The discussion is timely maintenance of the existing road. This would indicate a caring for the working class you speak of.

Of course, the new road would be a most welcome development, and one that has been spoken of for 19 years now. But this is no justification to keep the people suffering in the meantime. Or is it?
young man you have to understand the administration can't do everything at once....(there's a old saying...Rome wasn't build in a day) the residents had a dust problem in Mahaica you goons went and organize a protest.....a workers was sacked for leaking information from place of work you goons protest.....It would surprise me if you goons and hold you a placard in the trail....instead of assist residents from the natural disaster....Would Boyo be proud of his little puddle???
Originally posted by albert:
young man you have to understand the administration can't do everything at once....(there's a old saying...Rome wasn't build in a day) the residents had a dust problem in Mahaica you goons went and organize a protest.....a workers was sacked for leaking information from place of work you goons protest.....It would surprise me if you goons and hold you a placard in the trail....instead of assist residents from the natural disaster....Would Boyo be proud of his little puddle???
For 19 years, it is known what the rainy season will bring to the road. You are not denying that the resources to fix it are there, are you now? So the question is timing...why not do it in time? Please, it is a very simple question.

And on the question of assistance, who has access to state resources and proclaims itself a working class party? And if you are such a working class party why are you making demands of "a cake shop" party to assist?
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Hey ksaz wavey We are good, son's growing quickly Smile Hope all is well on your end Smile

We are doing as well as we could. Nephew still in hospital and needs blodd today. Getting up to 8 months since he has been there but nothing anyone can do about that except hope for some good news soon.
Originally posted by ksazma:
Hey ksaz wavey We are good, son's growing quickly Smile Hope all is well on your end Smile

We are doing as well as we could. Nephew still in hospital and needs blodd today. Getting up to 8 months since he has been there but nothing anyone can do about that except hope for some good news soon.
Oh no man, that's rough - sorry for not asking Frown Hope he improves, and I can only imagine the toll it is taking on the family...
For 19 years, it is known what the rainy season will bring to the road. You are not denying that the resources to fix it are there, are you now? So the question is timing...why not do it in time? Please, it is a very simple question.

And on the question of assistance, who has access to state resources and proclaims itself a working class party? And if you are such a working class party why are you making demands of "a cake shop" party to assist?
I am still waiting on your answers, albert.
young man you have to understand the administration can't do everything at once....(there's a old saying...Rome wasn't build in a day) the residents had a dust problem in Mahaica you goons went and organize a protest.....a workers was sacked for leaking information from place of work you goons protest.....
Are you saying the "cake shop" AFC is making the mighty PPP dance?

albert please don't vex when yuh pay get dock this month - your superiors would be perfectly in order.
Oh no man, that's rough - sorry for not asking Frown Hope he improves, and I can only imagine the toll it is taking on the family...

It is tough but nothing one can do about that. The worse thing to do is give up. Fortunately we are a large closely knitted family to there is always someone to lean on.
Originally posted by ksazma: It is tough but nothing one can do about that. The worse thing to do is give up. Fortunately we are a large closely knitted family to there is always someone to lean on.
Praise be to our Guyanese roots...I will keep him in my thoughts and prayer...

Thanks again. And sorry for diverting your topic. Smile
young man you have to understand the administration can't do everything at once....(there's a old saying...Rome wasn't build in a day) the residents had a dust problem in Mahaica you goons went and organize a protest.....a workers was sacked for leaking information from place of work you goons protest.....

albert please don't vex when yuh pay get dock this month - your superiors would be perfectly in order.

Confused With good reason one can suspect that in his heart Albert is really supporting the AFC.
dunno Albert is a closet AFC!!! yippie
Originally posted by squingy:

Confused With good reason one can suspect that in his heart Albert is really supporting the AFC.
dunno Albert is a closet AFC!!! yippie
lol Good one squingy - albert certainly makes it easier for us!
Intraserv scraps GT to Lethem bus route
Written by Kwesi Isles
Tuesday, 31 May 2011 15:16

Intraserv will no longer be plying the Georgetown to Lethem bus route, the company has revealed, just days after the service was suspended as a result of the bad state of the trail. Intraserv Inc., which has been operating since February 2003, is part of the Correia Group of Companies. Director of Business Development Chris Correia on Tuesday informed demwaves.com that the decision, which will see some 18 persons being laid off, was taken after much “deliberation and soul searching.”

It was the failure of the long-promised all weather road to materialize that crystallized the decision, he said. “Bear in mind we have been deliberating this matter since 2008, when we realized any commitment to an all weather road would not be forthcoming anytime soon. We consider many sections of the road and bridges to be unsafe, and worsening by the day and the toll it was taking on the buses was making it impossible for us to maintain them in a manner we were comfortable with. There was only one decision to make.”

