PPP/C CAMPAIGN LAUNCH APP 20,000

Massive turnout PPP/C Albion election campaign launch
Written by Chamanlall Naipaul

Monday, 03 October 2011 03:31
-An estimated 20,000 attended

-Orealla Amerindian retired teacher predicts landslide victory

THE People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) 2011 election campaign kicked off yesterday at Albion. Corentyne Berbice, a PPP/C traditional stronghold, with a massive crowd from all walks of life, estimated to be over 20,000, creating an exuberant atmosphere. The gathering was pumped up by several artistes with various renditions underlining the achievements made under the current government. Supporters and activists began trekking to the Albion Sports Complex road, where the rally was kept, from as early as midday, sporting red jerseys bearing the cup (the party’s symbol, and waving the party’s gold, black and red flag. In addition, utility posts along the Corentyne were strung with party flags.
The rally was addressed by President Bharrat Jagdeo, General Secretary of the PPP and the Presidential Candidate, Donald Ramotar, and Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, among others.
All the speakers made a strong pitch for national unity and return of the spirit of 1953 which was the vision and desire of the founder-leader of the party, Dr Cheddi Jagan.
Chairman of the rally, Region 6 (East Berbice/Corentyne) Chairman, Zulfhikar Mustapha, noted that the PPP is the only party for Berbicians, with no place for the opposition, which brought loud applause from the gathering.

“The victory countdown has started,” Mustapha declared, adding that the party will return to government with a victory.
Ramotar, outlining some the plans of the party when it is returned to government, stressed the government’s commitment to cheap and reliable electricity through hydropower, solar energy and wind power. He noted that this is essential for producing value added products and the manufacturing sector.
The importance of a deep water harbour was underscored by the presidential candidate, and in this regard, he pledged the commitment of a new PPP/C government to the realisation of the harbour which would be vital for pushing Guyana’s capacity to accommodate larger ships which would enhance our exports.
He noted too the importance of the mining sector in our economic development and referred to the finding of oil, which, he said, when it happens, would be exported to bring greater benefits to our socio-economic development.
Touching on the performance of President Jagdeo, Ramotar described this as commendable.
“He (President Jagdeo) has carved a place in the history of this country,” Ramotar posited.
Touching on the social sector, Ramotar said under a PPP/C government, there will be continued emphasis on education and health and special emphasis on equipping the youths with the necessary tools to catalyse the process of modernisation and economic development.
The conditions for moving the country forward have been created since the PPP government of 1957-1964, which saw the emergence of the University of Guyana, the taking over of a bankrupt electricity company, and turning it into a viable entity, among some of the achievements during that era. However, he charged that, by 1992 Guyana became a “basket case”, under the People’s National Congress government which destroyed what was achieved under the PPP.
Consequently, the present government had to begin the rebuilding process and in this regard has gone a far way which prompted St. Vincentian Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves to declare that “Guyana is the only shining light economy in CARICOM”.
Ramotar said a major task ahead now is to create the necessary infrastructure for accelerating socio-economic development

