Broken promisesâ€ĶRohee, Nandlall, Manickchand, Edghill among 17 PPP MPs taking full salaries

More than two years after vowing as a matter of principle not to accept a salary increase, there is new evidence that more than half of the Opposition parliamentarians did not keep their word.
The monies were supposed to be deposited into a Demerara Bank account of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP).
Four months after taking up office, the Coalition Government set about to increase the salaries of Parliamentarians by as much as 50 percent in some instances.
Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo, stated publicly that his colleagues will not be accepting the increase in their salaries.
The Parliament Office had made it clear that it could not withhold the payments and would have to make the monies payable. The PPP later indicated that the funds will then be donated to charity.
In fact, Jagdeo last Wednesday had this to say: “It’s a requirement that I know our MPs are deducting the money and sending it to that bank account.”
However, Teixeira maintained that MPs deductions are made through the Parliament Office and are deposited directly to the bank.
Asked if she could recall the accumulative amount of the account, Teixeira noted that she could not recall and that they haven’t touched the money.
Kaieteur News was told that the monies deposited are more than $2.5M.

Essentially, the monies were supposed to be deducted and transferred via a standing order made by the individual MPs to the Parliament Office.
However, records are indicating that 17 of the PPP parliamentarians collected their entire salary, inclusive of the increase.
And the names that broke their word would be surprising.
According to records, the names who do not contribute include former General Secretary and Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee; former Attorney General, Anil Nandlall; former Education Minister, Priya Manickchand; former Health Minister, Dr. Frank Anthony; Union Leader, Komal Chand; and former Housing Minister, Mohamed Irfaan Ali.
Among those who kept their word are MPs Indranie Chandarpal, Collin Croal, Harry Gill, Dr. Vindhya Persaud and Chief Whip of the Opposition, Gail Teixeira.
Recently there were indications that not all the 32 Opposition MPs were complying with an internal party directive to transfer the salary to the bank which would then be donated to charity.
The increases were made available to all parliamentarians by the Coalition Government in September 2015.
Two years on, the party’s Parliamentary Chief Whip, Teixeira, was pressed by Kaieteur News for details about the fund and whether all the MPs were actually donating their increases.
“Our MPs are complying,” Teixeira initially told Kaieteur News.
She added, “Each MP has a standing order and so the money is automatically deducted from our salaries and deposited into the bank account.”
Asked specifically if all the MPs were complying, Teixeira replied, “I can’t say all, but I am saying that we have a fund and our MPs are contributing towards that.”
Rohee, the party’s former General Secretary, had initially contributed, but from June opted to collect his entire amount.
“We are waiting for the money to accumulate,” Teixeira stated last week.
The PPP/C is still to decide which charity it will donate the funds to.
Finance Minister, Winston Jordan had, in explaining the rationale behind the increases, spoke to resolving the anomalies that existed, catering for the increased ministerial workload and catering to the posts of Vice Presidents.
The Finance Minister insisted that the salary increases were necessary and justifiable.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...aking-full-salaries/

However, records are indicating that 17 of the PPP parliamentarians collected their entire salary, inclusive of the increase.
And the names that broke their word would be surprising.
According to records, the names who do not contribute include former General Secretary and Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee; former Attorney General, Anil Nandlall; former Education Minister, Priya Manickchand; former Health Minister, Dr. Frank Anthony; Union Leader, Komal Chand; and former Housing Minister, Mohamed Irfaan Ali.

Big mouths resented the 50% increases,the $$$ came in handy for them.

Hypocrisy at  best.

I've already criticized Jagdeo for appropriating big salary increases for himself in 2000 and 2006. My criticism stands.

Moving on to the subject of this thread. Following the publication of a newspaper report recently that Rohee, Nandlall, Manickchand etc opted to draw their full salaries from Parliament Office, Jagdeo called a press conference and explained the situation.

He said the Parliament Office deducts the increase from some MPs and remits same to Freedom House. He also said some MPs uplift their full income and then pass on their increases directly to the party. Some have instructed their banks to transfer their increases to the PPP account at Demerara Bank. 

I am accepting Jagdeo's explanation because it's unthinkable that former PPP Leader Rohee or rich lawyer Nandlall would rob their Party. Jagdeo himself would have embarrassed them and word would have leaked out to the public as often happens.

I've already criticized Jagdeo for appropriating big salary increases for himself in 2000 and 2006. My criticism stands.

Moving on to the subject of this thread. Following the publication of a newspaper report recently that Rohee, Nandlall, Manickchand etc opted to draw their full salaries from Parliament Office, Jagdeo called a press conference and explained the situation.

He said the Parliament Office deducts the increase from some MPs and remits same to Freedom House. He also said some MPs uplift their full income and then pass on their increases directly to the party. Some have instructed their banks to transfer their increases to the PPP account at Demerara Bank. 

I am accepting Jagdeo's explanation because it's unthinkable that former PPP Leader Rohee or rich lawyer Nandlall would rob their Party. Jagdeo himself would have embarrassed them and word would have leaked out to the public as often happens.

You believing any BS story these days since dem boys anointed you as the Prodigal Son and stopped calling you Neemakharam.

So Rohee suddenly stopped his deductions and collecting his full amount now but he gon pay up later. I have a bridge across the Berbice River I'd like to sell you.

You believing any BS story these days since dem boys anointed you as the Prodigal Son and stopped calling you Neemakharam.

