I am from Berbice...I never supported the PPP...

Why would you support them? Your bread was well buttered by the PNC.

Please...you people from Corentyne should be the last ones talking about bread being buttered...I had to stand in line like everyone else...except you folks

I don't remember ever seeing a line for anything in the Corentyne. Especially food or what not. We bought our stuff straight from Suriname.

You bin see dem boat from Suriname nah? Suriname through Line Path, Corentyne. The PNC police scums got paid too to look the other way.

I know. I don't diminish the fact that bribes had to be paid. FYI, coolie Policemen were on the take as well.

Please...you people from Corentyne should be the last ones talking about bread being buttered...I had to stand in line like everyone else...except you folks

I don't remember ever seeing a line for anything in the Corentyne. Especially food or what not. We bought our stuff straight from Suriname.

You bin see dem boat from Suriname nah? Suriname through Line Path, Corentyne. The PNC police scums got paid too to look the other way.

I know. I don't diminish the fact that bribes had to be paid. FYI, coolie Policemen were on the take as well.

The coolies were telling the black police whose house might have aloo etc.

I had an elderly aunt once fined for aloo possession

I know. "If me gah eat salt an rice, de whole goddamn village must eat salt an rice"

Police once arrested a family with aloo and lamb curry in the karahee. Put the karahee(as evidence) in the back of the jeep with the family. When they arrived at Springlands police station, the karahee was there minus the aloo and meat. Case was dismissed.

what happen your family steal the evidence  out of the karahee without the police knowing goddam they are good

And dem Bhias want those good old days to return. Some people like to be enslaved. I say give me FREEDOM or give me death!!!

what happen your family steal the evidence  out of the karahee without the police knowing goddam they are good

I would be proud if they were my family members. I am still proud of them.

And dem Bhias want those good old days to return. Some people like to be enslaved. I say give me FREEDOM or give me death!!!

wait you saying the police change 

you were free to leave

you thieves have your pride

It was not called stealing. It was called "survival of the fittest"

well you and your family still stealing the tax payers money what you call it

A recent column from Mr. Seeram on Moses Nagamootoo being a candidate for president as “ambition” shows how very little he knows Bro. Moses.

Moses is not a fly by night politician; he is a tried and tested leader and has been a warrior for the working class. Moses was there for us when we needed him most. At a time when being associated with the PPP meant unemployment, starvation and suffering at the hands of the PNC, Moses was there for us. At a time when your life was in danger from House of Israel thugs and PNC terrorists, Moses was there for us.  There are many in the PPP cabinet now with no history of working class struggle or standing up for the masses.  What did people like the famous Chatree, Ashni, Sam, Jagdeo, Manickchand, Jennifer, Norman, Juan, Carolyn, and Robeson, know about working class struggle or fighting in the trenches for the people.  In thick and thin, Moses was there with Jagan and the working poor.

I remember when news would come to Berbice from Georgetown (not many phones in those days) that Moses was beaten again or harassed by the PNC mafia, Moses’ mother, the kind-hearted Auntie Chunoo from Whim would cry and say, “Me no know wha Moses ah kill he self behind Jagan.”  But that was Moses. He was willing to risk his life and family interests for the working people.

Moses is not and never was an opportunist.  When Chandisingh, Teekah, Harilall and others crossed the floor, Moses stayed with Jagan and the suffering masses.  He and others “stood in the Gap” for the nation until democracy was restored in 1992.

I remember in the 1973 elections, it was Moses on election night battling it out with the PNC people exposing the rigging of the elections by the Army.

When the PPP (Jaganite) begin to lose its way with the death of the Jagans, and started to depart from the ideals of Jagan, it was Moses (and Ramjattan) who blew the whistle, and eventually left the PPP (Jagdeoite), when it was no longer possible to change the now bourgeois, parasitic PPP.

Moses is a decent person, with a long record of defending the people.  The PPP are terrified of him because, Moses has credibility and knows how to handle the Jagdeoite crowd.  With Moses as part of the AFC team of Bro. Khemraj, Nigel and Trotman and others, they have brought the now corrupt PPP to its knees.

Seeram is a smart man and should know better than trying to vilify Bro. Moses, one of Berbice’s pride and joy.

Sincerely,

Jay Bharrat

Well, at least yuh got back the karahee. That was more than some families got back when their property became "evidence"

One of our cars was impounded at Springlands (must have been the same aloo/lamb gang) and by the time we notified the Police Commander that these idiots impound his share of banned goods , the car wheel, engine, windows, etc. etc. done gone

We just decided to leave the remaining "car" at the station.

P.S....We got de last laff though. Dat jackass at Springlands who impounded our car fuh fetching banned goods got instantly transferred to patrol some Amerindian village up the Corentyne river accessible only by canoe

Sad.

The Black people should DEMAND division of the country. Indians will never be free of mind. Before, Black people kill them all and have blood on their hands, the man of wisdom Ramotar should let the Black people have their portion of Guyana.

They gave their blood for it.

