New Giftland Mall … a reflection of Gov’t’s support to private sector - 8000 jobs to be created

Georgetown, GINA, August 29, 2012 -- Source - GINA

The Giftland mall expansion is a major development project for Guyana, both socially and economically, that will create 2000 jobs on opening of the first phase and over 6000 by the time phase three of the building is completed.

The mall, located at Liliendaal, which is slated to be officially opened in March 2013 will provide many direct and indirect benefits to the economy and augment the infrastructural work being done by Government.

Prime Minister, Samuel Hinds delivering brief remarks during

a visit and tour at the new Giftland Mall, Liliendaal

This billion dollar investment will see an increase in Government revenues from taxes and Value Added Tax (VAT), while creating significant opportunities for indigenous skilled and unskilled workers to showcase their handicraft.

It also generates the opportunity for many independent businesses and service providers, showcasing all forms of local talent through the utilisation of food courts and entertainment areas while boasting over 130 different vendors.

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, during a visit and tour at the Mall, today expressed his sincere joy to the investors, saying that he was impressed by the tour because he could have already visualised the plant completed.

Part of the Giftland Mall still under construction

“Let me say to you that I don’t see any difference between the public sector and the private sector, I think that we all are Guyanese working together,” Prime Minister Hinds said.

He stated that everyone in their own way provides quality goods and services at the best prices, so that Guyanese could make the best life for each other.

“This Giftland Mall will be taking our living experience in Guyana to another level; it is a reflection of the progress that Guyana has made generally from 1992 to present,” he stated.

“We do have some beginnings of prosperity for a large number of people; we certainly want all of our people to be enjoying the prosperity that is coming along in Guyana,” Prime Minister Hinds said.

Giftland President, Roy Beepat making a point to Prime Minister Samuel Hinds at the Giftland Mall now under construction at Liliendaal

He stated that this investment would rely on large numbers, bearing in mind that Giftland is looking at a wide level of prosperity in Guyana to maintain this business flow.

Prime Minister Hinds also used the opportunity to explain that betterment comes with some sacrifice and emphasised that this is a great day for Guyana, as it shows movement of the private sector to provide services to the people.

With the permission of Government the mall will be fully self-generated, with sufficient security service being put in place.

Remittance flows to developing countries are estimated to exceed $300 billion in 2008

With Sanket and K.M. Vijayalakshmi -- Source - Worldbank

Newly available monthly and annual data show that remittance flows to developing countries reached $305 billion in 2008 compared to a revised $281 billion in 2007 (see table 1 below, click here for the Excel spreadsheet). The revised estimates translate into a 23 percent growth in 2007, and a 9 percent increase in 2008. While there is a significant deceleration in the growth of remittances in 2008 compared to the previous year, both the levels and growth rates in 2007 and 2008 are higher than previously estimated (more in our Migration and Development Brief 8).

Note that this round of data release reflects more or less final data for 2007, but data for 2008 are still estimates that will be subject to another round of revision in late Spring or early summer.

We are currently revising our forecasts for 2009-10 in light of the latest data revision. We hope to issue a Migration and Development Brief summarizing our outlook shortly, for sure in the next couple of weeks.

Revised estimates

The countries with significant data revisions include the three largest recipients: India, China and Mexico.  Remittance flows to India are conservatively estimated to have reached $45 billion in 2008 (compared to earlier estimates of $30 billion). Remittance flows to China were about $35 billion in 2008, some $8 billion higher than previously estimated, and those to Mexico about $2 billion higher.

The figure for India now corresponds closely with those of the country’s central bank, with some adjustment for reporting by fiscal year instead of calendar year. The revision increases the share of India’s contribution to South Asia’s remittance inflows to 68 percent, up from 59 percent earlier. The revisions to Mexico’s data, according to the Mexican central bank, were due to inclusion of additional intermediaries (banks, money transfer companies etc.). The new figure for China reflects the latest available data from the World Bank’s country desk.

Remittances data for several other countries that have reported monthly data until end-2008—Bangladesh, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Honduras, Guatemala, Jamaica, Pakistan, and the Philippines—were also revised to include the latest available figures from the respective central banks. These figures, however, are very close to those estimated earlier as reported in our earlier post. The revisions for this set of countries do not affect the global or regional trends for 2008.

Top recipients

After the latest revisions, India, China and Mexico retain their position as the top recipients of migrant remittances among developing countries. The top 10 recipients list also includes Philippines, Poland, Nigeria, Romania, Egypt, Bangladesh and Pakistan. In contrast, the top recipients in terms of the share of remittances in GDP included many smaller economies such as Tajikistan (45 percent), Moldova (38 percent), Tonga (35 percent), Lesotho (29 percent), and Honduras (25 percent).

Figure 1: Top recipients of migrant remittances among developing countries

Top recipients of migrant remittances among developing countries

Regional trends

After the revisions, the East Asia and Pacific region continues to remain the largest recipient of migrant remittances among all developing regions. South Asia is now the second largest recipient among developing regions, slightly ahead of the Latin America and the Caribbean region. Sub-Saharan Africa continues to remain the smallest recipient among developing regions.

