Residents of ‘koker flood’ villages protest over proposed $11M relief

Posted By Staff Writer On December 9, 2014 @ 5:18 am In Local News | No Comments

Some residents of the three East Bank Demerara villages that suffered massive flooding after a Koker gave way in early October, protested in front of the Office of the President yesterday as they called the $11 million flood relief proposed by government an insult.

The small gathering yesterday stood at the western entrance of the Office of the President holding up placards expressing their disapproval saying that government’s earmarked $11 million relief is an insult to the affected residents of Peter’s Hall, Nandy Park and Providence.

They then proceeded south on Shiv Chanderpaul Drive where they stood and expressed their disapproval saying that it was a waste of time and would not suffice when divided among over 400 residents.

One protestor who identified herself as “a hurt resident” said yesterday that the government is spending money on a dead man’s case when they should be spending it on living persons who have been suffering.

“This is a callous government, man. What $11 million can do?

QUOTE: "One protestor who identified herself as “a hurt resident” said yesterday that the government is spending money on a dead man’s case when they should be spending it on living persons who have been suffering."

I suppose she means the Rodney Commission of Inquiry. In which case, she has a valid point. The whole intent and purpose of that COI is to dig up dirt on the PNC. The PPP regime had hoped to use its findings for electioneering. The COI will soon wrap up its business. At what cost? There's no parliament, the government doesn't have to answer.

You worry wid wha dem Minista ah mek and nah guh look lil wuk.

Do you not sympathize with the thousands of people who lost much of their personal effects when they were already deprived? That sum is paltry.

I hope the opposition, be it the AFC Or the APNU make it a campaign policy to set up an Emergency Management agency that handles these things. We need an emergency response  agency with a pool of cash, a cache  of reedy  supplies ( food, housing and medical) and trained personnel who can respond to crisis  as this immediately.

Originally Posted by kp:

If the PPP should create such agency, the first thing you say they are stealing the money.They can"t do right.

If the PPP creates such an agency it would be headed by Alexi or another one of the PPP's royal children. They do not have the capacity to look for the best person for the job. Look at the sugar board, Raj singh and Geeta the crook does not lift your spirits. Ask yourself that happened the aid money for the 2005 flood? No credible reporting since. Same with NICIL, no accounting. The agency is needed but they, would not do it unless it was to enrich some friend and family. They are in office now 22 years and it does not exist! I guess leech sources like the Marriot or the specialty hospital was more on their minds

Mi wuk is to keep an eye on dem dis thief man.

Walmart and the dollar stores are hiring for the holidays. U cyan fine wan rela jab deh. You cyan be wan maninja ah de dallah store. Gee de taxpayers a break nah man? How lang you guh stay pun dis freeloading?

Originally Posted by kp:

If the PPP should create such agency, the first thing you say they are stealing the money.They can"t do right.

hey if you put cat to watch milk what you expect

APNU activists in NY talking about prosecuting Ralph Ramkarran and Khemraj Ramjatttan for bilking Guysuco of millions of dollars during Jagan's presidency from 1992 to 1997. I want to know how you AFC boys going to respond to this.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

APNU activists in NY talking about prosecuting Ralph Ramkarran and Khemraj Ramjatttan for bilking Guysuco of millions of dollars during Jagan's presidency from 1992 to 1997. I want to know how you AFC boys going to respond to this.

All improper or potentially improper transactions should be reviewed.

If Guysuco paid Ramkarran and Ramjattan for legal services its fair game for it to be reviewed as well. If they did no wrong which I am pretty sure they did not whats the issue?

Who the hell are you to judge? Go dig a hole, shut the hell up and hide your sorry ass.

Oh its not up to me to judge Shelly, I say lets hire proper judges and magistrates from the Caribbean who are impartial not chosen by the PPP or PNC but by an independent third party. Get the CCJ to select them and then let them have a whirl at it.

What do you say? or will that also get you upset and send you to scratch your bt again?

APNU has its own agenda and it is no different from that of Burnham's in the sixties. The AFC is a pawn in this game. APNU's game plan is to use the AFC then destroy it.

Soes the PPP have a communist agenda? They want us to see them in a new light. Why is it the black people have to remain dressed in garb of the old regime?

Indeed the desire is to force the PPP out of office. The are corrupt!

Stop resorting yesterday's attacks on PPP about communism. The cold war is over and the PPP emerged as the most popular party in Guyana. Guyana has a free-market economy that allows all to participate. The banks are giving loans to all Guyanese at a historically low interest rates. Take advantage of it!  Build Guyana while building yourself.

Guyana has a free market what? where did you conjure up this bullshit from?

Please do expound and explain how GY has a free market economy I would love to hear this.

APNU activists in NY talking about prosecuting Ralph Ramkarran and Khemraj Ramjatttan for bilking Guysuco of millions of dollars during Jagan's presidency from 1992 to 1997.

What's your source, Billy?