After that Hindus and Muslims will slug it out. Everyone needs an enemy, a scapegoat, a punching bag.

Is like pre-independence India. The Muslim wanted their part of India. After they got their wishes, they fight between themselves. And India liberated Bangla. After hindus and muslims fight in Berbice, the Guyanese(Afro) should invade Berbice and tek hostages back to Demerara and whip them good. EVERY DAY. 

PREACH THE TRUTH UNCLE PREACH THE TRUTH . PPP ALL THE WAY BABY.  MOSES FOOL ABEE ONCE HE NAH GUN FOOL WE TWICE!!!

Shut yuh drunking wite mout rass. Gwan da side. Hey hey hey.

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

PREACH THE TRUTH UNCLE PREACH THE TRUTH . PPP ALL THE WAY BABY.  MOSES FOOL ABEE ONCE HE NAH GUN FOOL WE TWICE!!!

Shut yuh drunking wite mout rass. Gwan da side. Hey hey hey.

Hey SHIT MOUTH, SEPTIC TANK dweller, how is the fresh air outside the tank???

Are you serious,what kind of kanta police were at Springlands.

This got be a joke.

Originally Posted by Django:

This got be a joke.

Bro, this is no joke..ask Chief about this.

That's a believable story.  The Burnham days were days of fear and gnashing of teeth.

I remember helping my relative to fetch car tires from the seawall to their house at Crabwood Creek during the dark of night.

You sit down to eat a meal and you are committing several offenses against Burnham's laws on unaccustomed/banned goods.

Burnham's curse had the unintended consequence of creating a Tapir town in top side.

This got be a joke.

Bro, this is no joke..ask Chief about this.

i hear this in every area a old joke 

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

That's a believable story.  The Burnham days were days of fear and gnashing of teeth.

I remember helping my relative to fetch car tires from the seawall to their house at Crabwood Creek during the dark of night.

You sit down to eat a meal and you are committing several offenses against Burnham's laws on unaccustomed/banned goods.

Burnham's curse had the unintended consequence of creating a Tapir town in top side.

That is like getting arrested for eating sardine and bread

i am from West Dem never had that experience,i had some

good friends and acquaintances at all levels whom i can rely

on,i was a radical not afraid of no one.

good for you 

God that sounds disgusting....sardine and bread?

Sardine and roti is perfectly civilized. Sardine and rice even. But sardine and bread? yuck

good for you 

I ain't gonna lie. I got beat up once in Guyana

Sardine and roti is perfectly civilized. Sardine and rice even. But sardine and bread? yuck

bai this use be a late night snack 

late night? this doesn't sound like what you would wanna eat around a woman

Dude,

Let's not pretend that anyone really took these laws seriously. The were universally broken.

And people were not living in "fear." I doan know what kinda revisionist history you're trying to write but it's inapposite to the truth.

For people outside of GT, life went on as usual with little change. Sure we had to hoard months of supplies of food toiletries gasoline etc. but life went on.

Maybe you lived in Ghargetung and had to wait in lines for a tin of sardines but the rest of the country got by just fine it seems.

All this nonsense about deep and painful roti and aloo privations is just romantic nonsense.

When you are starving, that's good food. (Context, Brother).

Dude,

It's "good food" because we were/are a colonial people who solidly bought into the Imperial economic and cultural system of the Victorian/Edwardian Era.

The sardines came from British fisheries, therefore good. The sardines cost more than cheap local fresh fish, therefore good.

Our sardine habit as a People is actually one of the most potent symbols of the success of the British Empire.

young boy then when we get away and watch late night moves in Hollywood 

Rice and eddo helped. Funny thing was the poor black people were the ones who really starved. All the shopkeepers were Indos. 

Once they took me down to Brickdam with a bag of split peas. While the poor officer trying to write up a charge, the police legal adviser came over (my school friend), and holler pon the poor chap.

TI

young boy then when we get away and watch late night moves in Hollywood 

I hated the cinema as a child. All dem Bollywood movies with their loud yelling and killings of favored characters used to frikken and distress me. Our local theater was mainly Indo.

Originally Posted by TI:

Look chap, I still eat my sardine and biscuit! Marshals

Don't get me wrong, I'm the biggest sardine eater in this family. I'm a huge sardine fan.

Brunswick and Marshals all the way

However, I refuse to eat my sardine with bread like some savage

Originally Posted by TI:

I actually think sardine and bread with hot pepper was a big sale at the train station at Rosignol, but I can't remember for sure. 

The best fish sandwich in the world chap is the bangamary fish sandwich with Guyanese pepper sauce. It is amazing.

I hate to admit it but the rum shops on Liberty do this really really well.

Originally Posted by TI:

I actually think sardine and bread with hot pepper was a big sale at the train station at Rosignol, but I can't remember for sure. 

The best fish sandwich in the world chap is the bangamary fish sandwich with Guyanese pepper sauce. It is amazing.

I hate to admit it but the rum shops on Liberty do this really really well.

YUh Rum Sucker YUh.