‘Everyone must come out for PPP/C to win’
Written by Johann Earle

Monday, 03 October 2011 03:27
...says President Jagdeo

PRESIDENT Bharrat Jagdeo last evening implored Berbicians to spread the word and come out strongly on polling day to support PPP/C presidential candidate Donald Ramotar as the next President of Guyana. He spoke at the launch of the PPP/C elections 2011 campaign at Albion on the Corentyne, Berbice
“We have to make sure that the day after elections, when the votes are counted, that we don’t regret what happened, and it means every single one out...you have to get everyone out. Forget this thing that ‘we win already’. You have to make sure. Elections are won only when the ballots are counted. Elections are won when each vote is cast, because each vote in our country matters. Your friends, your family, everyone must be out there. This is how we win. This is how we will continue to serve Guyana,” Jagdeo said.
The President also urged Berbicians to talk to younger persons about how far the country has come as they may gain an appreciation for the struggle that the PPP has undertaken over the years.
“Comrades, we live in a wonderful country; and here at Albion, when I see all of these beautiful faces, people of all races coming together in this manner, full of energy, because they are confident of the future, it fills my heart and I feel proud of what is happening here today. I know you all feel that pride in your hearts because you belong to a party that has kept faith with the people of this land, a party that can point to a track record of achievement, of struggle in favour of enhancing rights in this land, and you should be extremely proud of that,” he said.
He said that at one time, the mere fact of wanting to eat what one wanted was against the law, with the banning of a number of food items. “Our rights were snatched away from us when we did not have the right to choose a government; it meant more than just the theft of the ballot paper. It meant that we did not matter in this land,” he said.
“Today, we matter...every one of you matters, because you have the right to vote and select a government and I know that you are going to put the PPP back in office because you have that right,” he said. He urged the people of Berbice to never forget how the populace won back that right.
“Never forget that the right was won through sacrifices, through sweat and blood of people, and this is why I ask you today to reflect on the legacy and the vision of Cheddi Jagan, and what this party stood for when it was formed in 1950. It is important that you know a bit of our history, that this party cut its teeth in struggle... to bring freedom to people of all races, but who were second class citizens in our own country,” Jagdeo said.
“Comrades, I take pride when I say that we have taken Guyana from a bankrupt country and made it the most dynamic vibrant economy in the Caribbean,” he said, adding that when the entire world has gone in to depression, Guyana saw five years of continuous growth.
“Today we have the highest level of international reserves ever. We spent the most that we have ever done on education, healthcare and housing, on water and electricity, because these are important to our people. We have done so and at the same time reduced the fiscal deficit,” he said, adding that because of the policies of the government, interest rates have come down significantly.
Noting that many of the younger people would not remember the days of the previous administration, he said, “Your task today, leaving this rally, is not just to get the hype here, feel good here, and go back home and sit down. You are part of a party of struggle. Make sure you inform the young ones. Energise them the same way,” he said.
He spoke of the critics of the government who use newspapers and television stations to keep the government on their toes and ensure transparency. “Beware of where these people are coming from,” he said.
Jagdeo said that government has made numerous investments in Berbice and these are way above the tax base of the county. “A lot of them like to say that we take more taxes than we invest in Berbice, which is absolute nonsense. You travel the landscape of Berbice and you would see the roads and the Skeldon Factory and the Berbice Bridge” he said. “These three investments are equivalent to about 15 years of taxes that we collect in Berbice,” the president said. “Berbice gets its fair share not because Berbice supports the PPP, but because Berbice is an important part of Guyana too,” he said.
He said that people want to vote for the PPP, not because “we feel that the party has a divine right to power” but because “we have worked hard in the interest of people to secure their confidence, to say that their health and their children’s education matter,” he said.
Attacking the track record of David Granger, the presidential candidate of A Partnership for National Unity, Jagdeo said that he was in the army when the eventual ballot box martyrs fought for their rights. “He was part of that era. He was [also] part of the era when the economic decline took place, when US$300 M was spent in the jungle for hydro power and left there to rot, not like the way we are doing it now, in spite of the nonsense that Kaieteur News says. It is going to be a reality under the PPP government,” he said.
“If you listen to his speeches, all he talks about is going back to the past. He never talks about the future, about ICT, he doesn’t speak about an environmental sector, or about the new economy, the new forms of generating wealth for the kids who do not want to work in the rice field or cane fields anymore,” he said. “He goes back to national service. That is his solution to the country. You tell me, do you want that future for your children?” he asked.
The president said that people with their mixed messages are trying to capitalise on the fears of the past, accusing the Alliance for Change of doing this on many occasions. “This country does not have a future if it is going to approach that future in a divided way” he said. “And this is why the PPP is the only party that seeks consistently to bring people together. All of our policies are based on all of our people moving together forward. This is the only way that this country will realise its true promise,” he said.
The president said that Ramotar comes from a party that has consistently stood on the side of people. He noted that Ramotar joined the party at a young age and has been part of the struggle with Cheddi and Janet Jagan. Jagdeo described Ramotar as a humble person, one who is open to new ideas. “This is the leader we want,” declared Jagdeo.

