THE HISTORY OF BUKTA:

Bukta was founded in 1879, by Edward Buck in Manchester, England, making it the first sports wear clothing brand. Edward Buck, originally from Carlise, moved to Manchester in c. 1875. He began what would later become Bukta in the cellar of a building on Portland Street, Manchester, using treadle sewing machines. Bukta was founded after this in 1879 when Edward Buck moved to factory premises, predominantly making shorts for soldiers in the British Army during the Boer War. Buck was among one of the first to move over to steam powered machinary and took advantages of more technology advances in the late 19th and early 20th centuary. Bukta began making uniforms for Scouts and Guides when the Scout movement was founded and became the official uniform supplier. They also made camping equipment and clothing and made hospital and tropical uniforms for the British Army during the First World War.

But it would be Sportswear that Bukta would become known for, making most of the Kits and Teamwear for UK Football and Rugby teams. Bukta dominated this right up until the 1960s. George Best famously wore Bukta when he played for Manchester United - the iconic long sleeve Red Jersey he wore being a Bukta Football Shirt. Bukta has also been worn by other sports and Football stars such as Jimmy Greaves and Diego Maradonna. Today Bukta is also worn by many Pop and Rock Stars such as Noel and Liam Gallagher.

2009 sees Bukta's 130th anniversary and the launch of the Bukta Vintage collection.

Interesting history of Buckta. It just happens I started wearing one when I joined the Boy's Scout. I now see why the Scoutmaster insisted his troop was well clothed.

Which troop?

Uitvlugt Community Centre. I can't remember the Number. Scoutmaster was Henry Ramkeerat. I was the top Tenderfoot. Midway through Second Class my Dad ruled that I should stay home and burn the midnight oil studying schoolwork. Before I left the troop, however, I had the honour of receiving a prize [compass] from Commissioner of Scouts Lawrence Thompson.

Cool! StMary's Troop here.

I was also Lions Club Liaison to the Toronto 6th troop (now 106 years old..as old as scouting)

I still shake with my left hand...(shake hands I meant )

And salute with left hand too.

Once a Scout, always a Scout. I remember reading SCOUTING FOR BOYS by Lord Baden-Powell. I was taking de ting real serious man and me old man was getting bassidy. Real paglee coolie, though a chatree.

I still remember a campfire song or two: "Ging gang goollee goollee goollee..."

how did his topic go from bukta to scouting...like yall got yuh buktas in ah knot

Riff, you're forgetting what you posted: "Bukta began making uniforms for Scouts and Guides when the Scout movement was founded and became the official uniform supplier."

That's how I brought in the Scouts.

how did his topic go from bukta to scouting...like yall got yuh buktas in ah knot

Riff, you're forgetting what you posted: "Bukta began making uniforms for Scouts and Guides when the Scout movement was founded and became the official uniform supplier."

That's how I brought in the Scouts.

oh shucks

Originally Posted by antabanta:

Either one of you went to the jamboree in '74 at Jubilee?

In '74 I had become a big man and was jamming other boree.

I was in the Scouts in '64.

rass...I was born in '63

So, me an Gilly look bettr an younger dan u rass, wanna bet? Scouting and fresh air does that to Body and Soul.