In addition to the staff who will be out of jobs, Correia said there are many other individuals who depend on the bus service to make a living by supplying one service or another, both in Lethem and Georgetown. “We outsourced as much of our work as possible. Many small people, like the wash man who cleans the outside of the buses, the cleaners who cleaned the inside of the buses and offices, the welding shop in Industry who did a lot of steel fabrication of bumpers et cetera the upholsterer at Mon Repos who did 48 seats at a time, the tailor who sewed for us â€Ķ” Correia’s list included ticket agents, a city hotel, restaurant and bar which passengers patronized, a pastor in Lethem who provided washing services, the trucks stops along Mabura Road and at Annai and “the poor lady in Lethem who rented us her house to accommodate our drivers” “Don’t get me wrong, they are all strong enough to survive, but they will be sad to see us go.”

According to Correia, they have decided to watch how things develop from the sidelines. “If conditions ever improve to the point where we feel we can offer the kind of service we set out to offer in the first place, then we may consider re-entering the business,” he said.
Intraserv ran a fleet of five 44-seater buses daily during the dry season and three to five trips per week during the rainy season. The May/June rains have started and this has contributed to the state of the trail with Transport Minister Robeson Benn this week dispatching contractors to carry out emergency works at different parts.

Meanwhile, Chairman of the Rupununi Chamber of Commerce Alfred Ramsarran expressed regret at Intraserv’s pullout saying that he preferred travelling with them for the comfort instead of the minibuses. However, he opined that he did not believe the service was doing well lately given the prevalence of the minibuses which ran throughout the dry and rainy seasons. Ramsarran added that travelers were also not happy with delays in some instances due to the buses breaking down along the trail. One advantage of the bus, he noted, was that they operated during the day which enabled villagers to utilise them to get to work in other parts of the region. The chairman said businesses in the region would not be affected by Intraserv’s closure since most of them brought their goods in by truck.

Efforts to reach tourism officials from the private and public sectors were not immediately successful.

High fuel prices rock Lethem
JUNE 22, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

Frustrated motorists parked their vehicles in protest of the high cost of fuel.
- bad road leads to increased acquisition costs

While the flood waters have receded and life is slowly getting back to normal in the Rupununi, the people of Lethem and surrounding communities are faced with a new problem – the rising cost of fuel. In what is being seen as direct fallout from the recent floods, fuel prices have skyrocketed due to the high cost of bringing it to the fuel pumps at Lethem.

Reports reaching this newspaper are that the main reason for the high transshipment cost is the state of the Linden to Lethem road. Transporters of fuel have indicated that while the situation of the road was bad as at the beginning of the year, the recent flood has rendered the road almost impassable. In some areas, trucks transporting the fuel have stopped traversing in as much as 18 miles of slush during their back and forth journey from Lethem. This has definitely forced them to increase the price they charge to transport fuel, as it now takes operators as much as 17 hours per trip. It was reported that many truck drivers are reluctant to undertake the trip to transport fuel.

Prior to the flood gasoline was being retailed around $270 per litre. However yesterday it was being sold as high as $400 per litre at a privately owned filing station. Kaieteur News was told that to cushion the impact, the GuyOil station at Lethem had stabilized its price for gasoline at $300 per litre. It is hoped that the state-owned fuel company will maintain a steady supply of the precious commodity so as to minimise the suffering that appears imminent.

The sharp hike in fuel prices angered vehicle owners, many of whom parked their vehicles in protest. And with the fuel price as high as it is presently, the cost of transportation is expected to rise also. While operators of the main bus service from Lethem to Georgetown declined to comment on the issue, it is widely anticipated that the fare will see a significant increase from the current $10,000 per passenger.

albert, I am still awaiting your answers to the following questions:

1. For 19 years, it is known what the rainy season will bring to the road. You are not denying that the resources to fix it are there, are you now? So the question is timing...why not do it in time? Please, it is a very simple question.

2. And on the question of assistance, who has access to state resources and proclaims itself a working class party? And if you are such a working class party why are you making demands of "a cake shop" party to assist?
albert, I am still awaiting your answers to the following questions:

1. For 19 years, it is known what the rainy season will bring to the road. You are not denying that the resources to fix it are there, are you now? So the question is timing...why not do it in time? Please, it is a very simple question.

2. And on the question of assistance, who has access to state resources and proclaims itself a working class party? And if you are such a working class party why are you making demands of "a cake shop" party to assist?

