NICIL’s affairs for Public Probe in National Assembly

MAY 3, 2012 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

…three week deadline proposed for all requested reports

Setting the first day of June as the deadline, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU’s) point man

Former Finance Minister Carl Greenidge

on Finances, Carl Greenidge, has moved to the National Assembly to force the Finance Minister to bring to the forefront the affairs of the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited.
Greenidge in his motion also seeks to have the responsible Minister make financial provision for the urgent commissioning of an independent financial audit of the operations of the National Industrial Commercial Investments Limited (NICIL) and the Privatisation Unit.
He has also tabled for debate in the House next week, a motion which calls on the administration to, among other things, “lay in the National Assembly for review and where applicable, for ratification, all international agreements, (including mining agreements involving the award of state lands and fiscal concessions), signed by the Government since January 1, 2000.”
Greenidge is also looking to have the National Assembly request the responsible Ministers of Government to: Provide the National Assembly with a report, in keeping with the law, on the disposal by sale or otherwise of all state lands, including the terms on which they were disposed of and the criteria used between the date of announcement (Sunday, 9th October, 2011) of the National and Regional Elections and December 31, 2011 and between January 1, 2000 and October 9, 2011.
The long awaited motion by the former Finance Minister also calls on the House to obligate the relevant Ministers of Government to provide the National Assembly as early as possible with a detailed report on the disposal by sale or otherwise of all state assets entrusted to NICIL and the Privatisation Unit, the terms on which they were disposed of and the criteria used; the outstanding bi-annual reports and annual audited accounts required of NICIL and the Privatisation Unit under the relevant legislation; the handing over report from the former Executive Director of NICIL (and Head of the Privatisation Unit), Winston Brassington, if applicable at this time and a report on the disposal by sale or otherwise of all other state assets, including the terms on which they were disposed of and the criteria used.
He is seeking, also, to cause the House to ensure that a report on all the fiscal concessions, including duty free concessions, granted in response to specific requests or as part of contracts awarded by the Tender Board and the criteria on which these awards were based be placed before the National Assembly for review.
Greenidge, in prefacing his resolutions to the House, points to recent reports on Guyana about transparency and corruption by the international community.
These reports, he says, have been presented by the World Economic Forum, Transparency International and the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) all of which have rated Guyana poorly.
Greenidge’s motion is also prefaced by the fact that “Guyanese are concerned about the widely reported acts of lawlessness in the guardianship of our national resources and assets as well as the lack of transparency and accountability associated with the disposal of those assets.”

I  believe  it  would  have  been  a  more  politically astute maneuver to have  such  motion  being  moved  by  someone  from  the  AFC,  rather  than  APNU and  particularly Carl  Greenidge,  who in  my  opinion lacks  credibility. This  is  a  can of  worm  that  the  PPP would  stop  at  nothing  to  keep under  seal and  could  very  well  trigger  a  snap election by  Ramotar.  

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Even the PNC didn't dare sell the Guyanese resources for so little to so many unknown buyers. We have no idea how much of Guyana is still in public hand.

The PNC would have sold but there were no buyers during their tenure as they had run the country down and made it undesirable to investors. Now that the PPP has turned the country around and made it attractive to investments, the buyers materialized and suddenly land that was worthless in the past is now worth a fortune. ahahahah

Originally Posted by Mara:

I  believe  it  would  have  been  a  more  politically astute maneuver to have  such  motion  being  moved  by  someone  from  the  AFC,  rather  than  APNU and  particularly Carl  Greenidge,  who in  my  opinion lacks  credibility. This  is  a  can of  worm  that  the  PPP would  stop  at  nothing  to  keep under  seal and  could  very  well  trigger  a  snap election by  Ramotar.  

I agree.

Even the PNC didn't dare sell the Guyanese resources for so little to so many unknown buyers. We have no idea how much of Guyana is still in public hand.

The PNC would have sold but there were no buyers during their tenure as they had run the country down and made it undesirable to investors. Now that the PPP has turned the country around and made it attractive to investments, the buyers materialized and suddenly land that was worthless in the past is now worth a fortune. ahahahah

Mr. Donkey Cart economist Carl Greenidge has ZERO credibility. He wants Guyana to return to the Donkey Cart days again with zero investment like his Burnham days. Shame on the PNC.

This man should go live in a hole and shame on those who post his garbage.

Mr. Donkey Cart economist Carl Greenidge has ZERO credibility. He wants Guyana to return to the Donkey Cart days again with zero investment like his Burnham days. Shame on the PNC.

Whether it is greengage with the corpses  of  Forbes, Hoyte and Reid in tow making the claim it is still a more damming reality that you and others can support these soulless thieves in the PPP.

