Political discrimination and executive bullyism

Dear Editor,
If anyone needs to be convinced of the road the APNU/AFC is taking this country, then an event that occurred last week should clarify this matter.
It is very clear that this regime is the continuation of the PNC government of the 1970s and ’80s. Their methods of governance are vindictive, at which racial and political discrimination is at its heart.
In the main newspapers last week, there was a notice informing the public that the President had signed an order revoking lands from scores of farmers (small farmers at that). These lands were awarded by the MMM/ADA to small-scale farmers who owned no farming land.
These lands were under the control of a co-op society. Like most co-ops in the country, it was transformed from a ‘co-op’ to a de facto, privately-owned entity.
Four or more persons, claiming to be the executive controllers of these lands, leased it out and were collecting huge rents from its use. They also collected drainage and irrigation fees from persons and never remitted these sums to the MMA.
It is clear that they ran the place as if it was their personal property. These persons owed the MMA some $40M for D&I services.
Many persons, some of whom were members of the said co-op, petitioned the Ministry of Agriculture to disband this entity since it was clearly not a co-op society, but was being used as a tool to allow a handful of persons to get rich.
It should be noted that the four (or more) persons who were solely benefitting from this scheme were leading members of the PNC/APNU in the area.
In 2013, under pressure from many landless farmers from the West Coast Berbice, the MMA engaged in discussions with the landless and poor villagers who issued the call. As a result of those consultations, and the fact that the ‘co-op’ was collecting D&I fees and not remitting it to the MMA, it was decided to grant leases to those villagers.
Some sixty farmers were granted leases amounting to 16-20 acres each. These persons were from the villages where the land was situated and all the farmers were Afro-Guyanese.
After the 2015 elections, the ‘owners’ of the co-op moved to seize the lands from the farmers. They got the police involved and even moved to reap the crops on the land!
Clear evidence of bully-boy tactics – an outstanding characteristic of the PNC/APNU! Some of the farmers took legal action and the court held that the lands were legally leased to the farmers and could not be arbitrarily repossessed.
It was after this court ruling that the PNC used its executive power to repossess the land in favour of the four (or more) PNC activists.
The President signed an order to take away the lands from more than sixty farmers (small Afro-Guyanese farmers) and give it to his comrades from the elite.
A clear judgment of discrimination and vindictiveness can, therefore, be made against the regime from the outcome of this scenario.
The main concern here seems to be the facts that these small farmers were granted lands during the PPP/C administration. Maybe part of the money collected by the PNC/APNU activists went to the PNC’s coffers. The regime also seems upset by the fact that some of these farmers sought legal assistance from former Attorney General Anil Nandlall, who took the matter to court and won a judgment in their (the farmers) favour.
Therefore, for the PNC/APNU, this was a sellout by these farmers, who tried to defend themselves and their livelihood from PNC bullyism. Now, they are being taught a lesson not to cross the path of the PNC/APNU. The regime will use state power to smash anyone they perceive as being against them and/or their policies.
The philosophy of the paramountcy of the PNC has been resuscitated. This belief is that the state is the executive arm of the PNC (now APNU), therefore, state power is to be used in the interest of the party.
While one of the main characteristics of governance of the APNU/AFC regime was discrimination against Indo-Guyanese, this kind of discrimination is different.
This is clearly political discrimination at its finest.
Here we have small, vulnerable Afro-Guyanese farmers whose livelihoods are being threatened. The vindictive actions of the regime are to intimidate Afro-Guyanese, who are aggrieved by the actions of the PNC/APNU, to not go against them. They expect such persons to go cap-in-hand and beg for mercy. Approaching the PPP for help is punishable by the loss of one’s livelihood.
This action is a clear case of executive vindictiveness and political discrimination.

Yours truly,
Donald Ramotar

Is this the same Donald who gave his son Alexei untold shed loads of money to run a simple piece of fibre optic cable, only to see his son demonstrate the lack of intelligence in the male side of the family? I wouldn't take advice from a failed father like that.

By the way, why is he not talking about  how Jagdeo dumped him out of Freedom house?

East Indians must be united in protecting their rights.

I have been sounding the alarm about this racist anti Indo administration for a very long time. It is now happening in full swing now.

AFC's Butlers Moses and Rumjhaat bellies are full and cannot stand up to this type of racism because Granger will put them in their places.

Prasad, you are 100 percent correct.

For Mr T, eat your heart out:  This was written by Anil Nandlall.