Patience bai, A-butty still in da dutty haus. Wink
Gov’t ramps up Region Nine aid, cash for families
-around 90,000 pounds of crops lost to floods

By GAULBERT SUTHERLAND |
LOCAL NEWS | THURSDAY, JUNE 23, 2011

Government yesterday began the third phase of recovery efforts for flood-affected communities across Region Nine, with a focus on food and food production for the agriculture-dependent indigenous villages in the sprawling savannah region.

Preliminary reports say that over 1,000 acres of farmland were flooded and over 90,000 pounds of crops were lost, Agriculture Minister Robert Persaud told a stakeholders’ recovery workshop in Lethem yesterday.

Water levels remain high on the Moco-Moco creek that divides Lethem and St. Ignatius.

Toshaos and village leaders from some 60 communities across the Central and Northern Rupununi gathered at the Amerindian Hostel for the workshop, relating their experience of what was described as “the largest flood in living memory” and requesting various forms of assistance. Officials took details for the assistance package being worked on. A similar meeting is planned for Aishalton in the Deep South Rupununi tomorrow.

The floodwaters, which covered low-lying communities including the administrative centre, Lethem, for days earlier this month, have receded. But with rains continuing, water levels in many rivers and creeks remain high. Persaud promised that government’s assistance will be sustained and yesterday handed over to the toshaos a quantity of items including cassava mills, chemicals to combat pests, storage containers, spray cans, pumps, and planting materials, among other things. $10M has been expended in addition to the $50M for relief efforts, Persaud said.

This third phase of recovery will last for four to five months, Regional Executive Of-ficer Ronald Harsawack told the workshop. Persaud told Stabroek News that officials are out in the communities and along with Toshaos will gather information which will be put in a database for the financial assistance that government will be providing to flood-affected communities.

Village leaders line up to speak at a flood recovery workshop in Lethem yesterday.

He said that the figure for this financial package is not yet known nor is how much a household is likely to get. “It depends on the family and recommendationsâ€Ķit has to be done in a consultative manner,” said the Minister. Many of the village leaders spoke on the experience of their villages with the recent flood and related similar stories. John Daniels, toshao of Parikwarinau, located in the South Central Rupununi, said that out of 40 households, 30 were affected by the floods. He said that they need chemicals to combat pests. He pointed out too that some farmers had planted acres of cassava but had nothing in which to store the produce. Leaders from other villages related similar tales and requested various forms of assistance including chemicals, fertilizers, planting materials and storage containers, among other items.

However, other villages like Katoonarib were not badly affected. Toshao Hilbert Wilson said that they have enough cassava which they are willing to supply to badly-affected villages once there is a market. Persaud said that the Ministry will buy produce and planting materials from the farmers rather than bringing these from the coast once they are available.

Several other toshaos said that livestock was affected and requested veterinary assistance. The representative from Kumu said that it was the biggest flood they have ever experienced and out of 54 households, 26 were affected. He said that the village wants a cassava mill to process their produce. The toshao of Massara said that the village was badly affected by the floods and some of their animals were starting to have “foot rot” while the representative from Parishara said that farms are being destroyed up to now. “The effect of the flood is still going on,” he said.

Persaud spoke of the interventions thus far, pointed to the supplies being provided yesterday and said that additional teams will be sent in. He also ordered agriculture officials immediately to the areas where there was a need. The minister also urged farmers to learn from the experience and practice “climate-smart” agriculture. He warned that with climate change, the possibility of the type of weather system experienced occurring again has increased. “We have to adapt,” he told the leaders, pointing to farming in the savannah. “We have to look not only at new techniques but where we farm.”

The Minister said that flooding gives an opportunity to bring new technology, new techniques, new thinking to the area and “a new chapter in how we do agriculture.” He noted that the recovery will take some time. “There also will be a cash assistance that will be given to every single household,” in every affected community, Persaud said. He said that once the database is established, the funds will be allocated.

Persaud said that government’s support will not end here and will even be ramped up. He told the gathering that there are persons who “want to sow confusion” but said that these persons are only interested in politics. He also said that there are those too who would seek to use the people’s plight “to enrich themselves and their organization.”

Minister of Amerindian Affairs, Pauline Sukhai, meanwhile, urged the leaders to report their information. During the flood, she said, there were a large number of villages from where the information was not flowing.

While these responses are commendable, I wonder what will happen to the road again next year.
Why is Lethem getting only 18 hours of electricity?
By STABROEK STAFF |
LETTERS | THURSDAY, JUNE 23, 2011

Dear Editor,

The floodwaters have receded from Lethem and life has slowly begun getting back to normal. Even the badly deteriorated Georgetown-Lethem road has been back in use, albeit under very tough conditions. But trucks, minibuses and other vehicles have resumed travel.

