“PPP is playing with fire” – Granger warns

January 24, 2015 2:52 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

The poster in circulation comparing the APNU Leader to German politician and the leader of the Nazi Party, Adolf Hitler and the late President of Iraq, Saddam Hussein.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – As the various election campaigns start to heat up, Leader of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), David Granger is again warning the governing People’s Progressive Party to stay away from “vile propaganda.”

At a press conference on Friday, January 23, the Opposition Leader made reference to the circulation of posters in certain interior location and on social media, comparing him to German politician and the leader of the Nazi Party, Adolf Hitler and the late President of Iraq, Saddam Hussein.

Granger warned that his supporters may become angry and security forces may not be able to restrain them.

Opposition Leader, David Granger. [iNews' Photo]

Opposition Leader, David Granger. [iNews’ Photo]

“I am worried about what the people would do to the publishers of that vile propaganda. I don’t know if the police will be able to restrain those angry people. PPP is playing with fire. When they start publishing photographs of me alongside Adolph Hitler, when they start claiming that the Demerara River will run red with blood if Granger is running for President, they are playing with fire and I warned them to resist from that vile propaganda,” Granger told the news conference.

On January 02, he had questioned which political party would “stoop so low” to produce such fiction. There are numerous other flyers being posted on social media bashing the Opposition Leader, accusing him of being responsible for a number of crimes in Guyana.

Granger is in a position to talk tough and that all hot air he's blowing. Before Granger waste time with fat talk, let his tell the Guyanese voters why they should vote for him and his party. It's campaign time, get busy. 

Originally Posted by asj:
“I am worried about what the people would do to the publishers of that vile propaganda. I don’t know if the police will be able to restrain those angry people. PPP is playing with fire. When they start publishing photographs of me alongside Adolph Hitler, when they start claiming that the Demerara River will run red with blood if Granger is running for President, they are playing with fire and I warned them to resist from that vile propaganda,” Granger told the news conference.

if true, that quote is a DUMB statement by David Granger

he is allowing the PPP bacoos to yank his chain

who's advising this guy?

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Granger does have a point. The PPP has not learnt from the history of other countries that focusing on attacking the opposition in such ways can encourage unrest and bloodshed.

Bro, you're so old fashion with this blood shed thing. Attacking the opposition is a political game in the U.S.A. It happens all the time. Granger would dare not cross that line.

Granger does have a point. The PPP has not learnt from the history of other countries that focusing on attacking the opposition in such ways can encourage unrest and bloodshed.

whether he has a point is not the issue

the statement is irresponsible on so many levels, especially given Guyana's troubled 'elections' history

he is not running for General Secretary of his party for chrissakes . . . he is a candidate for PRESIDENT of Guyana!

It is very relevant that he makes the point. I am even of the opinion that it is very responsible. If he stays quiet, then the PPP will assume that Granger is a weakling who can be insulted at will. If the PPP continues to inflame the situation, then many innocent people will end up in the morgues piled to the ceiling. Maybe that is what the PPP is trying to achieve.

banna, big men doan mek their self-esteem get damaged by political insults

u snatch it, chew and refashion it into a political weapon

mr T, you actually acknowledge that violence is likely the PPP intent - playing to their endgame . . . why oblige them?

smh

I would disagree with about how a big man should or should not behave. We are talking here of a voting public back in Guyana with an IQ of less than 100 in many cases. Such people are very impressionable when subjected to negative political propaganda. They are incapable of distinguishing propaganda from real life events. And when intellectually challenged folks also live next to each other, political murders soon follow.

T, we agree on the incendiary nature of PPP propaganda and the potential for violence

but how is Granger's statement helping the situation . . . do you think the PPP gives a damn or will stop because he gives them a heads up about the ferment/anger in APNU neighborhoods?

and if there is violence . . . cui bono?

we need to be smarter than this

Whether the PPP gives a damn is going to be critical. But I myself fear that they won't and that many ordinary voters will be scared off from trying to get to the polling station. This could well turn out to be the bloodiest election in the history of Guyana if the PPP continues on its path. There are rumours of heavy weapons being stashed away by both sides.

This poster is provocative indeed.

And it's ironic that a civilian dictatorship that has not held local government elections for 21 years and killed parliamentary democracy is warning hinterland folks about "Military Dictator".

The PPP really thinks people in the interior are stupid.

I wonder how many of the electorate realize that democracy and human rights under the PNC after the death of Burnham was far higher than under the last 12 odd years of PPP rule. More blacks and indians have been murdered by forces connected to the ruling party in the last 12 years than in the whole period of PNC rule. These are figures that the PPP does not wish to discuss and excuse.

T, we agree on the incendiary nature of PPP propaganda and the potential for violence

but how is Granger's statement helping the situation . . . do you think the PPP gives a damn or will stop because he gives them a heads up about the ferment/anger in APNU neighborhoods?

and if there is violence . . . cui bono?

we need to be smarter than this

Redux Granger is no Corbin....

Granger learn from Fat Boy....

Yuh thing Ramotar can play

his lil games with Fatboy or Hoyte.

Look Granger Security

Purple Shoes was quick to pull his gun....

Look how Rohee & Ramotar shut them mouth

and don't even talk about it.

Kwame say Ramotar & Rohee Mouth in dem BT...

Granger Right....

He telling them he know who behind it

and if the do not stop now....

they will be sorry.

Originally Posted by asj:

if true, that quote is a DUMB statement by David Granger

he is allowing the PPP bacoos to yank his chain

who's advising this guy?

The reality is that fear of violence is the only thing that makes the PPP react.

banna, big men doan mek their self-esteem get damaged by political insults

This isn't about ego.  This is about the PPP using dirty tactics.  Maybe they ought to be reminded that if they get dirty so can others, so its better that all keep it clean.