Opposition MPs statements can be seen as threats to the President

- Teixeira

PRESIDENTIAL Adviser on Governance, Ms. Gail Teixeira has condemned the statements made by Opposition Members in Public (Parliament) Building yesterday, stating that some of the utterances were distasteful, unacceptable and can be seen as threats to the Head of State.

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds

Following the President’s Proclamation to Prorogue Parliament, the combined Opposition proceeded to convene a meeting in the chambers of Parliament building for their own purpose, all of which was streamed live.
Teixeira and Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, appeared on the programme ‘The 10th Parliament and the way forward’ on the National Communications Network (NCN) last evening.
The Government’s Chief Whip said the events that followed the President’s proclamation came as no surprise, but were all alarming.
Teixeira said that APNU’s Carl Greenidge’s reference to King Charles I, losing his head for proroguing parliament, is a subliminal message, and it is one that should not be taken lightly.

THREAT TO INVESTORS
Greenidge went on to warn that investors should not look forward to his party’s support for any agreement made during the period of prorogation.
According to Teixeira, this statement is very irresponsible coming from a party which is always condemning the Government saying that it is not doing enough. She questioned the statement, nothing that such a comment can be seen as a threat to potential investors who are interested in investing in Guyana with the aim of building the local economy.
She added that the utterances made yesterday in Public Buildings are as a result of the President’s proclamation for which the combined Opposition was evidently not prepared.
Teixeira said she does not want to believe that the combined Opposition was not aware of the President’s options given their experience.
She, as well as the Prime Minister, condemned the protest action that took place outside of the public building saying that the combined Opposition has suggested that the president’s decision can be seen as one to provoke violence, but their actions tell a different story.
Some of the protestors all of whom were dressed in green showing support to the APNU stormed the Public Building, pushing away several metal barricades that were set up by the police.
She suggests that given the time at which the proclamation came, the combined Opposition may have believed that the Government would have caved in with the no-confidence motion.
Nevertheless, she said that this historic move should be seen as one that is taking Guyana forward as it provides an opportunity for open dialogue with the Opposition parties.
The Prime Minister said he is optimistic that the situation will force open dialogue, but this would be the best way forward. However, he noted that if this avenue is not explored, then he is confident that the Guyanese people who have been looking on will be the judge.
“Then let us go to the people, to the masses and let them decide. Over the past 22 years we have made a good case, and our track record will show that we have brought about development for all Guyanese.”
Both the Prime Minister and the Presidential Adviser reminded the general public that the PPP/C administration is willing to work towards consensus, dialogue and compromise.

extracted from the Guyana Chronicle

SEEM!! IT IS A BLOODY DIRECT THREAT TO THE PRESIDENT. ANY OTHER COUNTRY HE WOULD HAVE BEEN IN JAIL ALREADY!!!

let them try to put him in jail nuh

Ray, I said if was any OTHER Country. Yes the Govt is weak in dat regards!!!  Nandalal was RIGHT to tell Lall and Co off too.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The P.P.P would never be intimidated by the threads of the AFC/APNU...

WTF??? What threads?

Here nuh. You rass so blinded by the PPP, if they tell you stupidy rass fo post something saying yo batty hole square, you would do it.

But, do we the regular smart person believe you an all the shyte you does post for dem,...it'll should come as no surprise to you....NOOOOOO.