PPP/C mobilised and ready for general and regional elections – Rohee says party committed to expanding alliance

WITH general and regional elections a little more than four months away, People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) General Secretary, Clement Rohee has said that the various arms of the party have been mobilised as the party seeks to regain a majority at the May 11 polls.Noting the PPP/C readiness to contest the upcoming national elections, Rohee, who is also the Minister of Home Affairs, said that since its founding the party has never participated in an election unprepared.

He pointed out that there is a timeframe within which key dates, including that for presentation of the party’s List of Candidates to Chief Elections Officer, Keith Lowenfield, will be announced.

Speaking at the PPP’s weekly press conference at Freedom House in Robb Street, Georgetown yesterday, Rohee said his comrades are on top of the situation, but the party has not yet settled on names for the List of Candidates. The talk is that former President Bharrat Jagdeo would be on the party’s list, but Rohee said that a collective decision would determine the names on that list.

He noted: “I would love to see him on the list”.

Jagdeo is a highly influential executive member of the party, and is Guyana’s longest serving Executive President. By virtue of being a PPP/C executive member, he would participate in discussions to select the names that would appear on the PPP/C List of Candidates.

Rohee told reporters that the selection process has started, but there is a long way to go. He also said that the PPP is working to build and expand its alliance.

In 1992, the PPP, led by late leader and founding member, Dr. Cheddi Jagan, formed an alliance with the Guyanese Action for Reform and Democracy (GUARD), led by Canadian-trained Chemical Engineer, now Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, to form the civic component of the party.

Remains open
In light of the turbulence experienced during the life of the 10th Parliament, it has been felt that there is need for an all-inclusive Government; and according to the PPP/C General Secretary, the party has always been open to the idea.

“It depends on how you define an all-inclusive Government. Usually, when you take those tourism packages of some hotels, they give you an all-inclusive package, which is breakfast as well as dinner and access to the pool, (as well as) access to so many other things. If by definition all-inclusive is a similar reference, well, the PPP has always maintained a position of inclusivity; and this is precisely why we generated the concept of the civic component.

“So, our approach, as we have said much earlier in last year, we are working to build and expand the PPP/C alliance,” Rohee said.

Rohee said the PPP believes in expanding the alliance. He noted: “Therein you will see how we define our understanding of inclusiveness,” as he underscored the need for many more persons to get onboard the journey to develop the country.

He disclosed that the party has already met with a number of groups and individuals, and he pointed out that there is no need to broadcast those meetings, or “go on the roof and shout about them.”

He reported that feedback from those meetings has been positive, and he said that many of the ideas and suggestions emanating from those meetings would be incorporated into the party’s strategy for the future.

That aside, he said the Progressive Youth Organisation (PYO) and the Women’s Progressive Organisation (WPO) remain key pillars of the party.

Both Rohee and President Donald Ramotar have been nurtured by the PYO, which has been a reservoir of the party, providing ideological and political orientation to members.

With elections scheduled to take place in May, the PYO has begun outreach activities, mobilising support on the ground. Under the vibrant leadership of Housing and acting Tourism Minister, Irfaan Ali, the youth arm of the PPP is expected to contribute significantly to the party’s campaign.

extracted from the Guyana Chronicle

the ppp reach their limit 

Ms. Cleo speaks. Wah you krystal ball seh deh about de KFC and PNC?

when a something start sliding down hill that is where it going down hill

Originally Posted by Conscience:
The talk is that former President Bharrat Jagdeo would be on the party’s list, but Rohee said that a collective decision would determine the names on that list.

Jagdeo is a highly influential executive member of the party, and is Guyana’s longest serving Executive President. By virtue of being a PPP/C executive member, he would participate in discussions to select the names that would appear on the PPP/C List of Candidates.

While there are questions on eligibility to contest as a presidential candidate, there is nothing in the constitution which prohibits Bharrat Jagdeo's name from being on the proposed candidate's list.

Ah dah wah you kristal ball seh about dem PNC and KFC Ms. Cleo? Bhowjee, me prappa glad fuh hear dah.

The talk is that former President Bharrat Jagdeo would be on the party’s list, but Rohee said that a collective decision would determine the names on that list.

While there are questions on eligibility to contest as a presidential candidate, there is nothing in the constitution which prohibits Bharrat Jagdeo's name from being on the proposed candidate's list.

this how desperate the ppp is what happen to the duck 

the ppp do not need a presidential candidate what they need after the election is a good lawyer 

Ah dah wah you kristal ball seh about dem PNC and KFC Ms. Cleo? Bhowjee, me prappa glad fuh hear dah.

i see you cry to GNI dictador for help

this how desperate the ppp is what happen to the duck 

It was stated clearly that President Donald Ramotar is the proposed candidate for the position of president at the May 2015 election.

Selection of the candidate for prime minister will be addressed in time for the official presentation of the political parties' members to the election commision.

i see you cry to GNI dictador for help

Let it be known Mr. Warria, I have taken the vulgarity on this BB and has not complained about you to Mr. RiffRaff. If I did, let him speak now.

there is nothing in the constitution which prohibits Bharrat Jagdeo's name from being on the proposed candidate's list.

And yes I can really see Jagdeo just being an ordinary MP.

PPP in desperation mode.

Truly.  The PPP voted to have the constitution modified to limit the president to two terms.

Now they claim that such a modification was illegal, even though it received more than 2/3 parliamentary support.

This is on top of them wasting time with the AFC which they claim has no support, and screaming that the PNC was going to implode because of the Granger/Solomon fight, to suddenly become silent and try to play footsie wootsie after that claim backfired.

The PPPs problem is that they are stuck with a crapaud as their president and an idiot as their party chairman.  Rohee has failed at everything that he was put to handle and this role will be no exception.

In fact it is so bad that APNU is now telling their supporters not to be complacent as a PPP loss isn't inevitable.

PPP in desperation mode.

Truly.  The PPP voted to have the constitution modified to limit the president to two terms.

Now they claim that such a modification was illegal, even though it received more than 2/3 parliamentary support.

I hate to say this but they have a really really good legal argument. It doesn't take a real stretch of the imagination to follow their legal theory.

Granted, it's a very very nasty way to pervert the political order.

As well, they're essentially suing themselves. I can't imagine Nandalal putting up much of a fight against Jagdeo's lawyers. And we know how pliant the judges are.

You have to admit.....this was pretty clever.

As well, they're essentially suing themselves. I can't imagine Nandalal putting up much of a fight against Jagdeo's lawyers. And we know how pliant the judges are.

You have to admit.....this was pretty clever.

How is it clever for the PPP to sue against the same laws that the PPP helped pass?

: “Therein you will see how we define our understanding of inclusiveness,”...

This is an interesting piece of  " wisdom "  from the goat man....if one looks closely at the internal organs of the party they will see that the WPO and the PYO are excluded from the executive committee....These are two of the main organs of the party and yet they are excluded from this important decision making body.....how can inclusive politics be preached when it is not practiced internally ?.....