ELECTRICITY GRIDS FAIL ACROSS HALF OF INDIA

AP Photo/Rajesh Kumar Singh

Advertisement

NEW DELHI (AP) -- India's energy crisis cascaded over half the country Tuesday when three of its regional grids collapsed, leaving 620 million people without government-supplied electricity in one of the world's biggest-ever blackouts.

Hundreds of trains stalled across the country and traffic lights went out, causing widespread traffic jams in New Delhi. Electric crematoria stopped operating, some with bodies half burnt, power officials said. Emergency workers rushed generators to coal mines to rescue miners trapped underground.

The massive failure - a day after a similar, but smaller power failure - has raised serious concerns about India's outdated infrastructure and the government's inability to meet its huge appetite for energy as the country aspires to become a regional economic superpower.

Power Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde blamed the new crisis on states taking more than their allotted share of electricity.

`'Everyone overdraws from the grid. Just this morning I held a meeting with power officials from the states and I gave directions that states that overdraw should be punished. We have given instructions that their power supply could be cut," he told reporters.

The new power failure affected people across 20 of India's 28 states - more than the entire population of the European Union plus Turkey. The blackout was unusual in its reach, stretching from the border with Myanmar in the northeast to the Pakistani border about 3,000 kilometers (1,870 miles) away. Its impact, however, was softened by Indians' familiarity with frequent blackouts and the widespread use of backup generators for major businesses and key facilities such as hospitals and airports.

R.N. Nayak, chairman of Power Grid Corp., which runs the nation's power system, said the system was meeting 17 to 20 percent of power needs in northern and eastern and nearly 50 percent in northeast by the afternoon and hoped to have full power restored by 7 p.m.

The outages came just a day after India's northern power grid collapsed for several hours. Indian officials managed to restore power several hours later, but at 1:05 p.m. Tuesday the northern grid collapsed again, said Shailendre Dubey, an official at the Uttar Pradesh Power Corp. in India's largest state. About the same time, the eastern grid failed and then the northeastern grid followed, energy officials in those regions said. The grids serve more than half India's population.

In West Bengal, express trains and local electric trains were stopped at stations across the state of West Bengal on the eastern grid. Crowds of people thronged the stations, waiting for any transport to take them to their destinations.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said it would take at least 10 to 12 hours to restore power and asked office workers to go home.

"The situation is very grave. We are doing everything to restore power," West Bengal Power Minister Manish Gupta said.

New Delhi's Metro rail system, which serves about 1.8 million people a day, immediately shut down for the second day in a row. Police said they managed to evacuate Delhi's busy Rajiv Chowk station in under half an hour before closing the shutters.

S.K. Jain, 54, said he was on his way to file his income tax return when the Metro closed and now would almost certainly miss the deadline.

India's demand for electricity has soared along with its economy in recent years, but utilities have been unable to meet the growing needs. India's Central Electricity Authority reported power deficits of more than 8 percent in recent months.

The power deficit was worsened by a weak monsoon that lowered hydroelectric generation and kept temperatures higher, further increasing electricity usage as people seek to cool off.

But any connection to the grid remains a luxury for many. One-third of India's households do not even have electricity to power a light bulb, according to last year's census.

---

Originally Posted by kidmost:

note , no looting or riots .

And they are paying a FAIR share for Electricity. Civilisation are at different level.

EVERY state in India has a different tariff; even within states, some cities like Mumbai have their own tariff structures.

And they are paying a FAIR share for Electricity. Civilisation are at different level.

EVERY state in India has a different tariff; even within states, cities like Mumbai and Delhi have their own tariff structures.

Educate yourself lil bit before you bray . . . moron!

True, because just like the US, the various states exercise some degree of flexibility primarily to with with VAT and other taxes.  However, there is a "baseline" and pricing rules established by the Govt from which the states take their cue.  One thing for certain, the central Govt will not subsidize any state short-fall and for certain, no state runs at an 80% discount from the rest.

The central Govt does exercise oversight responsibility and acts if something seems out of ordinary.

EVERY state in India has a different tariff; even within states, cities like Mumbai and Delhi have their own tariff structures.

Educate yourself lil bit before you bray . . . moron!

True, because just like the US, the various states exercise some degree of flexibility primarily to with with VAT and other taxes.  However, there is a "baseline" and pricing rules established by the Govt from which the states take their cue.  One thing for certain, the central Govt will not subsidize any state short-fall and for certain, no state runs at an 80% discount from the rest.

The central Govt does exercise oversight responsibility and acts if something seems out of ordinary.

HEHEHE S THEY AY, EASY LESSONS GOOD FOR DUNCES. IT DONT COME ANY EASIER BUT THEN AGAIN IS REDUX WE TALKIN BOUT.

Absolute Nonsense! Where do you pull this pseudo-learned shit from?

LIKE I SAID, IS REDUX WE DEALING WITH.

Well, tell us the price differential and how much and why?

Nehru, other than being a clown, you have nothing to contribute here.

I'm waiting for Baseman to defend his foolishness

Do I owe you something?

Yes! Pay the piper!

Do I owe you something?

OK, let me break it down.

The tariffs imposed by state regulators on public and private utilities in India have everything to do with the cost of generating power, [increases in the] price of fuel, etc, and bottom-line revenue streams to the relevant providers. To the extent that revenues still do not meet costs; the state provides a 'helping' subsidy.

