When the PPP came into power after inheriting a public service that felt that it was the birthright of Afro-Guyanese Only, they attempted to create an ethnic balance in the Public Service with Indians, Amerindians Chinese and Portuguese. At every step they have done this, the AFC, PNC and other fledgling entities have sought to suggest that the PPP/C Government is marginalizing Afro-Guyanese.Stupidly the fools are questioning an Afro-Guyanese who is the head of the Public service to address this issue. It is as if we are stuck in the PNC gutter mindset where it was felt that the Public service is the birth right of Afro-Guyanese. All are entitled to work in the Public Service Afro-Guyanese, Chinese, Amerindians, Portuguese and yes Carib J even Indo Guyanese.

Originally posted by Streetsmart:
When the PPP came into power after inheriting a public service that felt that it was the birthright of Afro-Guyanese Only, they attempted to create an ethnic balance in the Public Service with Indians, Amerindians Chinese and Portuguese. At every step they have done this, the AFC, PNC and other fledgling entities have sought to suggest that the PPP/C Government is marginalizing Afro-Guyanese.Stupidly the fools are questioning an Afro-Guyanese who is the head of the Public service to address this issue. It is as if we are stuck in the PNC gutter mindset where it was felt that the Public service is the birth right of Afro-Guyanese. All are entitled to work in the Public Service Afro-Guyanese, Chinese, Amerindians, Portuguese and yes Carib J even Indo Guyanese.
If that was the reality why in the world does it still exist?

The PPP are in office on the backs of Indians who vote against their self interest because of the fear mongering campaign as the above. The PNC is a well known euphemism for black people.

If he PPP was concern with the long standing low level internecine political warfare among our people they would have done something about it. It is not that the do not have the brain power. They simply do no have the will for good.
Originally posted by Streetsmart:

Streetsmart in 1880 the civil service was majority blacks and mixed. They were concentrated in the low and mid level slots.

In 2011 the same thing exists. So when you PPPites say majority black please tell us that Indians who have the educational backgrounds of these civil servants have no interest in these low paying jobs. Which is why the service remains majority black.

At the levels were salaries are more competitive every time a black retires he has been replaced by an Indian.

Luncheon was asked questions about leadership in government entities. He stated he only knew one or two blacks in those slots. IS HE TELLING A LIE?

And are you telling us tyhat leadership in Guyana is the birth right of Indians to the point where over 90% who occupy those slots (way more than one would expect) ought to be Indian. No questions asked?

If racial imbalance was a valid question under the PNC it remains a valid question today. Because like the PNC the PPP gavors its own ethnic group in top slots.