The new estimates show that all the developing regions except South Asia experienced sharp deceleration in the growth of remittance inflows in 2008.

Flows to the Latin America and the Caribbean region were flat in 2008, continuing the declining trend in growth since 2006. The growth of inflows to developing countries in Europe and Central Asia decreased from 31 percent in 2007 to 5 percent in 2008, those to East Asia and the Pacific declined from 23 percent to 7 percent, to the Middle East and North Africa from 22 percent to 8 percent, and to Sub-Saharan Africa from 44 percent to 6 percent. Flows to South Asia grew 27 percent in 2008, down only modestly from 31 percent growth registered in 2007.

Table 1: Remittance flow to developing countries, 2002-2008
Table 1: Remittance flows to developing countries, 2002-2008

e = estimate

Source: Authors’ calculation based on data from IMF Balance of Payments Statistics Yearbook 2008 and data releases from central banks, national statistical agencies, and World Bank country desks. Remittances are defined as the sum of workers’ remittances, compensation of employees, and migrant transfers – see www.worldbank.org/prospects/migrationandremittances for data definitions and the entire dataset.

* Including the revision to Nigeria data in 2007. Excluding that, remittance flows to Sub-Saharan Africa would have experienced a more modest growth rate of 14.4 percent, and to developing countries, 22 percent in 2007.

Another project of development is great news for Guyana. Jobs will be created and will eventually add to our growing economy. 200 or more Guyanese will be put to work. Guyana will experience modern multiplex cine, food courts, shopping and offices, etc. What comes to mind is that Ramjattan don't have a vision for Guyana. If he was ruling Guyana, the country would have decayed without any foreign investors. He is against the Providence stadium among other projects. His latest objection is the Marriott hotel project which he thinks is a waste of time and money because people are not coming to Guyana. People are going to Guyana in numbers from the extension of the airport, ecotourism, the exploration of oil and the open business venture for overseas investors among other important interest. We can all agree that Guyana's interest is and always be intrusted onto the PPP no matter how you view the options.           

As Nehru would say, Guyana sweet like honey. Ah weh you deh bhai? I am busy with the Republican convention if you know what I mean. Your next president, Mitt Romney is taking center stage tonight.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

As Nehru would say, Guyana sweet like honey. Ah weh you deh bhai?

I am busy with the Republican convention if you know what I mean.

Your next president,Mitt Romney is taking center stage tonight.

To bid farewell,   ... knowing quite well that President Barack Obama will win the November 2012 presidential election.

SWEET SWEET GUYANA. GUYANA TOO SWEET UNDER RAMOTAR. GUYANESE ARE LUCKY TO HAVE SUCH CARING AND HUMANE GOVT. GUYANA GOING ALL THE WAY TO THE TOP OF THE EMPIRE STATE BUILDING AND BEYOND. LET PROGRESSAND PROSPERITY CONTINUES!!!

I know Ramotar is great for Guyana as Romney is great for America. Right Nehru?

Bhai, you only get a few short days before school reopens. When will we meet to celebrate the back to work thing? Like the wedding bruck you chassie? 

Bannas, I reached some Nieghbors from back home after over 25 years so I dance wid meh Bruk foot and all. I was the first to get a drink from the Bar and last one standing with a Cold Corona. The wedding was Great but because was on a Sunday, I was tired all week.

That mall WILL NOT EMPLOY 2000 peolple. These guys think Guyanese are fools. Employment-yes-but not 2000 people. I only hope the people will be paid decent wages. Indoes have no heart where money is concerned-they like to keep it all for themselves.

And you give your to Child mothers and go back to work monday morning begging fuh piece cigarette and piece bread. You ARe the better one.

New Giftland Mall … a reflection of Gov’t’s support to private sector - 8000 jobs to be created

Georgetown, GINA, August 29, 2012 -- Source - GINA

The Giftland mall expansion is a major development project for Guyana, both socially and economically, that will create 2000 jobs on opening of the first phase and over 6000 by the time phase three of the building is completed.

The mall, located at Liliendaal, which is slated to be officially opened in March 2013 will provide many direct and indirect benefits to the economy and augment the infrastructural work being done by Government.

Prime Minister, Samuel Hinds delivering brief remarks during

a visit and tour at the new Giftland Mall, Liliendaal

This billion dollar investment will see an increase in Government revenues from taxes and Value Added Tax (VAT), while creating significant opportunities for indigenous skilled and unskilled workers to showcase their handicraft.

It also generates the opportunity for many independent businesses and service providers, showcasing all forms of local talent through the utilisation of food courts and entertainment areas while boasting over 130 different vendors.

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, during a visit and tour at the Mall, today expressed his sincere joy to the investors, saying that he was impressed by the tour because he could have already visualised the plant completed.

Part of the Giftland Mall still under construction

“Let me say to you that I don’t see any difference between the public sector and the private sector, I think that we all are Guyanese working together,” Prime Minister Hinds said.

