“Crimes politically influenced” − Commissioner

Public has confidence in Police…

− ignores police statistics

By Devina Samaroo

Defending his position that public confidence in the Guyana Police Force (GPF) is not lost, Police Commissioner Seelall

Commissioner of Police Seelall Persaud

Persaud expressed his belief that the political Opposition is undermining the GPF’s efforts to fight crime by generating a perception that crime is spiralling out of control and that public trust and confidence in the system is rapidly deteriorating.
During an exclusive interview with Guyana Times on Tuesday, Persaud said it is extremely unfortunate that crime has grown to become a tool for all political Oppositions to attack and defame the Government of the day, stating “It is extremely unfortunate that crime generally is a social issue, it is a social problem but unfortunately in Guyana, it is also a political problem. It is a highly political issue and it shouldn’t be.”
Persaud remained grounded that the public’s confidence in the Police Force is not lost, pointing out the headway in several high profile cases were made through assistance from the community.
He argued that public confidence simply cannot be lost when the support of the community is evident in helping to solve crimes, making reference to the Montrose Granny Murder, the Nandy Park Shooting, the attack on the Land Court Judge and her husband, and the buried body in Berbice, among others.

Possible political influence
Therefore, in supporting his argument that crime is heavily politicised, the Commissioner highlighted three major incidents of crime that recently occurred which he concluded was politically influenced. He referred to the robbery in Campbelville where Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan’s neighbour Geetanjalie Ramotar was brutalised and tape bound by bandits, indicating that this situation raises suspicion.
“From all our experience in criminal operations, they (bandits) don’t have time for that (scotch-tape victims), they don’t have time to do that. The other thing too, tell me; when something like that is going on, why would somebody try to photograph that person rather than to help them. The Minister was one of the first people to go over. They didn’t call the Police, they called the Minister and the Minister called the Police. So someone took that photo prior to. So you believe that any rational thinking person would come to mind that you know, take a photograph instead of calling a Police. The other thing, the Police asked how they got in the house. They were informed that the men break the padlock…On to now, the padlock cannot be produced. So you have situations like that that inflames…and it makes it bigger than it is,” he said.
He also referred to the murder of Corentyne resident Pamela Kendall which sparked a massive protest against the

Government by residents in the area.
“There was a case in Berbice, there is a big hue and cry about the crime there and the man used that opportunity to kill his wife. So there was blackout in the area at the time and he killed his wife because he believes what the media is reporting that criminals are running around the area all the time and based on his perception and opportunity, he did that,” the Commissioner posited.
He pointed out that the Opposition forces used this situation as a political tool to attack the Government rather than take a more proactive approach to help fight crime.
“Instead of helping, you are interfering…Situations like these come when crime is politicised and we should not be doing that, we should be coming together and working towards reducing crime,” Persaud contended.
He also highlighted another situation which he strongly believes was politically motivated, given the circumstances surrounding the situation that was reported.
“We have on the Corentyne, a woman went to the Police Station at 4 o’clock in the morning and reported that two men went into her house…held her at gunpoint, demanded money and she handed over $210,000. Her husband was in the hammock sleeping, they did not interfere with her husband, she walked out of her house at 04:00 am and went to the Police station and didn’t wake up her husband. Who does that? Who does just get robbed at gunpoint and would leave your husband sleeping in the hammock and walk to the Police station to report a robbery. Nobody does that,” the Commissioner argued, pointing out that, political influences on social problems like crime can impact the behaviour of supporters. “So those kinds of things happen. While the politicians may not be behind it, people who think that they will serve a political purpose will venture into doing those things… It affects the people that vote for them as well,” the Commissioner said.
Persaud related that in all his years of working with the GPF, the Government always exhausts its efforts to fight crime while the Opposition would lay back and attack.
But he is of the view that the Government, as well as the Opposition, and the public, need to put differences aside and determinedly work together to bring crime down.

“Crime affects all of our lives regardless of one’s political affiliation. It cuts across religion, greed, race, whatever, it affects all of us and in order to really drive the situation down, we need to come together, all of us and deal with crime,” he stated.
The most recent crime statistics reveal that serious crime increased by a drastic 10 per cent at the end of July, in comparison to the same period last year.
A total of 94 murders were recorded at the end of July 2015 in comparison to 80 at the end of June 2014, which saw an increase of 18 per cent. On to the 13th day of August, four murders were recorded taking the toll to 98 for the year thus far.
Of these, 35 murders were committed in A Division (Georgetown-East Bank Demerara), followed by 17 in C Division (East Coast Demerara) and 16 in B Division (Berbice). In addition, 12 were committed in F Division (Interior locations) and four each in D (West Bank Demerara-East Bank Essequibo) and E Division (Linden-Kwakwani) while six were recorded in G Divisions (Essequibo Coast-Islands).
Statistics shows that 37 of the 94 murders committed were disorderly, followed by the 15 during robberies and six through execution-style killings.
Eleven were as a result of domestic disputes, 23 were from unknown causes and two by other means.
Further, there has been an increase of 68 per cent in the number of reports of rape, with 243 cases being reported at the end of July when compared to 145 for the same period last year. Break and enter, larceny and burglary have shown an overall increase of nine per cent.
A whopping 28 more illegal firearms were seized when compared to the same period last year.

