Police allegedly ‘fingered’ female outgoing passenger

The Guyana Police Force is investigating an allegation that a policewoman pushed her finger in the vagina of an outgoing teenage passenger at the Ogle International Airport,  Head of the Criminal Investigations Department, Assistant Commissioner Paul Williams said.

The act was allegedly committed early Sunday morning on a 17-year old girl who was booked to travel to Barbados. She was allegedly strip-searched, fingered in her vagina by a policewoman and then told to squat and cough.

Top officials of the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU) denied that any of their female agents committed such an offense and said it was a member of the police force who allegedly conducted a search of the passenger’s cavity.

Williams said since receiving the report, he has taken steps to ascertain whether the policewoman worked the night shift or early morning shift.

If the policewoman is found culpable, she could be demoted, fined or dismissed from the Guyana Police Force.

Demerara Waves Online News was told while CANU would in such instances take the suspect to a hospital, police would usually ask the woman to squat and cough which would result in contraction and eventual expulsion of the cocaine from the vagina.

In 2013, Jamaican Shanique Myrie, who was cavity searched at Barbados’ Grantley Adams International Airport n May 2011 and prohibited entry, won a case at the Caribbean Court of Justice and was awarded 75,000 Barbados dollars in damages. That case was principally about her right to free movement in the Caribbean as a national of a Caribbean Community (Caricom) member state.

http://demerarawaves.com/2018/...-outgoing-passenger/

I understand that cocaine is serious business on outbound flights, but isn't there a better way to inspect passengers than violating their privacy in such degrading manner?  

This reflects the frustration of law enforcement.  The GOG should use this incident to provide better equipment. 

The latex glove treatment is sop in many countries.  Just ask Cain wah happened to ‘im last Time he re-entered Canada 🇨🇦!

Dont beat up on the Officer, she trying to do her job!  Drug is a big problem!

This reflects the frustration of law enforcement.  The GOG should use this incident to provide better equipment. 

The latex glove treatment is sop in many countries.  Just ask Cain wah happened to ‘im last Time he re-entered Canada 🇨🇦!

I hope they cavity search you every time you travel. This young lady should file suit for invasion of her privacy.

I empathize with the lady, but depending how it wAs done, she may or may not have a case.  Remember years ago the virginity checks done on Indian females entering the UK?   They got an apology. 

All im saying, they need better methods but they are dealing with a major drug problem.  

Yo buma rass know more than me about dem gloves banna. Never been "fingered" but my bag was searched on a flight within Canada because they saw something looking like Ninja weapons but were wrong.

I hope the Family is awarded Millions to send a strong message to the DICTATORSHIP!!!!

Done get ahead of yourself, Nehru. This lies with CANU and the individual officer that violate the young lady privacy. 

Nobody should have to go through such a humiliating experience. I don't know for sure if the girl is telling the truth. If she is telling the truth  then the officer ought to be disciplined to send a message to all that such act carries a penalty. This will also serve to remove the fear of being  searched while traveling.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin