The people of Guyana will have spoken on the direction of the country in the next 5 years after tomorrow. Whatever the results Guyanese at home and in the Diaspora will take the results as the true choice of Guyanese. As Ralph Ramkarran, one of the former PPP leaders has put it in his Conversation Tree blog

Guyanese will vote on Monday for a Government that they wish to conduct the affairs of the nation on their behalf for the next five years. Every registered Guyanese has the right to vote and this right must be protected and respected before and after it is exercised. If the majority of Guyanese collectively choose to return the PPP/C to office, despite the great disappointment this will cause among APNU+AFC supporters, this choice must be accepted peacefully. If Guyanese decide to change their Government and support the APNU+AFC coalition, whatever trepidation PPP/C supporters may feel, their Party having been in power for 22 plus years, Guyanese must equally accept the results peacefully.

There must be no post-election violence for any reason whatsoever, including for any allegations that any political party is trying to β€˜frustrate the process.’ No such attempt has been made since 1992 and no basis exists to suggest that any such attempt will now be made. Any political party that is guilty of irresponsible behavior, making unprovable or ridiculous allegations for the purpose of excusing violence, or of failing to restrain its supporters, does not deserve sympathy.

If the PPP/C wins they would have been vindicated for what they campaigned on despite the charges of corruption and cronyism. The people would have forgiven them as a normal price to pay in a democratic society for what it deems as progress.

If the APNU-AFC wins they would have won the argument that the PPP/C has not served Guyana well. They have campaigned on exposing cronyism, fraud and incompetence. They also campaigned on moving beyond race voting.

I expect the coalition to win tomorrow and the challenge becomes one of governance. The most important driver is looking forward not back. When the PPP/C won in 1992 there were moves afoot for recriminations and pursuing to the hilt all the crimes committed by the previous Administrations. Dr. Jjagan nipped this in the bud; a move similar to that of Nelson Mandela's in South Africa, as the calculation was that it will serve Guyana better without a witch hunt.

As the PPP/C supporters ponder a future without its party in government, they would hope that the rule of law would prevail and a sensible course of action pursued for investigating all the deals made under the PPP/C government. The Coalition has two Statesmen at the helm - Granger and Nagamootoo - and as long as they keep the hounds in check Guyana can move on from the elections.

There has been a rhetoric of vengeance on social media. I even called for "jail" time for offenders. I say once the coalition takes the reigns of government they will invoke the wisdom of good governance. They would have been elected not just for changing the government but to govern wisely beyond change.

I agree with the core sentiment that there should not be time wasted in excessive energies on "jail dem".   Of course those majorly responsible for corruption should be held accountable.  But focus must be on developing structures to increase transparencies and minimize corruption and crony awards of contracts.  Those business people who supported the coalition need to understand that there is no quid pro quo.

However while peace must result, regardless as to which party wins, we must recognize that Guyana is a DIVIDED nation.

The PPP will do well even if they don't win.  Why?  Because many Indians, and some Amerindians, are terrified of a PNC led gov't because they are terrified of governance dominated by Africans.  This doesn't necessarily make them racists, or fringe.

If APNU AFC loses it will once again convey to African and mixed Guyanese that the electoral process doesn't work for them, and that they remain powerless.  AT some point they will turn to extrajudicial ways of enforcing their relevance.  After every election the PPP promises to deal with this issue, and yet after election election they become even more derisive of this group.

So let us not think that, after raising people to such euphoric levels of defeating the PPP you can put the genie in the box if the PPP wins.  After all this is 50% of the population, and not a small fringe group.

So after the election the NUMBER ONE priority will have to be addressing the sense of exclusion and ethnic panic, because this more than anything else has defined why Guyana has lagged the rest of the Caribbean since the late 70s.

exclusion and ethnic panic 

Caribny, this becomes an issue only if it exists. I ask you this - is the APNU-AFC coalition one to sustain this notion of exclusion and ethnic panic? And in which direction?

You would be wise to focus on the goals ahead smartly - good, transparent governance with all the controls put in place under the rule of law; sensible investigative committees to address deals inimical to the growth of Guyana and holding those responsible for it accountable; and laying out how Guyana can move from a largely primary producing economy with little foreign investment and technology transfer for value-added industries and utilizing Guyana's greatest assets; its human capital.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

"The Coalition has two Statesmen at the helm - Granger and Nagamootoo - and as long as they keep the hounds in check...." Ralph Ramkarran.

