The Granger administration rushed to waste the tax payers dollars to clean up Georgetown, give themselves 50% raises, waste dollars on boats to Linden and the list goes on. You folks really thought that there wouldn't be a cost to these foolish decisions? Now you are seeing it, the steal from Peter to pay for Paul.  

baseman posted:
KishanB posted:

Fire this drunkie Minista.  He always falling down in Palm Court and has no time to do his work.  What a failure.

Is wah alyuh crying fah, you was one who cus out th PPP and the GPH drug contract.  Now, why don't you donate some aspirin with all the money and mouth alyuh gatt!!

They were the ones boasting about change and hollering about corruption.

Well, they can take their corruption charges and claims and shove it in you know where because they got conned by the PNC and Granger.

Moses was hollering about change and ended up filling his pocket and selling out rice and cane farmers.

Mr.T posted:

What happen to the suppliers ?

Those PPP friends? They never had many drugs. And most of what was available were either fake or out of date.

The drug contract was cancelled soon after election and up to today there is no replacement. These guys make decisions and then think later.

DUMB ASSES!!!!

Mr.T posted:

What happen to the suppliers ?

Those PPP friends? They never had many drugs. And most of what was available were either fake or out of date.

The drug contract was cancelled soon after election and up to today there is no replacement. These guys make decisions and then think later.

DUMB ASSES!!!!

Burhanmites, Granger, the AFC/PNC are worse than PNC part one.

Folks, Guyana is finished for good under these clueless AFC/PNC dunces.

They cancelled contracts for basic medicine when they took office to spite the PPP.

Old people used to say they PNC would build a toilet when they want to do something. Well, their stench is evidence of what old people were saying about the AFC/PNC administration.

They lack basic planning.

More to come, welcome to change, AFC/PNC style.

NGPC still to supply $171M in items from 2014 contract

Up to July this year, the New Guyana Pharmaceu-tical Corporation (NGPC) had $171M in supplies outstanding from a 2014 contract of $2.2B and this was likely one of the reasons why the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Health, Leslie Cadogan was sent on leave as of today.

On July 14th, 2015, the Head of the Materials Management Unit (MMU) of the Ministry of Health, Prakash Sookdeo wrote to Cadogan stating that despite the Ministry of Public Health (MoPH) having the responsibility to validate that 100% delivery was made on contracts, the procurement department had found that $171m was outstanding on the 2014 contract and there was a further $2.9m still to be supplied on the 2013 contract.

20150720artSookdeo’s letter to Cadogan came on the same day that Cadogan had signed off on a document to begin processing a $572m payment to NGPC in connection with a 2015 contract that was awarded to the company weeks before the May 11, 2015 general elections.

NGPC has been a controversial supplier to the health system because of concerns over single sourcing, the price of drugs supplied, whether shipments are adequately completed and pre-qualification guidelines that appeared stacked in its favour. While in opposition, both APNU and the AFC who now comprise the coalition government had vowed to review drug procurement arrangements. Sources say the processing on July 14th of the $572m payment by the Ministry of Public Health to NGPC would have raised eyebrows in the administration.

Sookdeo’s letter to Cadogan said that based on a request from the MMU, NGPC had submitted their reconciliation of outstanding costs under the 2013 and 2014 contracts. It added that “Despite the fact that the MoPH has to validate every contract entered to ascertain that 100% delivery was made”, the MMU had noted discrepancies.

In relation to the 2014 contract, Sookdeo said that there was some $171m still outstanding from contracts entered into in 2014 including from a major contract for $156.6m which should have been concluded during the first quarter of this year. At the time the letter was written, supplies worth $146m of the $171m were said to be in transit. The remainder was on order.

The items which had not been delivered included $140m in pharmaceuticals and $16m in medical supplies. (See table below)

In addition to this, from the contract for 2013, NGPC was still to supply $2.9m worth of radiology supplies. (See table below) A problem developed in relation to the supply of this item as NGPC said that the items were no longer manufactured with 400 speed as required by the MoPH but 800. The Department of Standards and Technical Services of the MoPH had stated that this speed was unacceptable. Sookdeo said that a decision needed to be made on this issue and for the contract to be closed.

