Sachin Ramsuran

GUYANA CHRONICLE, NOVEMBER 14 --- Sachin Ramsuran, the only son of a Patentia canecutter and seamstress, has been named this year’s valedictorian of the University of Guyana. Ramsuran chalked up 56 As of the 57 courses he took in reading for his degree in Electrical Engineering. Neither his father nor his mother were educated beyond primary school and so they motivated him to pursue his education, including taking him to the backdam to show him the rigours of work in the fields if he excused studying hard. But more than his parents, other close family supported his education, ensuring he paid cash for his studies, and would not have a loan on his back after graduating. Ramsuran is active in his local Mandir; he is the lead Chowtaal singer and also performs classical Indian dances.

COngrats to the young man.

I wish there were some canefields around here, I would go show my sons what is hard wuk when they don't want study

Well, my father was a sugar factory worker and he used to warn me that if I didn't study I would end up in the canefields. It so happened that two of my classmates who used to copy homework from my exercise books did end up as canecutters. As did two brothers who used to bully me in primary school. In adult life, whenever I passed them on the road they would bend their heads as if looking for lost pennies.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

It so happened that two of my classmates who used to copy homework from my exercise books did end up as canecutters.

Can't blame them for the nonsense in your exercise books.

hahahahaha

Reminds me of the kid who did copied so much in the exam, he even copied the other student's name

It so happened that two of my classmates who used to copy homework from my exercise books did end up as canecutters.

Can't blame them for the nonsense in your exercise books.

hahahahaha

Reminds me of the kid who did copied so much in the exam, he even copied the other student's name

It takes a special kind of stupid to pull that off.

Originally Posted by Gilbakka: "GUYANA CHRONICLE, NOVEMBER 14 Ramsuran chalked up 56 As of the 57 courses he took in reading for his degree in Electrical Engineering."

From artilce in Chronicle: 

"Sachin chose to study hard, and Sunday he graduated as Valedictorian at the University of Guyana, having read for a Bachelors’ Degree in Electrical Engineering for which he scored a perfect 4.0 GPA."

56A's out of a 57 course will not be a perfect 4.0 ... could be a 3.9 and they round up.

However, congratulations to the young man & his hard working parents.

Originally Posted by IGH:

Originally Posted by Gilbakka: "GUYANA CHRONICLE, NOVEMBER 14 Ramsuran chalked up 56 As of the 57 courses he took in reading for his degree in Electrical Engineering."

"Sachin chose to study hard, and Sunday he graduated as Valedictorian at the University of Guyana, having read for a Bachelors’ Degree in Electrical Engineering for which he scored a perfect 4.0 GPA."

56A's out of a 57 course will not be a perfect 4.0 ... could be a 3.9 and they round up.

You have to excuse Gilly sometimes. Two people copied from his exercise books and ended p being canecutters.

Originally Posted by IGH:

You have to excuse Gilly sometimes. Two people copied from his exercise books and ended p being canecutters.

Bai, nah mek me slap yuh now. Yuh ent see da ting within quotation marks? That means: is de Chronicle seh suh. Gilbakka ent got anything to do with that, except posting it here. I couldn't edit it becaz me ent de Chronicle editor. Anyway, I finish wid you fo now. Lemme move on to me oldtime frenno.

Hello IGH. Howdy? I can trust an actuary to be accurate. Thanks for your appearance.

Follow up on the "PERFECT GPA 4.0. I saw this on DPI FB...

University of Guyana Valedictorian 2015
Exclusive Video Interview | University of Guyana Valedictorian 2015 Sachin Ramsuran | Grades - 56 (As), 1 (C) - Electrical Engineering, Faculty of Technology

1 (C) - Electrical Engineering - will not make a perfect GPA of 4.0.

That will be on his transcript or if he asked for it to be removed ... then he will be required to repeat the course...

A good journalist will (I did not use should for obvious reasons)check his facts before reporting or writing...