Originally posted by Alexander:
Caribj won't like what Ralph Gonsalves had to say about the Guyanese economy. The only shining light economy in Caricom?

Nope he won't but he and like most of us here didn't like what wikileaks mentioned, but unfortunately it had to be mentioned.

His Excellency Dr Bharrat Jagdeo:

“Comrades, I take pride when I say that we have taken Guyana from a bankrupt country and made it the most dynamic vibrant economy in the Caribbean,” he said, adding that when the entire world has gone in to depression, Guyana saw five years of continuous growth.
“Today we have the highest level of international reserves ever. We spent the most that we have ever done on education, healthcare and housing, on water and electricity, because these are important to our people. We have done so and at the same time reduced the fiscal deficit,” he said, adding that because of the policies of the government, interest rates have come down significantly.

Originally posted by asj:

His Excellency Dr Bharrat Jagdeo:

By reminding citizens of the PPP-C government's accomplishments, President Jagdeo is applying a sure-fire method to win voters. And, judging from the hints given out by Donald Ramotar at the rally, the PPP has indeed elaborated plans to move the economy on to higher ground and provide more jobs. I eagerly await the release of the PPP manifesto for details.
B
Originally posted by cain:
Originally posted by Alexander:

Caribj won't like what Ralph Gonsalves had to say about the Guyanese economy. The only shining light economy in Caricom?

Nope he won't but he and like most of us here didn't like what wikileaks mentioned, but unfortunately it had to be mentioned.

Wikileaks mentioned .. paraphrase ..

.. the PPP/C is the only organised political party in Guyana ..

The president said that Ramotar comes from a party that has consistently stood on the side of people.

He noted that Ramotar joined the party at a young age and has been part of the struggle with Cheddi and Janet Jagan.

Jagdeo described Ramotar as a humble person, one who is open to new ideas.

“This is the leader we want,” declared Jagdeo.

‘Everyone must come out for PPP/C to win’
Written by Johann Earle
Monday, 03 October 2011 03:27

Originally posted by SuperMike:
Oh rass..iz wey all dem KFC katahars gann ??? dem must be in the latrine shytting lang lang wen dem see this massive turn out cheers

By putting that massive crowd at 20,000 is just like taking the average a bit under, would not be surprised if it turns out to be like about 25,000 to 28,000

The conditions for moving the country forward have been created since the PPP government of 1957-1964, which saw the emergence of the University of Guyana, the taking over of a bankrupt electricity company, and turning it into a viable entity, among some of the achievements during that era.

However, he charged that, by 1992 Guyana became a “basket case”, under the People’s National Congress government which destroyed what was achieved under the PPP.

Consequently, the present government had to begin the rebuilding process and in this regard has gone a far way which prompted St. Vincentian Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves to declare that “Guyana is the only shining light economy in CARICOM”.

Ramotar said a major task ahead now is to create the necessary infrastructure for accelerating socio-economic developmen.

Massive turnout PPP/C Albion election campaign launch
Written by Chamanlall Naipaul
Monday, 03 October 2011 03:31
-An estimated 20,000 attended

Originally posted by Tola:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by asj:

WHOM SHOULD WE BELIEVE...GINA 28,000....PPP 20,000....POLICE 10,000 OR DEMERARA WAVES 7000...
WHEN HAS JAGDEO OR RAMO EVER TOLD THE TRUTH ?

Ok Tola it was 1000 yu believe this rite lol partybanana yippie cheers

WHOM SHOULD WE BELIEVE...GINA 28,000....PPP 20,000....POLICE 10,000 OR DEMERARA WAVES 7000...