There is however one aspect of life that has not returned to normal, and that is the full electricity supply. Lethem and its environs still receive only eighteen hours of electricity per day. When things were critical the reduced electricity supply was a welcome compromise that the residents made. The reason for the reduction was that the Lethem Power Company (LPC) was conserving on its fuel stocks. But now that vehicles have resumed traversing the road there must be every possibility for sufficient fuel to reach LPC.

Lethem has had good weather for the past two weeks and the roads were reopened nearly a week ago. So why is there still only eighteen hours of electricity? It seems that the LPC is not making the extra effort to ensure fuel arrives at its location.

All businesses providing a service to Lethem have had to make extra sacrifices to ensure that their products reach Lethem. The fuel suppliers have hired trucks and tractors to shuttle their fuel. The trucks that are bringing rations from Georgetown have had to endure longer periods on the road, but they were all successful in getting through, so why is LPC still not providing the required service? Can’t they also make the additional sacrifice to get their fuel supplies into Lethem to restore normalcy?

Our government should be playing a bigger role in ensuring that Lethem is not unduly affected during these difficult times. After all they must be fully blamed for the Lethem road deteriorating so badly. They had ample knowledge that the road was deteriorating but they dallied on the remedial works which resulted in its present condition. They should now be subsidizing the additional costs that are being incurred due to the condition of the road.

What about the immediate future of Lethem? Our rainy season has only now begun and we have already faced so many problems. Are we prepared if another episode of flooding arrives? Do we have enough fuel and rations? What about emergency supplies to aid affected people? Is our electricity company now fully capable of operating during floods? Have sufficient stocks of rations and fuel been sent to the outlying villages to ensure that they are adequately prepared?

One only hopes that our authorities are not resting on their laurels and just assuming that the floods would not return. It is also time that the LPC gets its act together and returns full electricity to Lethem. The residents are willing to compromise in the trying times but not when a better service can be provided.

Yours faithfully,
(Name and address provided)

Not all Lethem residents affected by the flood have been assisted
By STABROEK STAFF |
LETTERS | THURSDAY, JUNE 23, 2011

Dear Editor,

It is now seven days since the floodwaters receded from the environs of Lethem, Tabatinga, Culvert City and other adjoining areas in Central Rupununi. The flood was the worst of its kind in recent memory, and with the likelihood of a follow-up which would be greater than the previous one, trepidation lingers on.

This flood has caused my family in particular losses in poultry, clothing, books and other personal items, but most of all I want to publicly thank Mr Lionel Da Silva for rescuing (accommodating) myself and family during these trying times. He allowed us unhindered access to his property in Lethem where we were well accommodated. When he arrived in Lethem a few days later to assess the situation for himself, he personally cooked for us and could be seen consoling and extending his generosity to others. Thanks once again Mr Lionel Da Silva for his overwhelming kindness and generosity.

Thanks also to the Guyana Red Cross and Digicel in providing urgently needed cleansing and other materials in such a timely manner. Thanks also to the Regional Democratic Council which enquired into our concerns, but was unable to provide any tangible assistance even up to this time of writing,

1 have now learnt that personnel from the Regional Democratic Council who undertook the initial enquiry and survey of the affected households have been sidelined and an officer from the administration has been given the sole authority in the distribution government’s promised help. To date not all of the affected residents have been assisted, and it leaves one to wonder whether there has been a short supply of what was promised.

Further I wonder whether there is unity between the Regional Democratic Council and the Regional Administration, since I have noticed the Regional Chairman is devoid of vehicular transportation since he has been walking and sometimes riding a bicycle to and from work, while the afore-mentioned officer is seen driving regional vehicles.

In view of this situation I would suggest that the matters mentioned should be looked into urgently.

Yours faithfully,
John Yow

Why does the Region 9 Chairman not have a vehicle?
By STABROEK STAFF |
LETTERS | SATURDAY, JUNE 25, 2011

Dear Editor,

Mr John Yow’s letter to SN of June 23 titled ‘Not all Lethem residents affected by the flood have been assisted’ raised an issue which has been asked by many residents of the Rupununi and that relates to the apparent preferential treatment given to the Regional Executive Officer (REO) over the Regional Chairman (RC) which is most obvious in the way the RC has been seen moving around Lethem in the execution of his duties, by either walking or riding a bicycle while the REO and his subordinates are seen driving regional vehicles.

This letter is in no way critical of the work of the REO, since his youthfulness and dynamism have been a revelation to the Rupununi, who were accustomed to some previous REOs being simply political appointees and square pegs in round holes. His present perks befit his status.

However, our RC is an equally respected officer who has been arguably our longest serving chairman, spanning three elections (as the VC and then as RC). Yet he is rather shabbily treated as compared to the REO which is most clearly evidenced by the mode of transportation for the RC and the REO, and herein lies the problem.