Executive Power being used to subvert the rule of law:
the struggle of three (3) Rice Farmers continues

The struggle of Phillip Alexander Johnson, Rupert Blackman and Rawle Fitzgerald Miller, three (3) small scale rice farmers intensify against a Government that is using its mighty executive powers to confiscate state lands lawfully leased to these farmers by the previous Administration. This case reflects the tragedy of hundreds of persons right across the length and breadt...h of this country whose proprietary interests are being trampled upon and expropriated by those in charge of the state machinery. That the constitution, the self declared supreme law of this land, accords the most entrenched protection to private proprietary interests does not deter this Government’s multiple conquests to seize property . Court rulings are ignored, subverted and rendered impotent by those wielding executive power as they persecute this authoritarian and unconstitutional agenda of seizure of private property.
These farmers read a Notice published in the Kaieteur News newspapers that their fifty (50) year old lease of state lands at the rear of Seafield Village, West Coast Berbice, were cancelled with immediate effect by the Mahaica/Mahaicony/Abary Development Authority (MM/ADA). They challenged this purported revocation of their leases in the High Court. I appeared for them. The Attorney General appeared for the MM/ADA. After a full hearing, the Court quashed the alleged revocation of these leases on many grounds, including, that the MM/ADA has no authority to cancel a lease granted by an Executive President. The effect of this decision is that the said leases were never revoked and are therefore, valid and binding. The decision of the Court was not appealed.
The rice farmers thought that this was the end of the matter. They were wrong. They have now been informed by Mr. Aubrey Charles, the Manager of MMADA that the current President has now revoked their leases. No reason was offered to them for this alleged revocation; neither were they afforded any hearing whatsoever. I wrote to Mr. Charles requesting a copy of this latest revocation. He has refused to give me or the farmers a copy. So the President is using executive power in disregard of court rulings, natural justice and in violation of the constitutional protection accorded to property, to expropriate private property. I am told that these lands will be given to supporters of the APNU.
Unfortunately for this government, I will not relent. I will challenge this new revocation as well and am prepared to take it as far as it goes. Let us see how far they are prepared to go in their quest to seize private properties.

Last edited by alena06

Dictator Granger:

"So the President is using executive power in disregard of court rulings, natural justice and in violation of the constitutional protection accorded to property, to expropriate private property. I am told that these lands will be given to supporters of the APNU."

Indos have been kicked out of their lands have to pave the way for Afros from APNU.

This wealth distribution that the likes of Carib and other racists in Guyana are promoting.

Dictator Granger:

"So the President is using executive power in disregard of court rulings, natural justice and in violation of the constitutional protection accorded to property, to expropriate private property. I am told that these lands will be given to supporters of the APNU."

Indos have been kicked out of their lands have to pave the way for Afros from APNU.

This wealth distribution that the likes of Carib and other racists in Guyana are promoting.

Executive Power by this murderer  so call President... and GT is not on Fire. No protest .

Wise up Indian and the Afro PPP supporters this beast for a president will continue to his vindictiveness against his opponents.  

Two more years to bankrupt the country.   Guyana infrastructure will crumble like the twin towers. 

This was written by Anil Nandlall.

"The struggle of Phillip Alexander Johnson, Rupert Blackman and Rawle Fitzgerald Miller, three (3) small scale rice farmers intensify against a Government that is using its mighty executive powers to confiscate state lands lawfully leased to these farmers by the previous Administration"

"Court rulings are ignored, subverted and rendered impotent by those wielding executive power as they persecute this authoritarian and unconstitutional agenda of seizure of private property."

"These farmers read a Notice published in the Kaieteur News newspapers that their fifty (50) year old lease of state lands at the rear of Seafield Village, West Coast Berbice, were cancelled with immediate effect by the Mahaica/Mahaicony/Abary Development Authority (MM/ADA). They challenged this purported revocation of their leases in the High Court. I appeared for them. The Attorney General appeared for the MM/ADA. After a full hearing, the Court quashed the alleged revocation of these leases on many grounds, including, that the MM/ADA has no authority to cancel a lease granted by an Executive President. The effect of this decision is that the said leases were never revoked and are therefore, valid and binding. The decision of the Court was not appealed."

What sort of mumbo jumbo is  this from Anil,

Which Executive President granted the lease for the state lands??

What criteria was used for the Executive President to grant leases to the three persons State Lands ???