The massive crowd is enough to scare the AFC and APNU into their shell, the next meetng at Kitty Market Square Georgetown, will be sufficient to convince the AFC and APNU that they are fighting a losing battle.

yu tink dem rass naa noo dem looking like fools trying to run against the great PPP..dem rass gun get a sound cut ass this time around
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

Ok Tola it was 1000 yu believe this rite

lol partybanana yippie cheers

You are on a roll, SuperMike. Smile

wadd up paa...these gadahas gat no shame...tola gat the guts fu come hey and try to dispute the the numbers that turned out at the launching..wait daa picture naa enough fu send he and his KFC packing...dem rass betta dash in dem towel early fu save further em-baa-rass-ment cheers

yu tink dem rass naa noo dem looking like fools trying to run against the great PPP ..

dem rass gun get a sound cut ass this time around

panman partybanana partybanana panman

we have the bomb shell comin soon..the announcment of the running mate..dem rass on the edge..bet Rumjattan walk away after dat cheers

yu tink dem rass naa noo dem looking like fools trying to run against the great PPP ..

dem rass gun get a sound cut ass this time around

panman partybanana partybanana panman

we have the bomb shell comin soon..the announcment of the running mate ..

dem rass on the edge..bet Rumjattan walk away after dat cheers

All at the apt time. Smile
Like Jagdeo who lied about his marriage, the PPP has never told the truth....

You want us to believe the PPP or the estate managers who are pissed for closing the Albion road ?

so what yu gat fu sey bout the thousands waa show up to hear waa de next President had fu sey...ley we juss sey it waz 2000 fu arguement sake...cause like yuu naa believe it was 20000..2000 looks like a number you can live with...so tell me naa ...waa yu tink buddy Tola

Ignored post by SuperMike posted October 03, 2011 01:47 AM Show Post

laad one KFC goon cann tek the heat..he put me pan ignore..ah gun mek yall life a living hell hey rass cheers cheers

You want us to believe the PPP or the estate managers who are pissed for closing the Albion road ?

so what yu gat fu sey bout the thousands waa show up to hear waa de next President had fu sey...ley we juss sey it waz 2000 fu arguement sake...cause like yuu naa believe it was 20000..2000 looks like a number you can live with...so tell me naa ...waa yu tink buddy Tola

laad one KFC goon cann tek the heat..he put me pan ignore..ah gun mek yall life a living hell hey rass cheers cheers

Who put you pan ignore? Old man D_G finga must be shaking too much.

Me still waiting for you answer about the muslims taking over the US.

Who put you pan ignore? Old man D_G finga must be shaking too much.

Me still waiting for you answer about the muslims taking over the US.

the subjeck is Thousands (20000) attended PPP launching at Albion...it naa sey nothing bout Muslims...people PM me and dem laffing yu rass..yu gat nothing fu come back with..so what yu gat fu sey bout the thousands waa show up to hear waa de next President had fu sey...ley we juss sey it waz 2000 fu arguement sake...cause like yuu naa believe it was 20000..2000 looks like a number you can live with...so tell me naa ...waa yu tink buddy Tola

Massive crowd attends PPP/ C Albion rally

–as Ramotar outlines vision for Guyana’s sustained growth and development

By Michael Younge

More than 20,000 persons were part of the first official elections rally to be staged at Albion, Corentyne, Berbice in Region Six, as the ruling People’s Progressive Party/ Civic intensified its bid to be re- elected to government at the upcoming general and re gional elections this year.

Addressing thousands of hyped and enthused PPP/ C supporters, presidential can didate Donald Ramotar said that if that party is re- elect ed into office, his admin istration would work dili gently to further Guyana’s economic and social develop ment, while simultaneously transforming the lives of all Guyanese through provision of a brighter and more real istic future.

