Permanent Secretary still on the job, despite resignation claim for campaigning.
Written by Denis Scott Chabrol
Monday, 17 October 2011 15:50

The Permanent Secretary of the Amerindian Affairs Ministry, Colin Croal was Monday afternoon still on the job, despite assurances that he has resigned his position to join the campaign for the incumbent Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPPC).

Demerara Waves Online News ( www.demwaves.com ) was told that Croal was Monday afternoon meeting with Heads of Departments.

Croal has been speaking at PPPC public meetings. However, PPPC campaign spokesman, Robert Persaud at the weekend has said that Croal has resigned as Permanent Secretary.

“Mr. Croal has tendered his resignation prior to him taking the platform as well as if you see any public officer, they would have done the same because, within the public services rules as you are expected to do, they have done that,” said the PPPC spokesman when asked whether Croal had sought and acquired permission to speak on political platforms.

He explained that someone had mistakenly introduced Croal as the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs.

Persaud said he was unsure whether the Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr. Roger Luncheon has also tendered his resignation. “Because we are law abiding and we want to conform to the rules and principles that we have, this was done and taken on board,” he added.

And senior member of the opposition coalition A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine weighed in on the issue earlier Monday. He called on Croal and others to step down from their positions.

"Mr. Robert Persaud attempted to console us that letters of resignation have been written but that is not good enough, these people have to leave their positions as senior public servants before they appear on a party political platform," said Roopnaraine.

Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
he is wrapping up things. He just can't walk off the job. he had to brief his people..

Why does he have to leave, just stay there we know the PPP will find a wuk for him anyway and the tax payers will pay for it. They are not fooling anyone.

Keep working I say.
J