Parliamentary oversight of Executive

After the 1997 elections were won by the PPP/C, the PNCR used its street power to bludgeon the Janet Jagan government to its knees and extracted constitutional changes via the Herdmanson Accord to increase its powers as the Parliamentary Opposition. A most significant innovation was the formation of four “Sectoral Committees”: (i) natural resources; (ii) economic services; (iii) foreign relations and (iv) social services.
The legislation forming the committees succinctly summaries the panopticonic power of the Committees to scrutinize almost all aspects of the work of the Executive in real time. The PNC had complained that the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), chaired by the Opposition, performed essentially an auditing function, long after objectionable activities would have been completed.
The Terms of Reference are: The committees shall, in the discharge of their scrutinising role, examine all policies and administration, for each sector, to determine whether the execution of government policy is in consonance with the principles of good governance and in the best interest of all the people of Guyana.
The committees shall have the authority to: Determine areas of Government activity for scrutiny or specific examination; Request the Minister assigned responsibility for the sector to submit written or oral information, including government documents and records about any specific area of government policy and administration; Review existing legislation on Government policy and administration for any of the sectors; Summon persons to give evidence, scrutiniseGovernment documents, papers and records; Visit any Government activity or project in Guyana as agreed and arranged by the Committee and In the discharge of their mandate, utilise the services of experts, specialists and other sources of advice as they determine.”
The Chairperson and Deputy are from opposite sides of the Assembly. The Chairs, half of which are from Government and Opposition, are rotated annually while Ministers of the Government barred from being members of the committees. In addition to their MP’s salary, members of the committees are paid a monthly stipend. The Sectoral Committees preclude the Opposition from claiming they are not au fait with governmental actions in any particular area.
Let us take the present Government’s claim that they are unaware of the details of the PetroCaribe rice agreement with Venezuelans. When they were in Parliament, the now Government members could have used the Economic Services Committee to summon the Agriculture Minister, the GRDB, the Finance Minister or any other individual or agency to obtain those details. Their claimed lack of knowledge is the consequence of their lassitude in conducting the necessary investigations.
What makes their claim even more untenable is on obtaining their one-seat parliamentary majority in the 10th Parliament, the then Opposition used that majority to change the composition of the Committees so that they, rather than the Government, occupied the majority of seats in each committee. They insisted that their compositional change only to facilitate a heightened scrutiny of the Government. Their present insistence in changing the legislation back to what prevailed before, suggests that the Government is not comfortable with the more rigorous scrutiny they insisted on subjecting on the PPP Government in the 10th Parliament. This is unfortunate, because with that party obtaining a mere 1% lesser endorsement from the electorate, they can deploy same argument on the need to “ensure the will of the people” be exercised.
However, when the PPP enters Parliament, as they have signaled they will do soon, the Sectoral Committees present them with the wherewithal for holding the new Government’s feet to the fire on any number of their “excesses” that are presently alleged – from firings to audits. The opportunity is also presented for their younger MP’s to be “blooded” in the examination of the mechanisms and processes of governance. That the media can be invited to Committee hearings, will ensure the populace is informed as to who are actually working in their interests. Let democracy blossom.

Checks and balance gone fuh channa on this one.

what nonsense are you babbling like an idiot about?

per Notice Paper No.21 [10th Parliament]

"That Standing Order No. 86(2) be amended to read that representation on the Sectoral Committees should be calculated in accordance with the seat allocationsto the Political Parties in Parliament . .."

is it not a fact that composition of the committees was changed in the last parliament to reflect the then opposition 1% majority?

in real terms: 4 seats to 3 in favor of the (majority) opposition

is it not now a fact that the [11th Parliament] change in the Standing Orders reflects the coalition government's 1% parliamentary majority?

in real terms: 4 seats to 3 in favor of the (majority) Gov't

assuming that the arrangements for shared and rotating chairmanships remain in place . . .

what exactly is your f*cking problem?!

Al YUh CRABDAAGS gave the PNC and their TWO HOUSE SLAVE POWER and NOW wondering of the consequences??????????????????????????????????

drunk and stupid early on a Sunday morning is no excuse for u

Hey you DUMB ASS why dont you ask for a charity to pay for a brain surgery, and hopefully they dont transplant one from a DONKEY AGAIN!!!

"That Standing Order No. 86(2) be amended to read that representation on the Sectoral Committees should be calculated in accordance with the seat allocationsto the Political Parties in Parliament . .."

is it not a fact then that composition of the committees was changed in the last parliament to reflect the then opposition 1% majority?

is it not now a fact that the [11th Parliament] change in the Standing Orders reflects the coalition government's 1% parliamentary majority?

assuming that the arrangements for shared and rotating chairmanships remain in place . . .

is it not a fact then that composition of the committees was changed in the last parliament to reflect the then opposition 1% majority?

Do not know which school you went to but in a normal democracy the opposition controls the sectoral committee.

the school(s) i "went to" are obviously several leagues above the institution you attended

now, i cited the exact words of the Motion brought to the floor by Joe Harmon in the last parliament for a reason

what is it about ". . . should be calculated in accordance with the seat allocations to the Political Parties in Parliament" that you are struggling to comprehend?

Interesting!  What's the reason for this?  Can you cite some examples.

the school(s) i "went to" are obviously several leagues above the institution you attended

now, i cited the exact words of the Motion brought to the floor by Joe Harmon in the last parliament for a reason

what is it about ". . . should be calculated in accordance with the seat allocations to the Political Parties in Parliament" that you are struggling to comprehend?

You seem to be more familar with dictatorship than demcoracy VVP.

Well that is where we got a problem.

NO more shall Bharatism be allowed to foster in Guyana  - read Anna Benjamin today.

Is that a reply to me?  Why didn't you reply to my question.  I want to know why in normal democracy the opposition controls the sectoral committee.

You might be onto something if this is true.  

Originally Posted by VVP:

Is that a reply to me?  Why didn't you reply to my question.  I want to know why in normal democracy the opposition controls the sectoral committee.

checks and balance.  DUUH!  elementary!

Originally Posted by VVP:

checks and balance.  DUUH!  elementary!

kishan is now stripped down to his buckta . . . seeking to dodge blows by 'responding' to VVP on my question

i now move to strip him of his buckta:

"These Oversight Committees are unique to Guyana as no other Parliament in the English speaking Caribbean has a Parliamentary Committee System such as this.  Additionally, and just as uniquely, the Constitution mandates that the chairpersons and vice chairpersons shall come from opposite sides of the National Assembly."

http://www.guyanatimesgy.com/2...-committees-elected/

lol