APNU+AFC SUGAR STORY OF BROKEN PROMISES- NOW SETTING STAGE FOR UITVLUGT CLOSURE

Make no mistake, the wheels of closure is on its way to Uitvlugt. The stage is being expertly set by APNU+AFC, with their hence men at GUYSUCO, to close the Uitvlugt Sugar Estate and its factory. The APNU+AFC's promise just a few days ago to keep three sugar estates and their factories operational (Albion, Blairmont and Uitvlugt) is about to be broken, just as their promise during the election campaign in 2015 not to close any sugar estate.  

I fully expected the threat of a Uitvlugt closure. From the beginning I contended and I insist still that APNU+AFC hatched a plan long before May 2015 to close SUGAR as a vindictive anti-PPP policy. Consistently in the last two years APNU+AFC has denied they have any plan to close SUGAR. Instead, they spin their closure trajectory by using words such as re-engineering, consolidation etc. More than ever before, total closure of sugar looms ominously closer and closer.

The goal as announced in 2014 was and remains CLOSURE of SUGAR. APNU+AFC hatched its mission in 2014 and maybe before and that mission is TOTAL CLOSURE OF SUGAR. The evidence is mounting and APNU+AFC's wicked closure plan is fully exposed. Sugar workers and their families, people in the sugar communities and everywhere in Guyana are convinced that the narrative of closure is now real and the threats to close Uitvlugt brings that reality within sight. But APNU+AFC must also know that people are not letting this slide, their voices are being raised and people will stoutly resist.  

Just a few weeks ago APNU+AFC announced they will keep three sugar estates and factories operational. From the beginning, however, I cautioned that they speak with "fork tongues", blatantly perverting the truth, routinely lying and misdirecting people. I had warned that, in fact, Uitvlugt Sugar Estate, one of the three they promised only within the last two weeks to keep operational, is also on the chopping block. This week the stage is set for the closure of Uitvlugt. GUYSUCO announced that unless Wales sugar workers report to Uitvlugt, that estate will be forced to close. Several weeks ago, Ramjattan and a crew of ministers basically portrayed the same message in a meeting with residents from Wales and Patentia. Oh what a tangled web we weave!

During the 2015 election campaign, David Granger, other senior APNU members, Nagamootoo, Ramjattan and other AFC members contended that SUGAR was "too big to fail" and that SUGAR remained a critical part of the economic equation for a prosperous Guyana. They promised on the campaign in numerous public meetings, on TV and in the newspapers, in community walkabouts and in bottom house meetings that no sugar estate will be closed and that sugar workers will enjoy a 20% annual increase and better benefits under an APNU+AFC government. They promised that under their tenure sugar will see even more glorious years ahead. I am everyday expecting Nagamootoo or someone from APNU+AFC to deny ever promising that no sugar estate will be closed or that they had promised a 20% wage increase or better benefits. After all, Nagamootoo just barefacedly denied they ever promised rice farmers $9,000 per bag of paddy.

The truth is that they lied openly and shamelessly in an effort to fool sugar workers. In spite of our warnings and the better judgment of many fellow workers, some sugar workers were persuaded of a "better life" under APNU+AFC. But all along, the plans were to close sugar, just as was announced at the press conference held at APNU Headquarters and chaired by Joe Harmon in 2014. Soon after that press conference announcing that APNU believed that closing sugar is a better economic option, Ramjattan announced he fully supported this position. During the election campaign, they deceptively promised no closure of any sugar estate.    

Since May 2015, however, the truth is as clear as it is clear that water is wet. The truth is that APNU+AFC is implementing a mission of closure for sugar. NO "ands, ifs or buts". The move has been swift and there is no ambiguity.

