A’ Division Commander Marlon Chapman (fourth from right) in discussion with the Clerk Sherlock Isaacs (third from right) and others before the ruckus erupted.

December 15,2017

Lawmen who showed up in the Parliament Chambers on Monday following the ruckus around PPP/C Member of Parliament, Juan Edghill were summoned by a caller purporting to be acting on the instruction of the Clerk of the National Assembly Sherlock Isaacs, a well-placed source told Stabroek News.

The source noted that while the police were called to the chambers, they were not there to arrest anyone but to prevent a breach of peace.

Both the Speaker of the National Assembly Dr Barton Scotland and the Clerk have denied calling in the police. The summoning of the police and the melee that erupted when they entered Parliament Chambers have spawned discussion over the immunities of MPs and whether the involvement of the law enforcers was judicious and necessary.

Stabroek News gathered that the call to the police was made to the commander’s office and it requested that Commander of ‘A’ Division Marlon Chapman visit Parliament Chambers. 

It was related that when Chapman entered Parliament Chambers, he spoke with Isaacs, former Attorney General Anil Nandlall and other opposition members of parliament in a bid to resolve the issue. However, it was explained by the source that before they could have resolved the issue a group of junior ranks stormed into the chambers and attempted to remove Edghill, who was seated and surrounded by fellow opposition of Members of Parliament. This then led to a brawl between the police and MPs

It is believed that that the junior ranks were instructed by an official who was outside of the parliamentary chambers to enter and remove Edghill.

Prior to the melee on Monday, Scotland deemed Edghill “out of order,” and ordered that he be removed from the House. The order was made after several warnings to the MP to take his seat.

Edghill was on the floor attempting to ask further questions on the estimates for the Ministry of the Presidency. The time allotted for discussions for that ministry had expired and the Speaker indicated that he would no longer entertain any questions. Edghill rebutted this and told the Speaker that there were four other agencies under the ministry and more time was needed to scrutinise the estimates.

The Speaker had told him to take his seat but he refused and he was then ordered to be removed from the House since he was out of order. Edghill shouted that he was not leaving and as Scotland called for the Sergeant-at-Arms to escort him out, he took his seat and refused to budge.

As the Sergeant-at-Arms remonstrated with him, Edghill, with the support of his colleagues, remained seated. Scotland then said that the Sergeant-at-Arms should seek assistance and left the chamber.

Edghill in his protest said he was not moving since he was an elected member of the House. Two policemen then entered the chamber and attempted to get Edghill out but their attempts were in vain. His colleagues later surrounded him, circling him with their arms, and they shouted that they all would have to be arrested since Edghill had parliamentary immunity and could not be touched by the officers.

While Chapman and senior police officers were standing to the side, about five  policemen dressed in blue approached Edghill, who was at the time surrounded by his colleagues, and then attempted to forcibly remove him. At this point the situation in parliament escalated and it was Chapman, the source said who ordered the junior ranks out of the chambers when the issue escalated.

Cowboy country where no one follows protocols.

When you have a bunch of rejects masquerading as politicians who claimed to represent the people,instead they are there to fill their pockets.

It's is expected that lawlessness will be prevalent,every one is boss.It's is no wonder some third world countries remains that way.

Time for the people of Guyana to kick the bloodsuckers and rejects that are in the PNC ,PPP and AFC out.

Cowboy country where no one follows protocols.

When you have a bunch of rejects masquerading as politicians who claimed to represent the people,instead they are there to fill their pockets.

It's is expected that lawlessness will be prevalent,every one is boss.It's is no wonder some third world countries remains that way.

Time for the people of Guyana to kick the bloodsuckers and rejects that are in the PNC ,PPP and AFC out.

Djanjo Djanjo even the blind can see what you are trying to do ...