Who Ramkarran calling hounds?

Kzaaz, that sentence is part of what I wrote.

The quotes from Ralph Ramkarran are in italics. Everything else is my writing.

Now the word "hounds" is a literary expression to describe the group of people who are on the extremes of the coalition. Every organization has its extremes - even Masjids. Then there are those in the center. Then there are the ones who are aware of everything but only act o those things that are in the best interests. It is not only about what's right but about what's smart.

"The Coalition has two Statesmen at the helm - Granger and Nagamootoo - and as long as they keep the hounds in check...." Ralph Ramkarran.

Now the word "hounds" is a literary expression to describe the group of people who are on the extremes of the coalition. Every organization has its extremes - even Masjids. Then there are those in the center. Then there are the ones who are aware of everything but only act o those things that are in the best interests. It is not only about what's right but about what's smart.

My apologies to Ralph Ramkarran then.

And rest assured those PNC "hounds" who relish the return of the Burnham era, yes those who to this day still sing his praises, will be kept in check.

The ones who might not be kept in check are those most closely connected to the grass roots, who will demand and expect quick results from years of PPP neglect.  I speak especially of Linden and Georgetown.

APNU AFC will have to have quick deliverables to those municipalities and to  rice farmers and the sugar industry.  As well as on the "Chinese problem", and eco damage in the interior. 

Honey moons in coalitions don't last that long and LGE will be coming ASAP.

This is why excessive time on "jail dem" will be counter productive.  Jail high profile people like Bobby and Jagdeo.  Not some mid level bureaucrat.

The people of Guyana will have spoken on the direction of the country in the next 5 years after tomorrow.

* You are wrong karimullah! The Guyanese people would not have spoken on the direction of the country the next 5 years. What the Guyanese people, the (50+1)% who voted for the winner, would have done is decide on who will decide the issues in Guyana the next 5 years. That party is the PPP/C---(50+1)% of voters would have agreed that Ramotar and the wealthy elites in his circle will call the shots the next 5 years and decide the issues.

Honey moons in coalitions don't last that long .......

Nagamootoo better pay attention.

bHAI LIKE YOU LOSING CONFIDENCE??

First Nagamootoo left the PPP because they did not chose him to lead the party. So he went to the AFC and when he saw that the AFC will not stand a chance running on their own at this year's elections decided to again run to the place where he feels he will satisfy his personal goals. In his own words; "Newly-selected Prime Ministerial candidate of the new Opposition coalition, Moses Nagamootoo on Saturday said if the ruling People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) had not rejected him as their Presidential Candidate in 2011, he would not have been running against them today". Guyana Times.

Nagamootoo himself will bring an end to that coalition if he feels that the APNU is wasting his time, or attempting to renege its deal with him.

The perfect excuse for the PNC to pull a UF style stunt, then all gone for channa.

First Nagamootoo left the PPP because they did not chose him to lead the party. So he went to the AFC and when he saw that the AFC will not stand a chance running on their own at this year's elections decided to again run to the place where he feels he will satisfy his personal goals. In his own words; "Newly-selected Prime Ministerial candidate of the new Opposition coalition, Moses Nagamootoo on Saturday said if the ruling People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) had not rejected him as their Presidential Candidate in 2011, he would not have been running against them today". Guyana Times.

If this is true, it tells a lot about this Guy Nagamootoo. Can you TRUST such a fellow.??

Nagamootoo himself will bring an end to that coalition if he feels that the APNU is wasting his time, or attempting to renege its deal with him.

Your bill of goods isn't fooling anyone bai. Well, maybe it is fooling them AFC bais.

??

First Nagamootoo left the PPP because they did not chose him to lead the party.

Well APNU didn't allow him to be presidential candidate either and yet he remains in the coalition.

GECOM tells us that by Wednesday morning we will get the official results.  With social media being as active as it is, I suspect this will be quicker as the statements of poll will be available and results can be deemed from that.  So maybe even by very late Monday or early Tuesday we will get indications. 

Region 3 will be important as it is on par with region 6 as a source of votes.  Region 4 as it will indicate whether APNU did get its base out in large numbers.

Your bill of goods isn't fooling anyone bai. Well, maybe it is fooling them AFC bais.

1.  If APNU AFC wins then Granger will give Nagamootoo his 12 seats as he will not begin his office with court cases and injunctions.  In addition LGE will be called and the last thing he will want is an AFC PPP alliance taking away many city council seats from the PNC in G/town.

