Govt hoping to develop over 2000 houselots in Linden

February 24, 2016 5:48 pm A+ / A-

The development of over 2000 house lots from a $500M housing programme will soon be realised for residents of Linden, Region 10, as a result of a partnership between the Ministry of Communities and a female millionaire living in Atlanta, USA.

Minister Valerie Patterson

Minister Valerie Sharpe-Patterson

This is according to Minister within the Ministry of Communities, Valerie Sharpe – Patterson who told a gathering last evening at the Watooka House, Linden, that the Government is working towards creating cohesive communities and “not just giving out lands.”

INews understands that the Guyana Water Incorporated (GWI), and the Hinterland Electrification Company Inc., (HECI) will be onboard for this venture so as to ensure that water and electricity are provided while the lands are being developed.

According to the Government, the lots will be developed and made available in several categories; of residential housing, commercial, public spaces, low, and middle and high income houses.

Minister Sharpe-Patterson also pointed out that upon taking office in early January, she looked at all available house lots countrywide and found that none was available in Regions One and Ten, while only 11 were available in Region Seven.

However, large number of house lots was available in Region Six at a cost of $92,000 each.

In addition, a later report showed 30 house lots being available in Linden which she had distributed during a public day exercise.

Who is that female millionaire from Atlanta.      a partnership between the Ministry of Communities and a female millionaire living in Atlanta, USA.

It is called BULLSHIT!!  That is the new way of doing Business, so bloody illiterate!!!

antabanta posted:

No surprise here, next Buxton.

Can you provide a lucid objection for no housing development in Linden?

I can give you one: the PPP can't get any backhanders from this projects.

antabanta posted:

There is much more need for Housing in the Amerindian Communities, Mahaica Creek, Mahaicony Creek, Cane Grove and other placed. Hope you understand, lucid enough???

antabanta posted:

There is much more need for Housing in the Amerindian Communities, Mahaica Creek, Mahaicony Creek, Cane Grove and other placed. Hope you understand, lucid enough???

The correct response to anta would be this.

Why expand further in Linden when there are issues with employment? Is there really housing demand in this town with the grinding poverty due to the collapse of the bauxite mining sector? What good is housing lots when people can't find jobs in the mining town?  Shouldn't this govt concentrate first on providing the jobs to those in Linden first and when lives improve then concentrate on the housing. It appears that they are putting the cart before the horse once again.

antabanta posted:

Why expand further in Linden when there are issues with employment? Is there really housing demand in this town with the grinding poverty due to the collapse of the bauxite mining sector? What good is housing lots when people can't find jobs in the mining town?  Shouldn't this govt concentrate first on providing the jobs to those in Linden first and when lives improve then concentrate on the housing. It appears that they are putting the cart before the horse once again.

Thank you for the well thought-out answer. Can you please school your other idiot brethren?

Whether is unemployment or not, if there is overpopulation then there is need for housing. What makes you think that a potential housing development plan precludes concern for employment? I don't understand the logic, unless as is the norm, this is just another wild, idiotic swing at the GoG.

What job opportunities are there in Mahaica Creek, Mahaicony Creek, Cane Grove, and "other places?" Do either of you know how big the Linden community is? Do either of you realize Linden is the gateway to the hinterland and Brazil?

antabanta posted:

Thank you for the well thought-out answer. Can you please school your other idiot brethren?

Whether is unemployment or not, if there is overpopulation then there is need for housing. What makes you think that a potential housing development plan precludes concern for employment? I don't understand the logic, unless as is the norm, this is just another wild, idiotic swing at the GoG.

What job opportunities are there in Mahaica Creek, Mahaicony Creek, Cane Grove, and "other places?" Do either of you know how big the Linden community is? Do either of you realize Linden is the gateway to the hinterland and Brazil?

As I mentioned, solve the employment problem before building as though there was great demand. Either convince those in Linden to move to Georgetown where they can find employment or provide jobs in Linden. The gateway to the interior has not had a significant enough impact on the Linden economy to justify the expansion of the housing sector. Maybe their target are the overseas Lindeners who want to have a 2nd home in Guyana.  As for the rest of places Nehru mentioned, you would have to take that up with him. 

antabanta posted:

Watooka is an Amerindian community as well. And it is part of Linden. So the Amerindian community is not being overlooked. The PPP took far longer to start any such projects.

antabanta posted:

As I mentioned, solve the employment problem before building as though there was great demand. Either convince those in Linden to move to Georgetown where they can find employment or provide jobs in Linden. The gateway to the interior has not had a significant enough impact on the Linden economy to justify the expansion of the housing sector. Maybe their target are the overseas Lindeners who want to have a 2nd home in Guyana.  As for the rest of places Nehru mentioned, you would have to take that up with him. 

The government is not building anything. It is affording a private investor to build no different than the PPP give to Buddy, BK, Roger Khan etc.

Linden has great potential for the second largest town in the nation. It is the Memphis of Guyana in terms of any wanting to develop a distribution hub for the nation. It has abundant land above the flood zone and close to fresh water source and can grow fast with good planning.

The government is not building anything. It is affording a private investor to build no different than the PPP give to Buddy, BK, Roger Khan etc.

Linden has great potential for the second largest town in the nation. It is the Memphis of Guyana in terms of any wanting to develop a distribution hub for the nation. It has abundant land above the flood zone and close to fresh water source and can grow fast with good planning.

Linden may have great potential but you quietly ignore the fact that it has grinding poverty and unemployment, hence being known as a dangerous place for Indians to visit.  The govt is spending money wastefully on infrastructure when there is no demand. That's like creating new developments in Detroit abandoned areas. 

