PPP refuses to sit on State Boards

The opposition People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) has ruled out sitting on the University of Guyana’s (UG) Council and State Boards unless President David Granger assures that there would be no political intervention in decision-making.

“Until we have assurances that the Boards would have total autonomy over the entities, we cannot be part of rubber-stamping corruption or discrimination or any precipitous action made by the government elsewhere but carried out by the boards,” Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo told Demerara Waves Online News.

Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson recently noted that the PPPC has not even acknowledged his requests for that party to nominate persons to a number of boards such as those for the Guyana Energy Agency (GEA) and Guyana Power and Light (GPL). “I would have thought that as an efficient opposition, as they claim they  claim to be, they would have already discussed who the  nominees would be to various agencies,” he said.

Jagdeo said the PPPC would “probably” inform government of its position because his party needed a public assurance by President Granger that the boards would be responsible for the affairs of those entities.

He singled out the recent announcement of the closure of the Wales Sugar Estate and Factory by government instead of the Board of the state-owned Guyana Sugar Corporation as an example of government’s overreach in decision-making. “We are not going to participate in agencies where would be blamed for decisions that are made elsewhere,” he said.

The Public Infrastructure Minister said the PPPC was informed last week- the same week in which the board members were appointed- to submit their nominees. “This is the third or fourth board that I have appointed and we have not received a response and I don’t think any of the other ministries has ever received a response for a nominee to any of the boards,” he said.

Patterson noted that President Granger has committed to having opposition members sit on State Boards following initial talks with the Opposition Leader.

How does this all end, so Guyana can go forwards progressively ?

In another 50 years, if not resolved, the infighting might continue, while the people of Guyana of all races, continue to suffer the effects of racial politics.   

Tola posted:

In another 50 years, if not resolved, the infighting might continue, while the people of Guyana of all races, continue to suffer the effects of racial politics.   

it will never end...especially if this site is a reflection of how lots of Guyanese think

RiffRaff posted:
Tola posted:

it will never end...especially if this site is a reflection of how lots of Guyanese think

Very sad and distressing, while the youth continue to learn from dysfunctional adults.  

The opposition People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) has ruled out sitting on the University of Guyana’s (UG) Council and State Boards unless President David Granger assures that there would be no political intervention in decision-making.

===========================.

Specific and valid reason for non-partition.

The PP IS ABSOLUTELY RIGHt.  You cannot trust Snakes and Devany.  We all know what Devany is capable of!!!!

To often you been talking about snakes. Find another works other than snakes. Snakes don't bother you if you don't trouble them.  

Bhai the man that sold his soul and everything else for a Title of PM slippery like wan snake, but he is no Cobra.

Look how Chief get pissed because I said Granger = Allah on Riffraff's thread.  

Cobra posted:

Bhai the man that sold his soul and everything else for a Title of PM slippery like wan snake, but he is no Cobra.

Look how Chief get pissed because I said Granger = Allah on Riffraff's thread.  

Dont mes with Allah Bhai. Deh man dont play joke with his God. But how come he does cuss suh and claim to be God's child