I wonder why supporters of a 10% party think that a 40% party is irrelevant. The AFC doesn't try to get black support and the PPP has been too racist towards blacks, so they will either vote PNC or stay home. 

AFC supporters never learn.  We saw this exaggerated sense of importance, not backed by reality in 2006 and again in 2011.  The votes were counted and the AFC did far worse than was expected.

I only wish that the AFC would do real work rather than basking in an illusion that the bad image of the PPP and the PNC will be enough to make them into a major factor. Guyanese instead are withdrawing from the vote with a collapse in turn out of 85% in 2001 to a mere 65% by 2011.

I wonder why supporters of a 10% party think that a 40% party is irrelevant. The AFC doesn't try to get black support and the PPP has been too racist towards blacks, so they will either vote PNC or stay home. 

AFC supporters never learn.  We saw this exaggerated sense of importance, not backed by reality in 2006 and again in 2011.  The votes were counted and the AFC did far worse than was expected.

I only wish that the AFC would do real work rather than basking in an illusion that the bad image of the PPP and the PNC will be enough to make them into a major factor. Guyanese instead are withdrawing from the vote with a collapse in turn out of 85% in 2001 to a mere 65% by 2011.

You excel yourself here in stupidity, and self-righteousness. Making up a theory and then trying to sell it as a factual agenda of the AFC would see you well paid by GINA if you applied for a job.

AFC risks ‘dead meat’ status in coalition with APNU

Posted By Staff Writer On November 2, 2014 @ 5:23 am In Local News | No Comments

APNU leader David Granger recently raised again the idea of an ANPU/AFC coalition but AFC Leader Khemraj Ramjattan is against such a move saying it would leave the party as “dead meat.”

Ramjattan recounted to Stabroek News yesterday that at their most recent meeting, Granger indicated that he would like to raise the issue of a coalition with AFC. Ramjattan said they told the APNU leader that they were in no position to deal with it at that stage. He added that he indicated to Granger that the matter would have to be profoundly discussed and deliberated on by the party.

The AFC leader added that he also gave his personal view that the AFC and APNU would be better placed in contesting elections as separate bodies and would do better against the PPP.

Ramjattan said that personally, he does not support an APNU and AFC coalition. However, the party at its various forums will discuss the matter and give a response to APNU. The AFC leader stated that at this stage, he is “very much against it.”

According to Ramjattan, if they choose that route, there is every likelihood that the PPP will “make hay in that kind of sunshine".

Robin Hood in dreamland.

I think that it is something that can be worked out, and can be worked out just for the sake of kicking the Corrupt PPP/C arses into the wilderness, and jailing some ot those thieving crooks.

There can be a way where the Parties can  Colate in any recent Election Announcements, the logistics can be worked out whereby with an understanding that both parties before elections retain their now allocation of seats, and after Elections if there is any gains/losses it should be shared equally.

Ofcourse it is widely expected that the APNU/AFC seats will go up not considerably but a margin of importance for them to form the Government.

Caribny I have a question to ask you do you think that the average black voter in Guyana is happy with Granger and the PNC's lack of achievements the past 3 years?

Do you think the majority of young people can relate to Granger and Vulgar Lawrence as well as the rest of the leadership of the said PNC?

Caribny I have a question to ask you do you think that the average black voter in Guyana is happy with Granger and the PNC's lack of achievements the past 3 years?

Do you think the majority of young people can relate to Granger and Vulgar Lawrence as well as the rest of the leadership of the said PNC?

It doesn't matter if black people are happy or not about the PNC. They will still vote PNC like the coolies vote PPP. Are the black people low life too? 

Khemraj Ramjattan is keeping his head on, and that's what the leader of a political party is supposed to do.

Ramjattan's use of the metaphor "dead meat" reflects a realistic view of what would likely become of the AFC in a pre-election coalition with APNU.

Being a democrat, Ramjattan is mindful of the opinions of the general AFC membership, thus his caveat that he merely expressed his personal view. I sense that the majority will endorse that view.

Shelly it is like how it does not matter that the PPP Hierarchy see you as a low breed and they also view sugar workers as low class untouchables. You will still vote and suck whatever it is they are giving you.

Hass shit and piss. Like I told you before, your crack is so wide from constant activity, the Skeldon factory will be able to resolve all ofit's problems if they were allowed to use your ass as a punt dumper.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

You excel yourself here in stupidity, and self-righteousness. Making up a theory and then trying to sell it as a factual agenda of the AFC would see you well paid by GINA if you applied for a job.

What insane rant are you on Sunday. Did the time change unloose your brain cells.  My comments are made to a person who is of the impression that the AFC is more relevant in Guyana politics than is the PPP.  Reality is that race based voting guarantees the PPP and the PNC relevance.  The AFC has yet to prove that it is relevant and ought to focus on that rather than allowing its supporters to wallow in arrogance.