He recommended that for the major 2014 contract that a revised completion date of September 30th 2015 be given to the supplier to conclude the contract. Simultaneously, he said that NGPC has to provide the MoPH with revised performance and advance payment bonds to cover the agreed extension.

20150720art 4The 2013 Auditor General report had said that 10 contracts worth $2.374b had been concluded with NGPC.

The report said “The contracts were supported by six bank guarantees with an aggregate value of $2.554 billion. The guarantees were required to be valid for one year, but each had a validity of only three months and a set expiry pattern in months ending October 2013, January 2014, February 2014 and March 2014. There were no guarantees in force at the time of the examination in July 2014, but the contractor was still to deliver goods valued at $323.321m”.

The Auditor General’s report also noted that NGPC was still to deliver $11.8m worth of supplies for 2011.

On Wednesday, at a post-Cabinet press briefing, when asked about the processing of the payment from the Health Ministry to NGPC for the April 22, 2015 contract, Minister   of Governance Raphael Trotman had stated that government has a duty to ensure that the bidding process is a level playing field.

Trotman was asked what the government’s plans were to reformulate the bidding process inclusive of the pre-qualification criteria for large contracts such as the one awarded to NGPC. He said “we can’t have one agency, one person supplying all the drugs, but that one agency, one person may bid just like others and if he or she wins so be it. But it can’t be a single source for this vital commodity that the nation needs.”

He declared “that regime is over”.

Trotman said that “it is our duty to ensure that the playing field is levelled in such a way that others can compete and that there is no unfair competition so it is a concern. It leaves room for a monopoly, it leaves room for unfair price fixing, it leaves room for manipulation and even corruption”.

The previous PPP/C administration had introduced the guidelines which were criticised by commentators for being skewed in favour of NPGC with which it had close ties.

Trotman said that in a transparent economy it was not “healthy” to have “one source for something as critical and as costly as the supply of drugs for the national health care sector.”

In June, Minister of State Joseph Harmon had announced that the National Procurement and Tender Administration Board (NPTAB) would be reconstituted.

Harmon had said the current board will have to go because “that is where the initial award of contracts are madeâ€Ķ I am saying to you now that sole sourcing was pervasive in the (last) administration. From small things to big things sole sourcing took place.”

Cadogan was on Thursday instructed to proceed on accumulated leave of 193 days from today to enable significant reforms particularly in light of growing concerns over the procurement and distribution of drugs.

Harmon in a letter to Cadogan said it had been brought to the attention of the Ministry of the Presidency that he had accumulated 193.5 days of leave.

The letter added “The Minister of Public Health (Dr George Norton) by a letter dated July 16th, 2015 has advised me that as part of significant reforms to be undertaken within the Ministry of Public Health, particularly in light of growing concerns relative to the procurement and distributing of pharmaceuticals of his intention to have you proceed on all outstanding vacation leave”.

The letter said that Trevor Thomas has been identified to act as Permanent Secretary in the interim and there must be a handover of all ministry/government properties to him.

The letter was copied to Norton and the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of the Presidency, Omar Shariff.

KishanB posted:

Officials from the GPHC and Ministry of Health, appearing before the Public Accounts Committee today, said that drugs such as Aspirin, B-Complex and paracetamol are not available.

Source:  http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...-drug-shortage-gphc/

KB, you wanted PNC. You got it. Why complain now? Your wish was answered. You should do a 7 day jag in all 10 regions and feed the poor people you put on the streets.

Priya Manikchand:
"no panadol, no aspirin, no antibiotics, no gloves, no sutures ... people dying, people getting sicker..." "$600 million returned to the treasury" ...
It is not that we don't have the money. It is because we have people who have no clue how to run a country. Old saying is you don't fix what isn't broken. Yet they sought to.
The Local Govt Minister was asked no less than 10 times last year during the budget questioning whether he was sure the Regions had the necessary capacity to do what he was doing: i.e. putting the money in the regions and procuring from the regions against the WHO advice and against what we know works as a nation. And he arrogantly said yes. He should be made to answer for this.

