A Michigan man whose son died in Iraq has burned the state flag of New Jersey after New Jersey flew its flags at half-staff in memory of Whitney Houston last week.
"They're watering down the term of what a true hero is these days," John Burri told ABC News. "I thought it was offensive to every family's fallen solider out there, and it cheapens the meaning of lowering the flag."

The 60-year-old's decision to torch the New Jersey flag on his Wyoming, Mich., patio grill came after New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie ordered flags flown at half-staff to honor the singer Whitney Houston, a Garden State native who was buried in her home state on Sunday.

Burri believes flags should only be lowered for those who died serving their country.
"My intention was not to hurt anyone, especially the residents of New Jersey," said Burri. "My intention was to show Gov. Christie how offensive it was."
The governor has defended his decision, calling Houston a "cultural icon."
"Her accomplishments in her life were a source of great pride for many people in this state and for the state as a whole, and so on that basis I think she's entitled to have that recognition," Christie told reporters last week.
After seeing Christie's comments on the local news, Burri said he set out on a mission to honor his son, Army Spc. Eric Burri, who died in 2005 when an explosive device detonated near the Humvee in which he was patrolling.
Burri bought a replica New Jersey flag, tied it to the back of his car and drove around two veteran memorials in Grand Rapids, Mich. He then stopped at his son's burial site before going home and burning the flag.
"Best $12.95 I've ever spent," said Burri.

"Sometimes, you have to do something drastic and extreme for people to listen," Burri said. "I just hope it made a point that maybe someone will pick this up and get a new law made for flag etiquette."
Federal law gives governors of American states power to have flags lowered for residents or state officials.
There is no law requiring that person to have served in the armed forces.
According to the Associated Press, Christie's office has ordered flags flown at half-staff 42 times, including for Morristown coach Harry Shatel and E Street Band saxophonist Clarence Clemons.
Burri still believes Houston could have been honored in another way.
"I have some peace now. This is done. The word is out there," Burri said. "I hope and pray something is done to prevent this from ever happening again."

They did it for Frank Sinatra and he was linked with the mob.

Burri is an idiot. His son choose to kill people who was doing nothing to him or America. That was his job.

Whitney generated more money for this economy than Burri and his whole family put together

Whitney was using drugs and destroyed a great voice but was not selling. If she was selling I could see his point.

Buth then again, they did it for Sinatra so they can do it for anyone
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
A Michigan man whose son died in Iraq has burned the state flag of New Jersey

It was a Michigan man who burnt an NJ flag. Some of these fools fanatical. Why did he send his son off to war if he wasn't prepared to make the ultimate sacrifice?

Dah di same ting mi seh to dem mammy and daddy fon dem Buxton FF's. Dem bin waan kill abie coolies an' tink abie gon jess tekk da sh1t. All alyuh wah tink war a waan side, bettah wach yuh bak. Aaal bady gon hit bak.