Now run along and tell us that almost all black leadership of the augar and rice under Burnham was OK because most of those involved were Indians.
Marginalisation in Guyana is not a real issue PDF Print E-mail
Written by NORMAN WHITTAKER.M.P, Minister of Local Government
Friday, 02 September 2011 02:58
AT a time when we are experiencing and participating in a larger way than is normal in the music, dance, food, culture of our African Guyanese brothers and sisters; as we celebrate with them “The Year of People of African Descent”, the myth of marginalisation and discrimination against blacks in Guyana has once again reared its ugly head. In fact, some of us have been misled into believing that if we experience delayed service; if we do not land the job of the desired kind; if we do not get the response to our requests as and when we expect same; in short, if we do not get things our way, we are victims of marginalization and we beat the drums of marginalization. Many who argue that there is discrimination or marginalization of blacks in Guyana have failed to cite specific instances that support their contention beyond a shadow of doubt. On the contrary, there are many instances and examples of the PPP/C efforts and the indomitable will of our President Bharrat Jagdeo to create for all Guyanese equal opportunities as we persevere in a determined effort to bridge the racial divide.
We are not a government of a particular race or ethnic group but a government for all Guyanese. Indeed, the social services, the infrastructure, the Institutions built by the PPP/C are there for all to use and benefit. Guyana is a plural Society and there is evidence of continual progress in our country that cuts across race or ethnicity. It must be noted that Urban areas that have access to potable water, electricity, good roads, education, health care and other social services include many black villages.
Circumstances will dictate that some of us be hucksters while others are farmers; that some of us are teachers while others are doctors; that some of us are policemen while others are carpenters. Those circumstances are in large measure derived from situations we as individuals have large measure of control over, but in most instances we refuse or fail to exercise the desired control.
I am yet to see the results of any comparative study among our different ethnic groups that could be rooted in the practice of discrimination against a specific ethnic group. Albeit, quite often the distinctions if they do exist are drawn on class lines rather than along racial lines.
Blacks have been provided with opportunities to make their contributions, and indeed have made their contributions in the Public Service, Education, Health Care, Sports, Music, the Security sector which is a very important sector where trust and confidence are important attributes required. And there can be no denying that our President Bharrat Jagdeo has reposed a high degree of trust and confidence in those responsible for this important aspect of our Country’s development and that most of those who hold key positions in our Police Force, Our Army, Our prison Service etc. are Blacks.
In our beloved Guyana standards have got to be maintained; they are opportunities available and they are goals to be attained and everyone has an equal chance at the starting line. We must not look for others to blame if we are not at the starting line. We must stop reaching out for sympathy and stop disguising our political Agenda sheltering under the umbrella of discrimination.
Black leaders must work with Government to create more opportunities for African Guyanese. We do have racial preferences but these are often overshadowed by our general respect for each other.
Let’s honestly and profoundly examine the socioeconomic situation of Blacks in today’s Guyana as opposed to the Guyana of the pre1993 era. Today, blacks own far many more businesses, automobiles, nice houses, mining concessions, thriving farms etc. Today, many more blacks send their children to private schools. It is a fact, Indians outnumber blacks in the construction business, they operate in more communities than the blacks. Thus, it is obvious that the former will be seen to get more of the contracts available by way of public bidding. Nonetheless the name Courtney Benn is now a household word in the construction industry. We must work together to give rise to more Courtney Benns.
Neither the PPP/C Government nor Guyana’s eminent, respected, diligent and likeable President Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo are engaged in practices and systemic discrimination in resource allocations or available opportunities to our Guyanese people. For me, marginalization in Guyana is not a real issue.
Originally posted by albert:
Originally posted by Horse Man:
Norman whittaker is not a real guyanese therefore there are no real issues he can identify.

Another hypocrite who has sold out his people.

Who are you to determine who a real Guyanese is. Anyone that sells their souls to the vermin are traitors and not real Guyanese.

How about sitting ministas who mek sure dem kids barn in the USA? Wah you call dem, sell-out, vermins, traitors, hypocrite...give it a shot deh Butty bai.
Originally posted by baseman:
Norman whittaker is not a real guyanese therefore there are no real issues he can identify.

Who are you to determine who a real Guyanese is. Anyone that sells their souls to the vermin are traitors and not real Guyanese.

How about sitting ministas who mek sure dem kids barn in the USA? Wah you call dem, sell-out, vermins, traitors, hypocrite...give it a shot deh Butty bai.

You need to limit your fag*&toid agenda with your cohorts on this forum. Do not extend it to others.
watch your language albert, do you have a limited vocabulary is that why you have to resort to calling people homosexuals etc.? I wonder if you use the same language when speaking to Messrs, Abdullah and McCoy?

Kindly reprimand your colleague before you come to me...
Have your family been marginalized as well?

You need to limit your fag*&toid agenda with your cohorts on this forum. Do not extend it to others.

Wazzup Butty bai, your vocab has suddenly broken out of it's narrow confines. Tek it easy or you pop a tube.

Holy crap, did someone light a candle under Albert this morning....

Gerhard....GERHARD...GGEERRHHAARRDD....Albert past one sentance in talking.
Hurry up befo Albert shut up and start copying other people material again. yippie
Originally posted by Tola:

Holy crap, did someone light a candle under Albert this morning....

Gerhard....GERHARD...GGEERRHHAARRDD....Albert past one sentance in talking.
Hurry up befo Albert shut up and start copying other people material again. yippie

Butt's on faya.