Something smells like stinking rotten fish,and some are taking the smell with wide open mouth.

baseman posted:

Dictator Granger:

The 2nd mass transfer of assets/wealth from the Indian masses to the PNC [Afro] constituency has only just begun!  The aim here is to take their assets, deprive Indians of a livelihood, frustrate them, then drive an other wave of mass exodus and tilt the ethnic balance once and for all!  This is not a Granger plan, but a larger PNC pan-Afro master plan!

Many "katahars" on this board are victims of this original [cleansing] program but now chose to  feel "relevant" by throwing their own under the bus!!  All these [now] enthusiastic supporters of the PNC, let them honestly say when they left Guyana!  You can rest assure, most ran away from PNC/Afro racism.  This is an ingrained shortcoming in many Indians! 

The PNC racists are frustrated that the "final solution" always seem just out of reach!

Name the Indian owner of Lands that was taken away and given to afros.

For your info State Land was given to Afro farmers by an Executive President using what criteria.

"Here we have small, vulnerable Afro-Guyanese farmers whose livelihoods are being threatened. The vindictive actions of the regime are to intimidate Afro-Guyanese, who are aggrieved by the actions of the PNC/APNU, to not go against them. They expect such persons to go cap-in-hand and beg for mercy. Approaching the PPP for help is punishable by the loss of one’s livelihood.
This action is a clear case of executive vindictiveness and political discrimination.

Yours truly,
Donald Ramotar

With all this violent bullying actions from the PNC, past and present, it's time the Indians(yes, coolies only) develop their own violent bullying culture to counteract the PNC bullying thugs. I hope this will happen soon. Time to fight fire with fire.

"The struggle of Phillip Alexander Johnson, Rupert Blackman and Rawle Fitzgerald Miller, three (3) small scale rice farmers intensify against a Government that is using its mighty executive powers to confiscate state lands lawfully leased to these farmers by the previous Administration"

"Court rulings are ignored, subverted and rendered impotent by those wielding executive power as they persecute this authoritarian and unconstitutional agenda of seizure of private property."

"These farmers read a Notice published in the Kaieteur News newspapers that their fifty (50) year old lease of state lands at the rear of Seafield Village, West Coast Berbice, were cancelled with immediate effect by the Mahaica/Mahaicony/Abary Development Authority (MM/ADA). They challenged this purported revocation of their leases in the High Court. I appeared for them. The Attorney General appeared for the MM/ADA. After a full hearing, the Court quashed the alleged revocation of these leases on many grounds, including, that the MM/ADA has no authority to cancel a lease granted by an Executive President. The effect of this decision is that the said leases were never revoked and are therefore, valid and binding. The decision of the Court was not appealed."

What criteria was used for the Executive President to grant leases to the three persons State Lands ???

Something smells like stinking rotten fish,and some are taking the smell with wide open mouth.

Django, did you not say Anil was related to you? Remember, I said that if I was Anil, I would have publicly disowned you. Anyway, the man has a law degree and was once the Attorney General of Guyana. I think this is a little bit more(maybe just a little bit more) than you have accomplished in life. Remember, he is younger than you and maybe, just maybe, have more to accomplish. Give jack back his jacket, even if it's torn or dirty.

baseman posted:

The 2nd mass transfer of assets/wealth from the Indian masses to the PNC [Afro] constituency has only just begun!  The aim here is to take their assets, deprive Indians of a livelihood, frustrate them, then drive an other wave of mass exodus and tilt the ethnic balance once and for all!  This is not a Granger plan, but a larger PNC pan-Afro master plan!

Name the Indian owners affected by the mass transfer of assets/ wealth / lands that were taken away and given to Afros.

Django, did you not say Anil was related to you? Remember, I said that if I was Anil, I would have publicly disowned you. Anyway, the man has a law degree and was once the Attorney General of Guyana. I think this is a little bit more(maybe just a little bit more) than you have accomplished in life. Remember, he is younger than you and maybe, just maybe, have more to accomplish. Give jack back his jacket, even if it's torn or dirty.

Skelly..i can start studying now and get a Law Degree you seem to forget we live in America,i have enough qualifications to make a honest living,as for accomplishment i don't compare with others that is not my fort.

What are you trying to say i have no authority to comment on his views,address the points i raise and let us continue with the discussion if you cares to.Typical PPP backers they always try to put you down when confronted with facts.

baseman posted:

Name the Indian owners affected by the mass transfer of assets/ wealth / lands that were taken away and given to Afros.