The Rupununi has been fortunate to have an RC and REO who are well liked and respected in the region, and who are seen as truly representing the interests of the people. However, the management structure clearly states that the RC is the head of the region and the REO is his subordinate. By virtue of this structure the RC should be receiving better benefits than the REO but this is obviously not the case.

It then needs to asked who devised this management structure that is so obviously imbalanced? And that response seems to point clearly to the Ministry of Local Government. For years now this obvious imbalance has been in existence and little has been done to balance this disparity between the two senior officers. It also raises the question as to how this imbalance came into being in the first place. After all it is very rare for a subordinate officer to have better perks than his superior.

History may provide a clue as to how the imbalance came into being. For many years the Rupununi region voted differently to the national election which resulted in an RC who came from a different political party than the REO. Because the REO was appointed by the government he was able to get his requests much more easily fulfilled than the RC who was given a much harder time to get his basic facilities. It was only in the last two elections that the winner of the local elections was the same as the national elections. However, the preferential treatment for the REO continued. Could it be that the RC continues to receive fewer perks because he is a local, thus the assumption is that his needs would be less than the REO who is a coastlander? It might be noted that all REOs have been coastlanders.

Whatever the reason behind this obvious imbalance in benefits between the two most senior officers in the regional administration, it is now time for the matter to be addressed. Our RC should be treated according to his status, which is the head of the region. A management system cannot operate with two leaders making separate decisions. Eventually there will be a loss of direction and the structure will collapse and chaos will reign within the organization. Comments made by reputable persons who have had to deal with the regional administration have already reported this problem, where the RC and REO give opposite directives to similar requests. This could be one of the fundamental reasons why the regional administration/RDC is often criticized for being tardy in its responsibilities.

The onus is therefore on the Ministry of Local Government to sort out these management issues and issue clear guidelines so that the RDC/regional administration can function more efficiently. This would also help to clear the other issues pertaining to the benefits of the RC and REO and eventually there would be a better functioning regional administration/ RDC which would be welcomed by all and sundry.

Yours faithfully,
(Name and address provided)

Lethem residents: Move key facilities from flooded area
By GAULBERT SUTHERLAND |
LOCAL NEWS | MONDAY, JUNE 27, 2011

Relocation of key facilities from flood-prone areas is a plan that should be implemented urgently, Lethem residents say. In the wake of the biggest flooding seen in years that swept through the Region Nine (Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) community earlier this month, residents identified the power station, the Guyana Telephone and Telegraph (GT&T) earth station and the police station as the facilities which should be relocated to higher ground.

The Lethem Power station under water during the flood. (SN file photo)

President of the Rupununi Chamber of Commerce and Industry (RCCI), Alfred Ramsaran told Stabroek News that the idea of relocating the power station had been raised at meetings during the flood earlier this month. He pointed out that in the Rupununi, the rainy season began earlier this month and would last until the end of August. GT&T, located close to the power station, is another critical facility that should be relocated as well, he said. “Every time there’s a big flood, they’re the most hit,” said Ramsaran.

Agriculture Minister, Robert Persaud said on Wednesday at a flood recovery workshop in Lethem that the power station as well as key facilities will be moved to higher ground. The relocation of residents living in low-lying areas is something that is being examined as well.

Lead

Persaud told Stabroek News that the regional authorities are taking the lead on this with the involvement of other agencies. Relocation of those in the most vulnerable areas is seen as critical since the authorities have warned of the possibility of another big flood in the near future because of changing weather patterns due to climate change.

Terrence Boston, the Chairman of the Ireng/ Sawariwau Neighbourhood Democratic Council under which Lethem falls told Stabroek News that the authorities have not discussed the issue with residents but he supports the idea. “I think it would be the ideal thing to do,” he said. He pointed out that the Lethem Police Station, located close to the Takutu River, is also a critical facility that should be relocated. The building is another that is affected by flooding during the normal rainy seasons. Boston recalled that the station was placed at that location to accommodate river traffic since that was the major mode of transport but times have since changed and it is now “isolated.”

“Now that the community is expanding and is moving outward, you need to move that station to a central point,” he observed. Boston also pointed out that the barracks can barely accommodate the ranks stationed there, moreso, those with families. He said that the station is now playing a bigger role since the opening of the Takutu Bridge and the Officer-in-Charge sometimes has to entertain his counterparts from Brazil who visit from time to time but only has an area little bigger than a “cell” for this. In relation to GT&T, he noted that they had heard discussions about what action the company might take. “No one knew at some time down the line, that water would come this high,” the NDC chairman said. “They may need to redo that building and raise it.”