Ramotar said the PPP/ C hopes to create an environ ment of sustained growth and development, as well as social, religious and political cohesion through several new policies and initiatives which will impact heavily on the lives of Guyanese in almost every community and region.

He was confident that not only does the PPP/ C have the will to further create change and propel Guyana on a path of growth, but the party un derstands the importance of democracy and partnerships with all citizens who are de sirous of progress and ad vancement.

“ Under the gov ernment led by the visionary President Jagdeo we have completed the task of re building Guyana, but now we must move together and take this change and development that he has made possible to another level,” Ramotar told cheering supporters.

He declared that under his presidency Guyanese will have better access to new and advanced infrastructure, con tinued gains in the education and health sectors, as well as new projects that would further improve the lives of all patriotic and civil- mind ed Guyanese. Ramotar said that hydropower through the Amaila Falls Hydroelectric Project will see the challeng es being faced by businesses and consumers with respect to accessing affordable and available energy significant ly reduced. He pledged his unwavering support towards seeing the project through to its end, because accord ing to him, “ Guyanese de serve more, and must be able to enjoy the fruits of their la bours”. The PPP/ C presidential candidate also underscored the importance of agricul ture to Guyana’s continued development and path to re maining economically viable.

“ We will keep going forward.

We will not restrict ourselves to just hydropower. The PPP plans to develop Guyana in every way,” he disclosed. He also informed Berbicians that his government would work assiduously towards ensur ing that the cogeneration of electricity becomes a priori ty.

He stated that his admin istration plans on ensuring that cogeneration takes place not only at the New Skeldon Factory, but at others across the country.

Adumbrating his vi sion for the energy sector in Guyana, a focused Ramotar committed his administra tion to investigating the fea sibility of the production of bio- fuels, while stating the PPP/ C’s intention to fully exploit Guyana’s potential ly rich gas and oil resourc es.

“ We will transform this country and we will equip our Guyanese people to deal with the challenges that con front them with new zeal and zest,” Ramotar added.

He outlined his vision for Guyana’s workforce, ex plaining the need for more efficiency and competition.

He said the PPP’s vision is one that will see the wheels of the economy turning, and as a result, under his lead ership Guyana can contin ue on its path to becoming one of the most competitive countries within the hemi sphere and the wider world.

“ Youth will have to take up the challenge and assist us in building a new and modern Guyana,” Ramotar disclosed, as he noted that his admin istration will stop at nothing to guarantee Guyanese what he referred to as “ social and economic justice for all.” Ramotar said that his government plans to open new lands and to plug more investments into the devel opment of the country’s now buoyant agriculture sector.

Amidst loud applause and cheers, Ramotar explained that achieving economies of scale and creating more val ue- added products would be the focus of his administration.

The PPP/ C top executive has also promised to construct a new hospital that will be able to offer all of the modern services and required healthcare that Guyanese would need in the future. He said that this hospital would be on par with those in the developed world, and he acknowledged the investment that has already been made in the health sector, mak ing specific reference to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation.

Ramotar promised Guyanese to work with all stakeholders to establish a modern deep water habour facility in the country.

He said this was necessary to attract more investment and increase exports, while cutting Guyana’s import bill by at least half.

A smiling Ramotar assertively told his supporters, who were a hive of energy, that “ the work has just begun” and all Guyanese have a role to play in cementing and carving out their own futures. Bidding for their support, Ramotar cautioned Berbicians not to be fooled by the misinformation being peddled by certain sections of the society that the party had already won the elections and there was no need to really turn out and vote. “ We have to win the elections, but we cannot say that we have won the polls at this point. We will win only after every single ballot is counted and votes declared,” he advised.

Ramotar called on all Guyanese to reject any calls or attempts by political parties to create division within the society at this critical juncture, especially as Guyanese prepare to exercise their democratic franchise.

