July 26, 2016

A GROUP of outspoken citizens yesterday held a small picketing exercise outside the Georgetown Magistrates Court to back demands for the taking of an ‘holistic’ approach to the dress code debate. Sherlina Nageer, well-known activist and member of the band of protesters said this whole thing about dress codes is not only a nuisance, but “oppressive” as well as “repressive to wome...n and hard on poor people.” “Why should persons not be allowed entrance into, or service from, public entities because of how they are dressed?” she asked. She also feels that this dress-code business has no place in the school system, as in children wearing uniformed clothing as currently obtains, and should be diminished or gotten rid of entirely. In the Guyanese school system, uniforms are put in place to debar segregation, and to allow for all children to be presented in a same manner, despite their different social backgrounds.

However, Nageer feels that because of the demand for children to be uniformed, those whose parents cannot afford it are being denied their rights to access an education. In short, she feels that dress codes should be removed entirely, and that citizens should have the freedom of wearing whatever they feel comfortable in, “as long as you’re not naked.” Francis Bailey, another protester out on the streets yesterday, couldn’t agree more, as it is unfair to citizens coming especially to a public office in Georgetown from a distant location to be disallowed from receiving a service, just because of how they are dressed. He is also of the opinion that the edict is “unlawful”, as nowhere in the Constition does it say how persons should or should not dress. The outcry by citizens to remove dress codes is one which has indeed taken a forefront in Guyana’s public interest. Many public organizations have recently lifted stringent dress codes, and this protest sought to have more organizations diminish and maybe even remove these dress codes.

Vijay Shivdat's photo.

Nageer talking without thinking.  The fact that some parents find it unaffordable does not mean it should be abolished.  Uniform levels the "social" playground and brings a sense of uniformity and discipline, which kids need.  AddreSs the issue of affordability.

Actually kids should be given free uniforms insteading of wasting the national resource on bacanal and fat salaries for the many over bloated non-performing political appointees!

ba$eman posted:

Nageer talking without thinking.  The fact that some parents find it unaffordable does not mean it should be abolished.  Uniform levels the "social" playground and brings a sense of uniformity and discipline, which kids need.  AddreSs the issue of affordability.

Actually kids should be given free uniforms insteading of wasting the national resource on bacanal and fat salaries for the many over bloated non-performing political appointees!

PPP use to give $10,000 per school year to buy uniforms. What happened? did the PNC take this money to supplement their 50% raises? Where is nata rass Moses and Kanwa bai?

These rassole people aint got a dam thing to worry about now they are making up shyte.

When kids wear their own clothes to school they are not equal when one person wears the most stylish and expensive clothing while another who cannot afford this is forced to wear their old jeans, t shirt an yatchin boots.

Uniforms place them all on the same playing field no matter how poor one may be.

These rassole people aint got a dam thing to worry about now they are making up shyte.

When kids wear their own clothes to school they are not equal when one person wears the most stylish and expensive clothing while another who cannot afford this is forced to wear their old jeans, t shirt an yatchin boots.

Uniforms place them all on the same playing field no matter how poor one may be.

Let the govt help the poor parents buy uniforms. How about that? The PPP did.

From another angle let me share my professional experience.

Millennials are reshaping the work environment  regardless of what we baby boomers may think.

Corporate elites are now wearing jeans, slacks and flats to work something that would have been scorned or not allowed even a few years ago. 

Yesterday I went to shine my shoes and inquired form the owner how's business, his response is business is down due to the present work dress code, not too many office workers are wearing shoes that need to be polished. 

Millennials are reshaping the work environment  regardless of what we baby boomers may think.

Corporate elites are now wearing jeans, slacks and flats to work something that would have been scorned or not allowed even a few years ago. 

Yesterday I went to shine my shoes and inquired form the owner how's business, his response is business is down due to the present work dress code, not too many office workers are wearing shoes that need to be polished. 

You work with that crowd.  My crowd is still ear Suit, Tie and shine Bostonians!!

ba$eman posted:

Try workin in a strip club, only batty does shine.

Bai Cain, keep yuh lil Putagee antiman ways da side!!

You rass want a jumby lash nuh...watch it deh. You'd wake up with ears ringing, birds sweetly singing, bells just a ringing, head a spinning...and me just a grinnning... You'd then hear the news, " You were out cold. It is now the end of November, there is a new President in the house, SHE won by a landslide."

While in Guyana, the kids all demand they wear their dam uniforms, they finally have a sense of belonging.

Try workin in a strip club, only batty does shine.

I own a recruiting company  do you think I can do some placements there.

Our ad will have to read

Requirement : Shine Batty!

True story Chief. I worked in IT and IT Management for 18 years and had to wear shirt and tie, except dress down Fridays. Now, it's all jeans, slacks and polo shirts and regular shirts (I still wear shirts with collars).

ba$eman posted:

Like duh gon eva happen in this lifetime, the ones who get in to the govment do so to thief them bot kay bout po people 

ball
Kari posted:

True story Chief. I worked in IT and IT Management for 18 years and had to wear shirt and tie, except dress down Fridays. Now, it's all jeans, slacks and polo shirts and regular shirts (I still wear shirts with collars).

Changing times Kari.

A s a boss I still like to wear my suit to work however at the same time I want to keep up with the Millennials and that's not keeping up.

ball posted:

Chief, tell them bout the time yo went to wuk in yo buckta and slippers wid a towel around yo neck

Saying Buckta is an insult to Amerindians.

You have to say " Amerindianta"

now if I did say shorts, yo would ah tell me ah insultin short people

ball