In May 2015, there were eight (8) sugar estates and seven operating sugar factories, with one co-generation plant (Skeldon), one prototype ethanol plant (Albion) and two sugar packaging plants (Blairmont and Enmore). Wales Sugar Estate and its factory have closed, the factory almost completely dismantled. Skeldon Sugar Estate and its factory are non-operational at this time and plans for its closure and divestment have been announced. Enmore and LBI Sugar Estates with its Enmore Sugar Factory are non-operational. Rose Hall Estate and its factory are on a phased closing down operation by the end of 2017. GUYSUCO has admitted that it has no plans for continuing the prototype ethanol plant at Albion. The future of the sugar packaging plant at Enmore and the co-gen plant at Skeldon is in jeopardy. Now Uitvlugt is under threat for closure. This is the sugar portfolio of APNU+AFC - an unrelenting path to SUGAR CLOSURE.

StaffWriter

May 24, 2017

The human being in me feel sorry for them.  The politician in me says - let them tek what dem get.  Those West Dem people were singing AFC praises.  Now it's game over for them.  Not one of them saw this coming.

Yes, Missy, West Dem people were singing AFC praises during the election campaign. BUT, on voting day it was a different story.

According to official GECOM results, in Region 3/West Dem APNU+AFC got only 20,824 votes or 33.83%. The PPP won handsomely with 40,465 votes.

Gilbakka is from Uitvlugt and knows that West Dem population has more than 33 percent blacks. This tells me that Indians there closed ranks and voted solidly for PPP and it looks like blacks voted PPP too.

Ravi Dev and Swami Aksharananda, who played vital roles in rallying PPP support, are from West Dem.

Bibi, the politician in you is lousy.

The human being in me feel sorry for them.  The politician in me says - let them tek what dem get.  Those West Dem people were singing AFC praises.  Now it's game over for them.  Not one of them saw this coming.

You all know how I feel about the estate closings and the loss of jobs. In fact, when I came on here, me and Carib had a nice "discussion". Now let the humanitarian in me ask the politician in you a question. Sugar was heavily subsidized. After the Skeldon fiasco Jagdeo knew that the right thing to do was a top down restructure even if it meant GRADUALLY closing SOME of the estates and diversification or some other solution like leasing etc? Why wasn't this, and still not being communicated, to the workers instead of shifting the blame and lying?

GT, I believe it was an attitude with some in the government and GAWU. The voters were their best friend  just before an election, but afterwards many government people put themselves on  pedestal and the voters had to worship their little kingdoms, to get simple personal things done.

Many in the government were not open to ideas or discussions. There seems to be a disconnect if they don't think of something first.

The openness for discussion was missing. In one example, the regional officer held a 'meeting' every Wednesday, but when the voters formed a group to meet him, he suddenly changed the meeting to another village, with hardly anyone present. Accountability to the voters was also missing.,  They did not have to tell them anything.      

You all know how I feel about the estate closings and the loss of jobs. In fact, when I came on here, me and Carib had a nice "discussion". Now let the humanitarian in me ask the politician in you a question. Sugar was heavily subsidized. After the Skeldon fiasco Jagdeo knew that the right thing to do was a top down restructure even if it meant GRADUALLY closing SOME of the estates and diversification or some other solution like leasing etc? Why wasn't this, and still not being communicated, to the workers instead of shifting the blame and lying?

Hai bai, who close Diamond Estate?  Built and ethanol facility at Albion? And a packaging plant at Enmore??  You daaadddddyyy?

I am seeing more and more of how low you can stoop. My father passed away in 2001. Looks like you want a war. Remember, you opened this up. 

A DEMONSTRATION plant for ethanol that saved how many jobs? A packaging plant makes sense if you can produce a product PROFFITABLY instead of more subsidizing.

I was told by Albion workers, that the ethanol facility was only for testing. How widely is its production ?

Also is the packaging plant at Enmore still in operation ?

Me daaaaddddyyyy used to work at Albion factory and me used to take he food, but he now dead and gane, lang befo dem built dese things.  

Also, dem Topoo Albion people used to mek de bes bush-rum in Guyana, but me hear Skeldon now top de list.