Now, is weh the katahars, TK, KishanB, Georgie, BT, Mitwah and the rest of the mongrel crew deh.  Is weh dem white mouth deh?  How come deh natt cussin' out the PPP for not "teaching" this abhorrent PNC/AFC regime how to do things right?   No, they are all coolie crabs who feel straang cussing dem coolie mattie but run under their bed at the first howl of a blackman!  This Indian woman Priya show more guts than the bunch of useless chicken shits!!  TRAITORS!!!!!

"Priya Manikchand:
"no panadol, no aspirin, no antibiotics, no gloves, no sutures ... people dying, people getting sicker..." "$600 million returned to the treasury" ...
It is not that we don't have the money. It is because we have people who have no clue how to run a country. Old saying is you don't fix what isn't broken. Yet they sought to.
The Local Govt Minister was asked no less than 10 times last year during the budget questioning whether he was sure the Regions had the necessary capacity to do what he was doing: i.e. putting the money in the regions and procuring from the regions against the WHO advice and against what we know works as a nation. And he arrogantly said yes. He should be made to answer for this."

This is very, very troubling.

I encourage all fair minded Guyanese to speak out now.

I cannot begin to imagine that in this day and age, people are suffering like this because of the lack of basic medicine.  Many of these items are over the counter drugs.  I sincerely hope that the people who put this government in power are hanging their heads in shame.  To deprive sick people of basic healthcare when government ministers are giving themselves salary increases and planning independence celebrations is a sin.  An unforgivable sin!

Now, is weh the katahars, TK, KishanB, Georgie, BT, Mitwah and the rest of the mongrel crew deh.  Is weh dem white mouth deh?  How come deh natt cussin' out the PPP for not "teaching" this abhorrent PNC/AFC regime how to do things right?   No, they are all coolie crabs who feel straang cussing dem coolie mattie but run under their bed at the first howl of a blackman!  This Indian woman Priya show more guts than the bunch of useless chicken shits!!  TRAITORS!

Baseman, Everyone has a price and looking for favors, in Politics most participants are more SHAMELESS than a Gaumont Whore!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited by Nehru

I cannot begin to imagine that in this day and age, people are suffering like this because of the lack of basic medicine.  Many of these items are over the counter drugs.  I sincerely hope that the people who put this government in power are hanging their heads in shame.  To deprive sick people of basic healthcare when government ministers are giving themselves salary increases and planning independence celebrations is a sin.  An unforgivable sin!

Bibi,

It is indeed an forgivable sin. How can politicians in the AFC/PNC sleep at night knowing of these shortages ?

It will only get worse from here on.

The people voted for this administration and were sold on the promise of change. Looks like they got conned for another four more years.

Not one single AFC/PNC supporter on GNI is speaking out. That is the most unfortunate part.

I remember how bad the health care system was under PNC part one but PNC part 2 outdid them in less than a year.

Very sad and troubling to deprive Guyanese of basic health care and basic medicine.

Here is another excerpt from the former Minister's information.  I so admire my fellow coolie woman for standing up and speaking out.  Good on you Priya Manickchand.

"a crisis of unimaginable proportions. of the 184 drugs/medicine noted 168 are not available in the public health systems either at hospitals or health centers or diagnostic centers. these include saline and anti biotic, pain killers etc etc. the 18 remaining drugs/medicine that are presently available, all will expire by 20th February 2016. this is really criminal negligence. two ministers at the Ministry of health, three Ministers at the Ministry of Communities. None got it right. the people are suffering. they are literally dying.

the new govt caught like deer in headlamps. wringing their hands without a solution. unacceptable incompetence."

Here is another excerpt from the former Minister's information.  I so admire my fellow coolie woman for standing up and speaking out.  Good on you Priya Manickchand.

"a crisis of unimaginable proportions. of the 184 drugs/medicine noted 168 are not available in the public health systems either at hospitals or health centers or diagnostic centers. these include saline and anti biotic, pain killers etc etc. the 18 remaining drugs/medicine that are presently available, all will expire by 20th February 2016. this is really criminal negligence. two ministers at the Ministry of health, three Ministers at the Ministry of Communities. None got it right. the people are suffering. they are literally dying.

the new govt caught like deer in headlamps. wringing their hands without a solution. unacceptable incompetence."

Bibi,

This is criminal in nature. Kudos to Priya for exposing this incompetence.