This business of "primarily to do with VAT and other taxes" is just plain ignorant.

In addition, you demonstrate a complete ignorance [again] of the Indian central Government's role in these matters . . . babbling cluelessly about "baseline" rules, "state shortfall[s]" and what/whatnot Delhi is willing to subsidize . . . a total bluff which I'll deal with (in detail) @ another time.

Now, I just looked up some statistics from 2011 and found that the tariff for the [Indian] state of Madhya Pradesh for domestic consumers was Rs. 5.62/Kwh; while that for Puducherry was Rs. 1.14/Kwh.

Baseman, you're a supposed numbers man . . . is the differential between these two greater than 80% ??!!

BTW, India and the US are so totally different; your stupid twinning of the 2 systems is embarrassingly uninformed and deserves no further comment.

your turn

Do I owe you something?

OK, let me break it down.

The tariffs imposed by state regulators on public and private utilities in India have everything to do with the cost of generating power, [increases in the] price of fuel, etc, and bottom-line revenue streams to the relevant providers. To the extent that revenues still do not meet costs; the state provides a 'helping' subsidy.

This business of "primarily to do with VAT and other taxes" is just plain ignorant.

In addition, you demonstrate a complete ignorance [again] of the Indian central Government's role in these matters . . . babbling cluelessly about "baseline" rules, "state shortfall[s]" and what/whatnot Delhi is willing to subsidize . . . a total bluff which I'll deal with (in detail) @ another time.

Now, I just looked up some statistics from 2011 and found that the tariff for the [Indian] state of Madhya Pradesh for domestic consumers was Rs. 5.62/Kwh; while that for Puducherry was Rs. 1.14/Kwh.

Baseman, you're a supposed numbers man . . . is the differential between these two greater than 80% ??!!

BTW, India and the US are so totally different; your stupid twinning of the 2 systems is embarrassingly uninformed and deserves no further comment.

your turn

Dis Dankey write a whole Book of CRAP and still cant make a simple point. FOOL< Is any State/ Municipality in India being Subsidised 80% of their Electrical charges by the Central GOVT??? This is not making the Atom Bomb now, so please answer me.

Originally Posted by Lucas:
Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Indians are resilient people, and India will overcome this temporary crisis.

True.

If they have lived 3000 years without electricity why to use electricity now?

What you see in the traffic jam is everyday life driving through the streets of Mumbai. India's drivers are geniuses to drive without marked lanes. Their driving displays are far exceeding for future adaptation.

Dis Dankey write a whole Book of CRAP and still cant make a simple point. FOOL< Is any State/ Municipality in India being Subsidised 80% of their Electrical charges by the Central GOVT??? This is not making the Atom Bomb now, so please answer me.

Are you asking me a random question just for shits & giggles, or is this connected in some way to the shyte Baseman posted?

just don't waste my time, arite . . . I told you already that you have nothing useful to contribute here

Are you asking me a random question just for shits & giggles, or is this connected in some way to the shyte Baseman posted?

just don't waste my time, arite . . . I told you already that you have nothing useful to contribute here

Suh yuh cant answer a SIMPLE question but pretend daily that you know everything on the Planet, SNAKEOIL anyone???

True.

What you see in the traffic jam is everyday life driving through the streets of Mumbai. India's drivers are geniuses to drive without marked lanes. Their driving displays are far exceeding for future adaptation.

They are not driving, those cars are parked up!

Besides, I wouldn't call driving the exercise of moving a car at 1 km/h. You dont' need to be a genius to do that.

True.

They are not driving, those cars are parked up!

Besides, I wouldn't call driving the exercise of moving a car at 1 km/h. You dont' need to be a genius to do that.

How yuh does ride yuh Camel? At what speed? Yuh does smell deh Fart when yuh gallop????

Suh yuh cant answer a SIMPLE question but pretend daily that you know everything on the Planet, SNAKEOIL anyone???

That's right . . . stay on point or get off the freakin thread!

What point?? You are one confused and illiterate Bufoon!!!!

eh eh, yuh just put "confused," "illiterate" and "buffoon" together in a comprehensible sentence deh . . . yawwn

If this had happened in a place like Linden, we would have experienced extremists at their best.

take the bridle out of your mouth and speak English

Redux, defender of extremists and terrorist elements in Linden. 

I'd prefer not to use the whip . . . not YET, that is

If this had happened in a place like Linden, we would have experienced extremists at their best.

You are what we call in Berbice.......... coconut wash.

giddyup dankey

Time will prove that the people of Linden will eventually destroy their future by their own destructive actions. Linden will become one of the most depressed area in Guyana. Businesses will refuse to invest in an unstable area with extremist elements.

This is the harsh reality that will eventually face Linden.

They are used as pawns by the AFC and PNC.

Time will prove that the people of Linden will eventually destroy their future by their own destructive actions. Linden will become one of the most depressed area in Guyana. Businesses will refuse to invest in an unstable area with extremist elements.

yaaaaawn . . .

Brillant Gadaha. Dat is all you are capable of despite the INSULTS!!

yaaaaawn . . .

Brillant Gadaha. Dat is all you are capable of despite the INSULTS!!

I suggest you look up the word in a dictionary . . . no hurry