ball posted:

I heard from a reliable source that Aleem is not doing well in Florida he is in a hospice....  

I have not spoken with him in a while but yes he is terminal with stage 4 cancer.

I will try to make contact with his relatives.

Let's all pray for him and so many others. Another friend of mine who is 62 years old was just diagnosed at stage 4 as well.

WHAT IS SO SAD , HE CALLED ME LAST NIGHT TO ASK THAT i ENSURE EVERYTHING GOES WELL WITH HIS FUNERAL 

I wish him well a picture speaks a thousand words.

When he was lambasting BJ, his former cabinet members, and all PPP supporters with those lengthy, dirty and colorful posts, was he in pain and crying out for help?  I strongly felt then that he was not well.

Now is not the time Leonora.

However I must add that Jalil was born into a PPP family. He was a loyal soldier to the party and belonged to the decent faction of the Jaganites.

He became disenchanted with how Jagdeo Hijacked the party and the rest is history, for Jalil postings here on GNI spoke volume.

Last edited by Chief
Chameli posted:

Death befalls every living thing....let it be so, grieving is more painful

my 20 yr old cousin died on Sunday....tragic and painful

death spares no one.....and no one knows HOW they will die so do not cross others in their time of pain

God knows, you always have a story of your own to share in death, wedding, and jumbie wuck, etc.   

Since learning of Aleem's health issues I have spoken  with him on several occasions. He was very confident that he will overcome his illness. I have known him and his family  for many years and worked closely with him and others on the months leading up to October 5th, 1992. The PPP cannot ever repay Aleem for the services he performed in the struggle to restore democracy to Guyana. May he find comfort and strength as he prepares for his transition to another plain.

Churchill posted:

Since learning of Aleem's health issues I have spoken  with him on several occasions. He was very confident that he will overcome his illness. I have known him and his family  for many years and worked closely with him and others on the months leading up to October 5th, 1992. The PPP cannot ever repay Aleem for the services he performed in the struggle to restore democracy to Guyana. May he find comfort and strength as he prepares for his transition to another plain.

I believe Aleem and Dr. Ramayya shared the same faith in politics. 

Chameli posted:

death spares no one.....and no one knows HOW they will die so do not cross others in their time of pain

Mark Twain wrote an essay on death. After reading it, I placed the leaflet on the desk with one profound line in memory, "death is a constant companion never knowing when and how it prevails."

The Brahmins says the male deceased are greeted by dancing damsels. Something, like the 7 virgins that awaits ..........................  

Vish M posted:

My firm belief is he will pull thru

I hold you to this bro Vish, I hope he does pull through.

Everyone would like a miracle to happen and bring "Aleem aka Jalil" back to normal. Aleem illness is a stage 4 cancer that is not treatable even with the best medicine available. Continuous treatment can sustain one's life for a week or more before it brings you back to the same stage. Let the man live his remaining life with dignity and stop playing God over something you have no control over.  

Chief. Please PM me where Aleem is in Florida and his relative's number. I do have his cell phone number but I don't want to bother him directly. If you think I can still reach one of his relatives by calling his cell, I can do that. I know Mansoor but don't have his number. Last time he was in a hospital in Orlando. I had dinner with him at Tropics about a year ago. Praying for Aleem.

Chameli posted:

Death is the price of life.  I wish him all the best.  I hope he did wise-up and ask Jesus Christ for forgiveness for all his sins.  Christ is forgiving, Allah is not!

I'm crushed to learn the news of Aleem's situation. With every breath there is hope. As a friend for a lifetime he's like a brother. From playing cricket, to hanging out, to laugh - and he's always looked at life with joy - to collaborating on a very important part of the new Guyanese immigrant community in both New York and elsewhere in America, to so many different facets of life, Aleem will seem larger than life. And he was a big guy. I know he will enjoy every moment of life.

Kari posted:

I'm crushed to learn the news of Aleem's situation. With every breath there is hope. As a friend for a lifetime he's like a brother. From playing cricket, to hanging out, to laugh - and he's always looked at life with joy - to collaborating on a very important part of the new Guyanese immigrant community in both New York and elsewhere in America, to so many different facets of life, Aleem will seem larger than life. And he was a big guy. I know he will enjoy every moment of life.

Bai ah wah yuh ga do!  Dis is life!

Hospice is not a word we do not want to hear when dealing with our loved ones. If(hoping for a miracle) and when he passes on, may his soul rest in peace.

I had a relative who died from cancer about two years ago. When the Doctor gave him up, he chose to spend his last days at home with his family, and he died one week later. He died peacefully because he never woke up that morning. He was not in denial that his time was almost up. His family was not in denial that they will lose a family member either. Knowing is always better than not knowing for simple reasons. You can say so much to your family before you leave them. You spend quality time with friends and people you love. You can eat belly full, drink belly full until your last breath. Think about it Skelly. 

When my mother died, she knew she was living on borrowed time. She never wanted to die bedridden. She entrusted me with all her funeral details, and everything went as planned. At the hospital, the night before, she told me she is not coming home back. I was the the only person to hear that. 4:00 am the next morning, her life ended. Think about it Skelly.