Pepsi Cola, other investors interested in Guyana’s sugar estates

The United States (US)-headquartered Pepsi-Cola is among several companies interested in investing in the Guyana Sugar Corporation, Public Telecommunications Minister Catherine Hughes announced Friday.

“We got some big companies like Pepsi Cola…,” she told a meeting of former sugar workers at Enmore.

SPU Privatisation Specialist, Sean Persaud was not keen on speaking about Pepsi Cola because of confidentiality reasons, but he said that the production of crystallised sugar would be good for that company. “At the moment we make crystallised sugar so it will make sense.  I mean with  the issues of the hurricanes  that we just had in the Caribbean is something we have to be looking at and Guyana, which is sort of stable from the natural disaster, becomes a good investment ground,” he told Demerara Waves Online News.

Privatisation Specialist at the Special Purpose Unit of the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited.

She also signaled quite strongly that the Enmore -East Demerara Estate operations would be sold to Demerara Distillers Limited (DDL) to satisfy its demand for molasses to produce rum.

Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan said while DDL is interested in Enmore that company, like government, wants to conduct a study.

Hughes also indicated that there are expressions of interest from companies in India and Trinidad  as well as locally, Nand Persaud Rice Mills. She said those “big companies” have told government that “we are working on the numbers, we coming”.

The Public Telecommunications Minister, however, declined to provide details on those possible investments.  She said the names could not be disclosed until “we sew up the deal” or it could jeopardize the negotiations now.

Hughes told the former sugar workers that government would not allow investors to sideline them.  “You got a guarantee when they come they got to employ people and you are here,” she said.

Meanwhile, Minister of State Joseph Harmon told a post-Cabinet news conference that maximum value must be sought for the sake of the estates as going concerns.

With an estimated GY$1 billion being spent monthly on keeping Guysuco afloat, government had decided to close the Skeldon, Rose Hall, Enmore-East Demerara and Wales Estates.  Targeting an annual production of 147,000 tons, Guysuco’s operations will be confined to Albion, Blairmont and Uitvlugt.

Guysuco will this month-end begin paying severance to the more than 4,000 employees who have been sacked as a result of the closure of the several estates and factories.

This is s great move.  I wrote on this site a while back, the only hope for the industry, Sugar needs to be integrated into a larger value chain, beverages and confectionary would be top.

I can also see Indian companies big into confectionary as prime candidates.  During festive seasons, companies secure sugar from the open market as the Indian sugar industry struggle to keep up.  

This is a bunch of nonsense. Pepsi will not be interested in sugar but only the land. They and Coke Cola use cheap corn syrup from American farmers.  The only people who will be interested in sugar in Guyana is the Miami Cubans.  When they take over then sugar workers will have to work like supermen to keep their jobs.

None sense.  Cane sugar beverages gained a lot of popularity in Europe and corn sweatened have some drawbacks.  People in Europe prefers the flavor of cane sugar. Many beverages offer a cane sugar version and it sells well!

Coca Cola ran into sugar supply problems when hurricanes devastated the islands.  Guyana is immune to such and Coca Cola recognizes this!

Awww hush butt yeh. Pepsi would be a good choice. Anything to get the people working again.

I tell you, now even this is negative.  I wonder if the displaced sugar workers think its a bunch on nonsense!

None sense.  Cane sugar beverages gained a lot of popularity in Europe and corn sweatened have some drawbacks.  People in Europe prefers the flavor of cane sugar. Many beverages offer a cane sugar version and it sells well!

Coca Cola ran into sugar supply problems when hurricanes devastated the islands.  Guyana is immune to such and Coca Cola recognizes this!

I don't know about Europe but in North America the zero sugar drinks are big sellers. I don't know one person who prefers natural sugar in their soft drinks. I will believe it when I see it that Pepsi is interested in sugar in Guyana when they can plant sugar in Africa for Europe.  The only thing I see is Pepsi interested in is the land to grow fruits for juices.

Both Pepsi and Coke buy sugar from the islands.  Both had supply issues due to hurricanes. So they using sugar for something! 

Why not the same argument for fruit juices?  Guyana is not unique there either!  What kind of fruits?

You are Correct.  Where were all these companies before the estates were closed?  Bunch of bullschitt from Kathy Hughes.  

Both Pepsi and Coke buy sugar from the islands.  Both had supply issues due to hurricanes. So they using sugar for something! 

Why not the same argument for fruit juices?  Guyana is not unique there either!  What kind of fruits?

I am thinking limes.  Limes are always expensive.

It's big business, they were waiting on the side line for the "Fire Sale", now they can purchase a running factory, lock, stock and barrel plus cheap labour force at pennies to the dollar.

I think the PNC is looking for easy street and not wanting to be bothered with sugar knowing that oil will flow soon. They are a bunch of uneducated, inexperienced lincon-poop, been out of government for 20 odd years, now they don't know what to do. Don't be surprise if White man come back and control the sugar industry, we go back to colonialism.

