PNCR inches closer to openly endorsing socialism

PNCR Leader and President, David Granger addressing the opening of his party's 19th Biennial Delegates Conference at Congress Place, Sophia.

PNCR Leader and President, David Granger addressing the opening of his party’s 19th Biennial Delegates Conference at Congress Place, Sophia.

President David Granger on Friday appeared to have shifted closer to declaring that the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) is again openly endorsing socialism.

“We are an ideological party and our ideology is inspired largely by the ideas of Forbes Burnham, our Founder-Leader,” the PNCR Leader told the opening of his party’s 19th Biennial Delegates Conference at Congress Place.

After Burnham died on August 6, 1985, his successor, Desmond Hoyte, eventually abandoned Guyana’s socialist experiment, scrapped state control of the commanding heights of the  economy and shifted radically to a market-oriented system backed by radical political reforms including free and fair elections.

Former PNCR Leader, Robert Corbin, when asked whether his party is still socialist, said his political organisation has “never given up its basic beliefs” to build a society in which Guyanese have equal opportunities to develop themselves fully. “Everyone knows that the basis of Mr. Burnham’s philosophy had been on the basis of socialism,” said Corbin who served in the Burnham and Hoyte-led governments.

Granger said Burnham’s posture against the injustices of colonialism was influenced by the domestic conditions in British Guiana, the international situation and intellectual currents in the British Empire and the common destiny of the Caribbean peoples.  “His ideas grew out of the historical experiences and social action and he used those ideas to transform society,” said Granger, a Retired Brigadier, who was responsible for political education in the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) while Burnham was leader.

Delivering his address a short distance from a huge bust of Burnham, the PNCR Leader said Burnham was also motivated by the socio-economic conditions at that time. “The unequal distribution of wealth and the denial of opportunity to the masses at the global, regional and local levels combined to mould Forbes Burnham’s thoughts,” he said.  Granger credited his predecessor with responding to an unfavourable social environment with a determination to change Guyana in fundamental ways by the creation of equal opportunities and nationalism including the protection of Guyana’s sovereignty and elimination of foreign domination.

“Forbes Burnham’s ideas are still relevant today,” he said.

Granger said during the past four years, the PNCR has sought to institutionalize Burnham’s ideas to ensure that they continue to inform future leaders and inspire future generations. Those initiatives  are the Burnham Education Scholarship Trust that awards bursaries to children after they pass the National Grade Six Assessment Examinations, the Burnham Book Trust that publishes and reprints texts of Burnham’s Congress and other major political speeches  and the establishment of the Burnham Research Institute. “It will continue to operate separately until the Government of Guyana reclaims red House so that they could become a research institute for all presidents of this Republic,” he added.

“These three organisations are essential to understanding the PNC’s ideology, they are essential to understanding our Founder’s vision for the development of this country,” he said.

Granger , who places heavy emphasis on education and history, has adorned several rooms of the Ministry of the Presidency with huge copies of a photograph in which then Prime Minister Forbes Burnham had received the instrument of Independence from Britain’s Duke of Kent.

The President has been also pushing the need for Guyana to produce large quantities of food to supply local and Caribbean markets.

President Granger again reiterated his position on several areas including discrimination, corruption, the creation of a green economy and generally the political environment.

The opposition People’s Progressive Party’s (PPP) constitution still includes references to Marxism-Leninism, which party ideologues say they use to analyse society. While in office, the PPP had endorsed the growth and development of the private sector.

http://demerarawaves.com/2016/...endorsing-socialism/

PNC socialism is the pretext to redistribute Indian wealth to their constituency.  This was once done and the "cup"eventually went empty.  The "Cup" party eventually filled the cup, so it's time for the PNC to pour it out again.  Touting a form of socialism is the convenient pathway!!

PNCR inches closer to openly endorsing socialism

PNCR Leader and President, David Granger addressing the opening of his party's 19th Biennial Delegates Conference at Congress Place, Sophia.

“We are an ideological party and our ideology is inspired largely by the ideas of Forbes Burnham, our Founder-Leader,” the PNCR Leader told the opening of his party’s 19th Biennial Delegates Conference at Congress Place.

This is very loaded.  Burnham earned a place of bitterness in the hearts of many Indians, the vast majority.  Yet Granger touts the "ideals" of this "Guyana Idi Amin".  This is a clear message to the Indians of Guyana that their views, their history, their suffering under this brutal dictator, it does not count in the national psyche!

For all the PNC loving katahars who ran away back track and any track from the PNC just to embrace this despotic regime, you have no shame.  The blood and tears of the Indians of Guyana today will be a permanent stain on you!!

Is this the change that they promised?  What does the AFC have to say about this?  Granger proves he is a Burnhamite by heart and soul.  You all please call the Harvard gyal, Dolly Hassan, and ask for her take on Granger's latest comments.

Dolly Hassan don't care about the nation's concerns. She cares about herself and her money. It's unfair to hold her accountable for Granger's action. She will not give you the satisfaction.

When I said Brainless Donkeys now ruling Guyana, Ayu Nah Bin ah believe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  More to come from these GADAHAS. The Django, Caribj , Chief and others will be delighted when they hear the announcement of the reopening of Hope Estate. Now, both sides of their cheeks will be whipped again. I know we are all happy for them since they really enjoy being whipped on both sides. They used to tell Massa, Oh Masssa that side is sweet but give me some on the other side too.

Cobra posted:

Granger would like to get a firm control on Guyana and it's citizens like his predecessor did, but Guyanese wouldn't allowed  his failed ideology to prosper. 

I hope the smart Guyanese population understand what this man is trying to do. I hope these smart folks can think back to the days of Burnall socialism days. Let them take a look at Venezuela and learn.