CH&PA

Meantime, with regards to persons living in flood-prone areas, Boston noted that the NDC does not have control of land in the area. The Central Housing and Planning Authority (CH&PA) allocates land for residential purposes but does this from the city and does not have an office in Lethem, he said. “They will plan and come in and institute the plan” but have little knowledge of the lay of the land, he said. “Instead of discouraging people from living in those areas, they give people land in those areas,” the NDC chairman added. He also acknowledged that some persons knew that the land was flood-prone but still built in those areas while others in certain areas have become used to annual flooding but with quick run-off.

Boston said that though some persons may not want to move, those willing to, should be relocated. He called for an office of the CH&PA to be established in Lethem which “could deal with the situation as it is on the ground.” He noted that the Guyana Lands and Surveys Commission previously did what the housing authority is doing now. “With CH&PA running it out of this region, you don’t have a proper system,” he said pointing to some of the problems encountered including persons getting multiple house lots and others having the land they were awarded, taken away. The housing authority “need to come into the area, sit down with us and let’s talk, we know the area,” said Boston.

Commercial area

Meantime, Ramsaran suggested that the power plant could be moved to the light manufacturing zone in the established commercial area. He said that about 40 businesses were directly affected by the recent flood and the RCCI had suggested that they can move to the commercial zone but this is an issue that has to be examined further. The RCCI President recalled that there were 64 plots allocated in the commercial zone but not all those who were awarded land have occupied it. The majority of these are from the coast, he noted.

Ramsaran pointed out that when the commercial zone was established two years ago, it was with the understanding that businesses would begin work within six months and complete it within two years. This period would end in August. “There are a lot of persons who have not even started work on their land,” he said adding that the majority, including well-established companies, were from the coast. He suggested that the land could be re-allocated to affected businesses from Lethem.

In relation to persons living in low-lying areas, Ramsaran said that they should be encouraged to seek higher ground. He noted that some may not want to move. “It’s an area that we have to look at urgently,” he said. He also said that another issue that should attract attention is drainage. “There is no drainage in Lethem so the water goes where it wants to go,” the RCCI President said. In addition, he said, the airstrip’s runway needs re-surfacing and there are several bad spots on it.

The major floodwaters have receded but the community still faces shortages due to the poor state of sections of the Linden-Lethem road. Last week, fuel and food prices were hiked as well as mini-bus fares. “We’re running very low on supplies,” said Ramsaran adding that they were trying to bring in some from the coast.

I am in support of Mr Yow, the Lethem relief did not reach everyone affected by the flood
By STABROEK STAFF |
LETTERS | MONDAY, JUNE 27, 2011

Dear Mr. Editor,

Please allow me the privilege to respond to the letter headlined `The Response of the regional administration to the Region 9 flood was timely and unprecedented – SN Saturday June 25 2011’ by Karl Singh District Development Officer Annai Sub District.

The letter writer is surely disillusioned or else he would not be so quick and vicious in his attack on a man who has given his life to the furtherance of development in this Region. Mr. John Yow was a Public Servant of a very high calibre and I wish that young Mr. Singh will try to emulate Mr. Yow. I have first hand knowledge of events as they unfolded during the recent floods at Lethem and its environs. I provided, on a daily basis, information and photographs that were published in the Stabroek News during that time. I visited all of the areas that were flooded, on foot. I walked through waist-depth water at times, to get my information and photographs. One day I traversed Lethem barefooted since footwear was useless. The Regional Vice-Chairman blessed me with a pair of long boots when she noticed my plight. So Editor, I am in a position to debunk the gross distortions that Mr. Singh is trying to peddle in the name of truth. In fact, he is being very economical with the facts.

Firstly, most residents view the entire operation as a political one. The initial meeting of the so-called Regional Response was held in the offices of the local Freedom House at Lethem. This effectively cancelled out persons who really wanted to help, but who would not venture into the compound, from offering their assistance, Mr. Yow included. I myself offered my assistance irrespective of where the meetings were held. I have experience in the two most devastating disasters Guyana has faced in recent times, namely, the El Nino crisis of 1998 and the Great Flood of 2005. I was trained in Disaster Preparedness Management by PAHO in 1998. I was instrumental in organizing a massive relief in Linden when coastlanders rushed to Linden to escape the dreaded waters of 2005. During that exercise, and Mr. Singh can check the facts if he has doubts, no distinction was made as to political or racial belonging. Every man, woman, and child who came for assistance, received same without prejudice. That was not the case in Lethem recently.

When the Prime Minister visited Lethem with Col. Ramsarup, I called out to the P.M. and we had a chat. I told him that the area needs to be declared a disaster area, and he asked me why. I informed him that all three utilities were down and that the water was still rising, hence it was difficult to ascertain how much more people will be affected. He then referred me to Col. Ramsarup, who then criticized Mr. Granger who had visited the day before. I told Col Ramsarup of persons known to me who were yet to receive any kind of help. He told me that they were only dealing with persons who were in the shelters at Arapaima Primary School, The Brethren Church Compound and the Culvert City Nursery School.