2. If Nagamootoo doesn't take advantage of the powers that he will have that will NOT be the PNCs fault.

Sorry if that upsets your apaan jhat barrel but these are the facts.  APNU AFC is a multi ethnic coalition.  The PPP remains the old style mono racial regime.

Kazma..you believe this piece from a News Media owned by

the friend of Jaggy,most of what is written in that media have

to taken with a grain of salt.

The perfect excuse for the PNC to pull a UF style stunt, then all gone for channa.

This is concern, but the coalition is an opportunity to try a new method of governance to create a better form of equality, for all races.

There is no guarantee how it might unfold, so was all past elections.

But, we hope the goodwill of women and men in any government, will be sincere in their promises and have a deep longing to see Guyanese proper.   

Here's the emotional import of that statement Kzaaaazz - Moses is the straight one, Granger is likely to be not so straight; honeymoon could be over soon because of Granger. Still fearful of the APNU's PNC/R Kzaazz?

Kzaaazz, are you still peddling that discredited lie?

You obviously note that Moses supported the Janet/Jagdeo/Hinds "A" team and the "two Jagdeo/Hinds" campaigns. How come a man, who would eventually leave the party over his losing the battle against party corruption, then be described as leaving because he was not chosen to lead the party?

Any comments by Moses about the PPP party leadership would be because he was the champion against corruption and the violence by the Phantom. That's it. Not some bitterness over leadership of a ship he saw as rotten. Why would he want to lead a party like that if he has no chance of changing it? Do you know how the PPP Central Committee and importantly the Executive Committee work?

Originally Posted by Tola:

This is concern, but the coalition is an opportunity to try a new method of governance to create a better form of equality, for all races.

There is no guarantee how it might unfold, so was all past elections.

But, we hope the goodwill of women and men in any government, will be sincere in their promises and have a deep longing to see Guyanese proper.   

It's a high risk game the AFC playing.  They did in 2011 and baseman was skeptical that they can pull it off.  I saw the biggest risk was a PNC victory.  Luckily the Indians in Guyana "smell a rat" and reverted to the PPP a the last minute.

I can say, I don't like the "democracy" in Guyana, where ethnic security trumps the issues, but that's what there is.  There are solutions, but presently the parties benefit from the stalemate.

Why did the PNC not propose that as one of their commitments to the people of Guyana, to place the GDF under independent judicial control.  No, with all the concerns, they ensure the PNC keeps the GDF under their control.  If they truly wanted to demonstrate to the Indian majority that the past cannot be repeated, this was their chance to do it.  No, instead they insisted on holding their "trump card".

O

It's a high risk game the AFC playing.  They did in 2011 and baseman was skeptical that they can pull it off.  I saw the biggest risk was a PNC victory.  Luckily the Indians in Guyana "smell a rat" and reverted to the PPP a the last minute.

I can say, I don't like the "democracy" in Guyana, where ethnic security trumps the issues, but that's what there is.  There are solutions, but presently the parties benefit from the stalemate.

Why did the PNC not propose that as one of their commitments to the people of Guyana, to place the GDF under independent judicial control.  No, with all the concerns, they ensure the PNC keeps the GDF under their control.  If they truly wanted to demonstrate to the Indian majority that the past cannot be repeated, this was their chance to do it.  No, instead they insisted on holding their "trump card".

Why did the PNC not propose that as one of their commitments to the people of Guyana, to place the GDF under independent judicial control.  No, with all the concerns, they ensure the PNC keeps the GDF under their control.

You lose me here Baseman. What is "under judicial control"? How does the current charter of the GDF make it under PNC control?

Kzaaazz, are you still peddling that discredited lie?

You obviously note that Moses supported the Janet/Jagdeo/Hinds "A" team and the "two Jagdeo/Hinds" campaigns. How come a man, who would eventually leave the party over his losing the battle against party corruption, then be described as leaving because he was not chosen to lead the party?

Any comments by Moses about the PPP party leadership would be because he was the champion against corruption and the violence by the Phantom. That's it. Not some bitterness over leadership of a ship he saw as rotten. Why would he want to lead a party like that if he has no chance of changing it? Do you know how the PPP Central Committee and importantly the Executive Committee work?

