October 23,2016 Source

The Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) continues to face difficulty in getting self-employed persons, and corporations to submit tax returns, according to the latest Auditor General’s report.

Auditor General Deodat Sharma, in his 2015 report, said that almost 85% of active registered self-employed persons had not filed tax returns last year.

“As of December 31, 2015 there were 126,669 registered self-employed persons. Of this number, 93,157 were identified as active however only 14,164 filed a total of 34,644 returns resulting in collections totalling $3.407 billion. Therefore, 78,993 self-employed persons did not file their tax returns,” the report states, while adding that in 2014 a similar situation obtained as of 85,753 active self-employed persons only 37,252 returns were filed.

While the Audit Office has recommended that GRA pursue all possible avenues to maximise revenue collections, the Internal Revenue Department has said it continues to issue demands to defaulting taxpayers, with 17,605 demands having been issued in 2015, compared with 19,296 in 2014.

The department has also noted that these demand notices are being issued based on a “risk management approach,” which prioritises the “high risk taxpayers with great revenue implications.”

Similar concerns were also raised in relation to corporations, as during 2015 only 786 tax returns were submitted from the pool of 2,955 active companies.

While the department has claimed that 1,493 demand notices were issued to defaulting companies, the Audit Office was unable to verify this as the Companies Tax Returns Register was not produced for audit.

In the case of the companies, GRA has also been issuing demand notices by assigning priority to those with great revenue implications. It was also noted that legal action has been instituted against chronic non-filers.

The Audit Office, however, recommended that GRA take legal action against all companies which failed to submit annual returns, as is required by law.

In his presentation of the 2016 national budget in January, Finance Minister Winston Jordan said government would be moving to amend the tax laws to ensure greater compliance, particularly among the self-employed, from whom it said revenue collections were lagging.

Towards this end, Jordan said the Tax Act would be amended to ensure that prior to the issuance of all licences for public use, including licences to conduct forms of trade and business, the applicant has complied with his/her obligations to file annual returns has paid, or has made arrangements to pay, all taxes due and payable. An amendment was subsequently passed and assented to.

Also proposed was an amendment to the Customs Act to provide for the non-granting of exemptions to an applicant “unless all outstanding tax returns are filed in accordance with the Income Tax Act, and all taxes have been paid or satisfactory arrangements have been made to pay such taxes.”

During his presentation, Jordan noted that there continues to be “low compliance” by the self-employed, which he said is the reason why the category lags behind other areas of income tax collection.

“What we have noticed though is that our tax structure yields uneven amounts of revenue. The numbers suggest that there is a large population of delinquent taxpayers out there, prominent among whom are the self-employed and persons paying Tributors’ tax. We are concerned about the failure of both categories to pay their fair share of taxes,” he said, while noting that a simple analysis of tax collections has shown that only three parts of the tax structure are contributing meaningfully to government revenues: income tax, production and consumption taxes, and import duties.

GRA defines a self-employed person as any person who works for him/herself and is responsible for setting charges for goods or services offered. Examples of the self-employed include doctors, lawyers, beauticians, barbers, taxi-drivers, minibus owners and operators, farmers, hucksters and shopkeepers.

The coolies are tired of carrying the burden.

Who appointed you to speak for the coolies, bai? Yuh nah live in da coolie country fo 45+ donkey years and yuh have no intention to go back fo good. Let the coolies speak for themselves. 

For my part, Skelly, I think a large portion of those self-employed folks who don't pay taxes are Indian businessmen, carpenters and contractors, farmers, mechanics etc. Even when the PPP was in government, dem people didn't pay their taxes. But dem used to proclaim: Abee ah PPP supporta!!!

This has always the case and is the case in many developing countries.  This is one of the key reasons why a rigid VAT system was put in place, to capture taxes at the consumption end.  Now, this is not totally fair and people need to file taxes.  The Govt needs to link taxation with certain state benefits which will "encourage" filing.  In any event, much of the 85% will likely not pay any taxes as there incomes will be close to subsistence.  Those who make a good living could be identified as their lifestyle will reflect it.

The Govt needs to give assurances that the system will be fair to all and not used to target specific individuals.

What burden are they taking if they don't even file taxes?  If they don't file they definitely don't pay. And yet they get access to roads, education, healthcare and other gov't services.

ba$eman posted:

.  Now, this is not totally fair and people need to file taxes. 

And so salaries workers pay the same VAT and also income taxes.  Given that we know who the salaried workers in Guyana are, why do you all bray that Indians do every thing and blacks don't do anything?

What burden are they taking if they don't even file taxes?  If they don't file they definitely don't pay. And yet they get access to roads, education, healthcare and other gov't services.

Skeldonbanna gets schooled.

ba$eman posted:

.  Now, this is not totally fair and people need to file taxes. 

And so salaries workers pay the same VAT and also income taxes.  Given that we know who the salaried workers in Guyana are, why do you all bray that Indians do every thing and blacks don't do anything?

Indians pay a lot of VAT, even from their remittances.  So relax and take a rest!

Most black people are automatically on the tax rolls. As you so often yap here as if it is a sin, many are in the professional services or in support roles of the professions and are institutional civil servants. Those who do not pay taxes are......well you guess.

ba$eman posted:

This has always the case and is the case in many developing countries.  This is one of the key reasons why a rigid VAT system was put in place, to capture taxes at the consumption end.  Now, this is not totally fair and people need to file taxes.  The Govt needs to link taxation with certain state benefits which will "encourage" filing.  In any event, much of the 85% will likely not pay any taxes as there incomes will be close to subsistence.  Those who make a good living could be identified as their lifestyle will reflect it.