I found this to be contemptuous and informed the gentleman that there were three families, numbering 17 in all who were housed in the mid-wife’s quarters in the hospital compound. I told him it was hardly likely that that amount of persons can just walk into a Government Compound, into a Government building, without official sanction, and since there was official sanction then the occupants were entitled to whatever relief was available. He drove away and left me staring after him. To this day, those three families are yet to receive any assistance from the Region.

Then there is Mr. Denton a taxi driver. Only yesterday (Friday) he was telling me that nobody visited him much less offered him any assistance. If one knows Lethem well, they will know that Mr. Denton’s home would be among the first to be affected by floodwaters. Yet Mr. Singh’s “unprecedented response” did not include Mr. Denton. He was above the waist in water in his house. Only today (Saturday), I heard a woman complaining of not receiving any relief. I witnessed her waiting at the edge of the water on transport to remove her household things from her house which was swamped.

Right now Editor, an exercise is ongoing where foodstuff is being taken by night, to persons who were not affected, in an effort to buy cheap political mileage. But guess what, the people are not stupid. The people have already expressed disgust with the whole lot and just are playing possum. I think many of the Mr. Singhs will be shocked at the polls to be conducted soon.

Therefore, I am in support of Mr. Yow in his remarks; the relief did not reach everyone. Certainly it did not reach everyone who was affected directly by the flood. I am in a position to know.

To touch briefly on the Regional Chairman’s transportation, Mr. Yow was right. I personally, along with my wife, witnessed the Regional Chairman attending an official function (the ground breaking ceremony for GBTI) on a bicycle. To say that the Chairman has an assigned vehicle is misleading and should cause Mr. Singh to resign his post forthwith. But why am I not surprised? There was another Regional Chairman, Mr. Maucir Baretto who was treated in like fashion. He used to tow his wife on a bicycle anywhere he went. Can you imagine Mr. Ali Baksh of Region 2 like that, or Mr. Mustafa of Region 6? Is it that there are different rules for different Chairmen? The Norwegians should examine that fact.

Yours faithfully,
Carl Parker

Thank you Jason (SJ4321) for giving me a very good thread to run with wavey

With the PPP politicising the people's plight, no wonder Jason was wondering where is the AFC. Well friend, we do not seek cheap mileage, and this case reeks more than usual, because a lot of the problems are due to the Gov't's lack of planning, uncaring attitude and plain incompetence.
Did not receive flood relief in Lethem
By STABROEK STAFF |
LETTERS | WEDNESDAY, JUNE 29, 2011

Dear Editor,

A letter caught my attention in the Stabroek News edition of Saturday, June 25 authored by Karl Singh (‘The response of the regional administration to the Region 9 flood was timely and unprecedented’). Was Mr Singh really around? I don’t think so, because I was one of first to be flooded out and I had to transport my stuff myself. I was moving out my stuff until 2 in the morning, and at dayclean the water was past my knee in my house and I then had to pay a truck to do the balance of my moving. And unto this day I have not had any flood relief.

I asked for a pair of long boots because those that I had in a place where I stored garden tools had floated away, but the answer was no, we don’t have long boots to share out. Anyhow, I waded through that filthy water with the aid of my son and got out some of my tools. The only visit that I got was from the Health Department. And concerning those rations and cleaning supplies that were shared out to last 28 days referred to in Mr Singh’s letter, I didn’t see any.

And my house was half way in water. So that is why I agree with Mr John Yow when he said there are people here in Lethem who don’t know what it is to speak for their rights (‘Not all Lethem residents affected by the flood have been assisted’ SN, June 23). If not you would have seen how many letters would have been written and then you would have known how many families got flood relief. I know some who only got help from the Red Cross with a towel, toothbrush and Colgate. I am not saying that they did not share out flood relief, but that I was badly affected and got nothing.

So I think when Mr Singh mentioned that he was personally involved in the distribution of supplies where every single home that was flooded received rations and cleaning materials he should try to remember if he stopped by me because I can’t remember seeing him or any team giving out flood relief at my house.

Yours faithfully,
Denton Usher

Intraserv stops Lethem service - restart would require trail upgrade
By STABROEK STAFF | 7 COMMENTS
LOCAL NEWS | WEDNESDAY, JUNE 29, 2011

The Intraserv bus service between Lethem and the coastland has ended and might only be restarted if the trail is upgraded. The state of the trail over the past several weeks had forced the Intraserv Incorporated bus service to suspend its service initially but the company later decided to decommission the operation citing a number of difficulties associated with the roadway. The 45-seater buses operated by the company had been making weekly trips to and from Lethem over the past seven years and while the journey lasted longer when compared to trips made by the smaller buses which ply the route, the company earned a good reputation with its clientele.