Why would he leave?  And why would he run with the PNC knowing very well the experience and concerns of his constituency?  I can only think of two reasons, his hatred for the PPP or he is woefully out of touch with the emotions of his people.  I tell you, he will get whip lashed when he see the voting of his [former] constituency.

The least he could have done was get a commitment from the PNC regarding the key issue for Indians.  No, he got fooled with a few benign ministerial position.  As a boy i heard of these guys and their brilliance.  Actually, they dumber than I thought.

O

Why did the PNC not propose that as one of their commitments to the people of Guyana, to place the GDF under independent judicial control.  No, with all the concerns, they ensure the PNC keeps the GDF under their control.

You lose me here Baseman. What is "under judicial control"? How does the current charter of the GDF make it under PNC control?

You are a "smart" QC bai, think it through!

Yes I knew you with your paranoia will bring this up.

Note to you, the Cold War is over.  Burnham was preferable to the communist Jagan. 

Granger has no such protection.  He will give his 12 seats to the fc if the coalition wins.  He will contest the LGE with the AFC and will NOT have their support if he doesn't.

And if the AFC withdraws its 12 seats Granger will be done.

Now you can construct all the scenarios in your paranoid little brain, but this is what today's reality is.

O

HEHEHEHEHEHE  Like I said writing CRAP daily does not make one smart.

Why did the PNC not propose that as one of their commitments to the people of Guyana, to place the GDF under independent judicial control.   

Why didn't the PPP?

Tell you what baseman, of the GDF was a tool of the PNC there would have been a coup in that era when Roger Khan was out there killing hundreds of people.

When Jagdeo cleaned up people in the GDF who he didn't trust and installed Best, who until recently supported him,  there was no coup.

Clearly then the PNC didn't have any control of the GDF.

So why didn't the PPP insist on independence?

Or is it that you only fear the GDF if the PNC is in control?

?

Why would he leave?  And why would he run with the PNC knowing very well the experience and concerns of his constituency?

When I came to GNI around 2002 virtually every single poster who was Indian, and even those like Stormborn who weren't, supported the PPP.  It was a straight down blacks against PPP, non blacks supporting PPP.

Now we see huge numbers of Indians being as fervently anti PPP as I am.

Do you really think that this isn't reflective of what is going on in Guyana? 

So baseman why didn't the PPP do this.  The president is the Commander-I-chief and he GDF cannot function unless its budgeted for.

So why didn't the PPP insist upon this.  They were able to do what they wanted to do between 1992 and 2011.  So what stopped them?

O

HEHEHEHEHEHE  Like I said writing CRAP daily does not make one smart.

Whah happ'n, cyan mek de halh-mast flag dedicated to your dead brains?

O

Base Boy

From Nehru

O

this is another idiot variation on a favorite baseman nonsense theme

he actually don't know what the hell it means . . . but it rolls easily off the tongue, sounds nice, 'informed' and politically rigorous

lol

Why did the PNC not propose that as one of their commitments to the people of Guyana, to place the GDF under independent judicial control.   

Why didn't the PPP?

Simple,

1. Because the institution is ethnically biased and reflected in their voting pattern

2: We have a long and well documented history where this was the case of the PNC exploiting this advantage.

3: The PPP never [cannot] used the GDF to thwart the will of the people.

So Mr Caribj, it's the PNC who are the guilty party here and should give the "legally binding" assurance that this can never repeat itself.

You know Caribj, you are intelligent and know exactly what I'm getting at, and like a certain PNCite who I engaged in a similar discussion, it gives little hope for a resolution of the ethnic insecurity in Guyana.  As along as that's the case, then my man, the PPP will have my nod although it's not the most palatable pill to swallow.

Why didn't the PPP?

Simple,

1. Because the institution is ethnically biased and reflected in their voting pattern

2: We have a long and well documented history where this was the case

3: The PPP never [cannot] used the GDF to thwart the will of the people.

So Mr Caribj, it's the PNC who are the guilty party here and should give the "legally binding" assurance that this can never repeat itself.

You know Caribj, you are intelligent and know exactly what I'm getting at, and like a certain PNCite who I engaged in a similar discussion, it gives little hope for a resolution of the ethnic insecurity in Guyana.  As along as that's the case, then my man, the PPP will have my nod although it's not the most palatable pill to swallow.

The PPP had over 20 years to implement the recommendations of the Discipline Services Commission.

THEY DID NOT.

NOW SOD OFF.  You all had enough time to fix Guyana.

Time for a new Government.