Share Button

These chaps are just making fools of themselves. Guyanese want a solution and the PNC needs to find a solution. Last time I checked, the PNC was in charge.

What a bunch of PNC idiots !

The hospitals are neglected and the safety of the public has been compromised by the PNC.

This PNC government is worse than PNC part one under their dictators Burnham and Hoyte.

These chaps are just making fools of themselves. Guyanese want a solution and the PNC needs to find a solution. Last time I checked, the PNC was in charge.

The only one making a fool of himself is you. The Times and its owners feasted on the fat of the people and never saw one thing wrong while they were being fatted calves. The nation has persistently been a cesspool of criminality, the justice system did not have a backlog of 8 years to trial over night, the absence of a land court and the increase of squatting on other peoples property was the PPP plan. In every point from simple noise control, to  drugs they squatted on their back sides.

Of course the present administration needs to be moving faster and purposeful with a clear cut means to end schema. Since none exists the have to make it up. It is and urgent need and they apparently have not grasped the seriousness of the matter having lived with it so long.

The hospitals are neglected and the safety of the public has been compromised by the PNC.

This PNC government is worse than PNC part one under their dictators Burnham and Hoyte.

Indeed the hospitals are neglected and there is a pressing need for pre and post natal care. There is a high infant mortality not to mention women giving birth but that does not develop overnight again. It is another rotten muck of neglect the PPP left to be cleaned up, restructured and made whole.

D2 you can spin all you want but the PNC scumbags are clueless and are not capable fighting crime. They ran an anti crime campaign and promise to rid the country of crime. 100 days laters and these clueless scumbags are busy dishing out millions to the likes of Moses who ate $ 80 million off the trough while crime escalates.

The PNC scumbags can run but they cannot hide.

Observation: Why only now he is making this statement?? Like he said ALL Political Parties are doing it. So why was he silent for 23 years??  Is it a script given to him by the House Slave with a warning " Your Job is at stake"???  BLOODY HOUSE SLAVE DICTATOR!!!!!!!!!!!!

D2 you can spin all you want but the PNC scumbags are clueless and are not capable fighting crime. They ran an anti crime campaign and promise to rid the country of crime. 100 days laters and these clueless scumbags are busy dishing out millions to the likes of Moses who ate $ 80 million off the trough while crime escalates.

The PNC scumbags can run but they cannot hide.

Wake the hell up and start using some of these gray cells to reason rather than marinate in your racism.

The are in office 4 months. The abject neglect of the judicial infrastructure, the turning of a blind eye to the rise of Drug lords in their midst, the consorting with crooks in the business to launder money all converged to make us a haven for crime.

The APNU and its AFC partners lived in that same culture. Looking in one sees a morass of thieves in the society and find it difficult to identify good souls since all are so inter-meshed in their business, it is not difficult to see why they are halting in their initial steps. Well, they will have to stand up and say I am a good man and do good things immediately or we are screwed.

It is not that any of these people lack the wherewithal to craft a successful strategy ( funding it notwithstanding) It is the lack of will because we are mainly racist, fu.cks like you or have a high tolerance for our national political cults where action to do good is always mediated by political exigences. 

Yes Granger, Ramjattan et all are now in the cross hairs. They have to address the disease left by the PPP or be consumed by it.

Observation: Why only now he is making this statement?? Like he said ALL Political Parties are doing it. So why was he silent for 23 years??  Is it a script given to him by the House Slave with a warning " Your Job is at stake"???  BLOODY HOUSE SLAVE DICTATOR!!!!!!!!!!!!

I hope you are not referencing me here but simply participating in your mornings ruminations of nonsense which turns to noon ruminations on nonsense and later to appear as evening ruminations on nonsense

Clean up campaign never solve the problems of sanitation in Guyana. What is needed is a well-funded and well-equipped sanitation department to work around the clock to keep the environment clean and healthy. I am saying this because the PNC is currently trying to white-wash every dirty fence to impress the eyes of the public. Its effect is only short-term and rapidly fades away leaving you with the same original problem. Quick fixes don't work.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Clean up campaign never solve the problems of sanitation in Guyana. What is needed is a well-funded and well-equipped sanitation department to work around the clock to keep the environment clean and healthy. I am saying this because the PNC is currently trying to white-wash every dirty fence to impress the eyes of the public. Its effect is only short-term and rapidly fades away leaving you with the same original problem. Quick fixes don't work.