Last edited by Tola

Sorry I didn't know your father had passed.  And I didn't know he came from Albion either.  So then your father know Allan Ramdin, headmaster at Albion school.  He passed away also.

You really have surprised me. Consider that your one free pass since your sister was in my class. If you ever involve my family again, I'll come at you with wrath on a level you've never experienced. Now that the pleasantries are done with, my father was from Better Hope as am I. He started teaching at 15 in Mahaicony Creek so it's very possible he might have known that person.

Sorry I didn't know your father had passed.  And I didn't know he came from Albion either.  So then your father know Allan Ramdin, headmaster at Albion school.  He passed away also.

You really have surprised me. Consider that your one free pass since your sister was in my class. If you ever involve my family again, I'll come at you with wrath on a level you've never experienced. Now that the pleasantries are done with, my father was from Better Hope as am I. He started teaching at 15 in Mahaicony Creek so it's very possible he might have known that person.

which better hope bai there is more than one 

warrior posted:

THE Better Hope. Right after Plaisance on ECD.

warrior posted:

i grow up in that village 

Lol.  Free pass.  Look story hey.  Me know you fambly from Better Hope so I was surprised when you said Albion.  I think your parents know Teacher Bern from Better Hope school.  Her husband name Bisnauth.

My father was the greatest human being I ever knew. I didn't say he was  from Albion. I'll have to ask mom. My parents met at Vryheid's Lust School where they were both teachers. We moved to Essequibo in 70. Mom taught at St. John's Anglican at Suddie and dad was a house master at the Correctional Institute at Underneeming. Moved back to Better Hope in 73. Mom taught at St. Paul's Anglican at Plaisance then Chateau Margot in 80. We left in 83.

warrior posted:

I was born in Better Hope South. When we moved back, we lived on Kissoon Street in Better Hope North. Whereabouts did you live?

You know Teacher Muntaz Khan and Teacher Birbalsingh from Chateau Margot?  Both headmasters.

Khan doesn't ring a bell. I know the Birbalsingh family well. They are old family friends. Old man Birbalsingh was headmaster at Vrydheid's Lust. A very proper old fashioned chap. His son Ernest and my father were like brothers. The Birbalsingh from Chateau Margot would be Kenneth, the oldest son. He is the family friend that I spoke about sometime ago who was coming home one night and passed a PNC rally at the Success Community Center and that piece of shit, PNC soup drinker Vincent Teekah was speaking. Uncle Kenneth was a little drunk and asked him what nonsense he was speaking. Teekah promptly had him transferred to Essequibo.

My father lived a full life and  died of old age. So were our mother.

I knew Ramdin, Rachael? and her parents from Old Albion quite well. They lived near a crÃĻche, not far from our logie. That area opposite Albion office is now vacant, after they attempted to grow grass. It would be nice to excavate it  and find all the gold that were buried under floor boards, when the old people died.  

There was a controversy regarding Ramdin not being able to rescue two brothers who drowned at the same time near Albion school, when they tried to wash their saucepans. But the water was too high and he would have drowned also. 

Ramdin lived near us for a while at Belvedere, just a few houses away.  I was in touch with Rachel  a few years ago,  I believe in NY, but lost contact and believe the girls are involved with universities.

When  the Presbyterian church was moved from near Albion school to Belvedere in 1963?, I took a few photos at the opening and  in one photo it  include Rev. Sohan, [Rachae's father]  Rev Jagnabdan, Pastor Munroe, Mr. Sukhan, Mr. Chandisingh of JCS high school and Mr,. Satinarine from Albion Front.

I would very much like to contact Rachael again. Do you know if she is still alive ?

warrior posted:

Warria bhai, who don't you try to get you village renamed to............... THE BESTEST HOPE

. Batta Hope fa two place causing too much confusion.  Do like abie do na ...one Guava Bush,,,one Dacta Bush...One Topoo..one two-head park...see its easy, not like dis Batta Hope One  and Betta Hope Two.