Unknown

• Unknown
baseman posted:
Priya Manikchand:
The Local Govt Minister was asked no less than 10 times last year during the budget questioning whether he was sure the Regions had the necessary capacity to do what he was doing: i.e. putting the money in the regions and procuring from the regions against the WHO advice and against what we know works as a nation. And he arrogantly said yes. He should be made to answer for this.

Now, is weh the katahars, TK, KishanB, Georgie, BT, Mitwah and the rest of the mongrel crew deh.  Is weh dem white mouth deh?  How come deh natt cussin' out the PPP for not "teaching" this abhorrent PNC/AFC regime how to do things right?   No, they are all coolie crabs who feel straang cussing dem coolie mattie but run under their bed at the first howl of a blackman!  This Indian woman Priya show more guts than the bunch of useless chicken shits!!  TRAITORS!!!!!

Oi Baseboard,  Look here.  look to the right,  Look to the left.  Look up now.

You blind bat nah see is me Kishan started this thread and said that Bobby should be approached for emergency supplies since he is the only one with a USAID certified BOND in Guyana.

Now how he got that bond is another question, but I think he should be approached for emergency supplies.

This is not the time for EGO Rumjhaaatan, time to visit NEW GPC, until we can get LLOYDIE in the game.

The Granger administration rushed to waste the tax payers dollars to clean up Georgetown, give themselves 50% raises, waste dollars on boats to Linden and the list goes on.

That explains why the PPP never bothered to clean up GT. As far as the PPP was concerned the city should be a pile of rubbish, discarded by PPP owned businesses, or customers of them. Well, no Guyanese wants to live in a copy of a filthy Indian slum.

KishanB posted:
baseman posted:
Priya Manikchand:

You blind bat nah see is me Kishan started this thread and said that Bobby should be approached for emergency supplies since he is the only one with a USAID certified BOND in Guyana.

Now how he got that bond is another question, but I think he should be approached for emergency supplies.

This is not the time for EGO Rumjhaaatan, time to visit NEW GPC, until we can get LLOYDIE in the game.

KishanB - let's cut the political crap out of this right here, right now.  Don't use politics to play with the lives of poor people.  You are one of the people to get this government in there in the first place.  Your former best friend thought he was going to be the Minister of Health.  

You all sacrifice the wellbeing of an entire country because you wanted Jagdeo out!  You and your chronies never once cared about the good of Guyana.  

Now the poor people are suffering.  Sick people have no medicine and the best you can do is inject dirty politics into healthcare.  I hope there is a special place in hell for you because that is exactly where you belong.  

No difference during PPP days, now dem bhais pretending that the world is ending.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....-centres-chandarpal/

Lack of communication causing drug shortage at hospitals, health centres – Chandarpal

MARCH 6, 2014 | BY | FILED UNDER NEWS 

Months of shortage of pharmaceuticals at public hospitals and health centres could have been prevented with effective communication between Regional Health Authorities and the Ministry of Health’s bond at Diamond, East Bank Demerara.

Indra Chandarpal

This is according to Indra Chandarpal, Chairperson of the Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Social Services, during a telephone interview with this publication yesterday.
Chandarpal and committee members including People’s Progressive Party Parliamentarian Dr. Vindhya Persaud, A Partnership for National Unity’s Parliamentarian Joan Baveghems, and Alliance For Change Parliamentarian Valerie Garrido-Lowe visited the bond Tuesday to ascertain the origin of the hiccups within the health sector.
According to her, the main reason for the hiccup is the lack of communication, which is unacceptable among coastland health facilities. She emphasized that health services are decentralized leaving regional authorities with the responsibility of monitoring the provisions of healthcare and needs of hospitals and health centres.
Citing an example of this lack of communication, Chandarpal said health centres on the West Demerara would have to provide a list of drugs needed to the West Demerara Regional Hospital that would request the drugs from the national bond.
She noted that the requests have to take into consideration regular patients who visit the health centres monthly and random members of the public. As such, there would be a constant and adequate supply of drugs for patients.
Chandarpal said that the management capabilities of the regional officials need to improve so that the delivery of essential services would not be neglected. The shortage of medical supplies in the Regions should not be a regular feature since the Regional budgets cater for health services. Therefore, managers in the Regions need to enhance their capacities and serve the people who depend on free drugs.
“The people in the system who are at these institutions need to do what they are appointed to do,” she said.
According to Chandarpal, the Committee will be meeting on March 14 where the mechanisms to be put in place will be discussed. She assured that whatever the recommendations will be, the Committee will not sit on them.
Currently, the work of the Committee is overwhelmed with members visiting health facilities. Committee members visited the Mahaicony Hospital last week and plan to visit others within coming weeks.