A section of the Lethem/Georgetown trail in May. (SN file photo)

Carol Correia, of Intraserv, told Stabroek News yesterday that the company took a “hard decision” to cease operations at Intraserv, while adding that it had been looking at closing the operation some two years ago when sections of the roadway disintegrated during the rainy season. She said that the buses were making regular trips to and from Lethem but the road’s condition had made servicing and general maintenance of the buses difficult for the company, which was a joint venture between the Correias and a Brazilian company.

Some 16 persons were employed directly with the company, mainly as drivers, ticketing clerks and conductors but Correia stated that a number of other individuals whose services benefited from the bus operation may be affected by the closure of the service. It was noted too that the buses were losing their passengers to the smaller buses and Correia stated that this may have been as a result of the frequent breakdowns which the Intraserv buses experienced when travelling along the trail. She said that the problems would have been related to the state of the thoroughfare. She added that the buses may return to the route provided that the trail is upgraded.

During the rainy season, the drivers of large vehicles which travel to and from Lethem experienced difficulties traversing the roadway, which had been deteriorating frequently as the rains stepped in. Recently, traffic along the trail reached a standstill after heavy rains pounded sections of the hinterland, resulting in large volumes of water accumulating in the surrounding areas. Repair works to the Lethem trail had been on-going at the difficult sections of the road and this newspaper understands that traffic has been flowing to and from the Region 9 area and Georgetown with minor interruptions. The stretch of road close to the Pirara Ranch remains the “only problem area,” a resident of Lethem stated yesterday, while adding that the roadway passing through the area had been “loose” in most parts as a result of the accumulated water, which would have been there for close to a month.

There had been calls from residents and members of the business community at Lethem for the authorities to upgrade the trail to an all-weather road.

Truck crushes Lethem trail bridge
By STABROEK EDITOR |
PHOTOS | FRIDAY, JULY 1, 2011

Several bridges along the Lethem trail have collapsed under the heavy weight of trucks and in the aftermath of deep flooding last month. This is the bridge just before Madonna. (GINA photo)

Bridge collapses along Lethem trail
By STABROEK EDITOR |
PHOTOS | FRIDAY, JULY 1, 2011

In the aftermath of deep flooding and heavy trucks, several bridges along the Lethem trail have collapsed and one resulted in the death of a person. This is the bridge at Moco Moco where truck driver Yusir Khan died after the bridge collapsed under the weight of the truck. (GINA photo)

Rupununi bridge collapse
By STABROEK STAFF |
LETTERS | SATURDAY, JULY 2, 2011

Dear Editor,

It seems as though I will be a regular writer to your newspaper, because as Buju Banton puts it, “Circumstances made me what I amâ€Ķ” I read in the papers today how a young life was snuffed out on the Linden to Lethem trail yesterday. I have known the lad’s family since the early ’90s and I extend my deepest sympathy in this their hour of grief. But it didn’t have to be this way. His father is a shrewd businessman, who worked his way up from being a driver of a Bedford Model M truck in the days when the trail was really a trail, to the point where he now has several double-axle trucks and two businesses located at Lethem and Annai.

During the floods of last year when the infamous Hunt Oil stretch was a pulp for a road, I was a part-time reporter for Stabroek News. During that trying time for the residents of this region, Minister Benn paid a visit and directed repairs that were being undertaken to that segment of the road. In between visits to the Hunt Oil Road, he held a meeting with all stakeholders at the Regional Guest House. I was there in the capacity of a reporter.

After all was said, I rose and asked the Minister what efforts were being made to fix the breached road, and to upgrade the road from a Model M road to a Double-Axle road. I pointed out to the Minister that Lethem was once served by Model M trucks, but the community has since grown, and the truckers have seized the initiative to have larger trucks in order that they can improve their services, and as such the roads need to be upgraded.

The Minister threw a tantrum and said that he would be very, very mad if anybody reported that the road was breached. He went on to say that his government has since upgraded the bridges from being 5 tonnes to a massive 30 tonnes. This story was published in the SN some time last year.

Well Editor, there we have it, a bridge designed to carry 30 tonnes collapsing. I have no knowledge what 30 tonnes look like. An independent engineer should be employed to verify if any of those bridges are indeed 30 tonnes. If this was anywhere in the Western world we would have heard of a lawsuit.

Concurrently, systems should be put in place to ensure that vehicles are not overweight. A scale at Kurupukari can be a start.

Yours faithfully,
Carl Parker