Non-declaration of gold…Chinese logging company extracting over 500 ounces weekly in one operation alone

February 6, 2016 | By | Filed Under News 

There are more details emerging regarding the operations of BaiShanLin, a Chinese logging company

BaiShanLin’s Chu Hongbo

that is now involved in large scale gold mining.
From one area alone, in Ekereku, Mazaruni, Region Seven, BaiShanLin has been extracting over 500 ounces of gold, weekly, according to miners.
There is no evidence that BaiShanLin or any one of the many companies it has registered, declared anything to local gold dealers or to the Guyana Gold Board.
The Chinese company shifted its operations from timber after public scrutiny within recent times saw the David Granger administration last year halting log exports. The company had failed to build a wood processing plant, in compliance with its business plans and contractual arrangements.
BaiShanLin’s local principal, Chu Hongbo, who was granted citizenship in 2014, managed to buy up, via auctions and other means, several mining properties. He had shifted part of his logging operations to the gold fields.
For example, the company and Chu Hongbo have managed to build an impressive mining operation at Ekereku which according to GGMC records, is listed as ‘Sheet 15 SE’.
In that area alone, the company has at least 26,400 acres of mining lands.
All were acquired between the 2014 and 2015, when GGMC’s allocation of mining lands and financial activities raised alarm.
Ekereku is rich in gold deposits. For decades it has attracted miners.
According to GGMC officials yesterday, there is little indication from records that any visits were made to the BaiShanLin mining camps by Mines Officers to ensure operations are in keeping with regulations.
The issue is also about a disconnect of information sharing between GGMC and the Guyana Gold Board, the government agency that buys gold.

One of BaiShanLin’s operations.

How BaiShanLin and other operators are allowed to conduct mining activities without attention from GGMC would also raise alarms about the monitoring and capacity of GGMC and how much revenue is being lost to the country.
For BaiShanLin alone, the 500 ounces of gold would represent over $100M weekly in revenues. This translates to $7 million in royalties for Guyana.
This particular company has been sparking anger because of the seeming reluctance by consecutive Governments to act.
It owes Government for properties it bought; it is facing delays in its housing project and trade mall on the East Bank of Demerara. It controls a large swath of prime lands at Providence.
BaiShanLin was also allowed to snap up hundreds of thousands of forest lands, making it the second biggest property owner, on paper, behind Barama Company Limited.

I wonder how much time more these 'numbskull' of a Government needs to take care of Bai Shan Lin?

Maybe another ten years? or are they hoping of being bribed?

PNC/AFC inactions:

asj posted:

I wonder how much time more these 'numbskull' of a Government needs to take care of Bai Shan Lin?

PNC/AFC inactions:

This company reins need to be pulled in,i don't know why this gov't is not taking some action.

asj posted:

PNC/AFC inactions:

They are Building a Strong Case that will see some Former top Guyanese officials going to Jail for the Bai Shan Lin Scam in Guyana.

As the New Govt Build their case..... watch Ravi, Bobby use Guyana Times to shout this is an attack on Jihaji..... and attempt to smear Jagdeo.

How come BaiShanLin and other operators are allowed to conduct mining activities without attention from GGMC? This raises suspicions  about the slack monitoring and capacity of GGMC and how much revenue is being lost to the country. Someone is being paid off.

asj posted:

PNC/AFC inactions:

This company reins need to be pulled in,i don't know why this gov't is not taking some action.

HAHAHA Yuh dont know???  So you are like a blind asking the blind to lead you.  Al YUh are the BEST.  The PNC LOVES supporters like you.

asj posted:

PNC/AFC inactions:

This has been happening since under the PPP/C watch. Bai Shan Lin operations preceded the APNU+AFC government.

asj posted:

PNC/AFC inactions:

HAHAHA Yuh dont know???  So you are like a blind asking the blind to lead you.  Al YUh are the BEST.  The PNC LOVES supporters like you.

Oii i am not like you bhai,your soul is sold to the,i am gonna hold it back.

waiting fuh the blast

asj posted:

PNC/AFC inactions:

This has been happening since under the PPP/C watch. Bai Shan Lin operations preceded the APNU+AFC government.

I can see you saying this in 2020.

asj posted:

PNC/AFC inactions:

Don't forget how gold was shipped out in fishing trawlers.