You will get no answer,they trying to rewrite history.

I know. They put a racist spin to the issue. The same power that the Previous Executive President used to grant the leases, the current Executive President may have the power to rescind. All land is primarily owned by the State. Owners or lessees are granted titles or rights to use.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/re...illing-their-pockets

The Government through the GRDB inked the deal between the Jamaican Rice Milling Company on March 1, 2016, committing to purchase 40,000 metric tonnes per annum. The deal has a life span of three years and can be reviewed every quarter.
The deal gives the buyer the option to purchase 10,000 metric tonnes per quarter and it was agreed that any unused portion could be taken up by another buyer so designated to work with the GRDB in Jamaica.
Giving his assessment of the deal and the price agreed upon, Doerga, who also serves as Rice Producers Association Action Committee Co-Chairman said the “in between” mark-up on the contract is corrupt as US$75 will be made per metric tonne for the broker.
“When you look at the price bracket, you will see that they are selling to Jamaica for US$400 but anybody who wants to sell there has to sell minimum 1500 metric tonnes at US$475… so the US$75 per metric tonne is what the boys will be splitting among each other,” he explained.
He further pointed out that “75x 80.000×3” equates to US$18 million that will be allocated to “the boys” and not rice farmers who have been facing hardships in the deteriorating rice industry.

How did Deorga and Guyana Times arrived at this formula.

US75 x 80.000 x 3=US18M

Agreement is 3 yrs @ 40,000 metric tons=120,000 metric tons of rice  GRDB sells JRMC

My question is where did he get 80.000 from

Here is another mumbo jumbo from Guyana Times,they ran from giving the answers.

Four or more persons, claiming to be the executive controllers of these lands, leased it out and were collecting huge rents from its use. They also collected drainage and irrigation fees from persons and never remitted these sums to the MMA.

Why would four person control these land as opposed to 60 farmers who actually utilize these land and make a contribution. 

WHERE IS THE 40 Million that was collected. 

Skelly..i can start studying now and get a Law Degree you seem to forget we live in America,i have enough qualifications to make a honest living,as for accomplishment i don't compare with others that is not my fort.

What are you trying to say i have no authority to comment on his views,address the points i raise and let us continue with the discussion if you cares to.Typical PPP backers they always try to put you down when confronted with facts.

Django bro, that's not my point. You wrote "What sort of mumbo jumbo is  this from Anil". All I am saying you should not label the man's writings as mumbo jumbo if you are unable to comprehend his writing. I am sure that the editor of the newsprint must have edited his article and approved it before allowing it to be published. Mumbo jumbo to you is not mumbo jumbo to someone else.

With all this violent bullying actions from the PNC, past and present, it's time the Indians(yes, coolies only) develop their own violent bullying culture to counteract the PNC bullying thugs. I hope this will happen soon. Time to fight fire with fire.

yeah...head to the visa line to bully the embassy so you can run away like your predecessors

Django bro, that's not my point. You wrote "What sort of mumbo jumbo is  this from Anil". All I am saying you should not label the man's writings as mumbo jumbo if you are unable to comprehend his writing. I am sure that the editor of the newsprint must have edited his article and approved it before allowing it to be published. Mumbo jumbo to you is not mumbo jumbo to someone else.

There you go again,Bhai me dun with you on this topic,as me seh there is something fishy with the leasing of State Lands by a [Past] Executive President which is revisited by the current Government,happens all the time when there is new government.

No problem or hard feelings Bro.

ian posted:

Why would four person control these land as opposed to 60 farmers who actually utilize these land and make a contribution. 

WHERE IS THE 40 Million that was collected. 

Ian.. the lands was under a Co-op Society,the PPP disband it and created a mess,if i can recall they did the same with another at Ruby backdam EBE.

What rights of East Indians were violated according to the article? I missed it; please point it out. Thanks.

baseman posted:

alena06 posted:

For Mr T, eat your heart out:  This was written by Anil Nandlall.

Executive Power being used to subvert the rule of law:
the struggle of three (3) Rice Farmers continues

The struggle of Phillip Alexander Johnson, Rupert Blackman and Rawle Fitzgerald Miller, three (3) small scale rice farmers intensify against a .

What ever happened here, I doubt its "black man a kill ahbie"  that some claim that it is. Are these gentlemen Indians?

baseman posted:

The 2nd mass transfer of assets/wealth from the Indian masses to the PNC [Afro] constituency has only just begun!  .

