On a somewhat serious note Fish,

This is an easy way to unite Blacks and Indos against a Minister. There are a few Guyanese institutions no Government can touch. Food, sex, and licka. This is politically unwise. I would never ever tell someone to prevent Guyanese people especially Indos from boozing it up past 2am.
Poor Ramjattan gon lass he Minista wuk fuh habitual drunkenness

Rum shop owners and late night drinkers are already up in arms against Ramjattan. He tekking de easy way to salve crime. Wha sweeten goat mouth go bun he batty. APNU+AFC go lose support.

Ramjattan makes no sense. He needs to go after VIOLENT crime first and all the police training / strategies involved in that. Locking rumshops is not the answer. These rum boogies will find another source for their likka, i.e - someone's well stocked house. Rum boogies can't be stopped - look at Nehru and Rama for instance.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Mayor Gulliani was successful at attacking crime in USA - he went after the small crime first and it did have a major impact on criminal enterprise.  He caught many hard criminals breaking traffic rules and when he run their finger prints, it was matched to many BIG crimes.

BT, Guyana doesn't have the resources, equipment or otherwise, that NY has. Tell your friend Ramjattan that he needs to craft a plan to handle the wanton crime sweeping the land. Arresting wan wan person and locking up wan wan rum shop is not a strategy.

Rum shop owners and late night drinkers are already up in arms against Ramjattan. He tekking de easy way to salve crime. Wha sweeten goat mouth go bun he batty. APNU+AFC go lose support.

They can be up in arms if they want but we need to curtail alcohol abuse and suicide in Guyana. These are the two scourges that have tremendous effect on Indians, especially those in the rural areas. 

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Mayor Gulliani was successful at attacking crime in USA - he went after the small crime first and it did have a major impact on criminal enterprise.  He caught many hard criminals breaking traffic rules and when he run their finger prints, it was matched to many BIG crimes.

General Granger set FREE the Criminals, the new way to fight Crime.

CHANGE:  FROM THE FRYING PAN INTO THE FIRE

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

They can be up in arms if they want but we need to curtail alcohol abuse and suicide in Guyana. These are the two scourges that have tremendous effect on Indians, especially those in the rural areas. 

Subjected to correction, Indians generally don't drink in rural rumshops up to 2:00AM. Most rural Indian rum drinkers are in bed by midnight. Curtailing the hours would not stop alcohol abuse.

In 1984, I had noticed that Moscow bars closed promptly at 11:00PM. Yet Russia had/has one of the world's highest rates of alcoholism. In 1985 Mikhael Gorbachev banned the sale of alcohol completely. That stupid act spawned large-scale homemade vodka production and consumption. Four years later Gorbachev had to rescind his order and allow resumption of alcohol sales.

I think Ramjattan is making a mistake in crime fighting by restricting the hours of bar opening. There are other priorities.

As for high suicide rates among rural Indians, restricting the sale of gramaxone won't help. People will use rope, bedsheet or sleeping pills.

GNI has a very good member named Tola. He has first-hand experience in suicide prevention activities in Guyana. He could tell you the underlying problems. I hope he reads this and chimes in.

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

Subjected to correction, Indians generally don't drink in rural rumshops up to 2:00AM. Most rural Indian rum drinkers are in bed by midnight. Curtailing the hours would not stop alcohol abuse.

In 1984, I had noticed that Moscow bars closed promptly at 11:00PM. Yet Russia had/has one of the world's highest rates of alcoholism. In 1985 Mikhael Gorbachev banned the sale of alcohol completely. That stupid act spawned large-scale homemade vodka production and consumption. Four years later Gorbachev had to rescind his order and allow resumption of alcohol sales.

I think Ramjattan is making a mistake in crime fighting by restricting the hours of bar opening. There are other priorities.

As for high suicide rates among rural Indians, restricting the sale of gramaxone won't help. People will use rope, bedsheet or sleeping pills.

GNI has a very good member named Tola. He has first-hand experience in suicide prevention activities in Guyana. He could tell you the underlying problems. I hope he reads this and chimes in.

I think he is trying to curb noise and lawlessness.  It is a good move.

I hope he reads this.

How much effort would it take to just pass a law bai?  Is nat like you using up police resources.  Is the bar owners that will be in trouble if they don't close and stop making noise.  All allyuh talking crap here ever been on Sherrif street and hear the noise when people trying to sleep?