suh he went to Italian instead yuh sure this isn't you Rouk?

Dear Editor,

OMG Restaurant: I can’t believe that I was just denied entry to the buffet at lunch time because I was wearing a vest. No, not just any vest. A very trendy and tactful piece of summer attire.

I was born in Guyana, but currently I reside in the United States of America. Every year I return to Guyana to celebrate Mash, and to enjoy the friendships and relationships that I value here locally.

My group of four was greeted initially by a rude staff member as she explained the rules of the restaurant, and pointed to a small printed sign which also explained the rules. As I glanced around the restaurant, I found that the rules did not apply to women and that not only was I being discriminated against because of my gender, but I was also embarrassed by her degrading tone and non-verbal communication. I asked to speak to the manager; she protested but then got her and had a sidebar conversation before I was able to speak. The manager shook her head signalling no, as she walked over to where I was standing. I was infuriated by this time so we left.

Less than a mile down the road we found an Italian restaurant which everyone in my group agreed was an upgrade from the buffet we left. They catered to our social and nutritional needs and our time spent there was pleasurable. The staff were not Guyanese, and they catered to all customers, some in suits and others casual.

Guyana is a tropical country, and sits near the equator. On a hot day, a visitor coming from winter weather and not being fully acclimatized is subjected to wearing more clothing than they are comfortable with.

OMG Restaurant! OMG! No thanks, I will not be back to that restaurant. I hope that this letter finds the right person who is able to implement appropriate changes and training for staff on professionalism and cultural sensitivity, among other issues discussed.

Yours faithfully,
Shervin Narine

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:

Dear Editor,

OMG Restaurant: I can’t believe that I was just denied entry to the buffet at lunch time because I was wearing a vest. No, not just any vest. A very trendy and tactful piece of summer attire.

I was born in Guyana, but currently I reside in the United States of America. Every year I return to Guyana to celebrate Mash, and to enjoy the friendships and relationships that I value here locally.

My group of four was greeted initially by a rude staff member as she explained the rules of the restaurant, and pointed to a small printed sign which also explained the rules. As I glanced around the restaurant, I found that the rules did not apply to women and that not only was I being discriminated against because of my gender, but I was also embarrassed by her degrading tone and non-verbal communication. I asked to speak to the manager; she protested but then got her and had a sidebar conversation before I was able to speak. The manager shook her head signalling no, as she walked over to where I was standing. I was infuriated by this time so we left.

Less than a mile down the road we found an Italian restaurant which everyone in my group agreed was an upgrade from the buffet we left. They catered to our social and nutritional needs and our time spent there was pleasurable. The staff were not Guyanese, and they catered to all customers, some in suits and others casual.

Guyana is a tropical country, and sits near the equator. On a hot day, a visitor coming from winter weather and not being fully acclimatized is subjected to wearing more clothing than they are comfortable with.

OMG Restaurant! OMG! No thanks, I will not be back to that restaurant. I hope that this letter finds the right person who is able to implement appropriate changes and training for staff on professionalism and cultural sensitivity, among other issues discussed.

Yours faithfully,
Shervin Narine

I know that restaurant it's a fairly classy joint, there is dress code, and not because you are from America gives you the right to break the rule. The good thing in Guyana you have choices , great you enjoyed the Italian. It is ashamed you use this forum to complain of this frivolous matter.

Originally Posted by ksazma:
dis lady kp called OMG "classy joint"

Read fuh ayuh self

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Sho...emerara_Mahaica.html

kp lil confused.   Seriously on the highway from Indiana to Chicago, there is a toll plaza with a McDonalds right at the plaza. There is also a button on the toll booth saying "press if you are confused" That is one button that kp can really use.

Image result for mcdonalds on toll bridge near Chicago

Actually I tried pressing that button, but a writing above states Muslims Only.

Dear Editor,

Yours faithfully,
Shervin Narine

Whether in Guyana, Goiania, US_of-A, Europe, etc, there are indeed dress codes preventing men who wear vests from entering restaurants.

I always wear my one suit everywhere I go chap.

I'm always overdressed even for a funeral.

On my last trip to Guyana, I was on my way to a meeting and got stuck waiting to cross at the Demerara Bridge so I got out to chain smoke and struck up a conversation with one of the locals. Chap asked me "if I was gettin married today."

It was such an odd question until I realized that it's kind of odd to be in a public place in a suit.

Is that the same Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday suit bai?

Our business is so dress down, I can go to work in jeans any day of the week. However, I dress a lil bit to appear to be an accountant.

Is that the same Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday suit bai?

Our business is so dress down, I can go to work in jeans any day of the week. However, I dress a lil bit to appear to be an accountant.

The very same one chap

God I wanted to kill Nuff for suggesting I owned 1 suit

That was about the only GNI insult that ever made me really mad

Accusing me....a decent and proper Yankee coolie of owning 1 suit. The goddamn nerve a dis chap.

Accountant eh? So you're also in the business of helping rich people evade the law?

Accusing me....a decent and proper Yankee coolie of owning 1 suit. The goddamn nerve a dis chap.

Yuh think he would know better. Dem black Guyanese bais does wear dem rale fancy ones down to de hat and stick.

I can't do hats. I never liked hats. Barely got used to the army beret.

Yea, I notice how dem poor people (Black and Indian) can live in hovels and dress moh fancy than me and you would ever dress.

I don't buy "designer" clothes. I never acquired a taste for them. I just have a taste for a nice conservative dark suit made by a good tailor for my particular body type. That is my idea of good clothes.

There is nothing more vulgar in my eyes than walking around with some idiot's name emblazoned on your chest or ass. Or dressing as though you're about to go play some basketball with giant numerals on your giant shirt.

I hear yuh. Seriously, how many asses am I going to read each day?

I don't think I'm allowed to read asses bai. I'm too scared of my fullahwoman

Yuh shudda gat a Hindu ohman like me. She even points them out to me.

GY has some weird laws, last time I went back I was told by some market police that I couldn't enter a Govt office wearing short pants. Flipping 90 degs days and yuh mus wear long pants

GY duz mek up dem laws as they go. One time we were peeking over de fence at Timehri and a police told us we nah allowed tuh look.

Yuh shudda gat a Hindu ohman like me. She even points them out to me.

So you halaled a Hindu eh? Well, I got halaled

Vest and a hijab might get a protest

Is wearing a vest alone considered  cool? I use to wear them in the 70s and then it was a jeans vest over a shirt.

In any event, that restaurant is not even half as nice as the Pho joint down the hill from me and one can go there in shorts and sandals. We actually went there after a bike ride! Granted we sat on tables outside.

Dear Editor,

Yours faithfully,
Shervin Narine

You scrunt think you deh in the Richmond Hill GHETTO?

Look buzz off!