One in four British children are living in poverty... worse than Poland and Portugal, reveals damning Unicef report

• Children's rights body blamed Coalition cuts for increase in child poverty
  • UK now 25th out of 41 developed countries for children living in poverty
  • Child poverty increased by 1.6% to 25.6% following the 2008 recession

More than one in four British children are now living in poverty, according to a damning report by the international children's rights body Unicef.

The charity blamed government cuts for an increase in child poverty since the recession in 2008 - claiming it was 'no accident' that it had risen in the UK but fallen in 18 other countries including Poland, Germany and Canada.

But the Treasury the report exposed the cost of 'Labour's great recession'.

The UK is now 25th out of 41 developed countries for the number of children living in poverty after a 1.6 per cent increase to 25.6 per cent over the past six years.

The report also found there was an 'unprecedented increase' in severe material deprivation - which measures factors including whether families can pay the rent, heat their homes and afford reasonable diets for their children - in the UK along with Greece, Italy and Spain.

The charity called for an immediate review of the impact of economic policies on children to determine the continuing impact of the recession and ensure that imbalances are 're-addressed as a priority'.

David Bull, the executive director of Unicef UK, said: 'It's disappointing to see that 18 countries have managed to reduce levels of child poverty during that difficult economic period and the UK has seen it get worse.' 

Mr Bull added: 'This report shows it is possible in difficult times to protect the wellbeing of our poorest children. If they can do it in Poland, Canada, Germany and Australia, why can't we? It really should be a wake-up call for this country that we need to do something different.

'It is no accident - that's the key message from the report. It's possible to make better choices than we've made. We have to pay attention to what we're doing.

'We need to look at decisions about taxation, welfare, benefits, minimum wage. It's the sum total of all those policies and decision that is leaving us in a position where child poverty is worsening. Living in poverty can have serious impacts for children. It can set back a child's ability to achieve and be successful in education and damage their entire life chances.'

But a Treasury source said the figures showed 'the cost of Labour’s Great Recession'. He said: 'Under this Government child poverty is down by 300,000.' 

Unicef attacked the Government's cuts to benefits for contributing to a rise in child poverty since 2008

CHILD POVERTY AT 50 YEAR HIGH

Child poverty is now a bigger problem than during the 1960s, the National Children's Bureau warned last week.

It said Britain is at risk of becoming a place where 'children's lives are so polarised that rich and poor live in separate, parallel worlds.'

It found that around 3.6million children are now living in relative poverty today compared with 2million in the late 1960s.

The child poverty rate was measured using a relative poverty line defined at 50 per cent or 60 per cent of median annual income in 2008, which in the UK amounted to £202 per week for a single parent with two children aged under 14 and £288 per week for a couple with two children aged under 14.

Mr Bull said the majority of the vulnerable children have working parents who are 'not being paid enough' and not receiving enough contributions from the Government to escape poverty.

He warned that the report shows a 'worrying trend' in child poverty rates which are likely to worsen. 

Mr Bull added: 'What's important is that we haven't seen the worst of this austerity and its impact.

'This report only goes up to 2012 and everybody agrees there's a lot more austerity measures to come and if we don't really focus out attention on making sure the most vulnerable are protected then things are going to get worse when they need to get better.'

The Government has put forward a strategy to end child poverty by 2020 but a recent report by the Social Mobility and Child Poverty Commission said the plans fell far short of what is needed to prevent the numbers rising.

Bad parents should be given 'Supernanny' classes on how to cuddle their children, says Government-backed report to tackle child poverty

Bad parents should be given government classes on how to cuddle their children, according to a major new report published last week.

Politicians have been reluctant to ‘call out’ bad parenting, despite this having a bigger impact children than money or schooling, the former Labour minister Alan Milburn said.

Mr Milburn, who was brought in by David Cameron as the Government’s social mobility Tsar, attacked MPs for being ‘tentative and timid’ about bad parenting.

Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg today attacked the Tories for blocking the introduction of ‘meaningful’ new child poverty targets
Former Labour health secretary Alan Milburn has attacked the Government for failing to tackle bad parenting

Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg (left) has attacked the Tories for blocking the introduction of ‘meaningful’ new child poverty targets following Alan Milburn's report into social mobility

He called for a national parenting campaign, funded by cutting childcare tax breaks from families with at least one parent earning more than £100,000 a year.