Notice how recently there were several photo ops with Granger and the Chinese. I believe the stage is being set for Granger to be forgiven for his anti Chinese rhetoric prior to the elections and his pockets to be filled. I keep telling you folks that you got an exchange instead of change. Except that the afc/apnu are running the nation into the ground while filling their pockets. At least the PPP fill their pockets but ensured development and prosperity for all. 

I understand your quest to educate and expose BUT this Group of PNC and Uncle Tom supporters are exactly like the old west Snakeoil Customers.  I am afraid your effort will not help any of them.  Jim Jones probably did not advertise wide enough to attract them.  Many are contributing weekly to Jerry Falwell.

I understand your quest

to educate and expose

BUT this Group of PNC and Uncle Tom supporters are exactly like the old west Snakeoil Customers.  I am afraid your effort will not help any of them.  Jim Jones probably did not advertise wide enough to attract them.  Many are contributing weekly to Jerry Falwell.

why yuh jumping pon De Big Seed Godey....

yuh think is  a trampoline....

Stop Jumping like a Monkey

on Walla Balls

Before um pop

We understand your quest

to educate and expose

asj posted:

PNC/AFC inactions:

HAHAHA Yuh dont know???

So you are like a blind asking the blind to lead you,

Al YUh are the BEST. 

The PNC LOVES supporters like you.

Oii i am not like you bhai,

your soul is sold to the,

i am gonna hold it back.

waiting fuh the blast

Django frigg-up De Dumd Crablouse

Go back and Jump pon Walla Trampoline....

asj posted:

PNC/AFC inactions:

Wasn't this illegal government suppose to take care of this? The PNC supporters were hollering night and day about their scorched practices. All the bribes the PPP was taking. Is the PNC getting these bribes now and allowing China to make Guyana a desert? I don't want to hear only 8 months story. Numb skulls said they would not honor any contracts by the PPP. What happened? Memory loss?

asj posted:

I wonder how much time more these 'numbskull' of a Government

needs to take care of Bai Shan Lin?

PNC/AFC inactions:

Nehru be careful Bhai

Yuh gon fall hard

& Hurt yuhself...

Wasn't this illegal government suppose to take care of this? The PNC supporters were hollering night and day about their scorched practices. All the bribes the PPP was taking. Is the PNC getting these bribes now and allowing China to make Guyana a desert? I don't want to hear only 8 months story. Numb skulls said they would not honor any contracts by the PPP. What happened? Memory loss?

Mits....Look....

We got Nehru

Monkeying & Jumping

on Walla Godey

ALL NEHRU SAYING....

"I understand your quest

to educate and expose"

and Other Dutty Crab Louse

Barking...about Illegal Govt

While Jagdeo & Ramotar

Itching & Scratching....

• blobid0

Riffraff, isn't  this this a personal attack?

and Other Dutty Crab Louse

Quote Skeldon ......

Wasn't this illegal government suppose to take care of this?

The PNC supporters were hollering night and day about their scorched practices.

All the bribes the PPP was taking. Is the PNC getting these bribes now and allowing China to make Guyana a desert? I don't want to hear only 8 months story.

Numb skulls said they would not honor any contracts by the PPP. What happened?

Memory loss?

Let us see....

What

Skeldon Talking About?

(1) Illegal Govt -

Isnt this a Personal Attack

All the Election Observers

from all over the world

Declare the Elections were Free & Fair

and AFC and APNU Won

(2) Calling AFC & APNU Supporters ......PNC MembersIsnt this a Personal Attack

Address the Govt properly

This is not a PPP Minority Govt....

Holding on to Power under the PNC Constitution...

(3) Numb Skulls

Isnt this a Personal Attack

How dare you attack

supporters of the Elected Govt

because we do not support Indian Jihahism?

Skeldon

go wipe yuh Dutty BT-Boy....

Wipe um Clean.....and try again...

Admin cant tek yuh serious

in yuh present condition

• blobid0

Jalil, as the day progresses you seems to behave more stupid with your ranting and raving, what is the point you are trying to make????

KP....tek yuh pick....just respond to anything that is not true.

How come Amral? Jalil shows in his posts who started calling people numb skulls and it wasn't he this time.

Come on now cain, Jalil contributes nothing intellectual to this forum. Just lewd and abusive remarks.