Power crisis again in Berbice

August 1, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

…160 blackouts in 2012

The performance of the Guyana Power and Light Inc. (GPL) has been deteriorating in Berbice over the past few months.
Countless blackouts have gripped the East and West Berbice system in recent times and the situation seems to be worsening.
A telephone call to the Engineer attached to the Canefield Power Station was met with hostility as he was not prepared to offer any explanation for over 10 power outages in the region within a 24- hour period. He said “ya’ll disturbing me” and “ya’ll can print whatever ya’ll want to print”.
Efforts to contact Regional Operations Manager, Ayube Bacchus yesterday, proved futile. Up to yesterday around 14:30hrs, there were 23 blackouts in July, and 160 blackouts for the year as compared to 89 during the same period last year. That means that power outages have almost doubled as compared to the same period last year.
There were 34 blackouts in May, 17 in June. If GPL continues the current trend, it could see 2012 having the most recorded blackouts for the company, ever.
The increasingly hot and humid days have caused Berbicians to be reeling from the daily rolling blackouts and the heat. An interview with Bacchus in May had Berbicians all optimistic that things were okay with the power company and its generating capacity.
Use of fuel, he had said, is one crucial area in which the company would be paying much attention to cushion the effects of the budget cuts. Fuel procurement, maintenance, sub- projects, “it may have an impact on it, but the bottom line is that we have to manage this thing and be more efficient and do things better”.

The article stated that: The increasingly hot and humid days have caused berbicians to be reeling from the daily rolling blackouts and the heat.         

I think berbicians need the power, mostly at night when it's dark, and to run the refrigerators (if any). Since when we become a nation that complains of heat and needs cooling off when Guyana is famous for its hot climate? If this is true, then the new generation of Guyanese is too sweet skin and looking for cooler comfort. Either that or the writer is putting words in people's mouth.

Sweet Bhai Sweet. Practise well and make us Proud.

Happy Raksha Bandan. Can you do one for this occasion too?

Happy Raksha Bandan to you and all those celebrating. I will certainly do this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8OGLWzCDV40

Sweet Bhai Sweet. Practise well and make us Proud.

Happy Raksha Bandan. Can you do one for this occasion too?

Happy Raksha Bandan to you and all those celebrating. I will certainly do this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8OGLWzCDV40

Oh Meh Mumma. SWEET BHAI REALLY SWEET. I have not heard such SWEETNESS in a long time. Rafi Saheb lives forever.

My wife reminded me of Raksha Bandan yesterday, and I forget already. Now that you reminded me we need some sisters to come around. Today GNI is not like before when everyone was biyhas and behins and your name is dragging through the mud. As Mithwaji said, he's just pointing out change's Guyana is experiencing. Little does he know that we have changes in the diaspora as well.  Nehru, what happen to your rakhee sister in your vicinity?

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

My wife reminded me of Raksha Bandan yesterday, and I forget already. Now that you reminded me we need some sisters to come around. Today GNI is not like before when everyone was biyhas and behins and your name is dragging through the mud. As Mithwaji said, he's just pointing out change's Guyana is experiencing. Little does he know that we have changes in the diaspora as well.  Nehru, what happen to your rakhee sister in your vicinity?

She is doing fine Bro. I have to go check her out this evening but I broke.

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

Berbician too busy copulating and ting during the black outs.

This is your nincompomp reason for Berbicians acting responsibly.

In the absence of something substantive, they revert to the "pandit Chandrika Sukul" line.

Before you get your bukta in knots, is it legal for a man in Berbice to marry his widow's sister? Why?

Now, talk about cheap divergence.  This is where the AFC is a lost cause.

Like the question tough for you too?

Men have been marrying their widow's sister in different societies for many years. What is the point? 

You have just proven that you are a nincompoop. hahahahahah!

Really? More nonsense from a barely functioning AFC. 

Men have been marrying their widow's sister in different societies for many years. What is the point? 

Storm I think this one is a GNI classic. LOL!

did I say slow on the uptake?

You can say whatever. It does not prove a thing.

It surely  does not. I set out no proofs since none is necessary.  A thing is what it is or not...law of non contradiction. The above is consistent and non contradictory.

Certainly! Logic is not your forte.

Men have been marrying their late wives sister for years and women have been marrying their late husband's brother since the beginning of time. Your point is no point.

You are certainly slow on the uptake as Stormy said. Read my question again but very slow. Apply common sense if you have any.

My common sense tells me that I should not bother reading your unadulterated drivel. There are more interesting things to do. 

Your common sense should tell you that you fell victim to a well known brain twister. Before you  go on to do those other interesting things, please do not trample on your humility as you depart. 

GNI has just discovered the dunce of the year. 

Originally Posted by TI:
With all these power crises in Berbice, I hope Freddie and Gerhardt down there leading a protest and blocking off the Berbice bridge.

Berbicians don't want to see them.  They have their problems, yes but they don't want to cheap politics taking over their issue either.  GR, FK and the rest of troublemakers led the Lindeners down a no-win path and some ended up dead.  Now blacks are out to get "coolies" thanks to these jokers.  The Bbcians will kick their asses right back to Linden, which is the least the deserve.

Originally Posted by TI:
With all these power crises in Berbice, I hope Freddie and Gerhardt down there leading a protest and blocking off the Berbice bridge.

Berbicians don't want to see them.  They have their problems, yes but they don't want to cheap politics taking over their issue either.  GR, FK and the rest of troublemakers led the Lindeners down a no-win path and some ended up dead.  Now blacks are out to get "coolies" thanks to these jokers.  The Bbcians will kick their asses right back to Linden, which is the least the deserve.

Can't rebut your inferences  based on inconclusive or incomplete evidence.

Originally Posted by TI:

Can't rebut your inferences  based on inconclusive or incomplete evidence.

Believe me, Indians all over Guyana are very uncomfortable and nervous over events in Linden which they feel was orchestrated and fanned by the AFC lose cannons and convenient "spokes persons".  The AFC has turned out the most destabilizing and divisive force in Guyana.  The race situation in Guyana has always been tenuous, the AFC has pushed it back 20 years in the most irresponsible manner.

The good in all of this, Indians will begin to look at the PNC in a different light after all, they seemed more measured, responsible and mature.  Even tough they may not vote for them, they will want the PPP to find reasonable accommodation.  The PNC has toyed with the AFC and the clowns don't even see it.

My common sense tells me that I should not bother reading your unadulterated drivel. There are more interesting things to do. 

Gwan da side. Guh marry yuh widow's sista. LOL!!!