disarray in G/town to force polling stations closed.

Now you think they will seriously open up to blacks.

Don't think so.

?

Talk about racist!

I see Indians just spat at an attempt at a multi ethnic form of government and to say so is racist.

OK as we get further down I begin to see that you really aren't serious about ethnic inclusion.

?

Talk about racist!

I see Indians just spat at an attempt at a multi ethnic form of government and to say so is racist.

OK as we get further down I begin to see that you really aren't serious about ethnic inclusion.

What does you being a racists have to do with anything?

What are you saying CaribNY?  If the PNC does not win by free and fair means they will loot and burn as they did in the past.

What can anyone expect from a racist like you?

Last edited by Ramakant-P

When people cannot get freedom through one means then they have to find others.

Now it is up to the PPP, IF THEY WIN< to prevent that, but the PPP mounted a racist campaign telling Indians that they must be Indian before they are Guyanese.  Telling Moses he was wrong to say that he is a Guyanese before he is an Indian.........then you want black people to think that a PPP government can be fair to them?

Now how can they be racist if they are forced to protect themselves against racism.

But you, being a racist, is quite happy with blacks being barefoot and enslaved by the Indian elite.

I can well imagine that you would have told the slaves that they shouldn't rebel.

The PPP mounted  a nasty campaign based on ethnic fear.  The target was blacks.  Don't think that you can just move on, as if this didn't happen.

When people cannot get freedom through one means then they have to find others.

Now it is up to the PPP, IF THEY WIN< to prevent that, but the PPP mounted a racist campaign telling Indians that they must be Indian before they are Guyanese.  Telling Moses he was wrong to say that he is a Guyanese before he is an Indian.........then you want black people to think that a PPP government can be fair to them?

Now how can they be racist if they are forced to protect themselves against racism.

But you, being a racist, is quite happy with blacks being barefoot and enslaved by the Indian elite.

I can well imagine that you would have told the slaves that they shouldn't rebel.

The PPP mounted  a nasty campaign based on ethnic fear.  The target was blacks.  Don't think that you can just move on, as if this didn't happen.

Perhaps, you haven't seen what the PPP did for Blacks in Guyana.  They did more for blacks than they did for Indians...

And yet the PPP knows about about blacks than the blacks know about their own lives.

You are like the slave masters who told the slaves that they fed and housed them so they ought to show gratitude.

This is why there will be no national unity under the PPP because the PPP has nothing but CONTEMPT for Afro Guyanese.

Originally Posted by nash:

good morning, we are all brothers beneath the skin, where the blood for each is the color red...

Tell that to the PPP who harbors intense hatred for Afro Guyanese.  Their campaign was an obscene scream about black savagery, even telling Amerindians that the PNC is going to kill straight haired people.  Yes Granger with his CHINESE wife!

They should not be allowed to get away with this!  Win or lose.