The Govt needs to give assurances that the system will be fair to all and not used to target specific individuals.

Most of the self employed would fall below the poverty threshold if indeed they have to pay that 28% tax.

These braniacs would have us believe that Black public service workers are the ones filling the treasury for jackass Granger et al to sport and wine down?   

We are not saying it. The government is.....self employed are the absconders...the scofflaws!

Danyael posted:

These braniacs would have us believe that Black public service workers are the ones filling the treasury for jackass Granger et al to sport and wine down?   

We are not saying it. The government is.....self employed are the absconders...the scofflaws!

The incompetent Granger led govt did not state that Blacks are the ones filling the treasury.  It is numerically impossible for the Blacks to be responsible for the majority of taxes for this administration to blow on sport, wine down and other wasteful spending. Can you post the breakdown of the treasury income with line items of Blacks vs Indian contribution?

ba$eman posted:
?

Indians pay a lot of VAT, even from their remittances.  So relax and take a rest!

Blacks pay VAT and also income tax.  Yet you all scream that we don't contribute.

. Can you post the breakdown of the treasury income with line items of Blacks vs Indian contribution?

Salaried workers pay Income tax and VAT.  These tend to be disproportionately blacks as the bulk of the salaried jobs are in the urban areas, populated disproportionately by blacks.

But why the shock when its been a known fact that most Indians don't even know what income tax is, much less pay it.

ba$eman posted:
?

Blacks pay VAT and also income tax.  Yet you all scream that we don't contribute.

I agree, I never said Blacks don't contribute, never.  They do as much as anyone else.  This is why I say it's unfair for any working person.  BTW, the vast majority of Indians work for a salary and pay taxes.  And regarding the self employed, this non-payment applies to smaller businesses, taxis, etc, not the big guys.  But I would agree, there is seepage even in bigger businesses where cash transactions are involved.

. Can you post the breakdown of the treasury income with line items of Blacks vs Indian contribution?

Salaried workers pay Income tax and VAT.  These tend to be disproportionately blacks as the bulk of the salaried jobs are in the urban areas, populated disproportionately by blacks.

But why the shock when its been a known fact that most Indians don't even know what income tax is, much less pay it.

Do the math man and you will see that you are spouting nonsense. To fill the treasury for sporting by jackass Granger et al, you would need 10 million black civil servants contributing. The last time I checked there were less than 10,000 civil servant jobs. Multiply that by 20% of their wages and you are down to a few million GYD contributed to the treasury.  

You are the one suffering from innumeracy. The claim is the self employed do not pay taxes. That does not break down evenly between ethnic groups. Again you are making knee jerk conclusions based on your brain numbing racism.

Danyael posted:

You are the one suffering from innumeracy. The claim is the self employed do not pay taxes. That does not break down evenly between ethnic groups. Again you are making knee jerk conclusions based on your brain numbing racism.

I believe most that don't pay will also not pay.  If you do it correct on a risk-reward model, I believe most will not pay.  However, I believe people should submit an annual tax declaration.  The GoG needs to put something in-place to encourage filing.  This will not happen overnight.

Danyael posted:

"Examples of the self-employed include doctors, lawyers, beauticians, barbers, taxi-drivers, minibus owners and operators, farmers, hucksters and shopkeepers."

Druggie should read the above and figure out the the percentage of the ethnic make up in each category of the self employed,he mentioned that's easy due to the size of GY population.

One of his mantra is East Indians is putting their shoulder to the wheel and the rest does sport and whine up,looking at his observation one can conclude who are the defaulters.

They were thumping their chest when this Gov't requested the self employed should have a Tax Id before their license are renewed.

Oh you shallow ones! Why you think they STOPPED filing taxes? Carrying the burden also can be seen as nigroes robbing the coolie businesses. They want to double down on the coolies.

Danyael posted:

Most black people are automatically on the tax rolls. As you so often yap here as if it is a sin, many are in the professional services or in support roles of the professions and are institutional civil servants. Those who do not pay taxes are......well you guess.

Well you guess right. You have not been to Guyana since you were in your diapers and you come here and pretend you know everything about Guyana. Black people are on the tax rolls..just collecting other people taxes.

Who appointed you to speak for the coolies, bai? Yuh nah live in da coolie country fo 45+ donkey years and yuh have no intention to go back fo good. Let the coolies speak for themselves. 

For my part, Skelly, I think a large portion of those self-employed folks who don't pay taxes are Indian businessmen, carpenters and contractors, farmers, mechanics etc. Even when the PPP was in government, dem people didn't pay their taxes. But dem used to proclaim: Abee ah PPP supporta!!!

Gilly, I can speak because I paid taxes. For those years, almost every other year I paid exit tax at the airport for me and my family, I paid VAT for all the improvements done on our house(yes, I paid for those).  People avoid taxes in the America...The Donald.

BLAME COWSHIT Kusid Sattaur for this fine cow dung situation.  This was done all under his watch.  He give his friends a free pass, especially them CIOG boys.

Granger did the best thing for Guyana by firing him.

Got to give Ramjattan credit for this firing.  THE RIVER JORDAN wanted to keep him, but Ramjattan in cabinet cuss up and tell the RIVER "haul yu rass" and Granja seh - Ramjattan right.

Jordan cry fuh one of his old cabal tiefist.

Oh you shallow ones! Why you think they STOPPED filing taxes? Carrying the burden also can be seen as nigroes robbing the coolie businesses. They want to double down on the coolies.

When one doesn't pay their fair share in  taxes they shouldn't have a darn thing to say about the Govt, absolutely nothing. They are not helping the country grow, they are leeches.

Then you should "shet you poke".