Indeed quick fixes do not work. Look at Richmond Hill. That place is a shit hole because shitty people live there together. When they move out and are forced to change they transform to the class with manicured lawns.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

I hope you are not referencing me here but simply participating in your mornings ruminations of nonsense which turns to noon ruminations on nonsense and later to appear as evening ruminations on nonsense

Now you are speaking nonsense as you always do.

Richmond Hill is not as bad as you are putting it. They have problems with overcrowding and a frightening number of students not graduating from high school. However, they do maintain their properties relatively well. Sanitation is not as bad as in the poorer areas of Brooklyn. 

It is shitty. Surely you  have seen pride in living environment. I can take a picture of what it looks outside my condo now and you will grasp a difference. Not a speck of paper or random tin can is anywhere to be seen. There It is hopeless case for merchants who sweep their store fronts twice a day so they are not fined yet the people fill the street with their garbage...no sense of pride in their living spaces. Brooklyn is not poorer. Check t he income distribution and property value of the city to validate that.

The police Commissioner, APPOINTED BY THE PPP, said so.

I submit that he knows lots about the PPP.

Oh and by the way, he hasn't been ethnically cleansed YET. even though he is doing a piss poor job!

Richmond Hill is not as bad as you are putting it.a frightening number of students not graduating from high school.

Oh so now you admit this.  When I made this statement I was called a racist. 

BTW Guyanese have a HIGHER drop out rate than do Jamaicans, and even Haitians, and now we see the reason why.

Leave the Chap to dwell in his own shit!!!!!!!!

Richmond Hill is not as bad as you are putting it.a frightening number of students not graduating from high school.

BTW Guyanese have a HIGHER drop out rate than do Jamaicans, and even Haitians, and now we see the reason why.

Listen Mr. racist,Carib. Please provide government back stats with your racist claim.

sorry I do no live in RH and only one half of my ancestry came from communal shi.tters.

D2

This is political discussion forum.

Who cares about your family. You are always: My sister, ME, My mother, My Brother, My children etc. Read your posts man, you suffer from some sort of inferiority complex.

Stick to politics. Take your family stories to Social.

D2

This is political discussion forum.

Who cares about your family. You are always: My sister, ME, My mother, My Brother, My children etc. Read your posts man, you suffer from some sort of inferiority complex.

Stick to politics. Take your family stories to Social.

I doubt you can carry on a political discussion. That would mean you have to pass off your nonsensical racist partisan polemics as arguments. In any event, were you sufficiently perceptive you would see that my mention of my ancestry was incidental to the point

Listen Mr. racist,Carib. Please provide government back stats with your racist claim.

Some indos when confronted with the truth always retort

to label people,basement and attic dwelling working two

jobs to survive can be depressing these conditions have

effects on the younger ones.

sorry I do no live in RH and only one half of my ancestry came from communal shi.tters.

But yuh still like to wipe yuh batty wid Bamah Grass!!!!!!!!!!!!

It is shitty. Surely you  have seen pride in living environment. I can take a picture of what it looks outside my condo now and you will grasp a difference. Not a speck of paper or random tin can is anywhere to be seen. There It is hopeless case for merchants who sweep their store fronts twice a day so they are not fined yet the people fill the street with their garbage...no sense of pride in their living spaces. Brooklyn is not poorer. Check t he income distribution and property value of the city to validate that.

Dude, I think you are deteriorating mentally by spending too much of your time on this forum.

I am here as much as you.

In any event, what I say is true. I should get my friends to sent me some pics to make the point....straight up filthy

Hmmm.  I see racist to say that Indos have a higher drop out rate than black Caribbean kids.  I guess you thinks so because it deprives you of the ability to look down your nose and feel better than blacks.

Its in the NYC Planning.  Already provided that link.  Clearly you didnt bother to check it so do so YOURSELF.

Originally Posted by Django:

Some indos when confronted with the truth always retort

to label people,basement and attic dwelling working two

jobs to survive can be depressing these conditions have

effects on the younger ones.

Well Danyael described the attitude, and based on the responses, he is CORRECT!

Part of the problem with these kids might be the racism of their parents, which has left them isolated.  They arent "Asians", and so many feel lost, and link with Hispanics, where dropping out is a very common phenomenon.

Rather than admitting that their kids have a problem, their parents spend their days feeling better than blacks, and so do not focus on figuring out how to remedy the problem.

Would you recommend they hire some drug lords to help?

Part of the problem with these kids might be the racism of their parents, which has left them isolated. 

That's hilarious coming from you, who admitted on GNI that your mother taught you to hate the coolie.

The police Commissioner, APPOINTED BY THE PPP, said so.

I submit that he knows lots about the PPP.

Oh and by the way, he hasn't been ethnically cleansed YET. even though he is doing a piss poor job!

He is trying to keep his job..  Anyone who wants a job with the government will have to chastise the opposition.   Burnham days are back..

Ramjattan's neighbor was robbed and nobody witnessed it.  Ramjattan was first on the scene.  It appears the he was waiting for the call. He is the one who is blaming the PPP. 

Last edited by Ramakant-P