Look at the MONC.  The AFC ran with this at a time when the PPP was against the rails with LGE which ought to be a focus when we see the dilapidated state of many of our municipalities. EVERY ONE was telling the PPP to stop behaving like Burnham when they refused to host the LGE. The AFC ran out with this MONC which gave the PPP a pass because it is clear that we cannot have BOTH elections simultaneously.

Now it is the AFC which is depending on APNU to support them.  So what sense does it make to claim that the AFC is more relevant.  Yes it played a role by depriving the PPP of a majority by taking away votes in Regions 5 and 6.  But it cannot accomplish a thing without APNU and engaging in arrogant behavior towards APNU doesn't help their case.

The AFC ought to have focused on the LGE and developed a base in some of the rural districts to deprive the PPP of full control.  In so doing they would also be establishing the type of grass roots organization that they will need next time national elections are held.

If people are not targeted by a political party they will not support them.  Guyanese have had almost 60 years of failed politics and have become quite cynical.  No they don't trust Granger, think that the PPP is hostile to them, and now feel that the AFC is an Indian party, so irrelevant to them. 

So maybe they might stay home and the PPP takes back control.  Because if you think that their distrust of Granger will translate into AFC votes you MAD.  Right in Guyana you have Indian party I (PPP), Indian party II (AFC) and black people party (APNU).

Deny this fact and you live in a fantasy land.  I have frequently spoken abut the over focus by the AFC on the Indian vote and how they will be perceived.  Well I now hear that in Guyana Afro Guyanese love the AFC, not because of itself, but because it will split the Indian vote making an APNU victory not as impossible as it once was.  Now if that is the AFC tactic go ahead, but don't fool yourself that the AFC has positioned itself to get increased support from blacks.

Desperate Granja is trouble.

A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) has approached the Alliance For Change (AFC) to form a broad coalition, but a response from the small party is still pending.

Ramjattan seh

NO WAY!

Granger should venture into the PPP and AFC support camp. Then see how jittery those parties become. Granger somehow feels that by not doing much work, he can coerice the PPP into shared goverance. But if he actually start canvassing in the heartland of the Indoes, he might find that he is much welcomed. The PNC was just satisfied with their Afro support in the past. They still do. But the country needs a new determination. And Granger should be thinking of Guyanese and not Afro-Guyanese. 

And in case if any one denies the fact that the AFC is now seen as Indo party II ask why black people are not bothered by the fact that the ethnic rotation that was supposed to be the AFC policy in nominating its presidential candidates has been canceled?  Indeed they support the AFC with this because they know that race based voting suggests that a Nigel Hughes as a presidential candidate will guarantee that Indians will flock back to the PPP. 

They want the Indian vote split and if having two parties with substantial Indian leadership will achieve this goal well is life.  This is why the PPP is all hysterical about the AFC and focuses on discrediting them.  They fear that the AFC will increase its appeal in regions 2 and 3 while keeping its base in regions 5 and 6.   The PPP knows they will never get the black vote so only harangue against the PNC as part of its strategy of appealing to the fears that many Indians have towards the Afro Guyanese community.

. . . I have frequently spoken abut the over focus by the AFC on the Indian vote and how they will be perceived.  Well I now hear that in Guyana Afro Guyanese love the AFC, not because of itself, but because it will split the Indian vote making an APNU victory not as impossible as it once was.  Now if that is the AFC tactic go ahead, but don't fool yourself that the AFC has positioned itself to get increased support from blacks.

caribny, am I to understand that u believe the AFC will NOT increase its Afro vote in Region 10 and Georgetown?

Shelly Skeldon factory will be able to resolve all its problems?

Wasn't this factory suppose to launch is into another stratosphere?

How many hundreds of millions of US Dollars has been spent on that goadie? And you like a loyal low breed without any independent thinking capability or initiative is peddling the same dunce script from jagdeo?

Have you no self respect and f'n shame man?

Robin Hood in dreamland.

Base, Caribny is right in ways that logic dictate.

The PPP and the PNC (the dominant member of APNU) have their bases. The AFC arose our of disenchantment from those two, but it doesn't have the base like the two behemoths in Guyana's political terms.

Caribny makes the point that the PNC base is more monolithic than the PPP because it is the governing PPP's record in play and not that of the opposition PNC. What we've seen is that with Ramjattan and Moses the AFC takes votes away from the PPP. Trotman and Hughes take less away from the PNC. When you factor in the Regional seats the Amerindian votes become key and that could be a 2-seat swing. Two seats away from the PPP does not mean two added to APNU so the PPP still retains the Presidential majority vote.