My father was the greatest human being I ever knew. I didn't say he was  from Albion. I'll have to ask mom. My parents met at Vryheid's Lust School where they were both teachers. We moved to Essequibo in 70. Mom taught at St. John's Anglican at Suddie and dad was a house master at the Correctional Institute at Underneeming. Moved back to Better Hope in 73. Mom taught at St. Paul's Anglican at Plaisance then Chateau Margot in 80. We left in 83.

GT, I am not sure if you lived at Suddie, but I am trying to find  the name of the cinema at Suddie. Its an old building now and  the name is faded.   

You know Teacher Muntaz Khan and Teacher Birbalsingh from Chateau Margot?  Both headmasters.

Khan doesn't ring a bell. I know the Birbalsingh family well. They are old family friends. Old man Birbalsingh was headmaster at Vrydheid's Lust. A very proper old fashioned chap. His son Ernest and my father were like brothers. The Birbalsingh from Chateau Margot would be Kenneth, the oldest son. He is the family friend that I spoke about sometime ago who was coming home one night and passed a PNC rally at the Success Community Center and that piece of shit, PNC soup drinker Vincent Teekah was speaking. Uncle Kenneth was a little drunk and asked him what nonsense he was speaking. Teekah promptly had him transferred to Essequibo.

Is it the same Frank  Birbalsingh  who taught Asian Studies at York University in Toronto ?

Tola posted:

Is it the same Frank  Birbalsingh  who taught Asian Studies at York University in Toronto ?

Frank is another brother. He wrote some books too. A couple of which sit on my bookshelf.

Tola posted:

Frank is another brother. He wrote some books too. A couple of which sit on my bookshelf.

I know Frank quite well and often phone him for information, or contact regarding my old Guyana photos.

We first collaborated at the Indo-Caribbean Conference at York in 1988. He knew I took photos of Guyana in the 1960's and asked that I lend  the conference 35 photos for display  around  the university.

I remember at that time a movie was being made  at the university and an American flag was flying over it.  I missed taking a photo of 'the Americans taking over our university'.

I was at the conference for over a week, where I audio recorded the presentations and took photo of the events, included the harbour cruise.

One photo I like from that conference was of Sat Sawh and Cheddi Jagan together[that was sent to his wife after his murder]. We were  the Western Canada contact for the PPP and stayed at Sawh place  number of times.

Sat was a great guy and a very sad story about his death and  his siblings.

Tola posted:

GT, I am not sure if you lived at Suddie, but I am trying to find  the name of the cinema at Suddie. Its an old building now and  the name is faded.   

It's name is or was Atlantis

Z
Tola posted:

I know Frank quite well and often phone him for information, or contact regarding my old Guyana photos.

We first collaborated at the Indo-Caribbean Conference at York in 1988. He knew I took photos of Guyana in the 1960's and asked that I lend  the conference 35 photos for display  around  the university.

I remember at that time a movie was being made  at the university and an American flag was flying over it.  I missed taking a photo of 'the Americans taking over our university'.

I was at the conference for over a week, where I audio recorded the presentations and took photo of the events, included the harbour cruise.

One photo I like from that conference was of Sat Sawh and Cheddi Jagan together[that was sent to his wife after his murder]. We were  the Western Canada contact for the PPP and stayed at Sawh place  number of times.

Sat was a great guy and a very sad story about his death and  his siblings.

Where us Western Canada? I too lived in Western  Canada.

Z
Tola posted:
warrior posted:

Warria bhai, who don't you try to get you village renamed to............... THE BESTEST HOPE

. Batta Hope fa two place causing too much confusion.  Do like abie do na ...one Guava Bush,,,one Dacta Bush...One Topoo..one two-head park...see its easy, not like dis Batta Hope One  and Betta Hope Two.

The bestest hope produced the besest cow thief?