Basemen, you see where this brown bai KKK behavior get you?

I see names like Johnson, Blackman, and Miller.

So where is this asset transfer from Indians to blacks that you scream about.

Sing another tune, but "black man a kill ahbe" isn't it.

alena06 posted:

Political discrimination and executive bullyism

Dear Editor,
 ., at which racial and political discrimination is at its heart.
Here we have small, vulnerable Afro-Guyanese farmers whose livelihoods are being threatened.

Yours truly,
Donald Ramotar

Don't know the details of this,

1.  These 4 individual seized de facto control of the lands, when the PPP was in power. Ramotar alleges that these are APNU supporters.

2.  I don't know the ethnicity of the people who are trying to seize the lands, but it does appear as if those whose access to the lands are threatened are NOT Indian.

So where is the racial discrimination?

This smells like the "exchange rather than change" which many in Guyana now complain about. Big powerful men use their political clout to intimidate vulnerable people.

I challenge the brown bai KKK, who now scream about "black man a kill ahbe,"  when there is NO evidence of victimization of Indians in this case.

In fact this behavior occurred frequently under the PPP!

Would it not be a huge embarrassment to baseman if the powerful 4 are either Indians, who have now jumped ship to APNU, or were blacks who were part of Jagdeo's milk drinking group, now jumping ship.

Maybe Ramotar is enraged that some PPP funders have now abandoned them!

Ow Prashad.

If you know Guyana, you would know that these villages are afro-Guyanese dominant villages.  Is black people the land get tek away from.

RiffRaff posted:

yeah...head to the visa line to bully the embassy so you can run away like your predecessors

Let me make this straight. I came here on a student visa and fulfilled my visa requirements. Paid non resident tuition and supported my self. I was not sponsored by anyone. I did what was best for me at the time(as you did when you lived in Guyana). I did not live off the backs of my relatives for any period of time. NOBODY CAN BULLY THE U.S. EMBASSY.

RiffRaff posted:

Let me make this straight. I came here on a student visa and fulfilled my visa requirements. Paid non resident tuition and supported my self. I was not sponsored by anyone. I did what was best for me at the time(as you did when you lived in Guyana). I did not live off the backs of my relatives for any period of time. NOBODY CAN BULLY THE U.S. EMBASSY.

Good move Skelly,i wish i knew that was possible at the time,i had the money [airline ticket and couple change left over] could have been here earlier,and i was also single,anyway not happens before it's time,no regrets.

RiffRaff posted:

Good move Skelly,i wish i knew that was possible at the time,i had the money [airline ticket and couple change left over] could have been here earlier,and i was also single,anyway not happens before it's time,no regrets.

Django bhai, I am proud of my accomplishment. I did it on my own and earned everything I own. Because of pride, I never at anytime decided to cut and run. A lot of guys during the 1970-1972 period cut and ran.

Let me make this straight. I came here on a student visa

And yet you are still here. Better hope that Trump doesn't find out who you are, or he will accuse you of using fraud to get your green card.

I repeat myself, East Indian people must be united and have a united front to have their rights protected. If not it will be worse for them than what these small farmers have.

Screaming about "black man a kill ahbe".  Likely that your Indo cronies paid off some blacks to toss other blacks off the land!

And yet you are still here. Better hope that Trump doesn't find out who you are, or he will accuse you of using fraud to get your green card.

Trump is going to be looking for all those black KKK bais like you. Don't worry Carib, I used a negro woman to get my green card and then discarded her like a used tampon.

, I used a negro woman to get my green card and then discarded her like a used tampon.

As I told you, if your hero Trumps discovers you are a fraud its back to Granger land for you, when he discovers how you got your green card.

BTW the negress deserved what she got for falling in love with a brown bai KKK like you.

baseman posted:

Trump is going to be looking for all those black KKK bais like you. Don't worry Carib, I used a negro woman to get my green card and then discarded her like a used tampon.

Skelly, Caribj is an infuriating guy,but no need to react against the Afro women.  Never kiss and tell!!

so u think skeldon_man's calculated racist insult to Black women is funny . . . huh?

, I used a negro woman to get my green card and then discarded her like a used tampon.

As I told you, if your hero Trumps discovers you are a fraud its back to Granger land for you, when he discovers how you got your green card.

BTW the negress deserved what she got for falling in love with a brown bai KKK like you.

Was his tampon he tossed out.