Storm, great defender of Dictators and Oppressors. This man has no shame.

Apparently, you have difficulty understanding simple prose. I would prefer that to be the case than you being a dishonest cretin.

The point being made was that the veracity of the claim has little to do with the maker of the claim in this instance.  The reference letter cn be sighed anonymous or as I suggested  ( Greenidge, accompanied by a trio of corpses of his former bosses) and it would not affect its  truth value.

NICIL has been operating extra constitutionally and must be brought into compliance. That it has been used as presently configured for so long speaks to ingrained corruption and disregard for any moral obligation to comply with the law.

That I defended anyone; dictators or saints as the case may be is in your imagination.

Storm, so you are saying that Burnham was not a dictator ? 

I am quite sure my English is clear and precise and what I said I intended to say. If you feel that somewhere in the midst of what I wrote you deduced I "supported" or endorsed the dictatorship I ask you read again.

I am quite sure my english is clear and precise and what I said I intended. If you feel that somewhere in the midst of what I wrote you deduced I "supported" or endorsed the dictatorship I ask you read again.

Answer the question !

I am quite sure my english is clear and precise and what I said I intended. If you feel that somewhere in the midst of what I wrote you deduced I "supported" or endorsed the dictatorship I ask you read again.

Answer the question !

Asked and answered too many to count over too many years to matter. My point is if you are confused; be confused. Do not pull accusations out of thin air or argue against positions not taken by me and claim I did.

Answer the question !

Asked and answered too many to count over too many years to matter. My point is if you are confused; be confused. Do not pull accusations out of thin air or argue against positions not taken by me and claim I did.

So,was Burnham a dictator or not ? 

Answer the question !

So,was Burnham a dictator or not ? 

Well accardin' to coolie katahar Chief, Burnham wah di best.  Since he rass dead, Guyana gaane donk.  Burnham bin gi abie pride, prasperity and security.  Coolie bin safe and sound in abie house an street.  BTW ah weh datt coolie katahar deh, yuh tink he ah nak glass wid Burnham?

Originally Posted by Inqbus:
That man greenidge is wan smart black man - smarter than de coolie pres

Ah how yuh measha dah.  Dem lil coolie bais Jagdeo an master Gajraj popped dem Buxton an Agricola FF terrorists wile dem frenns in da GDF wah sleepin and snorin'  Abie coolie prezzy a play di fool bu wah seems, is nah wah is.

Originally Posted by Inqbus:
That man greenidge is wan smart black man - smarter than de coolie pres

OH  so  true! So  smart that  he  left  the  coffer  empty and  never  submitted audited  reports  for  the  8  years  that  he  was  Finance  Minister

The  biggest  shame is  on those, who  for no  other  reason  but  ethnic  hegemony, continue  to  supplant  their  heads so  far  up  Jagdeo  & Ramotar's backside that  they  would  need  scuba  gears  to  continue  breathing. 

The opposition is clearly intent on misinforming the Guyanese people. With regards to NICIL, the firm has been audited up to 2010. The only reason that the audits have not been presented to Parliament is due to outstanding litigation issues that have to be resolved as a requirement before presentation. Furthermore, the Auditor General's report details audits on NICIL, minus issues still in the courts. The Government under President Jagdeo had offered to give access to the opposition to these same audits and the Government under President Ramotar has kept this offer open. Yet the opposition has so far not taken up the offer. Instead they go on a misinformation campaign in the hopes of hoodwinking the Guyanese people

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The opposition is clearly intent on misinforming the Guyanese people. With regards to NICIL, the firm has been audited up to 2010. The only reason that the audits have not been presented to Parliament is due to outstanding litigation issues that have to be resolved as a requirement before presentation. Furthermore, the Auditor General's report details audits on NICIL, minus issues still in the courts. The Government under President Jagdeo had offered to give access to the opposition to these same audits and the Government under President Ramotar has kept this offer open. Yet the opposition has so far not taken up the offer. Instead they go on a misinformation campaign in the hopes of hoodwinking the Guyanese people

Mara can now go drink more snake oil with mud all over his face and so should others who are now drunk with snake oil.

Thanks for clearing things up.

Originally Posted by Mara:

The  biggest  shame is  on those, who  for no  other  reason  but  ethnic  hegemony, continue  to  supplant  their  heads so  far  up  Jagdeo  & Ramotar's backside that  they  would  need  scuba  gears  to  continue  breathing. 

Can you prove that Donald's government is corrupt ?

This is a new government. You need to get your head OUT of the AFC's rear and get some  fresh air.

Clearing what up? What Unconcious should be clearing up is that puke he posted.

You should have your eyes and ears examined, nut case. Can you not read ?