Mr Milburn’s report also calls for the best teachers to be paid more to work in deprived areas, action to close the gap in GCSE results between rich and poor youngsters and for universities to admit 5,000 more students from disadvantaged backgrounds by 2020.

It also says that unpaid internships should be made illegal, and that the ‘living wage’ should be introduced by 2025.

The recommendations come amid warnings that the generation of workers will stay poorer than their parents throughout their lives unless 'urgent action' is taken to boost wages and slash youth unemployment.

Mr Milburn said the UK was at risk of becoming a ‘permanently divided’ nation, with the poorest in society left behind.

It says that the country is likely to see an unprecedented rise in child poverty over the next decade, amid the biting impact of welfare cuts and low pay. 

Modern day poverty in the UK: Save the Children 2013 advert

Source - http://www.dailymail.co.uk/new...g-Unicef-report.html

There are poverty in all first world countries. As a matter of facts, they are poverty all over the world. Only Guyana shouldn't have poverty according to some GNIers knuckleheads.

We have a lot of poverty experts, expert economists, expert crime sleuths..we have experts for every issue facing Guyana today. These brilliant folks should form their own party and contest the next election. Guyana will be a utopia to live in. I might even consider remigrating.

Mr Skeldon you is expert on XM white?

At the same time we have lots of idiots and opportunists and sycophants and kneebenders and butt lickers who would turn a blind eye to horrible administrative indiscretions. Which side are you on ? Do you think the least of these English kids on the poverty line has it better than the average kids at home?

Mr Skeldon you is expert on XM white?

Nah Gyal. Wah XM white look like?

Guyana has rich, middle class and low income earner like any industrialize nation. When Britain and America make world wide news on poverty, Guyana is investing in education that will one day alleviate poverty. A country that is working for the greater good of its citizen is country that has a leader with a vision for the future. "Because we care"!

Let me add that the idea to pursue the Hydro Power Project will help to create jobs and reduce poverty. The extension of CJIA will create jobs and reduce poverty. Therefore, the non-supportive action by the joint opposition is responsible for creating poverty in Guyana.

Let me add that the idea to pursue the Hydro Power Project will help to create jobs and reduce poverty. 

In a short while, Cobra.

What all yuh low breed now about hydro? hydro seed?

D_G, I hope we can all live long enough to witness the Hydro Power dream Guyana is waiting to experience. Just the faintest idea that the project is a go, overseas investors will be setting up shop in Guyana ahead of time.

Why the opposition can't see how this will benefit Guyana?

Guyana has rich, middle class and low income earner like any industrialize nation. When Britain and America make world wide news on poverty, Guyana is investing in education that will one day alleviate poverty. A country that is working for the greater good of its citizen is country that has a leader with a vision for the future. "Because we care"!

Let me add that the idea to pursue the Hydro Power Project will help to create jobs and reduce poverty. The extension of CJIA will create jobs and reduce poverty. Therefore, the non-supportive action by the joint opposition is responsible for creating poverty in Guyana.

the median income in GY is 3500 yearly. Where is the middle class again? BTW where is the industry in GY

Unless you are an idiot you do not say hydro will help. You say electricity at X dollars per kilowatt hour will be instrumental to creating jobs. The average is about 15 cents per kWh This thing has an max output of 165MW therefore at peak it would be producing 135 or so Guyana  GPL agrees to contract for 100MW so only 35 MW is left to spare. Do you anticipate lower electricity. Note the river valley dries out normally for three months of the year!

Do you anticipate lower electricity. Note the river valley dries out normally for three months of the year!

No problemo, DG got that under control,if u doan believe me, ask him.

Do you anticipate lower electricity. Note the river valley dries out normally for three months of the year!

Indeed, under natural conditions the river has low flows at times.

However, the main-stem would be augmented with flows from other streams to maintain the desired flows at the generating plant.

This identical type of arrangements of flows for hydroelectric generation exist for projects built in Canada, US_of_A, Africa, Europe, etc.