Dear Editor,

Dr Cheddi Jagan‘s PPP has been transformed from a pro-working class party that unites the working class, the peasants (farmers), the progressive intelligentia, the progressive business community and all working people into a petit bourgeois social democratic party. Those who professed to be Jagan knights allowed this transformation to take place because they have opportunist tendencies; they want to become rich at the expense of the working people. Those who are honest, sincere and loyal Jagan knights, want to walk in the footsteps of Dr Cheddi Jagan and who have the people’s interest at heart have been given the boot. A cabal has hijacked the PPP.

Dr Cheddi Jagan in a whole lifetime of struggle had championed the cause of the working class and working people of this country. In all his speeches and talks the working class and working people’s struggle were featured.

Since 2006 this new PPP has purged itself of Dr Jagan’s ideology. In none of their rallies and public meetings were the struggle of the working class and working people ever mentioned. Most recently an offensive was launched against the most militant and revolutionary section of the working class in the form of derecognizing their trade union, GAWU.  Moses Nagamootoo had to intervene then the de-recognition issue was withdrawn.

On an NCN TV programme, ‘PPP/C election campaign update,’ Mr Robert Persaud misled the Guyanese nation when he said that the PPP executive and membership elected Mr Donald Ramotar as their presidential candidate. What actually took place was that the party’s executive and the central committee which consists of 35 persons elected Mr Donald Ramotar as presidential candidate, and then took him to the membership for confirmation.

In all the previous general elections the PPP had only one contender as a presidential candidate, but in 2011 there were five contenders, bearing in mind Cheddi and Janet Jagan were not around to give guidance. Moses Nagamootoo proposed to the PPP that this matter should be discussed at the three country conferences and a special party congress should be convened where each contender would present their vision for the development of Guyana. Congress is the highest authority and forum in the PPP, and it should decide whom it want to be the party’s presidential candidate, based upon their presentation.

Moses Nagamootoo said that President Bharrat Jagdeo opposed this proposal; he opposed inner-party democracy. He is afraid of the party membership. At the PPP Congress in Zeeburg, West Coast Demerara, Moses Nagamootoo came second in the vote, higher than President Bharrat Jagdeo at that time. At the Congress in Diamond, East Bank Demerara, Moses Nagamootoo came out in fifth place notwithstanding the heavy campaign which was carried out against him.

The people in Guyana love Moses. Moses Nagamootoo was the Prince that Dr Cheddi Jagan used to walk with on his election campaign trail east, west north and south within the boundaries of Guyana. Moses Nagamootoo was the Lion who used to go to the battle front when the battle was fierce and others would decline to go. Moses Nagamootoo is a charismatic leader and he has the kind of charisma that a president would need. The PPP has lost a great leader and I know that all sincere PPP members are worried.

Yours faithfully, Kalidas Rangasammy

He may have a point BUT there needs to be a Balance. The working Class are the majority and therefore very important. On the other hand the Business Class is also very important with regards to Finance and spreading the Gospel words of the PPP. It is important that each Group be organised and are able to extract maximum benefits.

When you and your boys from Freedom house finish extracting Guyanese will walk with a bowl begging.

So you are saying we are good at what we do. Thank you for the compliment.

Dr Cheddi Jagan‘s PPP has been transformed from a pro-working class party that unites the working class, the peasants (farmers), the progressive intelligentia, the progressive business community and all working people into a petit bourgeois social democratic party. Those who professed to be Jagan knights allowed this transformation to take place because they have opportunist tendencies; they want to become rich at the expense of the working people. Those who are honest, sincere and loyal Jagan knights, want to walk in the footsteps of Dr Cheddi Jagan and who have the people’s interest at heart have been given the boot. A cabal has hijacked the PPP.

Very good at thieving the Gov't money. In 2 years Minister Irfann Alli built a house with a pool I ain't think  that can be beaten. 

6 years  as Minister Of Tourism Manniram bought Palm Court for 2 Million US DOLLARS

I ain't think  that can be beaten. 

Originally Posted by Observer:

The wealthy and benevolent Chief will supply the use of his Courier company to ship the book!

Would he get 17 acres at Lenora?

With Chief's connections, anything is possible! Is this a new village? The one I know is Leonora.   

That was before the 17 acres was gifted to Ed.

Very good at thieving the Gov't money. In 2 years Minister Irfann Alli built a house with a pool I ain't think  that can be beaten. 

6 years  as Minister Of Tourism Manniram bought Palm Court for 2 Million US DOLLARS

I ain't think  that can be beaten. 

Dey not the only ones, they came lately. Under Jagan many of his old guard Knights stole the ppls money as well. He din say a word. These ppl piss me off who claim the man was for the working class. Since the inception of the PPP as a government, CBJ allowed ppl to help themselves. He always had the desire in his heart to look to the other way for those who struggled with him in GT. And foook the impoverished estate cooolies.  

Did Chief receive protection from the PNC when he was a PNC card holder? If he put that in value, he also squander the Guyanese people money for personal favors.

Bannas, Yuh nah kno talk CHEAP but REALITY is a BYTCH!! Snakeoil anyone.??

Pavi, I know you're a poor man - that's why you talk cheap and your talk IS cheap. It's refreshing that you confess your reality is a BYTCH. You're a consumer of snakeoil now? What, ghee and lard nah good enuff?

Did Chief receive protection from the PNC when he was a PNC card holder? If he put that in value, he also squander the Guyanese people money for personal favors.

Pavi, I know you're a poor man - that's why you talk cheap and your talk IS cheap. It's refreshing that you confess your reality is a BYTCH. You're a consumer of snakeoil now? What, ghee and lard nah good enuff?

Bannas, Our Community knows well of your deeds. You have been selling Snakeoil to Librerty Ave Businessmen since your TV days.

No wonder I was missing some baakles...ah yuh who stole them! Consumerman of snakeoil. It muss have been sweet likka sumatoo and AuntyMaryGuava....