He stated that everyone in their own way provides quality goods and services at the best prices, so that Guyanese could make the best life for each other.

“This Giftland Mall will be taking our living experience in Guyana to another level; it is a reflection of the progress that Guyana has made generally from 1992 to present,” he stated.

“We do have some beginnings of prosperity for a large number of people; we certainly want all of our people to be enjoying the prosperity that is coming along in Guyana,” Prime Minister Hinds said.

Giftland President, Roy Beepat making a point to Prime Minister Samuel Hinds at the Giftland Mall now under construction at Liliendaal

He stated that this investment would rely on large numbers, bearing in mind that Giftland is looking at a wide level of prosperity in Guyana to maintain this business flow.

Prime Minister Hinds also used the opportunity to explain that betterment comes with some sacrifice and emphasised that this is a great day for Guyana, as it shows movement of the private sector to provide services to the people.

With the permission of Government the mall will be fully self-generated, with sufficient security service being put in place.

It will create jobs, but how many people have disposable income to shop there.  Nice pics.

And you give your to Child mothers and go back to work monday morning begging fuh piece cigarette and piece bread. You ARe the better one.

seignet is an Indo.

Thanks for your racist stereotyping though.

Hey, yuh low life cooolie razz.

Becareful. Take that as a WARNING!!!!!!!!!!!!

There is no architecture to the building. It is a box, it actually takes up the entire lot. No parking space. No green spaces. And it is callled a 'Mall".

I guess another local tourist spot.

Guyana is made up of rich, poor and middle class. Somehow, Guyanese of all walks of life managed to support high-end and low end businesses. A study had to be in place for making profits from a high tech mall. The Mariott hotel project is another major undertaken; the question may be asked again how they will survived with the Princess, Pegasus, Towers and other that are doing just fine.

Well, do you have some facts to refute the claim.  It sounds like alot but unless you can refute the claim, then it's just making noise.

Guyana is made up of rich, poor and middle class. Somehow, Guyanese of all walks of life managed to support high-end and low end businesses. A study had to be in place for making profits from a high tech mall. The Mariott hotel project is another major undertaken; the question may be asked again how they will survived with the Princess, Pegasus, Towers and other that are doing just fine.

The creation of jobs will push prosperity down to the poor as opportunities expand.

So more opportunities for Guyanese to spend their remittances.

Well, now what's your beef?

None.  Clearly it isnt bringing in foreign exchange, but if the PPP thinks that Guyana will develop through recycling remittances power to them.

For the rest of us a multiplex cinema, and more shops is a non event.

Bannas, I reached some Nieghbors from back home after over 25 years so I dance wid meh Bruk foot and all. I was the first to get a drink from the Bar and last one standing with a Cold Corona. The wedding was Great but because was on a Sunday, I was tired all week.

Yuh ever watch an old cooolie making an azz of himself on the dance floor. Pay close attention-that could br u.

Well, do you have some facts to refute the claim.  It sounds like alot but unless you can refute the claim, then it's just making noise.

Since when are shopping malls and multiplex cinemas labor intensive places?

If only the same attempt was being made to celebrate a Guyanese who was opening up a business to export goods and/or services to enable the nation to generate more foreign exchange.

Then those working in that sector would earn ample to spend there w/o harrassing their US based relatives.

Baseman, I know u have an appreciation of how much space it takes just to house 8000 people and without the allowances for consumer goods.

If the mall wasnt opened up by a PPP supporter, and we know it was from the huge publicity for an ordinary event, he wouldnt be so defensive.

He is still upset that the AFC didnt coalesce with the PPP to allow the latter total control over parliament.

I understand, but it would good to see where the numbers come from.  I assume they include other feeder support heads which will not be at the mall itself.  But I have to admit, the numbers seem very "liberal".

This mall is on a large open space and it will be built with comfort and convenience in mind. This mall is really going to replace the 4-story shopping complex in Water St. I think it's owned by Baichandeen. This store is constantly packed with shoppers; and they actually buy stuff. Those cashiers really work their behinds off. And you can get anything from an A to Z. 

Guyanese do have spending money - however they come by it. But there is an air of commercialism and enterprise that is in contrast to what you read in these here posts.

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

People gat money and they spend. If you want to come down and do an impact study you are free to do so.  

You are a very stupid person. Actually calling you an idiot would be an insult to all the stupid people. What is the name of your Village?

More Job created = Bad news for AFC

Jobs destroyed by Ramjattan and extremist gang = Good news for AFC

Go figure..........

You have got to be drunk or using some kind of substance to make these rumshop posts at this time of the night and seeking relevance.

People gat money and they spend. If you want to come down and do an impact study you are free to do so.  

You are a very stupid person. Actually calling you an idiot would be an insult to all the stupid people. What is the name of your Village?

Good, you got to stop imagining that you are feeling my hands. Then you might learn something. 

Are your really this cretinous or are you making a special effort to prove that you are a person of subnormal intelligence?

95% of all goods sold in that mall will be imported. So it's the importers who'll be making money together with the foreign manufacturers.  Few chances for local produce to be commercially viable.