Cabinet clears $265M in contracts for prisons’ food supplies

Cabinet granted approval on Tuesday last to the award of several contracts for the procurement of food supplies for prisons across the country. The contracts amounted to a whopping $265.9 million.

Cabinet has granted approval to award several contracts for the procurement of food supplies for prisons across the country

For the procurement of dietary supplies for the Georgetown Prison, contracts to the tune of $120.3 million were awarded. A contract for $1.3 million was awarded to Nigel’s Supermarket; $1.2 million to Guyana Trading Company: $49 million to Paradise Food Court and $68.6 million to Guynaz Green Grocery.
The total value of the contracts awarded for the procurement of food supplies for the New Amsterdam Prison amounted to $50.2 million. These contracts were given to: Guynaz Green Grocery the value of $29.9 million; Paradise Food Court totaling $12.1 million; R Maraj General Contracting amounting to $5.5 million and to Dabi’s Variety the tune of $2.5 million.
Meanwhile, Cabinet granted it’s no objection for some $75.2 million in contracts for the procurement of dietary supplies for the Mazaruni Prison. A contract valued $33 million went to Guynaz Green Grocery while the other contract totaling $42.2 million was awarded to Paradise Food Court.
With regards to the procurement of food supplies for the Lusignan Prison, contracts totaling $20.2 million was approved by Cabinet. Guynaz Green Grocery bagged $11.1 million Paradise Food Court got $6.8 million; Dabi’s Variety the sum of $1.6 million; Guyana Trading Company $384,960 and Nigel’s Supermarket the sum of $226,680

Where did I mention Black? Django, Gilly, KrishnB  and many others are PNC supporters.  In fact you are no criminal as far as I know. However this does not mean you are not looking for a free ride where ever you live.  The point is that the PNC supporters are the majority in prison, so they take care of them on the back of taxpayers hard earned dollars. 

We've had a few threads today with titles that are provocative and this is clearly one such - and it's racist as well. What's clearly the intent is PNC supporters = Blacks = prisoners.

Kari posted:

We've had a few threads today with titles that are provocative and this is clearly one such - and it's racist as well. What's clearly the intent is PNC supporters = Blacks = prisoners.

According to Warria, there are plenty of coolies in Guyana prison. So coolies will be well fed too..according to Warria. I am sure with all the PPP government members that he was going to see jailed, the coolie prison population must have exploded

Where did I mention Black?

PNC is code word for black and you know it.  Why do you always scream that the police and GDF are PNC even when they were headed by people appointed by the PPP, and there is no instance in Guyanese history where the low ranks have rebelled against the leadership.

And as more and more Indians are arrested for murder and robberies, why your assertion that they aren't PPP?

We should not have that old colonial prison in the heart of the city. That needs to be moved in the interior. We do not need to bring prisoner to court. They can use video conferencing. The area should be bulldozed and turn into a park revitalizing the areas especially the small ghetto between brickdam and durban street going back to the park.

Dollar Store Millionaire, Go invest in the park. As you say you are a millionaire, you can help your people with buying the video conferencing equipment. Why don't you leave the decision making to the people who live there and concentrate on stocking the shelves?

Dollar Store Millionaire................   A GNI Classic.

I have to be a big gripe in your racist belly...good. I do not aim to do much for the rest of my life except enjoy what I have.  If a few years when oil money start to flow what I have there will magnify ten fold. I will be in the Mediterranean enjoying the fruits of my father's and grandfather's labor. Someone has to enjoy it. 

Kari posted:

Dollar Store Millionaire................   A GNI Classic.

Classic moronic mutterings...

I have to be a big gripe in your racist belly...good. I do not aim to do much for the rest of my life except enjoy what I have.  If a few years when oil money start to flow what I have there will magnify ten fold. I will be in the Mediterranean enjoying the fruits of my father's and grandfather's labor. Someone has to enjoy it. 

I don't think Guyana exports cassava and piwari. You must mistake piwari for oil like you do with sakawinki and parrot. I don't believe they grow cassava in the Mediterranean.

If I was he I would tell yo rass by your posts it seems they grew morons in your neck a de woods in Guyana. Yo rass miss warrior nuh

And this is why Jagdeo will spend the rest of his days roaming cricket grounds begging blacks to pose with him.

He and the rest of you are unrepentant racists and will be rejected by the majority of the population, which is no longer Indian.

Stupid old bigot...one foot in the damn grave and yet you still persist in being a racist...you will die with that burning curse in your soul.

and probably some "ring burn" too.

Wise words from behind the counter of a dollar store. What should happen is Amerindians should set up prison services in the interior and the govt can outsource this job to them. Its a win win situation, a business opportunity for you.  It is time to expand the dollar business to benefit the buck people so all can share the economic benefits. 

Where did I mention Black?

PNC is code word for black and you know it.  Why do you always scream that the police and GDF are PNC even when they were headed by people appointed by the PPP, and there is no instance in Guyanese history where the low ranks have rebelled against the leadership.

And as more and more Indians are arrested for murder and robberies, why your assertion that they aren't PPP?