Cobra posted:

Granger would like to get a firm control on Guyana and it's citizens like his predecessor did, but Guyanese wouldn't allowed  his failed ideology to prosper. 

I hope the smart Guyanese population understand what this man is trying to do. I hope these smart folks can think back to the days of Burnall socialism days. Let them take a look at Venezuela and learn.

You may find some that lack the capacity to understand his intentions, but the majority of Guyanese understood well not to forget.

According to the PPP Constitution, the party is still Marxist-Leninist. The PPP claims to operate on the Leninist principle of democratic centralism, but in practice the "centralism" takes precedence over the democracy. For instance, the PPP Leader/General Secretary is not elected directly by the party's general membership but by its 35-member Central Committee. That was the style practised by the authoritarian Communist Party of the Soviet Union. Will the PPP remove Marxism-Leninism from its Constitution at its upcoming Congress in December?

Whatever one wants to say about the PNC, the indisputable fact is that its Leader David Granger was elected directly at a PNC congress by its general membership and not by its General Council which approximates to a Central Committee.

Regarding Mr Granger's utterances about socialism at his party congress, I will not comment until more details are available. What I can say is that I am a socialist who moved away from the Soviet authoritarian kind to the Social Democratic kind. Hence, I usually vote for the social democratic New Democratic Party [NDP] in Canada. 

According to the PPP Constitution, the party is still Marxist-Leninist. The PPP claims to operate on the Leninist principle of democratic centralism, but in practice the "centralism" takes precedence over the democracy. For instance, the PPP Leader/General Secretary is not elected directly by the party's general membership but by its 35-member Central Committee. That was the style practised by the authoritarian Communist Party of the Soviet Union. Will the PPP remove Marxism-Leninism from its Constitution at its upcoming Congress in December?

Whatever one wants to say about the PNC, the indisputable fact is that its Leader David Granger was elected directly at a PNC congress by its general membership and not by its General Council which approximates to a Central Committee.

Regarding Mr Granger's utterances about socialism at his party congress, I will not comment until more details are available. What I can say is that I am a socialist who moved away from the Soviet authoritarian kind to the Social Democratic kind. Hence, I usually vote for the social democratic New Democratic Party [NDP] in Canada. 

Makes me think of how the United Nations operate.

The PPP should abolish this approach but chances are the powers that be keep it that way so they can determine the leaders of the party.

That said, the PPP governed Guyana in a free capitalist manner. Can't say the same about Burnham and now that Granger is looking more like he prefers Burnham's style, the Coalition's supporters should be more concerned about how Granger governs than how the PPP elects their leaders.

PNCR Leader and President, David Granger addressing the opening of his party’s 19th Biennial Delegates Conference at Congress Place, Sophia.

President David Granger on Friday appeared to have shifted closer to declaring that the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) is again openly endorsing socialism.

“Forbes Burnham’s ideas are still relevant today,” he said.

PNCR inches closer to openly endorsing socialism, in News, Politics August 26, 2016 9 Comments, http://demerarawaves.com/2016/...endorsing-socialism/

Indeed and as was noted by the independent international monitors to the elections under Forbes Burnham, all of the elections after 1964 to 1992 were rigged by the PNC to gain and maintain power

ba$eman posted:

PNC socialism is the pretext to redistribute Indian wealth to their constituency.  This was once done and the "cup"eventually went empty.  The "Cup" party eventually filled the cup, so it's time for the PNC to pour it out again.  Touting a form of socialism is the convenient pathway!!

Indo-Guyanese are doomed once again. There will be another wave of mass exodus.  

So when the PPP was Marxist did they do this?  This was in their constitution up to not that long ago.

I was also unaware that the exodus stopped.  In 1991 49% of the population was Indian.  20 years later only 40% was.   While Guyana does have a high suicide rate, most of it concentrated among Hindus, I don't think that this alone explains this.  High rates of migration does.

OK so the PPP is still a Marxist Leninist party, where all assets must be owned by the "People".

Burnham was in favor (at least in theory) of a mixed economy, one based on private, state and co-ops.

So I too will see how he does.

Given that the PPP still build monuments to that Marxist Leninist called Cheddi, and his wife Janet, BOTH stringly in favor of the USSR invasion of Afghanistan, even as we hear of the brutality that this entailed, Granger's love for Burnham is no different.

It merely reinforces my belief that the PPP=PNC.

And the above reinforces my belief that you're an Indo parading as a black. No black will write that.

No black will write what? Also stuck in your rum shop drunk as a skunk, screaming PPP bottom house bigotry, what do you know about blacks?

Makes me think of how the United Nations operate.

The PPP should abolish this approach but chances are the powers that be keep it that way so they can determine the leaders of the party.

That said, the PPP governed Guyana in a free capitalist manner. Can't say the same about Burnham and now that Granger is looking more like he prefers Burnham's style, the Coalition's supporters should be more concerned about how Granger governs than how the PPP elects their leaders.

The Jagdeo PPP governed a country whose economy, except Guysuco, was largely privately-owned. Utilities such as water and electricity are government corporations as is the Georgetown Public Hospital.  

Let us not lose sight of investment decisions which have a heavy regulatory input and thus the basis for a non-free, non-capitalist. We've seen the record of the PPP in shaping winners and losers. 

We are talking PNC socialism, the pretext ideology to excuse the transfer of wealth from the Indians to the PNC constituency!

ba$eman posted:

We are talking PNC socialism, the pretext ideology to excuse the transfer of wealth from the Indians to the PNC constituency!

You need to get over yourself.  The Indians who have wealth have now bought and paid for the PNC to render services.  BK and Larry Singh are evidence of this.

The rest of the Indo population aren't any worse off than they would have been had the PPP won.  They don't have any wealth that any one wants to take.