He promulgated unity, one Guyana and equality among all the races; and the need for a more collective Guyana, which can be created without any discrimination and bias. “ These elections are crucial and must be treated with more seriousness.

Everybody must come out and vote, demonstrating our political maturity,” Ramotar advocated.

He opined that Guyana can truly become an “ El Dorado” as he urged all Guyanese to build a new culture and a new country on a more appropriate form of modern thinking. He lauded the ideology and vision of former Presidents Cheddi and Janet Jagan, reminding his audience of their struggles and accomplishments while in office. “ They were bringing our people together for a massive movement, and have created the conditions for our development,” Ramotar stated. He also lauded President Jagdeo’s leadership of Guyana while in office, noting that from inception, the PPP/ C has consistently sacrificed “ the party” for the “ nation and its people”. At the rally, President Bharrat Jagdeo fully endorsed Donald Ramotar as the party’s presidential candidate, telling thousands of the party faithful that Ramotar has the passion, vision and will to lead Guyana forward into the next elections and beyond.

“ Ramotar is open to new ideas, and therefore is my choice to lead Guyana forward.

I trust him, and he will take Guyana forward.

I believe in him,” Jagdeo said to an attentive crowd.

Wearing his political cap, the head of state compared Ramotar’s track record with those of the presidential candidates of the other opposition parties – the coalition A Partnership for National Unity ( APNU) and the Alliance For Change ( AFC). He said that Guyanese must be ever cautious of them, because their track records are very questionable and do not point to anything promising for Guyana’s future.

Try to remember 28,000 ppl trucked in from all over Guyana is not enough to win the elections. Pehaps, that total is all the votes the PPP will get at this election.

I cannot accept that the electorate will choose Rmaotar as President-we r a much more intellegent nation to elect an uniformed individual whose only credential-he was with cheddie and janet at young age.

Once again my country is peddled by fools.
28,000 divide that by half to account for the PPP inflationary methods and we have 14K a reasonable middle ground.

Now budget that a ton of them were bussed in from all over what this shows is that people are no longer just going to show up because they believe.

Add the entertainment factor, yes people are attending not for the message but for the freeness.

The PPP has not convinced me one bit that we are doing what the people want and that we are winning hearts and minds back.

This is exactly what it was dubbed as a "show".
J
Originally posted by Nehru:
Most of the Cockroaches ran in their Holes. Two out SHAMELESSLY. What a BUNCH of NINCOMPOOPS.

Get a grip, we are losing terribly, Jagan used to get 25,000 just in berbice alone in 2006 we got 25000. Today we are bringing people from all the way like diamond.

Reality will hit our PPP stalwarts in the ass soon.
J
If you keep bringing the SAME 20,000 people all the time then you only fooling youself. I mean in the end it will still br 20,000. It won't increase.

Bruddaman and the AFC is onto our game.

We can only do so much spin this is what I have been begging our leaders to see.

We need to again stop with the silly season and focus on the people. Albion should be a wake up call to the PPP.

Dem a watch meh even couldnt help.
J
PPP in trouble. In past years they will pull 20000 easily in Albion. 10000 is a punch to the PPP belly. Plus they had to bus people in to still pull 10000. We have them on the backfoot. AFC will win this election. Just look at how AFC is pulling better crowds at the village public meetings.
TK you boys have a lot of sails in the wind just mek sure you keep the sails up and you can catch and harness all the wind you have and things will probably go the AFC and Ramjattan's way.

I met with a lot of sugar workers of the past few weeks they are all resigned to supporting Khemraj.

This is going to be quite a fall for the PPP.
J
DG, i hope you keep your nurse nearby on election day because things might get a bit hectic for you.

You and uncle book need to make sure you are out of the heat and you are in a temperature controlled atmosphere with medical assistance on standby.
J
Originally posted by TK_REDUX:

Just look at how AFC is pulling better crowds at the village public meetings.

The AFC has supporters, but not in the large amount like the the PPP/C. Smile