This is not correct, even Kari turn PNC in his old age. The lure to embrace incompetence could not be resisted, similar to those now hunting Pokemon obsessively. 

The Indian community welcomes the arrest of all murderers, robbers and those that break the law regardless of creed or color. Can you say the same for the Afro community? I recall how you folks protested every time an Afro criminal was sent to his maker. 

? I recall how you folks protested every time an Afro criminal was sent to his maker. 

Given that these blacks were shot by black cops, and you scream that these bandits were PNC then clearly you contradict yourself that the PNC controlled the police.

Now resume screaming that all criminals are PNC even though increasing numbers of Indians.

? I recall how you folks protested every time an Afro criminal was sent to his maker. 

Given that these blacks were shot by black cops, and you scream that these bandits were PNC then clearly you contradict yourself that the PNC controlled the police.

Now resume screaming that all criminals are PNC even though increasing numbers of Indians.

The hierarchy is controlled by the PNC, some errant foot soldiers have to shoot when their lives are in danger. Even the PNC could not convince them to hold fire when the criminals are shooting. 

If the PNC did control the police and some little cop shot down a PNC supporter he would have been sent to jail.  Cops wouldn't have shot at PNC supporters, who therefore wouldn't have had reason to threaten cops.  They would have been all one happy family.

Try again.  The notion that the PNC controlled the hierarchy and yet screamed that the force (and the GDF) were killing their supporters is daft as you normally are.

If the PNC did control the police and some little cop shot down a PNC supporter he would have been sent to jail.  Cops wouldn't have shot at PNC supporters, who therefore wouldn't have had reason to threaten cops.  They would have been all one happy family.

Try again.  The notion that the PNC controlled the hierarchy and yet screamed that the force (and the GDF) were killing their supporters is daft as you normally are.

You and I both know that the PNC is in charge of the police, but you feign ignorance. The police played interference for 23 years under the PPP. Just examine the voting patterns of the police and army and you will see what I mean. You can't have it both ways as the same police who were not doing their jobs under the PPP are suddenly catching criminals under the PNC. The reason being that the order to play interference had been rescinded on May 2015. 

Wise words from behind the counter of a dollar store. What should happen is Amerindians should set up prison services in the interior and the govt can outsource this job to them. Its a win win situation, a business opportunity for you.  It is time to expand the dollar business to benefit the buck people so all can share the economic benefits. 

I doubt Amerindians want to manage prisons. If you think it is good business go on right ahead,

You seem to like dollar stores. You can mortgage that gingerbread house and open one!

You and I both know that the PNC is in charge of the police, 2015. 

I know that the GDF and the GPF do not defy their leaders, so which party they support is irrelevant.  When PNC supporters protested under the PPP they were SHOT.  When AFC supporters protested they were stripped naked.  When PPP supporters protest NOTHING was done.

Given this difference it is clear that under the PPP its leadership had a bias to the PPP and the lower ranks did not dare defy their orders.

And to show how different APNU AFC is the Wales protesters were not treated any differently from the vendors (mainly PNC) when they protested.

So do you suggest that because most sugar workers are PPP so will refuse to work if the PPP is NOT in power?

Kari posted:

Are most prisoners in Guyana Black?  If so why?  Blacks are not that majority population!  What the Govt needs to do is put them to work to pay for better food, not take it away fro the mouths of school kids to feed misbehaving adults!

You and I both know that the PNC is in charge of the police, 2015. 

I know that the GDF and the GPF do not defy their leaders, so which party they support is irrelevant.  When PNC supporters protested under the PPP they were SHOT.  When AFC supporters protested they were stripped naked.  When PPP supporters protest NOTHING was done.

Given this difference it is clear that under the PPP its leadership had a bias to the PPP and the lower ranks did not dare defy their orders.

And to show how different APNU AFC is the Wales protesters were not treated any differently from the vendors (mainly PNC) when they protested.

So do you suggest that because most sugar workers are PPP so will refuse to work if the PPP is NOT in power?

Again you are ignorant in your analysis. Their leadership structure under the PPP were 99.9% PNC operatives. The PPP home affairs minister had no input on the line management and performance of police at the lowest level. You must understand something about management as you claim to be educated. So don't pretend to be stupid.  

You are the fool. In Guyana the leadership is who ever heads these entities.  Middle ranks do not disobey the top leader and aggressively ensure that the lower ranks follow orders.

This is why Burnham put his own people in. Jagdeo, being Burnham's disciple, did the same thing.  Neither of them respected the normal procedure of putting in place those in line to be promoted.

Jagdeo put his people in to run both the GPF and the GDF.

Let me ask you this? If in the Hoyte "mo fiah" era why did these entities not just rid Guyana of the PPP if indeed they were PNC controlled.  In fact that was what Hoyte was trying to get them to do. 

They did NOT do this.

When Jagdeo had Roger Khan reigning terror on blacks if the PNC controlled these entities then they could have mounted a coup, claiming that this was what was needed to bring peace and to remove a murderous drug lord who was wanted, and ultimately arrested by the USA.

They did NOT do this.

So where was the PNC control?