Haha Mars - now you are comparing apples to oranges.   We are in a crisis situation now.  Big difference Buddy!

Wasn't this a crisis situation during the PPP days? - Months of shortage of pharmaceuticals at public hospitals and health centres

What is different now? The party in power?

I looked thru all the media no reports of death due to shortage of drugs,Bibi you have any inside info?

Don't trust the media.  Talk to healthcare professionals who are on the ground in Guyana!!!  I don't have any info on mortality rates.  But do we really want to wait for that?   These people need help NOW!!!

Bibi this whole senario is blown out of proportion,it is stated in the media  GT hospital have shortage of pain killers etc,and the other hot spot Region 6 i have been reading for  a while of their complaints,i saw no other region that are affected.I know the mischief maker his name in the media, who is using this for political gains.

Oh yes Django?  Who is the mischief maker?  How many regions have to be affected before this issue is dealt with?  And let me remind you, you all own people dem first acknowledged that this was a problem.  I am not a fan of cutting and pasting.  But See below.

Late delivery of medical supplies’ problem will be solved soon – Dr Norton

January 18, 2016 5:10 pm Category: Health, latest news, Local News A+ /A-

The late delivery of medical supplies which is currently affecting several regions is being addressed by the Ministry of Public Health, Public Health Minister Dr. George Norton  has assured.

Dr George Norton, Minister of Public Health

Minister Norton today explained that the Ministry of Public Health is in the process of changing the system of sole sourcing to one of an open tender with competitive bidding. “All of that takes time, and we found ourselves in a situation where they could have been stocking out,” Minister Norton explained. 

Another contributory factor, the Minister pointed out, could have been the time in which the respective regions advised the Ministry of their individual needs. 

“The regions were given their monies to purchase medication. They are supposed to send a list to the Ministry of Public Health so that we can acquire these medications and then they pay by a subvention later. That money might have gotten to the region a little late and also the regional officers might not have been sufficiently informed as to the procedure of exactly what the regions need.” 

The Minister has said that no effort will be spared in resolving this situation. The Minister is optimistic that within a month “we are going to have medication in the country fully supplied.”

Inews had carried a number of reports recently where the various regional hospitals and health posts were running low, or in some cases there was a shortage of medical supplies to meet the needs of patients.

Guyana medical supplies Norton 2016-01-18

KishanB posted:
baseman posted:
Priya Manikchand:

KishanB - let's cut the political crap out of this right here, right now.  Don't use politics to play with the lives of poor people.  You are one of the people to get this government in there in the first place.  Your former best friend thought he was going to be the Minister of Health.  

You all sacrifice the wellbeing of an entire country because you wanted Jagdeo out!  You and your chronies never once cared about the good of Guyana.  

Now the poor people are suffering.  Sick people have no medicine and the best you can do is inject dirty politics into healthcare.  I hope there is a special place in hell for you because that is exactly where you belong.  

Oi, Alexie Rumtar posting and BIBI, haul your  LOLO.

Me going to hellp.  I did not tief the taxpayer money by denying the Indians Skeldon Factory so that I can push $600 million GUY in my pocket.

Ask Jaggy.  Ask yu fada how much he got from the deal.

You all got brass to tell people about hell when you all bruck up the country.

I am not denying this new Government is clueless on how to clean up your mess you left in May 2015, but at least they not stuffing $600 million in their pockets.

Evey pharmaceuitical deal done in Guyana cost the taxpayer in an extra $2 billion a year.

So there was the incetive to sell and sell mroe drugs to the State since every tablet sold, was one more dollar in JAGGY pocket.

Samjee.

So you and tek yu lolol and screw yourself Alexei.  You squandered almost a billion of poor people money on that broken ICT cable project.  You are nothing but a fraud BIBI ak Alexei.