Grinding poverty and unemployment exist throughout Guyana. Why would the same in Linden make it known as dangerous for Indians? How do you know there is no demand? Are there abandoned areas in Linden like there is in Detroit? From your comments, it becomes obvious that you have never visited Linden and never would, merely because it is predominantly black. I, on the other hand, have visited many times.

Forbes built free houses for his supporters in Scottsburg on the Corentyne. They used the houses for fire wood and left. The area is now pleasing to the eyes. No empty lots or dilapidated houses.

Who is that female millionaire from Atlanta.      a partnership between the Ministry of Communities and a female millionaire living in Atlanta, USA.

Is that Aunty Milli? She dabbled in real estate investments.

Nah! It's the woman that Redux refers to as aunt "all you PPP auntieman".

baseman posted:
antabanta posted:

Grinding poverty and unemployment exist throughout Guyana. Why would the same in Linden make it known as dangerous for Indians?.

Because when Afro struggle, they usually look to ambush and rob Indians even though they are struggling as well!

And, of course, Indians are saints? If the PPP didn't teef so much in the last two decades nobody would be struggling.

baseman posted:
antabanta posted:

What title of this thread and some comments boil down to is nothing but a racist/anti-GoG rant.

What doz alyuh go regarding the PPP??

Is that confirmation?

baseman posted:
antabanta posted:
baseman posted:
antabanta posted:

Grinding poverty and unemployment exist throughout Guyana. Why would the same in Linden make it known as dangerous for Indians?.

Because when Afro struggle, they usually look to ambush and rob Indians even though they are struggling as well!

And, of course, Indians are saints? If the PPP didn't teef so much in the last two decades nobody would be struggling.

Yea, we know, in 1992 PPP took over a thriving and economically prosperous nation with jobs and people having the good run by a non-tiefing PNC!! 

And tell me, where does Indians go and rob black people from their daily bread?

Alyuh nah tief but bankrupt the nation, PPP tief but leff a full treasury fuh alyuh gorge, get drunk and fat!!

baseman posted:
antabanta posted:

Yea, we know, in 1992 PPP took over a thriving and economically prosperous nation with jobs and people having the good run by a non-tiefing PNC!! 

Alyuh nah tief but bankrupt the nation, PPP tief but leff a full treasury fuh alyuh gorge, get drunk and fat!!

These people the most shameless and barefaced.  They know the facts but they chose to truncate at their convenience!!  Dem fooling themselves, not the world!!

Dem ah graze like haag now.

antabanta posted:

What title of this thread and some comments boil down to is nothing but a racist/anti-GoG rant.

You have to be joking with very short memory. When the PPP was in govt it was no different, you and others criticized every single step their took. What is the saying "do suh nah like suh"

antabanta posted:

If there are people needing houses and one will build 2000 houses and since it is not the chinese building the houses with their slave labor, one kills two birds with one stone. There is employment and satisfying a housing shortage.

Why should Lindeners move to Georgetown? Linden is virgin territory for expansion and development and it has the appropriate climate and will never flood. Even if the target is oversees residents these will be bringing in cash and will definitely aim to open businesses.

I would like to see some sort of development in Linden. This administration lacks the skill to attract investors.

Linden needs investment not welfare which is only a band aid solution.

The people of Linden are Guyanese too.

If there are people needing houses and one will build 2000 houses and since it is not the chinese building the houses with their slave labor, one kills two birds with one stone. There is employment and satisfying a housing shortage.

Why should Lindeners move to Georgetown? Linden is virgin territory for expansion and development and it has the appropriate climate and will never flood. Even if the target is oversees residents these will be bringing in cash and will definitely aim to open businesses.

The point is that there is no evidence that Linden lacks housing. People are not living on the streets, hence the questionable motive of this govt in pushing new housing. The jobs are in GT, no jobs in Linden. You were crying about this when PPP were in power, now all of a sudden you are claiming that Linden is booming and hence the need for housing expansion? Can you provide evidence of this?

There is a universal housing shortage in Guyana that has hundreds living in shacks. In any event, I do not have to prove there is shortage. Good housing will always lure others to  the area and if they are able to buy a house they are also able to help found businesses.

Do not be an idiot. Nowhere have I said linden is booming. I said it is propitiously placed as a distribution center and if we are to develop rapidly we need reliable movement of goods. It will inevitably be a distribution center for the nation and that alone will produce all sorts of specialized technical job openings.

Linden has more potential for development than any other city given its location, availability of land, great climate, superb relief from bi annual flooding, fresh water and easily development of mini hydro.

baseman posted:
antabanta posted:
baseman posted:
antabanta posted:

I think you would have be retarded not to see the difference in the scales of teefing between the PNC pre-1992 and the PPP post-1992.

Are you saying there are no Indian criminals?

The PPP did not leave a full treasury. They left a lie.

antabanta posted:

You have to be joking with very short memory. When the PPP was in govt it was no different, you and others criticized every single step their took. What is the saying "do suh nah like suh"

No. We criticized their massive corruption, blatant nepotism, blatant racism, blatant ferrying out of money, blatant association with the drug trade, blatant extra-judicial killings, mismanagement and malappropriation of state assets, to name a few.

There is a universal housing shortage in Guyana that has hundreds living in shacks. In any event, I do not have to prove there is shortage. Good housing will always lure others to  the area and if they are able to buy a house they are also able to help found businesses.

Do not be an idiot. Nowhere have I said linden is booming. I said it is propitiously placed as a distribution center and if we are to develop rapidly we need reliable movement of goods. It will inevitably be a distribution center for the nation and that alone will produce all sorts of specialized technical job openings.

Linden has more potential for development than any other city given its location, availability of land, great climate, superb relief from bi annual flooding, fresh water and easily development of mini hydro.

In addition, with the farming potential in surrounding areas, it can almost be self-sufficient.