You are Correct.  Where were all these companies before the estates were closed?  Bunch of bullschitt from Kathy Hughes.  

The industry was never put out for bid as today.  Remember, PWC is leading the effort seeking a strategic alternative.  With that, companies will take a look. 

I always contend, sugar will best be served being vertically integrated in the beverage or confectionary industry.  Raw sugar is fully commoditized.  

The PPP should have started this effort in a more controlled manner.  Now they have the PNC slash and burn approach to deal with!

It's big business, they were waiting on the side line for the "Fire Sale", now they can purchase a running factory, lock, stock and barrel plus cheap labour force at pennies to the dollar.

Cheap labor, how so?  

Yes, I’m sure they will try to get the best deal possible.  Just normal business.   PWC’s role is to present the best value proposition for the GOG and a negotiation will ensue!   Business 101!

With new owners ,the old workers will have to reapply for their jobs under new pay scale which can start low,past service will not be taken in to account.

That’s the nature of such transactions.  This is why the GOG needs to clear the deck and settle with the employees.  No new owner will take over the liability.  It’s a fresh and new start.  This is why companies will be interested.  

I am sure that the Miami Cubans may put in a bid for the sugar estates but they have estates around the world that are technologically very advanced so they have minimal labor forces.

The industry was never put out for bid as today.  Remember, PWC is leading the effort seeking a strategic alternative.  With that, companies will take a look. 

I always contend, sugar will best be served being vertically integrated in the beverage or confectionary industry.  Raw sugar is fully commoditized.  

The PPP should have started this effort in a more controlled manner.  Now they have the PNC slash and burn approach to deal with!

Baseman makes a good point here. The Miami Cubans started to vertically integrate and diversify their sugar companies around the world in 1994.  They went from just cane sugar estates producing raw sugar to marketing their own sugar brands, biogas electricity generation, real estate development in the form of building and running Resorts.

Don’t worry with Bibi, when I wrote that under two year ago, she texted me that I was the most intelligent person on GNI and she was proud.  Back then we were belly-to-belly.  Now that we back-to-back, same thing, she say me stupid.  

Aah women, never believe what they say, they so frivolous.  Dem mind is as fixed as the water surface!   Mi uncle tell me datt back in Guyana!

....The only thing I see is Pepsi interested in is the land to grow fruits for juices.

Bai, you need to go take a lime down stupidness lane!

So Pepsi nah want sweetness, dem really looking for sourness, dem a jess pretend.  Pepsi gon grow nuff nuff lime, for what, limacol?  And dem gon do a bait and switch pon all dem sugar workers and PWC and the GOG.  Dem studying PWC sugar case, but back room dem gatt dem own lime case.  

Well, diss is sheer liming stupidness!

. Many beverages offer a cane sugar version and it sells well!

Coca Cola ran into sugar supply problems when hurricanes devastated the islands.  

Loads of places where cane sugar can be obtained cheaply.  I think someone is consuming a drug if they think that anyone wants high cost Guyana sugar with all of the political implications involved.

I can only see DDL, or Trinidadian interests (Angostura) being interested, and this to guarantee a supply of molasses.

. Many beverages offer a cane sugar version and it sells well!

Coca Cola ran into sugar supply problems when hurricanes devastated the islands.  

Loads of places where cane sugar can be obtained cheaply.  I think someone is consuming a drug if they think that anyone wants high cost Guyana sugar with all of the political implications involved.

I can only see DDL, or Trinidadian interests (Angostura) being interested, and this to guarantee a supply of molasses.

You can only see Black vs Coolie!  You blind to anything else!

....The only thing I see is Pepsi interested in is the land to grow fruits for juices.

Bai, you need to go take a lime down stupidness lane!

So Pepsi nah want sweetness, dem really looking for sourness, dem a jess pretend.  Pepsi gon grow nuff nuff lime, for what, limacol?  And dem gon do a bait and switch pon all dem sugar workers and PWC and the GOG.  Dem studying PWC sugar case, but back room dem gatt dem own lime case.  

Well, diss is sheer liming stupidness!

Base, like we have to introduce you "PATRON CITRONGE LIME LIQUEUR

You can only see Black vs Coolie!  You blind to anything else!

If you did something other than scream "black man lazy" or "black man a kill ahbe" you would know how much cane sugar is available.

https://www.worldatlas.com/art...ucing-countries.html

http://www.worldstopexports.co...gar-exports-country/

In fact India is a major producer and in most years a significant exporter.

So why will India buy Guyana's broken down sugar industry where every time they cut costs Jagdeo is screaming " you all Indians just as bad as black man"?

Which islands do they buy sugar?  Cuba? Clearly not.  DR? Not impacted by the hurricanes. Puerto Rico.  Sugar collapsed there in the 70s and they must import molasses from the DR. USVI and St Maarten.  They haven't grown sugar in quite a while.

So which islands?