1. Why did the speaker send the media out the house .

2. Why the lights and wifi were turn off.

3. Why the speaker didn’t question the rush of police officer in the house since he claim ignorance of the phone call.

4.In the history of Guyana parliament , worst happen by both side while in government , no one ever call the police ... it was design to happen this way by your PNC buddies to fast track the budget especially the 60 plus millions assign to Africans association .

5. Why didn’t the speaker call for a investigation of the fake Santa ... there is security cameras in the house and it could be review . Why wasn’t the police summons for such a major security  breach .

6. Why was the fake Santa escorted quietly out the back door .

good you acknowledge non of the parties are effencient , but why did you fail to identify and call out the stooge speaker for his lies .

Banna,

try to be coherent , ...please tell what i am trying to do.

With all those questions,you sounding like you are on political platform campaigning for the PPP.

I can smash all those questions to pieces,don't have the time with incoherent babbling.

Don't think i am putting you down.Shoot straight when talking to Django.

Banna,

With all those questions,you sounding like you are on political platform campaigning for the PPP.

No , why don’t you be coherent and be FAIR with your comments .

you avoid my questions and turning it into ppp campaign ... no PPP never did any thing for me , but they are the only party that watch out for the Indians who are taken advantage of .

any how for get about the above paragraph .

answer the questions listed , in what way are they political Djanjo !!!you sound like the Guyanese bottom house politicians doudging questions 

Banna,

you avoid my questions and turning it into ppp campaign ... no PPP never did any thing for me , but they are the only party that watch out for the Indians who are taken advantage of .

answer the questions listed , in what way are they political Djanjo !!!you sound like the Guyanese bottom house politicians doudging questions 

I am not dodging any questions,analyze the incident carefully from the beginning,it can be derived  who caused the ruckus.

There is cause - effect relationship.

The current PPP aren't looking after East Indian rights,the pretending to do so,their motive is to fatten themselves.

Banna,

I am not dodging any questions,analyze the incident carefully from the beginning,it can be derived  who caused the ruckus.

There is cause - effect relationship.

The current PPP aren't looking after East Indian rights,the pretending to do so,their motive is to fatten themselves.

What the rass is this !!! What you trying to explain ... banna I think you wake up tooooo early , get back to bed and have a few more hours sleep . 

Bhai,

don't joke around,apply what mentioned.Ayuh like to use the cause - effect  incidents for political mileage.It's like a drowning ant holding on to a straw.

People are more advanced and can see through the shenanigans.

Bhai,

don't joke around,apply what mentioned.Ayuh like use certain incidents for political mileage.

Run Djanjo Run 

Bhai,

don't joke around,apply what mentioned.Ayuh like use certain incidents for political mileage.

Run Djanjo Run 

You replied to quick,while i was editing,read my full statement.

Dude the speaker was muzzling the opposition members to fast tract the budget ... like u en get it .

Me a wait patiently on me answer , you gon be the last child leaving the class room today .. the troops are coming in later and they will skin yo cat 

Bhai,

don't joke around,apply what mentioned.Ayuh like to use the cause - effect  incidents for political mileage.It's like a drowning ant holding on to a straw.

Don’t try to use big big word on me rass .... your buddies at Congress place are the trickey deceptive one 

Bhai,

Don’t try to use big big word on me rass .... your buddies at Congress place are the trickey deceptive one 

Both sides of the fence are tricky and deceptive.

What the r@ss you saying,Django got no buddies at Congress place or Freedom House.

Bhai,

Both sides of the fence are tricky and deceptive.

What the r@ss you saying,Django got no buddies at Congress place or Freedom House.

Have a great day !!!

Banna,

I can smash all those questions to pieces,don't have the time with incoherent babbling.

Don't think i am putting you down.Shoot straight when talking to Django.

Yuh arrogant, man. Yuh arrogant. Looks like Dave is one really good cross-examiner. The man is trying to tell you that you must not lump PPP with PNC and AFC. He thinks the PPP is a special case and I agree with him in a way. Be humble to poor Dave, buddy.