So Rohee suddenly stopped his deductions and collecting his full amount now but he gon pay up later. I have a bridge across the Berbice River I'd like to sell you.

Mars, if you allege that Rohee robbed the PPP government, I would find it credible. But, believe me, Rohee won't rob the PARTY. I accept the Prodigal Son title.

He's not robbing the party by any stretch of the imagination. He's just pocketing what is rightfully his. It seems a bit suspicious that he was ousted from the Gen Sec role and suddenly he stopped the deductions. He seems a bit slighted if you ask me.

Yes, he is slighted but he ain't tekking it out on the Party. Like Gilbakka, Rohee and others believe that the PPP is greater than Jagdeo and will outlast Jagdeo. Rohee was ousted as GS not because of money matters but because of Jagdeo's propensity to control. 

One of the reasons he is not my fan.

Rohee was ousted as GS not because of money matters but because of Jagdeo's propensity to control. 

Poor justification. You just don't like Jagdeo's best bone. Admit nuh.

Bhai,Jagdeo made my hand fall,from then he will never be forgiven,and truthfully i dislike him.

Time for someone else to come forward and lead the Party.

"Rohee, the party’s former General Secretary, had initially contributed, but from June opted to collect his entire amount"

Goat man seh allyuh try deh. I thought I was gonna be president in 2020 but Jagdeo hijack the party again. I tekkin wuh belong to me.

This stinks...all dem politicians alike...they find ways to thief and thief...thats why we should have term limits.

Cainsta, to understand PPP supporters' psyche, you have to go back to the conditions prior to 1992 and especially prior to Jagdeo critically fracturing PNC bully tactics of the past. Just refer back to Hoyte's "mo fiah slo fiah" threats after he loses the elections.

Why do we bother discussing anything here when Guyanese Politics is not about progressing a country and its people but nothing more than simply Blacks vs Indos?

Wait, did the AFC/PNC donate their 50 percent salary increases to Charity ?

How about the Missing U.S. 20 MILLION dollars signing bonus for the AFC/PNC. Did they donate that to Charity also ?

SMH.

What happened to the money for GT&T shares that was outstanding, that Harmon went to China to collect. Did I miss the news on how that was resolved? Did Trottman. Tge PNC part of the AFC supply the supporting documents? I was in Canada so might have missed what happened

Z
Zed posted:

Wait, did the AFC/PNC donate their 50 percent salary increases to Charity ?

How about the Missing U.S. 20 MILLION dollars signing bonus for the AFC/PNC. Did they donate that to Charity also ?

SMH.

What happened to the money for GT&T shares that was outstanding, that Harmon went to China to collect. Did I miss the news on how that was resolved? Did Trottman. Tge PNC part of the AFC supply the supporting documents? I was in Canada so might have missed what happened

That's $5mil(USD). Django can tell us where he his the cash. Wonder which PNC goady he hung his share of the $20 mil?

Cainsta, to understand PPP supporters' psyche, you have to go back to the conditions prior to 1992 and especially prior to Jagdeo critically fracturing PNC bully tactics of the past. Just refer back to Hoyte's "mo fiah slo fiah" threats after he loses the elections.

Why do we bother discussing anything here when Guyanese Politics is not about progressing a country and its people but nothing more than simply Blacks vs Indos?

I can't speak for others Pal. As for myself, I don't for even one moment think that any of my participation on GNI would or should have any consequences on people living in Guyana. I just make comments here and for the most part amuse myself.

Django, ask what the PNC did with their salary increase, ask where is the $5m US and where is the $20M US signing Bonus. Where is the transparency that APNU/AFC promised. Did Jagdeo done you wrong personally? if he did not exist you would not have been posting here.I am sorry you have so much HATE for one person, people say he is an anti-man, did he drop you for someone else, WELL I can see your HATE.

Banna,Jagdeo as a politician had a chance to end racism and made changes to the constitution.When he became president [thru the back door] i said he will make the Country better for the whole nation,it turns out to be the opposite.He allowed his egoism to take control which became a recipe for disaster

The rest of your fish market nonsense is not worth responding to.

And to understand the mentality of those who voted APNU just look at their exclusion under the PPP, especially in the Jagdeo/Ramotar era.

So there we have it. Stalemate.  Each equally bad. The supporters of each equally dysfunctional.

Yes he is so happy to be back on that PPP plantation.

What a dirty job you were given:  to keep stirring the racism pot with your plantation talk, etc. I guess your ancestors were the plantation overseers.   

Yes he is so happy to be back on that PPP plantation.

Kaffir, I promised to ignore you if you ignore me. Obviously, you want conflict not peace through respectful dialogue.

PPP plantation? Again, you are entitled to your own opinions but not to your own facts.

And yes, Gilbakka is very happy to be supporting the PPP again. I should never have deserted them in the first place. But I and thousands fell for the deceptive spiel of APNU partner AFC who, like the arkatis of yesteryear, lured their Indian countrymen into bondage in Guyana with false promises.

From the moment my foreparents landed in Guyana, kaffir, your people have been denigrating and demeaning us with the term "coolies". Jagan, Jagdeo, Gilbakka and PPP were not even born when that racial cold war started. You are keeping up that odious tradition.

Rohee was ousted as GS not because of money matters but because of Jagdeo's propensity to control. 

Poor justification. You just don't like Jagdeo's best bone. Admit nuh.

He sounds just like a Professor near me who knows you. 

I know that professor,if he is the same i have in mind,he is a villager.