The last point is important as it is when the PNC becomes close to gaining the Presidential lead that the political fear of the PNC kicks in. The take-away from the PPP by AFC then confronts this hurdle. It is a real factor that the PPP base, as much as it may not like the PPP has this fear of the PNC. Thus the question to be answered in the next elections is how much PPP votes AFC can pry away and how does the Amerindian votes swing. So far the record shows that the PPP is not worried. That's why they play the game so to speak and not play it on paper. However the PPP election machinery is not to be underestimated, and while there is optimism in the AFC it still has to do it (turn potential talent to superstar). As Gil says, interesting times ahead. So far the only given is the PNC's 40% or so votes, and that's why Caribny is not far off.

caribny, am I to understand that u believe the AFC will NOT increase its Afro vote in Region 10 and Georgetown?

Did it in 2011?  So why will it when ever elections are held?  What level of campaigning has the AFC done in black areas?

The PPP is Indo party I and the AFC is Indo party II.  Blacks are over joyed as they see an Indo vote being split so even though the AFC should be selecting Nigel Hughes as its presidential candidate (the principal of ethnic rotation) they don't care.

What every one in Guyana (except you apparently) knows is that the path to getting rid of the PPP is splitting the Indian vote.  They know full well that race based voting means that the PPP and the PNC will collect the most votes.  All that is debatable is whether the AFC will divert enough Indian votes to allow APNU to squeak in with its 41%.

Robin Hood in dreamland.

Base, Caribny is right in ways that logic dictate.

The PPP and the PNC (the dominant member of APNU) have their bases. The AFC arose our of disenchantment from those two, but it doesn't have the base like the two behemoths in Guyana's political terms.

Caribny makes the point that the PNC base is more monolithic than the PPP because it is the governing PPP's record in play and not that of the opposition PNC. What we've seen is that with Ramjattan and Moses the AFC takes votes away from the PPP. Trotman and Hughes take less away from the PNC. When you factor in the Regional seats the Amerindian votes become key and that could be a 2-seat swing. Two seats away from the PPP does not mean two added to APNU so the PPP still retains the Presidential majority vote.

The last point is important as it is when the PNC becomes close to gaining the Presidential lead that the political fear of the PNC kicks in. The take-away from the PPP by AFC then confronts this hurdle. It is a real factor that the PPP base, as much as it may not like the PPP has this fear of the PNC. Thus the question to be answered in the next elections is how much PPP votes AFC can pry away and how does the Amerindian votes swing. So far the record shows that the PPP is not worried. That's why they play the game so to speak and not play it on paper. However the PPP election machinery is not to be underestimated, and while there is optimism in the AFC it still has to do it (turn potential talent to superstar). As Gil says, interesting times ahead. So far the only given is the PNC's 40% or so votes, and that's why Caribny is not far off.

Agreed. The AFC supporters have to be realistic.  Its not that blacks like the PNC.  They don't, but they don't see the AFC has having the ability to win.  So they are happy for the AFC to be perceived as the Indian alternate to the AFC. 

People have this habit of focusing on the Indian vote that they forget that the African and the mixed votes taken together are now virtually the same as the Indian vote. 

I agree with you that the Amerindian (including those mixed people with part Amerindian ancestry) is key.  The AFC needs to snatch PPP votes in Regions 2 (Pomeroon) and in Regions 7, 8, and 9.  That is in addition to Region 3 which is the most important part of Guyana beyond Regions 4 and 6.  It is also gaining population from Region 4, some of it being displaced from that region by the PPP which wants to dilute the PNC base there.

Caribny I think a lot of black people put a lot of faith and hope in Granger and APNU in 2011. But I think those same people are fed up with Granger and they are even more pissed off because they think APNU has taken their votes for granted and seems completely blind to their plight.

The people want the PPP gone but they also recognize that Granger and the PNC cannot get their shit together 3 years later.

Indeed the PNC has its disharmony and Granger is perceived as not being as being strong - more like he's not being of the old PNC mold. Such disharmony is not likely to weaken APNU at the polls though.

We have this tendency to think of Guyanese Black voters being anti-PPP as a given. There are a lot of those hustling and not worrying about the politics. As long as they are getting along, it's not that they just give to the PNC blindly.

At the end of the day Granger has a lot of division he is dealing with within the PNC itself. There are many factions that have all hardened into their corners.

Granger is facing severe disillusionment from his closest supporters from the Army in the PNC. Many of them are openly rebuking him.

The PNC is in deep trouble come next elections, they cannot take for granted the votes they received in 2011. People gave Granger a big vote of confidence in 2011 only to be disappointed with comedy day after day after day.